Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,760 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

Aug 312013


  • 34,874 miles


I was driving doing 60-65 mph in a construction zone and all of a sudden I just lost power. I pushed the gas pedal to the floor and there was nothing. The engine and radio were still running and the light came on the dash that looked like a wrench. I coasted off the road and stopped and shut the car off, waited a minute or so and restarted the car. I proceeded down the freeway and within 10 minutes the same thing happened again (still in the construction zone), this time the check engine light came on and stayed on after I restarted the car. My husband, son and I were on our way to Utah from Idaho. It didn't do it again for the remainder of the trip so the check engine light went off because it reset itself. My car is still under factory warranty and I need a reliable car maybe the Fusion isn't as reliable as they claim it is.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #134

Aug 282013


  • 52,013 miles
My car had just over 52000 miles on it when this incident occurred. I was driving on the highway around 70 mph when my car lost throttle control. It felt like the transmission pulled itself out of gear and I was unable accelerate. I had very little control over my car. When this issued occurred the "wrench" icon on the dashboard had turned on. I was able to pull over to the shoulder, and when I put the car in park the car began to mildly jerking. Frantic, I turned off the vehicle to stop the jerking. After about 10 seconds, the car was finally calm and I attempt to restart the car. When car was restarted there was no longer any jerking coming from the vehicle, the wrench icon was gone, and I had control of my gas pedal again.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #133

Aug 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Was driving down the road today, and upon taking off at a green light, a wrench icon came on and the RPM started fluttering and the car wouldn't accelerate. So I pulled over and turned the car off and waited a minute and turned the car and it did fine. About five minutes later, I was on the enter ramp to the interstate and it did it again. Pulled over in the shoulder and turned it off and on again and it ran okay.. as soon as I hit the gas, it did it again. So I turned it off and on again and made it to an autozone to have the engine light read (which came on after the third occurrence.) engine light read P2111 and that the throttle body actuator was stuck open. Called my dealer and they said the whole throttle body would have to be replaced. Then I called my warranty, and they said its not covered. I'm extremely irritated at this situation.. and once I googled it, I noticed quite a few people have had the same problem.. so there should definitely be a recall..

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #132

Aug 202013


  • 69,524 miles


Ok so I was on my lunch break, entering a well known busy intersection, when I tried to cross over into the median. My car all of a sudden w/no warning sign failed to accelerate further, this almost caused me to get hit by a 16 wheeler truck. Now my car didn't cut off which was surprising, it only stalled and when pressing on the gas pedal I was unable to move. I eventual turned the car off and once cranked up the car hesitated B/4 finally cranking up and allowing me to move on. This issue happened 6X on tues 8/20/2013 before my car eventually just wouldn't let me move at all.. took the car up top auto-zone and was adv. And still have the print out of the issue which was the throttle stuck open/stuck closed.. took the car to Ford who fixed the issue for $520+, and advised me that the issue was related to the throttle. I asked if there was a recall, Ford company told me no, that there is no recall as of yet, however the part was out of stock nationwide.. and after completing my resaearch I have noticed that I am not the only person experiencing this issue.. this issue has been really irritating for me especially since I travel over 45 miles to work everyday. However the isue is resolved now B/C I paid $520+ to get my car fixed, however w/ no warning signs and almost getting hit and possibly fired B/C my transportation issues.. I am just glad the problem for now is fixed. However would love reinbursement especially if this is recalled.. thanks for your time lavon harper.

