Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,766 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Jul 012015


  • 51,671 miles


My check engine light came on and the error code is for a evap system leak. I took the car to a garage. They said there is most likely a small crack in the fuel delivery hose on the capless fuel system. However, to save money they said to go to a Ford dealer because it could be under warranty or recalled. It is neither. The 2013 Ford Fusion were recalled for the delivery hose cracking. (recall no. 13504) now I cannot fill my tank up the whole way without gas leaking out. This is dangerous and I don't understand why my car would not be recalled when it has the same safety issues as the other 50,000 that they did recall.

- Homer City, PA, USA

problem #98

Feb 022015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My husband and I bought a 2011 Ford Fusion in December of 2012, it was used we bought it. I had 30,000 miles when we first drove it. We do regular maintenance on the car and never had a problem with it. It was not until it reached over the 50,000 miles he started to have problems with it. The check fuel inlet light keeps coming on about every other week after we put fuel in the vehicle. We read the manual, and did as it said to follow the steps as suggested. It works for a while but the message keeps coming back. This week, the motor service light come up, and it scared me to dead. I did some research and found out there is a whole lot of people with the same problem. I'm wondering how come they haven't made a recall. I don't want to take my car in to get it fix if its something that its defective and the car dealer must take care of it. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #97

Feb 202015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 64,018 miles
Driving down interstate vehicle stopped responding. Wrench light came on, diagnosed as faulty throttle body.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #96

Jun 162013


  • miles


Whenever we accelerate our vehicle hesitates and then jumps into gear. It has already cut off once and we are worried about our safety.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #95

Sep 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,740 miles
My vehicle stopped in the middle of traffic (several times), while driving 25 mph. It stopped with no pre warning signs. The car is only 3 years old and I only purchased it less than four months ago. This is very disheartening!

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #94

Jul 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,153 miles
I attempted to drive my car but it suddenly shut off and powered down when I pulled out of a parking lot of an establishment. I restarted my car and drove to my destination. This happened on 07/07/14. There were no indications of vehicle issue as no maintenance or warning lights came on. The next time this happened was on 07/11/14. This happened five times during a thirty minute period where the car would travel a mile and then would shut off. During this time when the car would shut off the maintenance light would come on when it shut off but not when it turned on and it had a rough ignition. This occurred again on 07/14/14. I attempted to take the car to work on 07/16/14 and the car shut off en route less than two miles from my home by shutting down and a maintenance light coming on. Took the vehicle to a auto zone store in my area to have the computer checked for codes and code P2111 was the result. The repair needed was a throttle body for the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #93

Jun 142014


  • 51,000 miles


I own a 2011 Ford Fusion. While taking my child to a birthday party we noticed surges in power at no previous inclination of a problem. Two days later I noticed the same surge in power as if the car wanted to speed up and slow down on its own. The problem progressed a few days later to surges in power and also my car then completely died at a red light. It is now four days later and the problem has rapidly increased to a problem of dying while driving down the road and dying while idling sitting in the drive way. This is a serious safety issue, a car should not accelerate and decelerate or completely die while driving down the road. I could possibly see a serious issue or accident occurring because of this problem. I have researched issues with my model of car and have seen several people have the same issue and share my concern.

- Kerens, TX, USA

problem #92

May 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,310 miles
I was traveling 55 mph. Suddenly lost RPM and engine started sputtering and within 5 second my car was dead in fast lane with no shoulder to pull over. Cars braking hard behind me and honking. I was able to restart the car and moved to a gas station near by. Took the car to an autozone. They read the engine light code P2111, which is an issue with throttle actuator. Looked it up on google search. In my first search found hundreds of posting problem with this vehicle Ford Fusion 2011. The engine just goes dead no telling where and when. I was very lucky that did not get hit or lose control. Imagine engine goes dead when you are traveling 55 mph or higher in a fast lane next thing you know, you are at complete stop with no brake or steering. See for yourself search for throttle body Ford Fusion. Updated 11/24/2014

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #91

Apr 252014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,088 miles
Vehicle over accelerated when coming to a stop. I put both feet on brakes and shifted into park/neutral (has happened several times) and car accelerates to over 7000 RPM and automatically goes back down to normal. I have had the throttle body & motor assembly replaced (4/28/2014) yet it happened again immediately upon initial drive from Ford dealership. Dealership kept my car for 3 additional days and then advised that they could find nothing wrong and I was told (sales general manager) that what I was reporting to them "could not happen".

