Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,163 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 9 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

Jul 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving vehicle lost engine power. Rpms went to zero, engine stayed at idle speed and throttle control light (wrench symbol) came on. No response when gas pedal pressed. Coasted to side of road and turned ignition off. Waited 10 minutes and car started up with no problems and no warning light. My concern is that if this happened in heavy/faster traffic it may have caused an accident. And after researching online as to what may have caused this failure it seems there are a large number of consumers having the same problem with this make and model. Several suggested filing a complaint on this site.

- Magnolia, DE, USA

problem #76

Jul 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, there was a sudden loss of power. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 42,000.

- Belton , SC, USA

problem #75

Jul 182011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Original incident occurred in June 2011. Vehicle lost all acceleration unexpectedly and was towed to dealership. Vehicle was only 6 months old and throttle body was replaced under warranty. Has subsequently happened two more times. The second time the dealership service could not recreate the problem. The third time was July 2013. Again vehicle was towed to dealership. Advised that it was again a failure of the throttle bottle. Part alone will be $400 to replace and will not be available for 10 days to 3 weeks. This will be the third throttle bottle on a car that is less than 3 years old. The failure poses a severe safety risk if occurs on high speed highway while in middle or left lanes.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #74

Jul 022013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Ford Fusion 3.0 L V6. I was driving down the highway with my 4 yr old, when the engine lost all acceleration power and an orange wrench light illuminated my dashboard. I was in the fast lane and had to cross 3 lanes of traffic in a disabled car to get to the shoulder! I would hit the gas pedal with no response and it was not shifting right at all. I cut the ignition and let it sit for a couple min while I looked through the manual to see what the wrench light was all about. When I turned it back on the light was still there and again, not shifting right. I let it sit for another 10 min and started it again. The wrench light was gone so I drove home. Took it to the dealership and they said something about a sensor and the computer needed replacement.it was under warranty so I didn't really pay too much attention, but when I went online to see if it's happened to others..I was unpleasantly surprised to see that there are hundreds of other complaints on the same exact issue! as another commenter recommended, I called the Ford consumer's hotline at 800-392-3673 to see if there's anything being done. The rep told me there's no recalls and all she can do is document it and to call her back if I need anything else...really" a car with no power on the highway is obviously a safety concern and with this many complaints I'm really surprised Ford and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration hasn't recalled this faulty part.does someone need to get hurt or worse, killed first"

- Middletown, MD, USA

problem #73

Jul 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
The vehicle started to lose power while I was driving 45mph on a major roadway. I hit the accelerator to try and make it go, but the car continued to stall. Luckily I was able to avoid getting hit head on or rear ended. I let the car sit for and hour before I started it. I made it about 5 miles before it lost all power and stalled again. I was almost rear ended again. The only way Ford will fix it is if it registers a fault code which it is not doing. It just loses the ability to accelerate and stalls within a minute or less. They told me I just have to drive it. It is not safe to drive until they fix the problem.

- Bargersville, IN, USA

problem #72

Jun 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My wife was driving vehicle at about 65 mph in morning rush hour traffic. While traveling yellow wrench light came on and vehicle slowed down while traveling in the far left lane (fast lane). Had to safely get the car to side of the road as it coasted while traffic still maintained their normal speed. After removing key and letting vehicle sit for a couple minutes, put key back in ignition and started the vehicle back up. Proceeded with no issues. Called dealership and made an appointment for 7/1/2013. Was told that there were no codes and could not get vehicle to perform our stated issue. Was told it may be the throttle body and that they would order one (we are looking at the minimum a two week wait). And that they would not guarantee that this would fix the problem because there were no codes for them to go off of. It should be noted that our extended service contract does not cover this and that we would be looking at around a $400 repair. If we would of had preferred service plan that it would of been covered (imagine that!). so today my wife calls me again to tell me she is on the side of the highway because the issue happened again! and on top of this issue she now had a flat tire probably due to having to coast the vehicle to the side of the highway. We met up and changed vehicles. I proceeded to drive the vehicle back to work, but never made it due to the vehicle not wanting to operate and yellow wrench coming on along with check engine light. Had vehicle towed back to dealership where they offered a loaner car while we wait for part to arrive with no estimated eta" a huge safety concern that Ford seems to not care about and has a casual "we will get to it, when we get to it" mentality"!?!"

