Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #68

Aug 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at low speed, the vehicle slowed and stopped, requiring me to pull off the road. The engine remained running, but at a very low RPM - applying gas did nothing to rev the engine. After turning the vehicle off, I was able to restart it and limp it home. The next time I drove it, approximately 3 days later, it acted similarly, threatening to cut off when not applying gas. I took it to the Ford dealer for diagnosis and was immediately told this was probably a "throttle body" problem. The dealer confirmed this the next day and placed an order for the part. The part is on back order, I suppose due to the demand for correction on this part. I left the vehicle with the dealer for the 5-7 business days needed to get the part as I was not comfortable driving the vehicle without the repair. Thankfully it is still under warranty. I understand this is a $500+ part.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #67

Feb 012013

Fusion

  • 34,000 miles
Car began on multiple occasions acting like it was either not getting power or fuel. Taken to a Ford dealer in 04/2103 and they disregarded the symptons I was describing and said nothing was wrong (still under warranty then). By August 2013 it was having incidents of shuddering, losing power and would have to be turned off. By 09/03/2013, it was undriveable. A complaint was filed with Ford in mid August. Car was out of warranty and quoted repair was $871. Ford agreed to repair at 50% and work was completed on 09/06/2103.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #66

Sep 042013

Fusion

  • 48,672 miles
Driving at 35 mph lost acceleration, engine idles but when gas peddle is pushed to the floor no power. Called dealership and without hesitation I was told it was the throttle body and that it was a very common problem. Cant believe this is not a safety recall. Very dangerous and scary!!!! and of course car is no longer under warranty. I truly hope this does not happen to someone driving down a highway in heavy traffic. Ford really, really needs to consider a recall, put money on it there will be multiple incidents in the very near future. I have also heard that Ford is aware of the problem and changed the part number but are not recalling the original part.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #65

Aug 212013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am writing in regards to an issue with my 2011 Ford Fusion. On August 21, 2013 I was driving at 70 mph on a busy hwy when it felt as if my car had completely shut off. I had absolutely no accelerator. I found myself coasting in traffic. I managed to put on the hazards and merge to the shoulder without being hit, thankfully. Once over I shut off the car and after a minute started it back up and it was as if nothing had happened. Thinking this was some kind of fluke we continued to drive the car. It happened again 3 days later, again in very heavy traffic on a main highway at 65 mph. Again we were fortunate enough to be able to pull off without being hit. Internet research showed that this was a very common problem with this car and the dealer knew exactly what was wrong with it upon hearing our story. A defective throttle body. He said ours was the third one being dropped off that same day for the same problem. We were very disappointed to hear that there is no recall on this part considering how dangerous the situation is. There have been numerous accidents due to this defective part, yet still no recall. Even worse is that Ford isn't even covering the cost of replacing it under the engine warranty, we had to pay for it. Does someone actually have to die in one of these accidents before a recall is done??

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #64

Aug 192013

Fusion

  • 40,320 miles
I was sitting at a drive up window and my rpms went way up and the car died and when I'm driving I have a lost of power like it tryed to die then recovered I, M being told this is the (fuel injection throttle bodies) this is be coming a big problem where it starting to die more I don't want my wife to get in to a wreck and get hurt so I'm going to replace the throttle bodie but I think this should be a recall asap, this is a very high priced part I would like a refund

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #63

Aug 302013

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles
I was driving on my way to work, driving about 55-60 mph and all of a sudden the car jerked and the throttle went off and the wrench light came on. Everything still worked in the car but when I pressed on the gas, nothing happened. Luckily I was near a turn off and I was able to coast onto the road and pull off. I turned my car off and back on, and was able to drive to a local dealership. They knew immediately what the problem was and said they could order the part but it would be few days. In the mean time I am just supposed to pull over and turn my car off and on if it happens again. I have an hour commute to work in the morning driving in several lane interstate traffic and this could be really scary if it were to happen then. Especially with all of the semi trucks that I am traveling with at high speeds. It is also our family car so I am scared to drive with my family in the car.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #62

Aug 212013

Fusion

  • 68,075 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the car shuddered, lost power, had no gas peddle response and ran very rough. Put car in park and shut off. Turned ignition, car turned over for 10-15 seconds as if starving for fuel. Finally caught and ran for about 2 miles, then happened again. In a span of 4 miles it did this three times. A few days later it did the same thing 3 times in a matter of about 10 miles. That time was on the highway doing 65 mph.

- Fairview Heights, IL, USA

problem #61

Aug 272013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 29,599 miles
My 2011 Ford Fusion, which I purchased only a few months ago... lost speed while driving home from work today. I'm still shaky and upset. I was a very busy 2lane up/2lane down avenue when my vehicle lost speed! I was in the inner lane and had to decide if I wanted the delivery truck to hit me from behind or risk side swiping someone in hope of getting off the road before I slowed completed. Through the grace of god I was able to make two hard rights before my Fusion began to stop, shake, and sputter. The first hard right was into the right lane in front of another car then onto the side street. My goodness never been so scared in life except the next two time it did while still trying to make it home. This time though, I knew to stay in the left lane. I also relied on the fact that once you get to a safe place and turn the engine off and on again it starts back up!!! I'm scared of my car! and scared for my life and others that this vehicle malfunction may affect during my commutes. I'm going on the record as saying if I die in my 2011 Ford Fusion during an accident single/multi vehicle please do a forensic check on the throttle!

