Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #128

Nov 132016

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nov. 13, 2016 I filled the tank with gas. When I got home the tank was leaking profusely. The next morning I dropped it off to a chain auto shop. They were able to determine there was a leak in the fuel assembly and also reported the vehicle was under recall that I should take to Ford dealer. I researched the recall 15S34 that was issued Feb 4, 2016 but my particular vehicle had been "closed out". the dealer in Michigan looked at the car 24 days after the recall was issued and determined there were no issues. They reprogrammed the PCM on Feb 29th. The new patch wasn't released until the 1st quarter (no date). However, 8 months later - the fuel tank is exhibiting symptoms consistent with the recall. I also noticed previously that when I filled up, the car didn't turn over right away. Ford refuses to take care of the fuel tank and reopen the recall on my vehicle. Ford's automated phone system for recall - 15S34 specifically mentions that "the cpv may develop an internal leak which under certain circumstances allow excessive vacuum to build in the fuel tank. Repeated cycles of this condition will eventually cause a crack to develop. The letter from michael berardi also states that "interm repairs for these vehicles ("claims will not close 15S34") why is my car not being taken care of by Ford? the local dealer where it was purchased is not willing to help out either.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #127

Oct 042016

Fusion

  • 90,775 miles
Csp 13N03 as previously reported etb problems caused my car to abruptly drop power/RPM to ~1000rpm. Later identified issue to be related to etb and took to my Ford dealer expecting new software and/or etb replacement per 13N03. Dealer replaced but then begged off requesting I pay warranty repair cost of $122 because "manual transmission" vehicles and those not assembled in Mexico were not covered. I am absolutely certain that my issue was exactly that covered by 13N03 and feel that having the power loss "limp mode" occur in a manual transmission vehicle actually put me at more risk because of the greater speed loss due to the direct connected drive path. Luckily it was late at night on a less traveled road allowing me to coast off safely onto the shoulder. I paid the $122 since they had already done the work before realizing that my car was not covered, and the throttle body alone would have cost me $75+, but I cannot understand how this is not a full-fledged recall and doesn't cover every vehicle with this type of etb? all this because of what sounds like incorrect/insufficient motor connection plating and/or bulb grease (contact enhancer)

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #126

May 182016

Fusion

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel malfunction warning indicator remained illuminated for an extended period of time. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The vehicle was repaired by the dealer, but the warning indicator continued to remain illuminated for months. The vehicle was taken to a second dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #125

Nov 072016

Fusion

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car keeps stalling during acceleration. Engine code P2111

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #124

Jun 202016

Fusion

  • 70,286 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the malfunction warning indicator illuminated. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was inspected per NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and passed. The vehicle was returned to the dealer where it was inspected again; however, the dealer diagnosed that the vehicle needed a fuel filler tube. The vehicle was taken to another dealer where it was diagnosed that the canister purge valve needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,286.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #123

Dec 072015

Fusion

  • 90,000 miles
Gas leaking on ground due to faulty fuel tank. Car had to be taken in an left with dealer for 6+ months. Problem with engine light on reoccurring.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #122

Oct 072016

Fusion

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The purge canister valve has been replaced, but the fuel smell still remains while it is stationary and running.

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #121

Dec 082015

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles
My car almost caught on fire while I was working. The fuel tank had a crack in it and gasoline was leaking out. These fumes were inhaled by my grandkids and me. When I took my car in, the Ford dealer kept my car from 12/8/2015 until 07/27/2016. I had to ride in a rental this long.a recall was issued in January. I felt that as a consumer, I was treated unfairly and the risk of my family was not consider a factor when this car could have burst into flames at any time.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #120

Oct 022016

Fusion

  • 82,000 miles
In the last 24 hours my vehicle stalled on the freeway (I was almost rear-ended--this highway has a curb on both sides instead of shoulders) 4 times in 5 miles. The first time was as I was turning onto the highway from an intersection. Each time, I was unable to accelerate the car with the gas pedal. Each time, this was preceded by a lurching forward and a sluggish performance of the engine for about 1 second before the engine no longer powers the wheels. The wrench light comes on and I have to turn the car off and then turn it back on in order to be able to accelerate again. As I said, when I would accelerate, the engine would die, and this happened four times. When I restart the car, but before it dies again, the check engine light comes on. This is an issue with other 2011 Ford Fusion that the NHTSA has already investigated--the throttle body is defective. However, somehow the NHTSA let Ford off the hook and didn't recall the part and allowed Ford to only apply the "customer satisfaction program 13N03" to cars with automatic transmissions. I have a manual transmission car. I will tell you that exactly what happened in cars that initiated the investigation and this program is exactly what is happening in my car. The investigation needs to be reopened and this throttle body needs to be recalled for all transmission types. I was almost rear-ended by a car going 55 mph, even though I had my 4-way flashers on in the right lane, because the highway my car died on a does not have shoulders. This defective part is an extreme safety hazard and needs to be recalled!!