- Laurinburg, NC, USA

problem #131

Aug 272013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 29,599 miles
My 2011 Ford Fusion, which I purchased only a few months ago... lost speed while driving home from work today. I'm still shaky and upset. I was a very busy 2lane up/2lane down avenue when my vehicle lost speed! I was in the inner lane and had to decide if I wanted the delivery truck to hit me from behind or risk side swiping someone in hope of getting off the road before I slowed completed. Through the grace of god I was able to make two hard rights before my Fusion began to stop, shake, and sputter. The first hard right was into the right lane in front of another car then onto the side street. My goodness never been so scared in life except the next two time it did while still trying to make it home. This time though, I knew to stay in the left lane. I also relied on the fact that once you get to a safe place and turn the engine off and on again it starts back up!!! I'm scared of my car! and scared for my life and others that this vehicle malfunction may affect during my commutes. I'm going on the record as saying if I die in my 2011 Ford Fusion during an accident single/multi vehicle please do a forensic check on the throttle!

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #130

Aug 222013


  • 41,015 miles
On Thursday 8/22/13, I was driving about 55 mph on the highway and I experienced what seemed like an engine stall. My 2011 Fusion would not accelerate so I pulled off the side and my car started shaking so I turned it off. I waited a bit and started it back up and kept driving. I could still feel a lag when I stepped on the gas. I had a mechanic look at the car but he could not find any issues. On Saturday 8/24/13, the same issue happened to me 3 times within a 4 hour span. I poured in some seafoam to rule out any moisture that may be in the engine. I did some research online and discovered others have had similar issues that have all been linked to a faulty throttle body. On Sunday 8/25/13, the issue happened twice during the day. Today I finally took my car to the Ford dealership and told them what I was experiencing and told them that I think it is the throttle body. The guy told me that they would not know until the computer displayed the error code. Several hours later I received a call from the dealership telling me it is a faulty throttle body and the repair would cost $650. If this is a known issue, why hasn't a recall been issued?

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #129

Aug 202013


  • 36,500 miles


When turning left, lost throttle control. Auto stayed powered but attempts to apply acceleration via the gas pedal were unsuccessful. Coasted to a stop, put in park and restarted vehicle ok. The 'wrench' signal came on when the issue occurred but went off upon restart.

- Ellettsville, IN, USA

problem #128

Aug 172013


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle decelerated independently and failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the throttle body assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Rydal, GA, USA

problem #127

Aug 252013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
The engine shook violently. The wrench light and check engine light suddenly appeared. The speed of the car went from 45 mph to 0 in an instant. Then the entire car powered off. I managed to pull over to the shoulder as this happened and not being able to accelerate at all. I turned the car on again with keys in ignition. Started to drive and the same series of events happened again and my car completely powered off. I got my car towed to Ford malcolm cunningham on 8/26/13. They confirmed it was the throttle body that caused the issues. I purchased extended warranty on my car which only covered the actual part and not the labor to replace the throttle body. The dealership service rep, [xxx], said that they recommended I also flush the engine because they have seen this is related to the throttle body issue. She also said the throttle body issue is a common problem with Fusion and escapes, as she had another person in there for the same issue on an escape. Ford needs to realize this is extremely unsafe and issue a recall asap! I cannot believe my car is practically new and I'm out of pocket $400, while Ford doesn't take any responsibility. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sandy Springs, GA, USA

problem #126

Aug 232013


  • 55,600 miles
This is a known issue with 2011 and other model Ford Fusion and other model Ford cars. According to the media, on Oct 2nd 2012 NHTSA created a defect petition to open an investigation on escape and Fusion vehicles. I was traveling on over the chesapeake bay bridge on I50 in morning traffic ata ~ 60 mph when all of a sudden my Fusion lost complete power. This caused a hazardous situation. I then had to 'limp' over a mile up the to the top of the bridge at less than 5 mph until I could put the vehicle in neutral and coast down the other side. Myself and numerous other vehicles were subjected to a hazardous condition when this occurred. Later troubleshooting revealed my problem was the well known 'Fusion throttle body issue' currently under investigation. Local Ford dealer al packard in white marsh md service dept confirmed the issue as the '2111' fault and problem. After reading all of the details on this problem on the internet, I discussed the matter at length with local and national Ford customer service people. Although this is a well known issue, Ford has no customer warranty program in place for this dangerous problem, nor is it covered until their power train warranty. There needs to be a recall warranty program and have this problem fixed before more people get hurt. In my case I witnessed numerous unsafe conditions while I was limping up the bridge for 20 minutes. The situation could have caused a terrible accident on the chesapeake bay bridge. I work as a flight safety product support manager for a major aircraft engine manufacturer. Any loss of thrust control issue is handled as a safety issue and recall programs are put in place. The same needs to occur here. My brother who also owns a 2010 Fusion had a similar issue where he has lost complete power while traveling ~65 mph in interstate traffic.