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #60

Aug 222013

Fusion

  • 41,015 miles
On Thursday 8/22/13, I was driving about 55 mph on the highway and I experienced what seemed like an engine stall. My 2011 Fusion would not accelerate so I pulled off the side and my car started shaking so I turned it off. I waited a bit and started it back up and kept driving. I could still feel a lag when I stepped on the gas. I had a mechanic look at the car but he could not find any issues. On Saturday 8/24/13, the same issue happened to me 3 times within a 4 hour span. I poured in some seafoam to rule out any moisture that may be in the engine. I did some research online and discovered others have had similar issues that have all been linked to a faulty throttle body. On Sunday 8/25/13, the issue happened twice during the day. Today I finally took my car to the Ford dealership and told them what I was experiencing and told them that I think it is the throttle body. The guy told me that they would not know until the computer displayed the error code. Several hours later I received a call from the dealership telling me it is a faulty throttle body and the repair would cost $650. If this is a known issue, why hasn't a recall been issued?

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #59

Aug 232013

Fusion

  • 55,600 miles
This is a known issue with 2011 and other model Ford Fusion and other model Ford cars. According to the media, on Oct 2nd 2012 NHTSA created a defect petition to open an investigation on escape and Fusion vehicles. I was traveling on over the chesapeake bay bridge on I50 in morning traffic ata ~ 60 mph when all of a sudden my Fusion lost complete power. This caused a hazardous situation. I then had to 'limp' over a mile up the to the top of the bridge at less than 5 mph until I could put the vehicle in neutral and coast down the other side. Myself and numerous other vehicles were subjected to a hazardous condition when this occurred. Later troubleshooting revealed my problem was the well known 'Fusion throttle body issue' currently under investigation. Local Ford dealer al packard in white marsh md service dept confirmed the issue as the '2111' fault and problem. After reading all of the details on this problem on the internet, I discussed the matter at length with local and national Ford customer service people. Although this is a well known issue, Ford has no customer warranty program in place for this dangerous problem, nor is it covered until their power train warranty. There needs to be a recall warranty program and have this problem fixed before more people get hurt. In my case I witnessed numerous unsafe conditions while I was limping up the bridge for 20 minutes. The situation could have caused a terrible accident on the chesapeake bay bridge. I work as a flight safety product support manager for a major aircraft engine manufacturer. Any loss of thrust control issue is handled as a safety issue and recall programs are put in place. The same needs to occur here. My brother who also owns a 2010 Fusion had a similar issue where he has lost complete power while traveling ~65 mph in interstate traffic.

- Grasonville , MD, USA

problem #58

Apr 052012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In April 2012 as I was making a right hand turn at about 15 miles per hour the car just basically stopped. The power was on but the car would not go. Again on Sunday, August 11, 2013 as I was making a left hand turn, the car basically stopped in the middle of an intersection, causing the driver behind to honk and wonder if I was moving. I put the flashers on and the vehicle "limped" through the intersection. I could have been in a serious accident in the middle of five lanes of traffic! I shut the car off and restarted same problem. I shut the car off again and was able to drive home. I took the vehicle to the dealership on Monday, August 12th and they diagnosed a bad throttle-body. They replaced the throttle body. I then looked on the internet to see if there was a problem with my car and I saw a news article posted in February 2013 with Ford having failures with the throttle body in my vehicle.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #57

Aug 232013

Fusion

  • 61,500 miles
Car keeps displaying check fuel fill inlet, now check engine light is on. While filling tank at local gas station strong smell of fuel around and inside of car. This has happened on more than one occasion. Obd II reads code P0455. This is unsafe in many ways, explosives are to dangerous to mess with. No resolution from Ford Motor Company on this issue.

- Cleveland, GA, USA

problem #56

Aug 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I was in my 2011 Ford Fusion. I stopped at a red light. When it turned green I gave it gas and the car started to shake violently, the wrench light came on the dash and would not go more than 2 mph. A truck almost rear-ended me in a 50 mph zone. I was really shaken up and thought that was the closest I had come to death or serious injury in my life. We took the car to Ford and they told us that it was a bad throttle body and that it would be around $500 to replace. They said the part was on back order but could do a rush shipment and have it within 10 days. Our Ford has always been serviced at the dealership but we decided to call our mechanic (non Ford) in town to see if he could get the part quicker or cheaper. He called another Ford dealership and was told that the throttle body is a huge problem and they had been back ordered for over 6 months but more were expected in by October 2013. We checked online and found that there has been problems with the Ford throttle body for years, and Ford refuses to do anything about it. I would think Ford would stand behind their products instead of worrying about profits when their customer's lives are in danger from an inferior part. To top it off we have also been hearing a popping sound in the front end. When we took it into Ford for the throttle body problem they also said that the bushings in the front end for the tie rods and a arms were bad and that they needed to be replaced. When I called Ford they said there was nothing they could do since there were not any recalls on the vehicle. I can't understand when you type in Ford throttle body in any search engine, it comes up with thousands of people that are having problems with the Ford throttle body. Now I truly know the meaning of Ford, found on road dead. Either the Ford vehicle itself or the occupants of the car. Shame on Ford for not fixing these safety issues.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #55

Aug 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,800 miles
Throttle body stopped working while I was traveling down the freeway. Service light came on and I had no power to continue on. Had to get over three lanes while car slowed down. Stopped off at side of road and car idled very rough. Turned car off waited a minute and restarted and it ran fine for awhile unit happened again.