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #90

Feb 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 23,214 miles
During normal driving conditions and speed, the car just stopped being responsive to the acceleration pedal without warning, the maintenance wrench light came on, and the car started slowing down. I was able to turn on the hazard lights and pull over to a safe location, while cars were pulling up behind me very quickly. As the car was left idling it became very rough, like the car was missing. To correct the problem, I had to turn off the car, wait thirty seconds to a minute and start the car again. The car started a little rough but returned to normal operation. The maintenance wrench light was not illuminated and no other warning lights illuminated. This has happened twice so far about a month apart. The first time this happened the vehicle was less than three years old and only had 23,214 miles on it. Luckily both times it happened on a local street and not on a highway. I consider this a safety and reliability problem. You have no idea when your car is going to just stop accelerating as you are driving.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #89

Jan 172014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,032 miles


This is a followup report. Took my car to Ford. They replaced the electronic throttle body at no charge.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #88

Jan 172014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,032 miles
I was driving at low speed on a secondary street, going about 15 mph. Suddenly, the vehicle became unresponsive to the gas pedal. The check engine light came on and the engine was alternating between surging and stalling. This was the 5th time this had happened to me since I purchased the car in September 2013. I pulled to the side of the road, took out my phone and made a video of what was happening. The video will show that the engine was non-reponsive, surging and stalling. However, when I shut off and re-stared the engine, the problem seemed to disappear. I had taken the car to Ford a few weeks ago to have them service this problem, but they were unable to confirm that there was any problem. The did not charge me to check the car. They did not tell me about the throttle body problem at that time. After I made the video, I was at Ford two days ago with our escape for an oil change and showed the video to the service manager. He told me that the problem is related to the throttle body and asked me to bring the car in for service. I have not been able to return to Ford as of this time.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #87

Dec 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 26,800 miles
Car went into limp mode. Lost almost all power. Will move on flat road with limited RPM about 1000. No power and car shakes while moving. This repeat of what happen year back while driving at 40 mph - lost power. At that time dealer change throttle body to correct the problem. In less that year I see same systems and car is back to dealer.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #86

Nov 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,984 miles
The error occurred as I was driving on a major 8-lane highway. I was about a quarter-mile from my exit (after being on the highway for 60 miles) when I felt a "clunk" and an orange-lit wrench appeared on my dash. As I turned onto the exit ramp, I slowed to a stop at a stop-light, waiting to turn left. While the brake was depressed, the car was attempting to move forward very abruptly, as part of it's "limp home" feature. When the light turned green, I released the brake and attempted to accelerate through the intersection, but pressing the gas pedal produced no response from the car. After limping through the intersection, I shifted the car into park and turned the engine off. After waiting 10-15 seconds, I restarted the car and the throttle issue and dash light were both gone. I have since driven ~100 miles without seeing the issue re-appear.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #85

Nov 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 30,974 miles
I was driving in the pittsburgh area when my 2011 Ford Fusion lost acceleration. I was fortunate enough to be able to pull off into an abandoned car wash and out of heavy traffic. I shut the engine off and 30 seconds later was able to restart the car. I then drove 15 miles to my dealer. Today on November 14 my dealer found a code indicating a problem with the electronic-throttle body which they replaced under warranty. They also cleaned the fuel system for which I was charged $137 because this was supposedly not covered under Ford's warranty. I have a 2011 Ford escape which can also have the same problem. Needless to say this is cause for worry as I now can stall out in any one of two vehicles. This would appear to be a very serious problem with Ford vehicles.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #84

