Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #217

Jun 302014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the interstate to work, the car all of the sudden jerked and started to decelerate. I was able to pull off onto the shoulder, while the car continued to jerk forward. I turned off the ignition, waited a few seconds, and restarted the car. I proceeded to reenter the highway, and a few seconds later it did the same thing again. I once again pulled off onto the shoulder, turned off the ignition, and restarted the car. This time the car ran fine all the way to work. I am concerned that since the freeway has a few construction spots where there are no shoulder pulloffs, I could have been in a serious accident.

- Dupont, PA, USA

problem #216

Jun 242014

Fusion

  • 96,000 miles
Steering feels very loose. When I hit the brakes my car steering feels very loose.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #215

Jun 142014

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
I own a 2011 Ford Fusion. While taking my child to a birthday party we noticed surges in power at no previous inclination of a problem. Two days later I noticed the same surge in power as if the car wanted to speed up and slow down on its own. The problem progressed a few days later to surges in power and also my car then completely died at a red light. It is now four days later and the problem has rapidly increased to a problem of dying while driving down the road and dying while idling sitting in the drive way. This is a serious safety issue, a car should not accelerate and decelerate or completely die while driving down the road. I could possibly see a serious issue or accident occurring because of this problem. I have researched issues with my model of car and have seen several people have the same issue and share my concern.

- Kerens, TX, USA

problem #214

May 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to throttle body problems. The consumer received a letter from Ford stating he could possibly experience a sudden reduction of engine power. The consumer believed a recall should be issued, instead of issuing warranty extension.

- Durand, WI, USA

problem #213

Apr 252014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,088 miles
Vehicle over accelerated when coming to a stop. I put both feet on brakes and shifted into park/neutral (has happened several times) and car accelerates to over 7000 RPM and automatically goes back down to normal. I have had the throttle body & motor assembly replaced (4/28/2014) yet it happened again immediately upon initial drive from Ford dealership. Dealership kept my car for 3 additional days and then advised that they could find nothing wrong and I was told (sales general manager) that what I was reporting to them "could not happen".

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #212

Apr 232014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 36,300 miles
While making a right turn into a parking space in a parking garage the vehicle suddenly accelerated and hit the concrete pylon before the brakes which were applied stopped the car. There was a lot of front end damage but no personal injuries.

- Celebration, FL, USA

problem #211

Apr 032014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,952 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated while she pulled into a parking area at unknown speeds. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 13,000. Updated 6/10/14 the consumer stated the vehicle surged and applying the brake, did not stop the vehicle. The vehicle went off the road into some trees. Updated 07/24/24

- Scarsdale , NY, USA

problem #210

Apr 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,220 miles
My wife, [xxx], was driving our Fusion. She had traveled approx. 1/4 mile and was approaching a stop sign at bayside dr. Newport beach, ca at the harbor is. Dr. intersection. Suddenly, the car accelerated, catching her by surprise she went through the intersection and was narrowly missed by two oncoming cars. She told me later that it happened a second time on the freeway (she was on her way home) but was not in immediate danger when it occurred. We have traveled these streets several times. Had just left the restaurant where we had lunch....was riding my bicycle home and watched her go through the intersection....very scary!! note: The throttle positioner was replaced on this vehicle a couple months ago. It had failed to 5mph. Villa Ford in orange ca did the repair. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/7/2014

- Orange 92867, CA, USA

problem #209

Dec 302013

Fusion

  • 11,000 miles
Battery goes dead after sitting a few days. Possible sign of electric throttle body failure.!!"?" battery replaced twice in 4 months, charges normally. While looking for possible electrical problems associated with the 2011 Fusion (11K miles) I discovered there is many, many people complaining of throttle body failure. I went to the local dealer and called Ford and asked them to replace the throttle body and trace the electrical problem. I was told that they would only honor their "customer satisfaction program" concerning the throttle body if it fails!!!!!! I explained that I was afraid to drive the vehicle and if they had an updated throttle body and "limp home" update they should install it and make corrections. A call to Ford and they refused to fix the potentially deadly problem. So what recourse is there?? my Fusion and F-350 are both headed for trade at a no nonsense dealer. Lacrosse and Silverado, here I come!!!!!!! I suggest you do something similar.