- Oxford , MI, USA

problem #54

Jul 292013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After accelerating to 30 my car lost the ability to use the foot pedal. The engine continued running but was unable to accelerate. I pulled off the side of the road, shut the car off waited a few minutes and then started the car. It worked fine until August 15th when the same thing happened 4 times. Once with in 30 minutes at a speed us 40 to 55. The 3rd and 4th times occurred within minutes of each other at 55 mph in a construction zone. On all occasions the wrench light came on. On August 17th I took my car to the dealership and they informed me the throttle body assembly was bad and needed replaced. That cost me $500 out of pocket since my car is out of warranty.

- Port Byron, IL, USA

problem #53

Aug 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,500 miles
Drive out of town on a single lane road going 55 mph and without warning the car showed a wrench symbol and lost all throttle response at the foot pedal. Had to pull over on a highway without a shoulder and turned off the car. Restarting the car cleared the wrench symbol and I had throttle response. Tried to drive the 10 miles that I had left to get home and the issue happened 4 more times. Internet search pointed to a bad throttle body and it looks like a major issue on multiple Ford cars/SUVS. Ford dealer ship has a new part number for this throttle body with a 2 month backorder with around 6,534 units on backorder! ordered a new part number from ebay and seems to be working. I did the replacement in 10 minutes, but have read online that people are paying around 500 dollars at the dealership to replace this part. That alone should be a law suit! I was lucky that this did not cause a crash since I had my kids in the car with me when this happened. [xxx] I have the removed part if you need it.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #52

Aug 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 17,200 miles
Vehicle lost power three times over a 10-mile stretch. Check engine light came on. We called aaa for a tow to the Ford dealership since we felt like it was too unsafe to risk a trip on the interstate to get to the dealership. Was found to be a throttle body failure.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #51

Jun 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
On June 10, 2013 I was driving on a side street and stopped at an intersection. I went to accelerate to advance into the intersection and it was as if I had lost power. I was able to get the car to the side of the road. The wrench was illuminated on the dash. I turned off the car and started it and it seemed fine. A few weeks later, around July 18th, I was backing out of my driveway and the same thing happened. I limped to the side of the road and turned off the engine and it started fine. On August 9 I was on the highway in the slower speed lane and I felt the car hesitate. It was as if the engine wasn't getting any gas. The car had only enough power to get to the side of the road, a local Ford dealership was close by so we brought the car there. We were told it is the throttle body and air bypass and that the part is on backorder and they can't estimate when the part will be in. Searching the web I found this is a known issue with the 2009-2011 Fusion and there could be a recall. The Ford dealership never said a word about a known problem. We have only owned the car for a year.

- Saugua, MA, USA

problem #50

Aug 082013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,752 miles
I was driving with my daughters in the car in the middle lane of a 3 lane highway. I was traveling the speed limit, at or around 55 mph, when all of a sudden the car went limp. There was no acceleration and the car immediately began to coast. A wrench light and the engine light went on. With no ability to speed up, I had to navigate through two lanes of high speed traffic with a paralyzed car to get me and my children to safety. Luckily, I was able to do so. The dealership informed me that this doesn't happen very often, and that unfortunately, this repair would not be covered under the power train. They ordered and replaced the throttle body. Upon investigating this issue online, I was shocked to discover that this problem is so prevalent. The fact that Ford is covering this up and pushing the costs on to its customers is frustrating (more than $1300 in my case), but the fact that they are willing to risk the lives of these very same customers is downright disturbing. There should be an immediate recall on all the cars affected by this throttle body issue, as well as a full reimbursement for all those who have had to suffer through this already.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #49

Aug 012013

Fusion

  • 69,700 miles
Vehicle stalled without warning in heavy traffic. Pulled off, restarted. Resumed normal operation. Stalled again. Restarted again. Began stalling at lights. Had to trim gas pedal while stopped to keep running. Car stalls on acceleration B/w 2nd and 3rd gear (6 speed manual). When car stalls while underway, major shudder occurs. Has gone into limp mode but after restart will be normal operationally for a short time and then without warning cut out. Extremely dangerous situation, in particular when accelerating from a stop or into traffic or if successful doing that, stalling without warning at speed and with cars/trucks bearing down on you. At one of the above stalls, had tractor trailer bearing down on me without an ability to remove the car from road in that particular area. Throttle body codes P2111 and P2112 indicating bad throttle body. Very common occurrence apparently among the 2010 through 2012 Ford Fusion. Requesting a recall and reimbursement for throttle body which I have replaced.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?