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #71

Jun 242013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

6 times in the past 9 days, the Ford Fusion has been driving at various speeds (25 mph to 65 mph) and suddenly a "wrench" warning light has illuminated on the dash, and simultaneously the car seems to lose all power to the wheels. Depressing the pedal doesn't result in any acceleration or to maintain speed, but the RPM's don't increase either. This is very unsafe. In one of the incidents the car was in the left hand lane of a major highway, traveling at 65 mph, and had to be guided over onto the left median as it decelerated with traffic piling up behind. The car can always be turned off, then re-started, put back in drive, and then functions normally. This seems to be the same throttle body issue that is widely reported on Ford Fusion forum websites. The car was bought used, but has been driven for almost 1 year and 9,000 miles and this issue had never appeared before 9 days ago.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #70

Jun 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 82,994 miles
I was driving down the road and the car just lost power. I would step on the gas and it would just barely move. I had to coast to a side road. I turned it off and then started it back up. It went a couple of blocks and did the same thing. Then tried it again and it would not stay running. The check engine light came on.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #69

Jun 012013

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the throttle body would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 67,000.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #68

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My car keeps stalling, after taking to mechanic it was diagnostic tested with throttle acenture control system that was defective unable to get part from Ford Corp. Was told they are on back order have to wait several weeks more. To many Ford Fusion need part there should be an investigation that leads into recall its not fair to us buyers I have personally called Ford dealers in 5 surrounding states for 4 days no one has the part nor for Canada or Ford Mexico something wrong here.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #67

Jun 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Fusion w/ 3.0 liter 6cyl. While traveling at approximately 50 mph the engine suddenly bogged down. I pressed the gas pedal and nothing happened. I was able to pull over to the side and the engine was still running. A wrench light came on. I put the car in park and tried the gas pedal again with no response. I turned the engine off, waited a few seconds, then turned it back on. I was able to drive home, then to the Ford dealership with no incident. I was told that the problem was the throttle body which is on national back order. Ford would not cover the repair even though car was just over the warranty mileage limit. I found out that the NHTSA started an investigation on this issue in February 2013 and Ford is aware of the multiple complaints of this same problem. I was lucky no truck was behind me since my car slowed quickly and suddenly with no warning. The internet is filled with complaints of this same issue. Please do something before someone is killed!

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #66

Jun 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Was driving 65 when the wrench light came on and the gas pedal went dead. Got pulled over and car was idling very rough. Turned off for 2 minutes and after a hard start the car ran normal again. Then it happened again that evening as I was just pulling out my driveway. I was totally unaware of this problem until I read about all the complaints on this web site. I took it to my dealership and guess what, bad throttle body!!!! my dealership is pretty good and they fixed me up in a rental loaner car while they waited for 5 days to get the new part. I've had my Fusion back for 10 days now and its been good and actually feels a little more responsive. A friend of mine suggested a call Ford's consumer's hotline 800-392-3673 which I called a week ago and Ford gave me a case number. I told the rep I thought Ford should at least give me some credit for the repair with the throttle body history and they should step up and do a recall on this before someone gets killed. Ford said they would call me in 4 business days. That was a week ago, didn't hear a word so I called them again today about my case. They said they checked with the dealership and that the dealership had already given me a discount by only charging me $500 on a $900 repair. Amazing I was quoted $500 for the repair the day I brought it in. I told her that my last 4 vehicle purchases were new Ford and I'm seeing an end coming to our relationship if they failed to act on this throttle body thing. My impression is that Ford is in complete denial and if they don't think this is a safety issue I suggest that they should experience it on the interstate in the center lane during rush hour traffic.

