Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #108

Mar 242016

Fusion

  • 65,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had been having issues with my 2011 Ford Fusion since early 2015. Each time I put fuel into the vehicle, the vehicle wouldn┐T start ┐ similar to what happens when engine is flooded. Thought it was bad fuel. Ran the fuel tank to nearly empty and refueled. Same issue every time I refuel. Made sure there was nothing blocking the fuel filler cap/flap. Check engine light would go on and off and then stayed on. In Sept 2015, took vehicle to a certified mechanic and the error codes (PO456 and PO104) indicated a problem with the fuel/propulsion system. Replaced purge solenoid. Did not fix the problem. Received recall notice 15S34 in January 2016 related to a defect/safety issue with the fuel system & fuel tank. March 2016 (engine light still on) took vehicle to Ford dealer and explained the problems I┐ve been having and provided bill from mechanic and documentation found of other Ford owners having the same issues. Dealer inspected vehicle & said everything was fine except that I have a leak in my fuel filler neck which is not part of the recall, but they could replace ┐for about $250 or so┐. how is it that this not included in the recall? fuel and fumes leaking from the filler neck are as dangerous as cracks and leaks in the tank. Did some research and this seems to be a common problem that Ford has been made aware of. There is no reasonable explanation as to how I would have cracked the fuel filler neck. The car only has approx. 66K miles on it, was bought brand new in 2010, is regularly serviced and has never been misused. Contacted Ford and was advised that they would "note" my safety concerns in their case (cas-9098523). NHTSA needs to look into this and force Ford to take corrective measures.

- Butte, MT, USA

problem #107

Jan 162016

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel cap leak and the check engine warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the canister purge valve solenoid needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a second opinion and it was confirmed that the canister purge valve solenoid needed replacement. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was approximately 78,000.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #106

Feb 012016

Fusion

  • 55 miles
My 2011 Fusion has 66,000 miles on it, and he ptu (power transfer box) is leaking. My "warranty" expired at 60K miles, so Ford will not do anything for me. This is a known issue with Ford, and they are ignoring it. My AWD shouldn't fail with fewer than 67K miles. Oil leaks all over, I am now unable to turn on point. Loud raddling noises that could only be detected after a point turn.

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #105

Jan 292016

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact team Ford las vegas nv 1/29/2016 concerning my recall. Safety recall notice 15S34/NHTSA recall 15V-793 they told me they did not know when the parts would be available for repair. They also told me that if the fuel tank had a crack, that a new fuel tank would not be available "until 2017" how is that possible if my fuel tank is indeed cracked. Am I supposed to drive the Ford Fusion with the possibility of a fire or explosion? if this is not a safety concern, I don't know what is I hope that are able to assist me in this matter thank you

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #104

Nov 032015

Fusion

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While at a stop light, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. In addition, the fuel safety cut off switch failed to activate. The air bag warning light illuminated. The contact sustained minor bruises that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was driven from the crash scene and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Colecamp, MO, USA

problem #103

Oct 032015

Fusion

  • 86,000 miles
Driving on fwy car display a wrench and you can't accelerate all you can do is coast to the shoulder of the road or hold up traffic.this has happened 10 times in one month my next problem is the dash display check fuel fill inlet and then the engine light comes on. The first time it happened was two weeks after I bought the car so they told me what shop to take it to because we had a 30 day warranty so I did they told me that it was a common problem on cars that don't have gas caps. It happened again, took it back to the same shop and he gave advise on how to fill your gas tank. It happened again took it back to the same shop this time he said that he replaced the whole fuel inlet thing. Well it happened again this time he told me to hit the reset button on the steering wheel I did and it went off but it kept on coming back on when I get back in the car and starting it. After a couple of days of doing that I took it back to the same shop he said that he would have to charge me to see what the problem is and I said it says check fuel fill inlet I should'nt have to pay so he said that he would charge the dealer he cleaned the part where the gas goes in he said and every thing is alright.well after about a week it happened again this time the engine light came on too and when you reset the check fuel fill comes right back on. I took it back to the same shop and this time I had to pay and I don't see why because its the same problem over and over again and it is not fixed I paid 50.00$ and it still has check fuel fill inlet and engine light still on. The car is at the Ford dealer right now because I had 3 recalls on the vehicle but nothing about the fuel fill inlet, Ford said that they can check out why the fuel inlet is on but I have to pay 120.00$ I don't have the money I feel that it should be fixed free because it was under warranty and was never really fixed.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #102

