Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jun 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was accelerating from stop light. Attempting to reach 55 mph only got to about 45-50 mph..I then lost throttle response(no acceleration). Wrench light was on. Coasted to the side of highway, the engine idled a little rough. Very low RPM. Put the car in park and tried to rev the engine. No response, only idle, low RPM.then I turned the engine off, waited about a minute and restarted it. No more wrench light icon. No problems the rest of the day. I took the car into the dealer to test for codes, no codes were found. Was told to bring the car in when wrench icon is on to test for code. I only have this one car so I'm driving it every day, but I won't drive over 40 mph until the throttle is replaced.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #27

Jun 172013

Fusion

  • 56,000 miles
The wrench icon popped up and the vehicle stalled while going down the highway out of town. Turned the car off and it acted like it didn't want to crank back up. Tried again and drove 2 miles down the road and it stalled out again. Put in park, put in drive and all it did was roll backwards. Cut it off and sat awhile and drove less than a mile down the road to a safe place to have it towed in.

- Dillon, SC, USA

problem #26

Jun 212013

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
I was on my way to work Friday, 6/21/13, traveling at 65mph and lost all power/acceleration in center lane on freeway. Unfortunately, I had to cross two lanes of heavy traffic to get to the right shoulder, while losing power. An amber wrench light was on along with the engine light. I put car in neutral, and put pressure on the gas pedal - no RPM's, no power - at this moment the engine begins to sputter and shake and I cannot keep the car running. I turned the car off and waited a few minutes. I started the car again, no dash indicator lights, and the engine acted normal when I put pressure on the gas pedal. Gas delivery and RPM's seemed appropriate. I entered freeway again and approximately 1.5 miles later, the same thing happened again. Amber wrench on and no power. Again, the engine is running very rough and then stalls. I am near my dealership, so it takes two more attempts, before I make it there. Now, it gets better. I am informed that it is my throttle body and there are 2000 parts on backorder from Michigan. It could be one week, maybe Wednesday, 6/26/13, and I would be on a waiting list with 8 other people. What!!!!! went back the next morning, Saturday, 6/22/13, and was given an update. It is possible that it could be up to two weeks for repair at over $500. I quickly research this issue, and find many owners of all different Ford models are having the same issue. Some are lucky enough to be under warranty. This seems to be a defective part and as a loyal consumer to Ford - the company needs to do right by its customers. I believe this is a safety issue for some owners, because a lot of us are traveling freeways and a loss of power in our vehicles can put us in a dangerous situation.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #25

Jun 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road and all of the sudden I loose acceleration power and a wrench symbol appeared on the dashboard. I was able to pull off the road. I had to turn off and restart the car to get going again. This has also happened two other times since with the same scenario. Local dealer diagnosed as a defective throttle body.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #24

Jun 172013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 24,500 miles
I was driving in the high-speed lane on rt. 3N in Plymouth, MA when all of a sudden I had no power coming from the gas pedal. Luckily the traffic was not heavy at the time and there was enough momentum for me to be able to steer the car to the breakdown lane. As I was coasting to the roadside the wrench symbol light came on the dashboard. My passenger and I were able to come away from this dangerous incident shaken but unscathed. After the car was towed to the Ford dealer it was determined that the problem was a faulty electrical throttle body in a two year old car with less than 30,000 miles. After five days I am still waiting for the car to be fixed, because the part is backordered. By looking on the internet I now know why the part is backordered. If so many Ford are having a throttle body problem, why hasn't there been a recall issued for this part?

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #23

Apr 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
First incident 4/5/13: While traveling approximately 70 mph southbound on interstate 5 near stadium way my 2011 Ford Fusion without warning lost power and would not respond to any change in throttle position via the accelerator pedal. However, I was able to coast to the far right-hand lane and continue uphill on the transition lane to the southbound 110 freeway as the engine continued to sputter near idle. A chp (California highway patrol) officer escorted me off the freeway. After approximately 10 minutes I attempted to start my vehicle and it ran fine. I purchased a obd II scanner and checked for any stored codes, no codes were found. I continued to monitor my vehicle via the obd II scan tool and no codes were recorded. Second incident 6/13/13: While traveling approximately 65 mph eastbound in the number 1 lane on interstate 10 my 2011 Ford Fusion once again vehicle lost power without warning and would not respond to any change in throttle position via the accelerator pedal. In my attempt to move to the right shoulder I was nearly involved in an accident. After exiting the freeway I plugged in the obd II scan tool and it captured diagnostic trouble code (dtc) P2111 throttle actuator control system żż stuck open. My vehicle would only idle very roughly. I attempted to drive home in this mode. However, after approximately 4 miles the engine stopped completely and I required a tow to my residence. While waiting on the tow vehicle I researched and found out Ford has issued technical service bulletin (tsb) 09-23-5 addressing this defect for vehicles manufactured after October 15, 2009. This defect will unfortunately result in the loss of life if these vehicles are not recalled.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #22

May 112013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stopped at an intersection and went to accelerate and had no throttle control the wrench light came on. Car idled through intersection and rolled into gas station. When I then turned it off and then restarted it and the wrench light was gone. Car seemed fine for approximately two weeks, and then the same thing happened again. This is a very big safety issue.