- Grasonville , MD, USA

problem #125

Jul 312013


  • 52,000 miles


My 2011 Ford Fusion has repeatedly experienced the same stalling and random shut-downs that I know understand many other drivers have experienced. Usually upon accelerating, my vehicle will buck abruptly and then shudder and rapidly reduce speed until I am able to shut it off. The indicator light for the transmission turns on and occasionally the check engine light. Most of the time, the vehicle will turn right back on and be able to drive as normal, but sometimes it will repeat the same bucking process very shortly after I resume driving. I took it to an auto zone and the engine check they ran returned with an error message saying "throttle body system stuck open" and that is was being held open at an angle larger than needed. Thankfully, this hasn't happened while on the highway or in any place that I could not pull over safely, but it continues to happen with other drivers around, nonetheless. This is an incredibly dangerous and frustrating issue and one that I am shocked and appalled to find happens to so many other drivers. Ford needs to do something to make this right for the great many of us who have been put in harms way by this faulty system.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #124

Apr 052012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
In April 2012 as I was making a right hand turn at about 15 miles per hour the car just basically stopped. The power was on but the car would not go. Again on Sunday, August 11, 2013 as I was making a left hand turn, the car basically stopped in the middle of an intersection, causing the driver behind to honk and wonder if I was moving. I put the flashers on and the vehicle "limped" through the intersection. I could have been in a serious accident in the middle of five lanes of traffic! I shut the car off and restarted same problem. I shut the car off again and was able to drive home. I took the vehicle to the dealership on Monday, August 12th and they diagnosed a bad throttle-body. They replaced the throttle body. I then looked on the internet to see if there was a problem with my car and I saw a news article posted in February 2013 with Ford having failures with the throttle body in my vehicle.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #123

Aug 232013


  • 25,000 miles
I was driving normal speed of about 35 mph. All of a sudden, the car stopped. The engine was running, but the throttle would not respond. I pressed down on the gas pedal, but no response. The car started to slow down and eventually stopped. I pressed the gas pedal, but no response. The wrench light came on. I turned the engine off. I restarted the car. It started funny, but started. The wrench light came off but the engine light came on. I drove for about a mile and it happened again. The car started to "buck" and then throttle response. I turned off the car, waited for a while, and then restarted the car. It started funny, but started. I drove it to the dealer. Turned off the car and restarted. It started funny, but started. The engine light came on. No throttle response when I pressed the gas pedal.

- O Fallon, IL, USA

problem #122

Aug 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I was in my 2011 Ford Fusion. I stopped at a red light. When it turned green I gave it gas and the car started to shake violently, the wrench light came on the dash and would not go more than 2 mph. A truck almost rear-ended me in a 50 mph zone. I was really shaken up and thought that was the closest I had come to death or serious injury in my life. We took the car to Ford and they told us that it was a bad throttle body and that it would be around $500 to replace. They said the part was on back order but could do a rush shipment and have it within 10 days. Our Ford has always been serviced at the dealership but we decided to call our mechanic (non Ford) in town to see if he could get the part quicker or cheaper. He called another Ford dealership and was told that the throttle body is a huge problem and they had been back ordered for over 6 months but more were expected in by October 2013. We checked online and found that there has been problems with the Ford throttle body for years, and Ford refuses to do anything about it. I would think Ford would stand behind their products instead of worrying about profits when their customer's lives are in danger from an inferior part. To top it off we have also been hearing a popping sound in the front end. When we took it into Ford for the throttle body problem they also said that the bushings in the front end for the tie rods and a arms were bad and that they needed to be replaced. When I called Ford they said there was nothing they could do since there were not any recalls on the vehicle. I can't understand when you type in Ford throttle body in any search engine, it comes up with thousands of people that are having problems with the Ford throttle body. Now I truly know the meaning of Ford, found on road dead. Either the Ford vehicle itself or the occupants of the car. Shame on Ford for not fixing these safety issues.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #121