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #65

Jun 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,682 miles
2300 RPM, transmission lurches, no throttle response. I have to pull over and cut the ignition off to reset the sensor. Happened multiple times and finally the check engine light glowed. I went to the Ford dealership they said the throttle sensor was bad. I pay them to replace the whole throttle body, which I read online is constantly recurring. Not covered in warranty and the number of times this has happened, Ford should be responsible for a faulty part. Not me.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #64

Jun 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,019 miles
I was driving and I lost power- I was unable to accelerate, car stalled causing cars behind me to swerve off road to avoid hitting my car. The dealership says it is the throttle body sensor and there is a nationwide shortage of parts.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #63

Jun 262013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,200 miles
As I was driving down the highway between 65-70mph the gas peddle stopped working, the wrench light came on the dash board and I pulled to the side of the road. I turned the car off and restarted it but did have to pump the gas a time or 2 to get it started. Engine lights went out. This same thing happened 7 times in what should have been a 1hr 45 min trip. I pulled into a Ford dealer along the highway and they ran diagnostics for me and came up with the throttle body problem. I only had 3 episodes on the way home.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #62

Jan 092013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
While approaching a red light, the vehicle seemed to slip out of gear and lose power. The wrench light went on and when I went to accelerate, the vehicle would not do so. I was able to limp the car to the side of the road and turned if off. When I restarted, it ran fine. I took the vehicle to the dealer the next day and they could not find anything wrong as no codes had been tripped. I did not have another incident until June of 2013 at which time I was driving at 55 miles per hour and again, the vehicle just lost acceleration and the wrench light went on. Luckily was not in heavy traffic and able again to get to the side of the road, turn it off and restart. I took the car back to the dealer and again, no code tripped, nothing could be found. On the way home from the dealer and driving at a speed of 60 mph, again the same problem. I took the vehicle back to the dealer the next day which was June 12, 2013 and they gave me a loaner car to drive until they determined the problem.. on June 18, the dealer called me and said I had to bring the loaner back because the part they needed to repair my vehicle (the part being a throttle body) was on back order and would take a few days to come in. It is now June 26, 2013. The part is still not in, according to the mechanic at the dealership, this part is in high demand!! what should that tell anyone"??" my car to date on average loses acceleration at least 5 or 6 times a trip no matter how far I drive, it's extremely dangerous! thus, I now I have to rent a vehicle at partially my expense ( have extended warranty) it seems to me I shouldn't have to pay anything for a rental!! this is a Ford manufacturing issue, and in my opinion should be investigated for recall!!!

- Staatsburg, NY, USA

problem #61

May 152013

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated with the illumination of the wrench warning icon. The failure recurred three times when traveling at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who informed the contact that the failure was related to the throttle body. An unknown repair was performed on the vehicle however, the failure recurred after the repair. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent malfunction. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #60

Jun 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was accelerating from stop light. Attempting to reach 55 mph only got to about 45-50 mph..I then lost throttle response(no acceleration). Wrench light was on. Coasted to the side of highway, the engine idled a little rough. Very low RPM. Put the car in park and tried to rev the engine. No response, only idle, low RPM.then I turned the engine off, waited about a minute and restarted it. No more wrench light icon. No problems the rest of the day. I took the car into the dealer to test for codes, no codes were found. Was told to bring the car in when wrench icon is on to test for code. I only have this one car so I'm driving it every day, but I won't drive over 40 mph until the throttle is replaced.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #59

Jun 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,825 miles
While driving on a busy road in rush hour traffic going about 40-45 miles per hour my car engine was still running but would not accelerate. I looked down at the dash and the wrench light was on. I managed to coast out of the traffic and get to a safe spot. I tried to call dealer but they were not open yet. I sat with car still running for a few minutes to see if it would shift into gear but nothing happened. Engine still running but when gas pedal was pushed nothing happened. I feel this is a safety issue because the car just slows down with no warning and could have caused an accident. Not sure what I should do at this time so, I shut the car off and restarted it. It seemed to be working, so I started back on the road only to have it happen again. I turned the car off and back on again and it managed to get me to work. I have not gone to the dealer as of yet but it appears that the Fusion are having a throttle body issue. If I go to the dealer and the car is not acting up, I will be paying for them to tell me they can't find anything wrong. According to the complaints this is a major safety issue.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #58

Jun 242013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
I traded in my Mercedes for a 2011 Ford Fusion with FFV to buy american. Everything was fine until up to the point that the car stalled & surges at 60 mph on the freeway. I limped into the freeway shoulder and stopped the car. My family has never been in this very dangerous situation before. I was very disappointed that a car with 30,000 miles will have this kind of a problem. I think Ford still has a problem with reliability. I'm going back to german cars.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?