Nov 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
We were going down a major roadway at about 45 mph when the car just decelerated to about 1 mph. It took us awhile to get over 2 lanes of heavy traffic to the side of road where we stopped the car. The wrench light came on. With it still running we popped open hood and car appeared to be running just fine. We could not get the RPM's to go up at all. We turned off car completely, and the wrench light went off and car drove normal. 2 hrs later the car did the exact same thing and we pulled over and started it up again and got home. We believe it has to do with the electronic throttle body, bc other complaints are exactly as ours with this year, make, and model of car.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #83

Oct 242013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,600 miles
I was on my way to work yesterday morning (appx 7:30am so it was dark out) and I was slowing down with traffic (took pressure off the gas pedal) while crossing a bridge and when I went to accelerate again the car stopped moving and the wrench light lit up on the dashboard. My car was still running, but I had the gas pedal to the floor and the car would not move. When I realized I wasn't moving I hit the hazard button and braced myself for impact as cars were swerving around both sides of me. I put the car in park, shut it off, and tried to re-start it. It did not start right away, but when it did I revved the engine, put the car in gear and pulled off the road. I restarted the car again and proceeded to work. I learned that this is a common issue for this particular vehicle, yet it is not a recall issue at this point in time. Based on my experience yesterday, it seems negligent that this particular issue has not yet warranted an action for a recall. I was fortunate that I reacted quickly and turned on the hazards and was not struck by another vehicle, especially being on a bridge over a body of water.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #82

Oct 212013


  • 41,735 miles
I pulled out of my driveway and made it about 40 yards when the car lurched twice and shut off. I let it sit for a few minutes and started it back up. Was able to go about a quarter of a mile and it died again. I called a tow truck because I was too afraid to try to drive it anywhere. Luckily I was in my neighborhood and was not on a busy road or a highway like so many others have complained about. I was also very fortunate that I did not have my children with me - one who is currently recovering from surgery and cannot walk. After doing research and finding the very common issues with the Fusion, I asked them to check the throttle when running the diagnostics. Sure enough, that was the reason. $450+ after the repairs and the tow. My car only has 41,000 miles on it, but is unfortunately outside of the warranty period. Ford should step up and pay for these repairs due to the dangerous and fatal issues that this problem can cause. I'm very nervous about this issue and am shocked that there is not a recall after so many reported incidents. I'm considering selling this car - I planned to keep it for many years, but my safety and my families is much more important. I would urge that there be a recall on this extremely serious and dangerous problem being experienced so frequently.

- Liberty Twp. , OH, USA

problem #81

Oct 062013


  • miles
This issue is a big safety concern!! I have seen many statements online about the throttle body issue and their should be a recall!! I personally have had to have my car towed twice within a 2 week period because of this issue. Every time my car broke down it was the same thing. I was going along fine and then the car all of a sudden dies, chugs, I drift to the side of the road so I don't get hit and then the engine light comes on with the wrench tool! how scary and unsafe! I am just so glad I wasn't in an intersection or hit by another car because my Ford Fusion decided to die out of no where! I have had to go through two tows, days of waiting for my car to get fixed and my warranty deciding they aren't going to cover my cost!! unbelievable!!! Ford needs to take some action now! many people from what I have seen are going through the same thing and something needs to change. This issue shouldn't be on the customers shoulder and Ford needs to take responsibility before someone is seriously injured from an issue their cars are making. Please do something about this!

- Milwaukie, OR, USA

problem #80

Oct 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 27,980 miles
Traveling at a steady speed and the engine cut out. Not completely but had no acceleration control. Have read on-line that this is called "limp" mode. Was able to pull safely off the road and then restarted the car after which the vehicle operated ok. This has happened 3 times in the last week. Took car to dealer who replaced the throttle body at no charge since the vehicle was still under warranty. Although I was lucky enough to avoid an accident or injury, I could see this being a serious safety issue for a driver on the expressway or pulling in to heavy traffic.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?