- Stanton, MI, USA

problem #21

Jun 052013

Fusion

  • 42,600 miles
Vehicle loses all power while driving. Wrench light appeared the first 7 times, but after turning the vehicle off and restarting, it goes away and car drives like normal. Today while driving it happened at around 60mph. Both the wrench light and check engine light came on and after a restart the check engine light stays on. Vehicle barely limped the rest of the 5 miles to my house. This has happened at high speeds on the freeway as well nearly causing multiple accidents. Currently waiting on dealership to come back with a quote to replace the throttle body. Ford needs to issue a recall notice and warranty the cost of the replacement before someone gets killed due to this issue. They are just weighing the cost of a lawsuit due to fatality vs. The cost of warranting the malfunctioning part. Paying a few million to a family is cheaper than paying to fix ~725,000 vehicles. Work with the throttle body supplier, get your qa/qc under control, and fix the issue guys. ## VIN failed ##

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 44,496 miles
I was driving 30mph down a busy street, with back-to-back traffic, when the car jolted forwarded at which time the wrench light became illuminated on the dashboard, the car immediately started bucking (going forward and backward) and I lost all control of the accelerator. The car immediately slowed to a crawl while continuing to "buck." This incident forced everyone behind me to slam on their breaks and I was nearly hit from behind. I was able to maneuver the car to the side of the road safely. My children were in the car and had I been going any faster, they may have suffered from whiplash when the car jolted forward, started bucking and slowed to a crawl simultaneously or this incident could have lead to a several car pile up since this happened during the busiest time of day. A tow truck was dispatched and towed the car to the nearest dealer. The dealer advised that the throttle body motor failed and when it did, the throttle was forced shut (error code: P2112).

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #19

Jun 022013

Fusion

  • 55,000 miles
While driving the wrench light came on and the car slowly decelerated. After pulling over and putting the vehicle in park, the engine shut off. I remove the key from the ignition, waited a minute, and restarted the vehicle. There were no longer any warning lights and I was able to continue driving home.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #18

May 242013

Fusion

  • 42,546 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had stopped at a stop sign, accelerated and would only go slow, got off onto roadside, turned the ignition off, restarted, did the same thing, three times until I could pull it completely off the road and out of the way, had to get towed home, same thing happened the next day and had to get towed to a Ford dealership where it still sits after one week, waiting on the throttle body.

- Seaford, VA, USA

problem #17

Jan 312013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 24,238 miles
While driving my car lost power. I was not able to accelerate. I stopped the car, turned it off and turned it back on again. I was able to continue driving. Took the car into the car dealer for investigation. They did not find a problem. On 5/8/2013 I was driving down the highway at a speed of 73 mph, all of a sudden my car lost power and started jerking again. I was not able to accelerate. I pulled over, turned the car off and turned it back on and was able to drive the car home. The next day I took it to the dealer and they said the throttle body was sticking. They cleaned it and said if it happens again it would have to be replaced. On 5/31/2013 I was driving down the highway at a speed of 70 mph. My car lost power again and starting jerking. I turned the car off for about 1 minute, turned it back on and was able to drive home.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #16

May 302013

Fusion

  • 71,296 miles
I was driving home from school (this has happened before, just not as bad) and my car stopped responding. The wrench light came on and the check engine light came on. I was on a really busy road, so I had to pray that I would not get hit. I turned off the car, and tried to restart it, but it did not want to restart. I sat for a few seconds and was finally able to get it restarted. This happened numerous (probably 6-8 times) on my 12 mile trip home. I took it to the shop this morning and found out it is the throttle body. I just looked it up online and have found out this is a common issue, and that the dealerships (when the car is under warranty) act like they don't know what it wrong. This is not right. There needs to be a recall! I don't have a warranty now, and I took my car to the dealership before the warranty was up and they said there was nothing wrong with it multiple times!!!!