Sep 252015

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The above car displayed a trouble light. A mechanic used an odb II scanner and diagnosed the engine problem with the code "P2119" I did some research on line and found out that this is a common problem involving the throttle body. Is this a recall item?

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #101

Aug 032015

Fusion

  • 19,700 miles
Driving at 60 mph my car shut off power and surged. Throttle was not responding. Had to pull off onto a side road and shut the engine off. It would only idle at that time. After calling for help we found that the engine restarted and drove ok. No check engine light. Drove it home and it ran ok for about 1 month. Next time I was starting up from a stoplight in traffic and the throttle would not speed the car up. Coasted through traffic to a service road and killed the engine (was at idle) and restarted ok. Third occurrence was 2 days later when the engine stalled several times between shopping center and home. Would restart ok but throttle would quit working again. After researching on the internet, we ordered a replacement throttle body and put it on ourselves rather than attempting to get Ford dealer to do some sort of extension of warranty repair. No recall had been received for this problem. Very dangerous situation when car loses power in heavy traffic so did not want to continue driving since the part was available and easy to replace. Ford should issue a recall for these defective throttle body parts.

- Del City, OK, USA

problem #100

Aug 052015

Fusion

  • 70,125 miles
My vehicle issued a warning " check fuel fill inlet" after filling my tank. It was very hard to fill and the pump kept shutting off. I read the manual and followed the procedure as directed to resolve the problem. Approximately 3 driving cycles later, the light went off. I refueled yesterday and fuel began leaking out from the fuel filling port and down the side of the car. I stopped several times and cleaned the spill. I finally gave up and stopped at half a tank. I went to the dealer today and was told this issue (replacing the fuel filler neck) was not part of the 8 year/ 80,000 mile emissions warranty in California and would not be covered. This is not only a safety issue but an envirionmental issue as well. I am highly concerned that Ford can pick and choose what items are warranted when in fact the entire system is fully integrated and relates to all other functions in the system. The safety issue endagers not just myself but anyone at the gas station at the time. I believe a recall should be ordered. When doing myy research about this issue I have found this to be a very common defect in Ford Fusion.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #99

Jul 012015

Fusion

  • 51,671 miles
My check engine light came on and the error code is for a evap system leak. I took the car to a garage. They said there is most likely a small crack in the fuel delivery hose on the capless fuel system. However, to save money they said to go to a Ford dealer because it could be under warranty or recalled. It is neither. The 2013 Ford Fusion were recalled for the delivery hose cracking. (recall no. 13504) now I cannot fill my tank up the whole way without gas leaking out. This is dangerous and I don't understand why my car would not be recalled when it has the same safety issues as the other 50,000 that they did recall.

- Homer City, PA, USA

problem #98

Feb 022015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My husband and I bought a 2011 Ford Fusion in December of 2012, it was used we bought it. I had 30,000 miles when we first drove it. We do regular maintenance on the car and never had a problem with it. It was not until it reached over the 50,000 miles he started to have problems with it. The check fuel inlet light keeps coming on about every other week after we put fuel in the vehicle. We read the manual, and did as it said to follow the steps as suggested. It works for a while but the message keeps coming back. This week, the motor service light come up, and it scared me to dead. I did some research and found out there is a whole lot of people with the same problem. I'm wondering how come they haven't made a recall. I don't want to take my car in to get it fix if its something that its defective and the car dealer must take care of it. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Slaton, TX, USA

problem #97

Feb 202015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 64,018 miles
Driving down interstate vehicle stopped responding. Wrench light came on, diagnosed as faulty throttle body.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #96

Jun 162013

Fusion

  • miles
Whenever we accelerate our vehicle hesitates and then jumps into gear. It has already cut off once and we are worried about our safety.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #95

Sep 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,740 miles
My vehicle stopped in the middle of traffic (several times), while driving 25 mph. It stopped with no pre warning signs. The car is only 3 years old and I only purchased it less than four months ago. This is very disheartening!

