Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,766 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Aug 232013


  • 55,600 miles


This is a known issue with 2011 and other model Ford Fusion and other model Ford cars. According to the media, on Oct 2nd 2012 NHTSA created a defect petition to open an investigation on escape and Fusion vehicles. I was traveling on over the chesapeake bay bridge on I50 in morning traffic ata ~ 60 mph when all of a sudden my Fusion lost complete power. This caused a hazardous situation. I then had to 'limp' over a mile up the to the top of the bridge at less than 5 mph until I could put the vehicle in neutral and coast down the other side. Myself and numerous other vehicles were subjected to a hazardous condition when this occurred. Later troubleshooting revealed my problem was the well known 'Fusion throttle body issue' currently under investigation. Local Ford dealer al packard in white marsh md service dept confirmed the issue as the '2111' fault and problem. After reading all of the details on this problem on the internet, I discussed the matter at length with local and national Ford customer service people. Although this is a well known issue, Ford has no customer warranty program in place for this dangerous problem, nor is it covered until their power train warranty. There needs to be a recall warranty program and have this problem fixed before more people get hurt. In my case I witnessed numerous unsafe conditions while I was limping up the bridge for 20 minutes. The situation could have caused a terrible accident on the chesapeake bay bridge. I work as a flight safety product support manager for a major aircraft engine manufacturer. Any loss of thrust control issue is handled as a safety issue and recall programs are put in place. The same needs to occur here. My brother who also owns a 2010 Fusion had a similar issue where he has lost complete power while traveling ~65 mph in interstate traffic.

- Grasonville , MD, USA

problem #58

Apr 052012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
In April 2012 as I was making a right hand turn at about 15 miles per hour the car just basically stopped. The power was on but the car would not go. Again on Sunday, August 11, 2013 as I was making a left hand turn, the car basically stopped in the middle of an intersection, causing the driver behind to honk and wonder if I was moving. I put the flashers on and the vehicle "limped" through the intersection. I could have been in a serious accident in the middle of five lanes of traffic! I shut the car off and restarted same problem. I shut the car off again and was able to drive home. I took the vehicle to the dealership on Monday, August 12th and they diagnosed a bad throttle-body. They replaced the throttle body. I then looked on the internet to see if there was a problem with my car and I saw a news article posted in February 2013 with Ford having failures with the throttle body in my vehicle.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #57

Aug 232013


  • 61,500 miles
Car keeps displaying check fuel fill inlet, now check engine light is on. While filling tank at local gas station strong smell of fuel around and inside of car. This has happened on more than one occasion. Obd II reads code P0455. This is unsafe in many ways, explosives are to dangerous to mess with. No resolution from Ford Motor Company on this issue.

- Cleveland, GA, USA

problem #56

Aug 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


I was in my 2011 Ford Fusion. I stopped at a red light. When it turned green I gave it gas and the car started to shake violently, the wrench light came on the dash and would not go more than 2 mph. A truck almost rear-ended me in a 50 mph zone. I was really shaken up and thought that was the closest I had come to death or serious injury in my life. We took the car to Ford and they told us that it was a bad throttle body and that it would be around $500 to replace. They said the part was on back order but could do a rush shipment and have it within 10 days. Our Ford has always been serviced at the dealership but we decided to call our mechanic (non Ford) in town to see if he could get the part quicker or cheaper. He called another Ford dealership and was told that the throttle body is a huge problem and they had been back ordered for over 6 months but more were expected in by October 2013. We checked online and found that there has been problems with the Ford throttle body for years, and Ford refuses to do anything about it. I would think Ford would stand behind their products instead of worrying about profits when their customer's lives are in danger from an inferior part. To top it off we have also been hearing a popping sound in the front end. When we took it into Ford for the throttle body problem they also said that the bushings in the front end for the tie rods and a arms were bad and that they needed to be replaced. When I called Ford they said there was nothing they could do since there were not any recalls on the vehicle. I can't understand when you type in Ford throttle body in any search engine, it comes up with thousands of people that are having problems with the Ford throttle body. Now I truly know the meaning of Ford, found on road dead. Either the Ford vehicle itself or the occupants of the car. Shame on Ford for not fixing these safety issues.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #55

Aug 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,800 miles
Throttle body stopped working while I was traveling down the freeway. Service light came on and I had no power to continue on. Had to get over three lanes while car slowed down. Stopped off at side of road and car idled very rough. Turned car off waited a minute and restarted and it ran fine for awhile unit happened again.