Aug 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,451 miles
Car quit running in drive. Decelerated to a stop. Restarted and parked in a lot. I had just come from the dealer for warranty work and an oil change. I was on my way home when this happened. I walked back to the dealer and reported this. They had to get a tow truck and tow it back to he dealership. They told me it was a bad throttle body. As of Wednesday at 4pm, the vehicle is still there waiting for a throttle body part. My invoice stated "C/S vehicle's idle sometimes goes high by itself". the technician [xxx], stated on the invoice, 'no codes present, cannot duplicate'. the dealership is countryside Ford, 24825 us19N, clearwater, fl 33763 727-797-2277. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #120

Aug 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The first incident I was driving back from the airport and the engine stayed on but the throttle would not respond. I found a way in heavy traffic moving very quickly to get to a shoulder. Then I turned the car off and then back on and the car responded fine. 5 days later (today) the exact same thing happened and again on a very busy freeway (US59 near downtown houston) at lunch time. Again I managed to get off the road without causing an accident and turned the car off then restarted it and it worked fine. It happened a third time while in a neighborhood traveling at 20 mph. I am astonished that there are nearly 3/4 of a million vehicles with this issue or potential issue and the impressive number of reports of the exact same scenario happening all over the country and Ford has not issued a recall.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #119

Aug 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,800 miles
Throttle body stopped working while I was traveling down the freeway. Service light came on and I had no power to continue on. Had to get over three lanes while car slowed down. Stopped off at side of road and car idled very rough. Turned car off waited a minute and restarted and it ran fine for awhile unit happened again.

- Oxford , MI, USA

problem #118

Jul 292013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After accelerating to 30 my car lost the ability to use the foot pedal. The engine continued running but was unable to accelerate. I pulled off the side of the road, shut the car off waited a few minutes and then started the car. It worked fine until August 15th when the same thing happened 4 times. Once with in 30 minutes at a speed us 40 to 55. The 3rd and 4th times occurred within minutes of each other at 55 mph in a construction zone. On all occasions the wrench light came on. On August 17th I took my car to the dealership and they informed me the throttle body assembly was bad and needed replaced. That cost me $500 out of pocket since my car is out of warranty.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

problem #117

Aug 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Driving at highway speeds, very hard jerking. Luckily the highway was clear or someone could have died! wrench and check engine light went on and car went into limp mode. Went home and ran the code and it told me it was the throttle body stuck. I used google to review my options and 1000's of people have had this problem!!!! how is this not a recalled part yet!"!? I cannot wait so I ordered the throttle body, and it is backordered at the dealer! how is this not a clue that they need to fix this asap" someone is going to die, I read their have already been major accidents with this issue.

- Fillmore, CA, USA

problem #116

Aug 102013


  • 60,000 miles
While driving down a country road, the vehicle's engine suddenly started shaking violently and would not accelerate above 3 miles per hour. We had to push the car home and have it towed to the dealership. The problem is the throttle body. Ford Motor Co. Is aware that there is a design flaw with the throttle body in this make/model. Ford has re-designed this part but has not issues a recall. The car has been in the shop for over a week waiting for a new throttle body because there is a shortage due to a large number of vehicles experiencing the same problem. Ford needs to issue a recall to avoid what could have been a fatal accident. If this problem had occurred while pulling out into traffic, or on a major highway the end result could have easily have been a fatal accident. Ford needs to recall this part now!

- Armuchee, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?