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #94

Jul 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,153 miles
I attempted to drive my car but it suddenly shut off and powered down when I pulled out of a parking lot of an establishment. I restarted my car and drove to my destination. This happened on 07/07/14. There were no indications of vehicle issue as no maintenance or warning lights came on. The next time this happened was on 07/11/14. This happened five times during a thirty minute period where the car would travel a mile and then would shut off. During this time when the car would shut off the maintenance light would come on when it shut off but not when it turned on and it had a rough ignition. This occurred again on 07/14/14. I attempted to take the car to work on 07/16/14 and the car shut off en route less than two miles from my home by shutting down and a maintenance light coming on. Took the vehicle to a auto zone store in my area to have the computer checked for codes and code P2111 was the result. The repair needed was a throttle body for the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #93

Jun 142014

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
I own a 2011 Ford Fusion. While taking my child to a birthday party we noticed surges in power at no previous inclination of a problem. Two days later I noticed the same surge in power as if the car wanted to speed up and slow down on its own. The problem progressed a few days later to surges in power and also my car then completely died at a red light. It is now four days later and the problem has rapidly increased to a problem of dying while driving down the road and dying while idling sitting in the drive way. This is a serious safety issue, a car should not accelerate and decelerate or completely die while driving down the road. I could possibly see a serious issue or accident occurring because of this problem. I have researched issues with my model of car and have seen several people have the same issue and share my concern.

- Kerens, TX, USA

problem #92

May 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,310 miles
I was traveling 55 mph. Suddenly lost RPM and engine started sputtering and within 5 second my car was dead in fast lane with no shoulder to pull over. Cars braking hard behind me and honking. I was able to restart the car and moved to a gas station near by. Took the car to an autozone. They read the engine light code P2111, which is an issue with throttle actuator. Looked it up on google search. In my first search found hundreds of posting problem with this vehicle Ford Fusion 2011. The engine just goes dead no telling where and when. I was very lucky that did not get hit or lose control. Imagine engine goes dead when you are traveling 55 mph or higher in a fast lane next thing you know, you are at complete stop with no brake or steering. See for yourself search for throttle body Ford Fusion. Updated 11/24/2014

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #91

Apr 252014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,088 miles
Vehicle over accelerated when coming to a stop. I put both feet on brakes and shifted into park/neutral (has happened several times) and car accelerates to over 7000 RPM and automatically goes back down to normal. I have had the throttle body & motor assembly replaced (4/28/2014) yet it happened again immediately upon initial drive from Ford dealership. Dealership kept my car for 3 additional days and then advised that they could find nothing wrong and I was told (sales general manager) that what I was reporting to them "could not happen".

- Manlius, NY, USA

problem #90

Feb 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 23,214 miles
During normal driving conditions and speed, the car just stopped being responsive to the acceleration pedal without warning, the maintenance wrench light came on, and the car started slowing down. I was able to turn on the hazard lights and pull over to a safe location, while cars were pulling up behind me very quickly. As the car was left idling it became very rough, like the car was missing. To correct the problem, I had to turn off the car, wait thirty seconds to a minute and start the car again. The car started a little rough but returned to normal operation. The maintenance wrench light was not illuminated and no other warning lights illuminated. This has happened twice so far about a month apart. The first time this happened the vehicle was less than three years old and only had 23,214 miles on it. Luckily both times it happened on a local street and not on a highway. I consider this a safety and reliability problem. You have no idea when your car is going to just stop accelerating as you are driving.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #89

Jan 172014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,032 miles
This is a followup report. Took my car to Ford. They replaced the electronic throttle body at no charge.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?