- Oxford , MI, USA

problem #54

Jul 292013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After accelerating to 30 my car lost the ability to use the foot pedal. The engine continued running but was unable to accelerate. I pulled off the side of the road, shut the car off waited a few minutes and then started the car. It worked fine until August 15th when the same thing happened 4 times. Once with in 30 minutes at a speed us 40 to 55. The 3rd and 4th times occurred within minutes of each other at 55 mph in a construction zone. On all occasions the wrench light came on. On August 17th I took my car to the dealership and they informed me the throttle body assembly was bad and needed replaced. That cost me $500 out of pocket since my car is out of warranty.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

problem #53

Aug 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,500 miles


Drive out of town on a single lane road going 55 mph and without warning the car showed a wrench symbol and lost all throttle response at the foot pedal. Had to pull over on a highway without a shoulder and turned off the car. Restarting the car cleared the wrench symbol and I had throttle response. Tried to drive the 10 miles that I had left to get home and the issue happened 4 more times. Internet search pointed to a bad throttle body and it looks like a major issue on multiple Ford cars/SUVS. Ford dealer ship has a new part number for this throttle body with a 2 month backorder with around 6,534 units on backorder! ordered a new part number from ebay and seems to be working. I did the replacement in 10 minutes, but have read online that people are paying around 500 dollars at the dealership to replace this part. That alone should be a law suit! I was lucky that this did not cause a crash since I had my kids in the car with me when this happened. [xxx] I have the removed part if you need it.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #52

Aug 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 17,200 miles
Vehicle lost power three times over a 10-mile stretch. Check engine light came on. We called aaa for a tow to the Ford dealership since we felt like it was too unsafe to risk a trip on the interstate to get to the dealership. Was found to be a throttle body failure.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #51

Jun 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
On June 10, 2013 I was driving on a side street and stopped at an intersection. I went to accelerate to advance into the intersection and it was as if I had lost power. I was able to get the car to the side of the road. The wrench was illuminated on the dash. I turned off the car and started it and it seemed fine. A few weeks later, around July 18th, I was backing out of my driveway and the same thing happened. I limped to the side of the road and turned off the engine and it started fine. On August 9 I was on the highway in the slower speed lane and I felt the car hesitate. It was as if the engine wasn't getting any gas. The car had only enough power to get to the side of the road, a local Ford dealership was close by so we brought the car there. We were told it is the throttle body and air bypass and that the part is on backorder and they can't estimate when the part will be in. Searching the web I found this is a known issue with the 2009-2011 Fusion and there could be a recall. The Ford dealership never said a word about a known problem. We have only owned the car for a year.

- Saugua, MA, USA

problem #50

Aug 082013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,752 miles
I was driving with my daughters in the car in the middle lane of a 3 lane highway. I was traveling the speed limit, at or around 55 mph, when all of a sudden the car went limp. There was no acceleration and the car immediately began to coast. A wrench light and the engine light went on. With no ability to speed up, I had to navigate through two lanes of high speed traffic with a paralyzed car to get me and my children to safety. Luckily, I was able to do so. The dealership informed me that this doesn't happen very often, and that unfortunately, this repair would not be covered under the power train. They ordered and replaced the throttle body. Upon investigating this issue online, I was shocked to discover that this problem is so prevalent. The fact that Ford is covering this up and pushing the costs on to its customers is frustrating (more than $1300 in my case), but the fact that they are willing to risk the lives of these very same customers is downright disturbing. There should be an immediate recall on all the cars affected by this throttle body issue, as well as a full reimbursement for all those who have had to suffer through this already.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #49

Aug 012013


  • 69,700 miles


Vehicle stalled without warning in heavy traffic. Pulled off, restarted. Resumed normal operation. Stalled again. Restarted again. Began stalling at lights. Had to trim gas pedal while stopped to keep running. Car stalls on acceleration B/w 2nd and 3rd gear (6 speed manual). When car stalls while underway, major shudder occurs. Has gone into limp mode but after restart will be normal operationally for a short time and then without warning cut out. Extremely dangerous situation, in particular when accelerating from a stop or into traffic or if successful doing that, stalling without warning at speed and with cars/trucks bearing down on you. At one of the above stalls, had tractor trailer bearing down on me without an ability to remove the car from road in that particular area. Throttle body codes P2111 and P2112 indicating bad throttle body. Very common occurrence apparently among the 2010 through 2012 Ford Fusion. Requesting a recall and reimbursement for throttle body which I have replaced.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #48

Aug 062013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 59,800 miles
I was driving at highway speed (70), when my cars accelerator stopped responding in the middle of a curve on a 2 lane rural highway with 2 foot shoulders. I was able to pull off into the grass, where I realize that my car was idling erratically. The accelerator would not respond, so I turned the key off and restarted the vehicle. It resumed normal operation, but has since happened multiple times. I regularly enter high volume, high speed intersections, where this could be extremely dangerous, if not fatal. Ford says there is no recall, but I found no small number of similar complaints as I searched the internet. Please force them to do a recall before someone gets killed. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Maud, TX, USA

