Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 10 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Jun 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While going 75 mph in the fast lane of a 4-lane highway Sunday afternoon, the car shifted hard, the wrench light came on, and the car would not accelerate. As the car slowed, it began lurching back and forth. We were able to pull off the road into a parking lot and the car continued to lurch after it was put in park. I turned car off and then back on. The starter turned over several times before the care started back up, but car made it the final 25 miles home without incident. Same manifestation of the issue Tuesday evening on the way home from work going about 25 mph in traffic. Same recovery. On my way to an offsite work meeting on Thursday I was going ~45 mph when the failure occurred. When I returned from the meeting 45 minutes later, the car had the same issue at ~50 mph. The dealership says the throttle body needs to be replaced, but that there are none available in the usa right now and that there is a 3-4 week back order. Though they seem to be replacing a lot of throttle bodies, Ford contends that this is not a problem.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #56

Jun 212013

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
I was on my way to work Friday, 6/21/13, traveling at 65mph and lost all power/acceleration in center lane on freeway. Unfortunately, I had to cross two lanes of heavy traffic to get to the right shoulder, while losing power. An amber wrench light was on along with the engine light. I put car in neutral, and put pressure on the gas pedal - no RPM's, no power - at this moment the engine begins to sputter and shake and I cannot keep the car running. I turned the car off and waited a few minutes. I started the car again, no dash indicator lights, and the engine acted normal when I put pressure on the gas pedal. Gas delivery and RPM's seemed appropriate. I entered freeway again and approximately 1.5 miles later, the same thing happened again. Amber wrench on and no power. Again, the engine is running very rough and then stalls. I am near my dealership, so it takes two more attempts, before I make it there. Now, it gets better. I am informed that it is my throttle body and there are 2000 parts on backorder from Michigan. It could be one week, maybe Wednesday, 6/26/13, and I would be on a waiting list with 8 other people. What!!!!! went back the next morning, Saturday, 6/22/13, and was given an update. It is possible that it could be up to two weeks for repair at over $500. I quickly research this issue, and find many owners of all different Ford models are having the same issue. Some are lucky enough to be under warranty. This seems to be a defective part and as a loyal consumer to Ford - the company needs to do right by its customers. I believe this is a safety issue for some owners, because a lot of us are traveling freeways and a loss of power in our vehicles can put us in a dangerous situation.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #55

Jun 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,200 miles
I was driving down the road and all of the sudden I loose acceleration power and a wrench symbol appeared on the dashboard. I was able to pull off the road. I had to turn off and restart the car to get going again. This has also happened two other times since with the same scenario. Local dealer diagnosed as a defective throttle body.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #54

Mar 082013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car suddenly loses power when driving. There is no control of acceleration. This dangerous if this does it while in traffic. The code on the error is PT1111 and PT1112. Ford has no parts available and on back order. Some one is going to be seriously injured because they will not be able to control their vehicle.

- Alexander City, AL, USA

problem #53

Jun 202013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
At approximately 30 mph the car suddenly lost all throttle response, the car was driven to the side of the road and ignition turned off. The car immediately restarted and was driven approximately 20 miles. On the way to a Ford dealer while in the middle of a U-turn the throttle response was again lost, the ignition was turned off and the car again started normally......Ford diagnosed the problem as a faulty throttle body which they did not have and had to be ordered.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #52

Jun 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 24,500 miles
I was driving in the high-speed lane on rt. 3N in Plymouth, MA when all of a sudden I had no power coming from the gas pedal. Luckily the traffic was not heavy at the time and there was enough momentum for me to be able to steer the car to the breakdown lane. As I was coasting to the roadside the wrench symbol light came on the dashboard. My passenger and I were able to come away from this dangerous incident shaken but unscathed. After the car was towed to the Ford dealer it was determined that the problem was a faulty electrical throttle body in a two year old car with less than 30,000 miles. After five days I am still waiting for the car to be fixed, because the part is backordered. By looking on the internet I now know why the part is backordered. If so many Ford are having a throttle body problem, why hasn't there been a recall issued for this part?

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #51

Jun 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,539 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at a high rate of speed (55-65mph) when my cars gas pedal had no response. I had to cut across three lanes of traffic to pull into a parking lot all without acceleration ability. I was able to restart the car and continue driving only to have this happen again the next day. It turned out to be the throttle body in my 2011 Ford Fusion. P2111 and P2112 seem to be a faulty part. A number of people on forums and youtube seem to have had the same issue. I live in a heavily populated city and I could see this going a lot worse for a less experienced driver. Thank you

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #50

May 052013

Fusion

  • 46,500 miles
Twice within the same week while driving, the engine throttle suddenly disengaged. The first time I was making a left hand turn with oncoming traffic. Second time was driving on surface street which forced me to pull off the side of the road. Extremely dangerous!

- Brook Park, OH, USA

problem #49

May 132013

Fusion

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the wrench warning icon illuminated and the accelerator pedal became unresponsive. The engine was turned off and upon restarting, resumed normally. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times on the third visit; the technician was able to detect a trouble cod E and replaced the throttle body. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #48

Jun 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 27,817 miles
Traveling on Pennsylvania 476 South (toll road). Construction currently in area I was traveling so 2 lanes of traffic with no shoulder. Emergency pull off ramps located approximately every 2-3 miles along construction. Traveling during rush hour in am, pressed accelerator and received no response. Wrench light and check engine light appeared however car continued to run just with no power (later learned that this is what Ford calls "limp mode"). had just passed and emergency pull-off when this happened so had to drive at very low speed (approximately 10 miles per hour) to get to next emergency pull off 2 miles ahead. Very, very unsafe as I was blocking traffic on a major highway with no shoulder (jersey barriers on both sides of 2-lane highway). Managed to "limp" to emergency pull off without being hit from behind. Vehicle towed to Ford dealer and was diagnosed with needing a throttle body (known Ford problem for 2011 Ford Fusion vehicles)....if Ford is aware of this issue, why no recall? I was lucky as this incident happened in the worst possible area yet I was not hit from behind or injured.