- Mt. Holly, NJ, USA

problem #208

Feb 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 23,214 miles
During normal driving conditions and speed, the car just stopped being responsive to the acceleration pedal without warning, the maintenance wrench light came on, and the car started slowing down. I was able to turn on the hazard lights and pull over to a safe location, while cars were pulling up behind me very quickly. As the car was left idling it became very rough, like the car was missing. To correct the problem, I had to turn off the car, wait thirty seconds to a minute and start the car again. The car started a little rough but returned to normal operation. The maintenance wrench light was not illuminated and no other warning lights illuminated. This has happened twice so far about a month apart. The first time this happened the vehicle was less than three years old and only had 23,214 miles on it. Luckily both times it happened on a local street and not on a highway. I consider this a safety and reliability problem. You have no idea when your car is going to just stop accelerating as you are driving.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #207

Mar 282012

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on crowded 6 lane street, car just lost power, I was able to pull over before being hit by oncoming traffic. Car was towed to rivertown Ford and they stated it was the throttle body, this has happen again on 12/05/2013 as I was driving all of a sudden my car slowing stopped moving regardless of how much I pressed on the gas. Taken to rivertown Ford again and they say it's the throttle body and it cost over $500 to fix.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #206

Feb 032014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to throttle body customer satisfaction program recall notice.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #205

Feb 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
The car was parked, and when I put it on reverse to back out, there was a beeping sound that said "power steering fault" and the wheel was super hard I could not continue to drive, so I put the car on park and turned it off. Left the car, and when my husband went to get the car, it turned on fine & drive fine. Two days later the same thing. Wondering if this is a recall or this can be replaced by Ford"???" first a few months ago, the "throttle body" & now this!!!!!

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #204

Jan 042014

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while traveling at various speeds, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a cement staircase. The driver sustained shoulder and head injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 25,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #203

Jan 312014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
In January, 2014 I received a letter from Ford indicating contamination on the internal motor contacts of the throttle body may occur, resulting in intermittent electrical connectivity. Engine power and vehicle speed would be reduced. Because of this potential problem, Ford is offering to extend the warranty on the throttle body to ten years. I believe Ford should issue a recall for the car and fix the potential problem now before it occurs and causes a safety problem. Any assistance you could provide in having Ford issue a recall would be appreciated. Thank you.

- Oak Forest, IL, USA

problem #202

Oct 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
I was driving on the highway and all of a sudden the car seemed to start shutting down. I lost speed and could not accelerate even thought I was pressing the accelerator pedal. The whole car started to shake and vibrate violently making a sputtering noise. I was able to brake, slow down and stop to pull off onto the shoulder of the highway. The car would not stop shuddering until I turned the engine off. I waited 10 seconds, turned the engine back on and the car drove normally again. This happened twice more, one at 30 mph and one at 60 mph again on the highway. Then we took it to have the throttle body replaced.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #201

Dec 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,950 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while attempting to merge into traffic, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without any warning. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred multiple times previously. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 55,950.... updated 03/24/14 the manufacturer was not notified and advised the dealer no to replace any parts. The consumer was informed to bring the vehicle back, when the problem occurred again. In addition, the sudden acceleration occurred on three different occasions, two of which were at very low speeds. Updated 06/03/14

- Honeoye Falls, NY, USA

problem #200

Jan 182014

Fusion

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while parking the vehicle park with the brakes applied the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a building. The contact was not injured during the crash. The vehicle was not destroyed. The contact did not contact the manufacturer regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Woodberry Heights, NJ, USA

problem #199

Jan 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,875 miles
2011 Ford Fusion lost power and stalled and found out that the electrical throttle body needed to be replaced for a cost of $500.94 by a mechanic because it is not covered by Ford even thought there are many complaints about this bad part in the Fusion. There should be a recall on this and/or reimbursement for getting it fixed. Only had the car 6 months with less than 28K miles on it.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #198

Dec 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,300 miles
In the beginning of December while driving my friends home my Fusion suddenly jolted and then I lost the ability to accelerate. The service wrench displayed and I had to come to a complete stop in a neighborhood. A few weeks later while driving home the same thing happened and I had to pull over to turn my car off and then on again, which seems to be the only way it will allow me to drive. Fast forward to January and I began having troubles again. This time I was on the highway and my car jolted and lost the ability to accelerate. This was a major safety issue because the highway I drive on is under construction and has no shoulder. Imagine if it would have been a busy night and I had to come to a complete stop. This has happened a total of 8 times. Seems like a huge safety issue. I bought this car used with 34,000 miles on it and have to drive a lot for work.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?