problem #47

Aug 052013


  • 72,000 miles
I was doing 55 mph and my car stalled, the wrench and check engine light came on then the car stopped. After a couple attempts the car started and I was allowed to drive although I was scared and got off the freeway. I also have had a problem with my wheels knocking when I turn like one of the tires are going to come off. Now I have to replace the throttle body! I took the car to the mechanic and now all these things have to be fixed and have become quite costly, not to mention the car was made to not have a gas cap" really" I'm starting to wonder if the Ford Fusion is the right car to have and the safety questions are always in my head because if a car stops on the freeway while doing 55 a serious accident can't be too far behind. I pray these issues all get addressed and recalled so no one gets killed! I did research on this website and found that the same issues have happened to many others but when I called Ford's customer relations department I was told there are no recalls for my VIN. I can't imagine I am the only one having these troubling issues taking place but it only affected certain models. Seems to me all Ford Fusion should have these items recalled and replace regardless of what model. I now have to keep my receipt from the mechanic because it was not a Ford dealer who fixed my car and hope that the recall on these issues will allow me to get my hard earned monies back one day soon. Frustrated Ford Fusion owner to say the least.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #46

Jul 082013


  • 38,000 miles
While driving on I-95 South approximately 65-70 mph in moderately heavy traffic, at exit 180, the car sounded like it dropped out of gear while accelerating. I was able to merge to the shoulder of the highway. The car continued coasting and the "wrench light" appeared. The car would not accelerate at all. When stopped, the car rattled and idled very hard and was shaking. The service engine light came on. I turned the car off and I waited a few minutes and cranked the car back and all was fine, wrench light and service engine light was off. This has happened 6 more times since July 8th 2013, yesterday it happened 4 times in the 1 hour, almost got slammed by two 18 wheeler trucks. This really should be a recall due to this type of situation can get people killed.

- Dillon, SC, USA

problem #45

Jul 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 36,400 miles
I was braking because someone in front of me was turning right. When they turned and I let off the brake, I gave it gas to go. I didn't go after flooring it, and the car started bucking and jerking like crazy. It was in rush hour traffic. Thanks be to god that I was right by a Ford dealership. It was a very dangerous situation to be in when your throttle goes completely out. That's what the problem was...I need a new throttle body. That could have easily cause an accident. I've read on line where several people have experienced the same issue with the Ford Fusion SE 3.0L V6. I firmly believe this is a matter that Ford needs to correct. This is a situation that could have ended very badly had I been on a freeway/highway. I have never submitted something to you before. Please do something! no one needs to get hurt. When your throttle goes out when you're driving it, it's a potential deadly consequence.

- Rogersville, MO, USA

problem #44

Aug 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
While driving at highway speeds, my Ford Fusion accelerator became unresponsive. It was as if the car shifted into neutral. There was no shoulder and I was forced to come to a complete stop on the highway. After a brief internet search, it was apparent this is a very big problem for Ford Fusion and Ford has done nothing to fix the problem. The malfunctioning part was specifically the throttle body.

- Sherwood , AR, USA

problem #43

Jul 262013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I was driving to work at highway speeds when I lost acceleration and had to pull over, the car went into limp mode. I shut the car off and turned it back on. I got another couple miles when it did it again. I tried to drive it again and it made it to work fine. On the way home from work, I made it about a mile when it did it again, I turned it off and then turned it back on, the car acted normal and I made it another mile before it went into limp mode and the check engine light came on. I got my car towed to the shop and found out that my electronic throttle had gone bad. I found that many other cars from Ford have had this issue as well. My car is only two years old and shouldn't have this issue already! I could have gotten into a very serious accident since I was on the highway.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #42

Jul 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
While driving on the freeway the car went an idle speed forcing me to get off of the freeway at reduced speed. Tried to restart car several times. Would only idle rough. Let it sit 1/2 hour waiting for aaa ran ok after another restart. Repeated several times since. Once I was stalled in the middle of a traffic controlled intersection. Was told I need a new throttle body and they are back ordered could take 6 weeks before one would be available because of long list of orders. This says it is a major design/manufacture fault/issue. I feel it should be recalled and replaced free if there are that many issues with this item.

- Oconomowoc, WI, USA

problem #41

Jul 102013


  • 26,552 miles
I was traveling about 45mph when the car just shut off. Had to coast to side of the side of the road almost got rear ended. This has happened at least three more times in less than a week. The service department claims to know nothing about this problem. I'm sure the service managers are told to act dumb about this issue. I have read that other people have had this same issue. What will it take to get action, someone hurt or killed??

- Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #40

Jul 142013


  • 42,000 miles
My car engine "stalled" (the engine was running, but there was no power from the engine to accelerate) while I was driving and in the process of increasing my speed up to the 55 mph speed limit after turning onto a major road. Since there was no engine power to accelerate, I had to let the car roll to the shoulder where I pulled over and restarted it. This has happened about 4 times in the last 6 monthsand I am very fearful that the car will stall while I am on a high speed, high traffic, multi-lane highway, which I use to drive to and from work every day.

- South Riding, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?