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #47

Jun 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on highway, left lane at 72 mph, car made a clunking noise and shuddered, instantly lost ability to accelerate engine, tach dropped to 720 RPM, transmission acted as if it was in neutral. Pulled off highway to shoulder. Engine continued to run, but no response from accelerator.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #46

Jul 012012

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine warning light. The electronic failure warning lights also illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic, who stated that the failure was caused by the throttle body. The vehicle was repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 45,000. The current mileage was 49,000.

- Pasadena , TN, USA

problem #45

Oct 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that whenever traveling over 40 mph, the wrench warning icon illuminated and the vehicle would loose power. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal would also become heavy and resistant when the failure occurred. The vehicle had not been to the dealer for inspection of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000 and the current mileage was 41,000.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #44

Jun 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,900 miles
*** this placed my family in danger. I had the gas pedal pushed to the floor and it would not go. It died. June 11, 2013 @ 8:15 pm: Driving from eugene to springfield. Everything was normal. I took the center city exit in springfield and the throttle control/transmission indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. So I did a test -I put the care in it idled normal and smoothly -I put the care in the idle sounded spotty like it was skipping and then it sounded wav Y. not smooth and even like it did in ¯. -I put the care in he idle sounded spotty like it was skipping and then it sounded wav Y. not smooth and even like it did in ¯. -I put the care in the idle sounded spotty like it was skipping and then it sounded wav Y. not smooth and even like it did in ¯. -I put the care in the idle sounded spotty like it was skipping and then it sounded wav Y. not smooth and even like it did in. -started the engine just like you normally do when you get into the car. The key acted like it was stuck a little bit before it returned to the normal position. -on the way home from springfield, at red lights the car idled spotty and wavy not smooth.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #43

Jun 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,900 miles
** I was giving it gas before it just died and it seemed like the gas was not getting to the engine to make it go. It put my family is danger!! something I would never get back if I lost. June 11, 2013 @ 7:30 pm: Driving from springfield to 13the street in eugene. Everything was normal, but then when I made a right turn onto 13th street then about 1 ½ blocks later the throttle control/transmission¯ indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -I put the care in park -started the engine just like you normally do when you get into the car. The key acted like it was stuck a little bit before it returned to the normal position.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #42

May 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,723 miles
Note: The Ford dealership could not find and engine code May 17, 2013 @ 2:00 pm: Pulling out of the parking lot at work for lunch.the "throttle control/transmission" indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -I put the care in "P? park -started the engine and it acted normal -took it in to Ford, they said that they could not find a code related to that and instructed me that the next time it happens to drive directly to kendall for them to read the ?code? off of it. June 11, 2013 @ 7:30 pm: Driving from springfield to 13the street in eugene. Everything was normal, but then when I made a right turn onto 13th street then about 1 ½ blocks later?the ?throttle control/transmission? indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -I put the care in ?P? park -started the engine just like you normally do when you get into the car. The key acted like it was stuck a little bit before it returned to the normal position. June 11, 2013 @ 8:15 pm: Driving from eugene to springfield. Everything was normal.I took the ?center city exit? in springfield and the ?throttle control/transmission? indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. So I did a test?.. -I put the care in ?P? ??it idled normal and smoothly -I put the care in ?R-N-D-M? ??the idle sounded spotty like it was skipping and then it sounded wavy. Not smooth and even like it did in ?P". -started the engine just like you normally do when you get into the car. The key acted like it was stuck a little bit before it returned to the normal position. -on the way home from springfield, at red lights the car idled spotty and wavy not smooth.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #41

Jun 092013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 36,600 miles
I was driving on the highway with the cruise control set at 65mph. The car jerked and the cruise kicked off and I lost the ability to accelerate. After the dealership service department looked at the car I was told that the throttle body need replaced. However, the throttle body is on national backorder with no release date.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #40

May 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving the highway with cruise set at 75 mph, my car suddenly lost power, and I experienced no response while stepping on the accelerator. Though this was very scary in the traffic I was in, I was eventually able to coast to the right shoulder (after upsetting many drivers around me) and came to a stop on the right shoulder. After a minute, I decided to shut off my car, and was able to restart, and drive as nothing happened. Unfortunately, I experienced the same situation the next day, only at a lower speed (55 mph), and not with as much traffic. On the 3rd day, while on my way to the dealer, it happened again. After diagnosis, Ford says I experienced a P2112 code, and almost 3 weeks later, Ford still has my car because the part (throttle body assembly) is not available; completely unacceptable.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #39

May 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Stopped at an intersection and went to accelerate and had no throttle control the wrench light came on. Car idled through intersection and rolled into gas station. When I then turned it off and then restarted it and the wrench light was gone. Car seemed fine for approximately two weeks, and then the same thing happened again. This is a very big safety issue.

- Stanton, MI, USA

problem #38

Jun 032013

Fusion

  • 42,666 miles
I was driving home from work when my car started to slow down and wouldn't speed up after applying the gas pedal. Then it started to lurch, or jerk forward, and the 'wrench' indicator light came on. I was able to pull over and apply the brakes, which worked but were grinding. I left the engine running while waiting for a tow truck, for fear of not being able to get the engine started again. The problem was a bad/faulty throttle, which was repaired. I have seen similar complaints on the NHTSA website and, due to the dangerous nature of these incidents, I urge a recall be issued for all applicable vehicles.

- Dunkirk, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?