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #15

May 022013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The car was traveling on the highway at the speed of 70 mph when it just stopped responding to the gas pedal being pressed. The car came almost to a complete stop and was lucky enough to make it to the side of the rode. The car was almost hit by a truck which swerved into the median to avoid hitting the car. With the car alongside the rode it would not start. The throttle body had failed.

- Flowery Branch , GA, USA

problem #14

Apr 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 18,200 miles
Was driving 2011 Ford Fusion then shut down to idle, no power, almost got re ended, pulled over and put in park turned off and restarted problem was gone but recurred less than 2 tenths of mile. Repeated steps with caution floored gas peddle but still happen. Autozone checked it and cleared the computer. Happen right away after leaving. Called Ford could not repair because no codes. Problem came back 5 days later. At intersection light change green car did same thing, stuck in middle on intersection. Put in park and restart was hard to start. Red light now just got out of traffic way. Car is at Ford now. This is a very bad safety feature and will cause an accident sooner or later. Ford said they have had a few problems but no recall.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #13

May 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 9,800 miles
Accelerating from a stop at green traffic signal, my 6 cylinder Fusion accelerated to approximately 25 mph and the engine stopped. I had no problem coasting into a nearby parking lot on my right. I turned the ignition off and after 10 seconds I restarted the engine. I drove home without incident afterwards.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 312013

Fusion

  • 21,500 miles
Car bucked then completely died (in the middle of the street)! lights that came on: Stop safely now, wrench, engine, triangle with exclamation point. Took a few times to start back up. Took it to the dealer and they said they did not have a code but did not find anything wrong. A few days later, it happened again. This time in the middle of the intersection! ( same codes) brought it to dealer again, this time apparently they found the code. The dealer said gas was going in the wrong place and replaced a valve. It has since happened more than five times, all happening at less than 5 mph when starting after a stop. Currently with another Ford dealership (given the previous one cracked the windshield but claimed it was already there, not to mention the poor service to the car). This latest incident we had the car towed. This was at the recommendation of the Ford regional representative who has been extremely helpful. (by the way, this Fusion is a hybrid.) currently waiting for diagnosis.

- Portsmouth , NH, USA

problem #11

Mar 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Driving the car, it will have sudden loss of all power. The throttle control/transmission light indicator comes on. You have to turn the car off and restart. Owners manual states to take to the dealer if it stays on or continues to come on.this has happened numerous times over the last six months. Friday 3/8 it happened twice. Took to the dealer. State they are unable to repair due to no code in the computer. They had it 5 days, put 100 miles on it trying to get it to do this again. Safety issue is this occurring while in an intersection of on the interstate. No solution offered by Ford. States have to have a code. No instruction on making sure the code is recorded by the computer. When engine restated clears computer.

- Crockett, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 25,500 miles
While driving at highway speed on an incline, the car lost all propulsion power. After several seconds, the check engine wrench light turned on and I pulled over to the side. Shutting down the vehicle, waiting 1 minute and restarting cleared the check engine light and restored power. The same thing happened 6 weeks later, while idling at a traffic light. After restarting, the system failed again 2 minutes later while driving on level road at 15 mph. The car rested for 2 hours and was then driven without incident to the dealer for repairs. The service technician performed eec test, ppt and component tests, then replaced the throttle body. No subsequent incidents after 1 week.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #9

Oct 272011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I had just purchased my 2011 Ford Fusion just over a month when I encountered my first stall on my way home from work. I was fully stopped at an intersection waiting for the stop light to turn green. I pressed down on the accelerator only to realize the engine was no longer running. The car behind me bumped into my back bumper anticipating I would be accelerating through the intersection. There was nothing on the dashboard indicating the engine had died. I put the car into park and was able to get it to start normally. I didn't have any further problems until about 6 months later in June 2012. The second time, I was turning right into a parking lot and as I made the turn and pressed down on the accelerator I discovered the car was coasting with the engine dead and the dashboard console lit up as if everything was still running normally. Again, I put the car into park and the engine started immediately and everything was back to normal again. The third time just happened in February 2013 when I again was stopped at a stop light. When the light turned green, I pressed down on the accelerator only to discover the engine was no longer running and no indication on the dashboard anything was wrong. I did the same thing and put the car in park and the engine started and everything returned to normal. For the first 2 times, the Ford dealership just shrugged their shoulders and said there wasn't anything they could do if they couldn't duplicate the problem. The 3rd time, they did a software update based on a bulletin from Ford the computer wasn't possibly shifting at the proper times which could possibly cause the engine to stall. So now I have to wait and see if the software update really fixed the problem or I will have the pleasure of experiencing another sudden surprise of having a zombie car that appears to be alive but isn't.

- Centennial, CO, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?