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #119

Jan 312016

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the "check fuel fill inlet" was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be inspected under NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) but, no trouble codes were discovered. The vehicle was not repaired however, the failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the purge valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000....updated 10/19/16

- Orangevale, CA, USA

problem #118

Aug 162016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a recall on my car for the fuel tank and there is no fix at this time. I need to get my tags on my car by November and dont know if I will be able to.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #117

Aug 012016

Fusion

  • 93,545 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled more than four times after the warning indicator wrench illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was also taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline) and 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 93,545. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #116

Aug 082016

Fusion

  • 93,000 miles
2011 Ford Fusion SE (bought at doug cheverolet 3 months ago)cut out 3 times today L'm scared.pulled car over thank god not on highway turned off started up went 5 miles did it again 2 more times.is there a recall on this system?have an appt.with mechanic tommorrow have read about throttle body problems has 93,000 miles on it.

- Uniontown, OH, USA

problem #115

Jul 202016

Fusion

  • 48,000 miles
Wrench light comes when trying to accelerate. Car stumbles and loses power. Turn car off and wrench light disappears. According to various web sites error code is not stored when the car is turned off. This has happened about 3 times in the last 2 wks. Web sites say that the throttle body is bad.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #114

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. After receiving a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system). The vehicle was repaired on May 18, 2016. Shortly afterwards, the engine malfunction light illuminated, the odor of fuel was present, and fuel was visible near the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the purge valves were faulty. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,000. Updated 09/28/16

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #113

May 102016

Fusion

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the purge valve canister failed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they stated that they fulfilled their responsibility for the recall. The vehicle was returned to the mechanic and repaired. One month prior to the failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be remedied per NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 125,000. Updated 07/14/16

- Fripp Island, SC, USA

problem #112

May 132016

Fusion

  • miles
My son and his new family were going across a major intersection when the car just died. They were almost hit by other cars. They coasted across the intersection, then shut the car off then restarted it it drove for a few feet then died again. My son pulled to the side of the road. There was also two children in the car, 3 year old and 2 month old. I had it towed to a dealer. They told me it was the throttle body that failed. Then I did research and found this was a common problem for this car, and that many people were also involved in near misses and or accident.

- Lewisburg, OH, USA

problem #111

Mar 072016

Fusion

  • 51,000 miles
After many failed temps from Ford for my body throttle issues & Ford dealer refusal to replace the throttle body, bc the code isn't present when they hook up they're device to it(Ford rules). Even though is known with Ford they code will clear when the car is turned off or in my case sometimes shut off by itself when the wrench light appears.06/02/15ford dealer did a PCM update for the T.body & was good to go. Less than a month later issues started again. It has happened countless of times with my bf & w.my kids in the car. I called davidson Ford & spoke to the manger where he stated not to shut the car off so the code doesnt clear & I asked if the tow guy would leave the car on to bring it here. He goes well no! they werenżT of help ever.on 03/07/16 heading home my car went in limp mode & steering went stiff. I couldnt control the car & ended up hitting a guard rail.my car got damage & hurt my back.the officer stated I was lucky bc 20 more ft I would of hit the telephone pole. The tow truck guy also stated the car wasnżT safe to drive.the nxt day my bf called Ford(who open a case)& state farm our insur.co. We went to N.side collison were we explained the situation & recalls on my car.he said he would try & talk to Ford to see what he could do. He couldnżT do anything & we had to deal with Ford.this collison center was on a time frame & real pushy.so I had the car transferred to alan buyer collison center who works w. my insur. & Ford. Weżve played phone tag with Ford csd. The claim was sent to Ford legal general council whose supposed to handle the case & had 15 business to respond. They havenżT responded or try to make contact with us!I was also told by Ford csd not to have the collison center do anything till we hear from the legal counsel. My car has been at the C.C 62+days untouched. I upload letter I sent to Ford company.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #110

Nov 152014

Fusion

  • 38,000 miles
Mpg was not adding up though it was just me than I would notice spots of gasoline on the floor and did a inspection and looked normal until filled gas a bit higher than half and started leaking.and some loss of steering would happen here and there and decided to inspect it to couple of codes would come up in a dtc test.

- Compton, CA, USA

problem #109

Jan 042016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Marmaduke, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?