Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,547 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Sep 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 70,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was getting up to speed at about 40-50 mph and upon depressing gas pedal combined with shifting of gears (automatic), engine stalled. Occurred twice with 5 miles on busy highway. Engine light and wrench light came on each time. After shutting down engine on shoulder, it started right back and ran fine for a while. Was fortunate with no traffic incident/accident either time. Occurred three more times before getting to dealership. Dealership service informed me that it was a throttle body issue and replaced the throttle body part it at my cost as the extended warranty did not cover it.

- Arlington, OH, USA

problem #24

Jul 162013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the fuel filler needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 10/31/13 the vehicle was repaired at a cost of $390. Updated 11/12/13

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #23

Jul 162013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Started the vehicle and began driving, the throttle died in the middle of an intersection. Had to restart car in intersection. The throttle returned momentarily. Slowly drove the vehicle at < 5mph (as all it would allow) to autozone. Received P2112 code: Throttle control stuck shut. Had to tow home. Relevant to this article and investigation: www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/02/25/probe-Ford-cars-SUVS-stalling/1945799/ have since paid for Ford to replace the throttle body. Am awaiting recall for reimbursement.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #22

Aug 292013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,071 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving 70 mph down the highway and the motor simply cut off. Was fortunately able to make it to the emergency lane and come to a stop safely. Turned ignition off. Then turned the ignition on and the car immediately cranked back up. Drove to nearest gas station thinking maybe being low on gas with about 40 miles to empty was the issue. Filled up with gas and proceeded home. The next day, as we were beginning to take a trip, after turning onto the on ramp and started to accelerate to get onto the highway, the engine turned off again. Fortunately was able to get stopped before being hit from behind by the cars closely behind me that were accelerating to get on the highway as well or by the flowing traffic on the highway itself as I entered the busy highway, thus endangering the lives of my whole family and those persons of the vehicles that may have come in contact with my vehicle. Cranked car right back up and slowly proceeded to the Ford dealership. Where I was told that the mfi throttle body and motor assembly had to be replaced to correct the problem. This is failure is a danger to every Fusion driver and their occupants, as well as, anyone that is driving near them that could hit them in the rear or possibly hit them in the door killing the driver or occupants because the car will not accelerate though an intersection or onto a highway.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #21

Aug 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,300 miles
I left from my home in the early afternoon. The car had not been used since the previous evening. About 2 miles from my house I got onto a state route and started to go up a slight hill. I had accelerated up to approximately 45 mph and the engine started running really rough, then stalled. The check engine light lit up. It seemed to go down to idle with no response from engine while pushing the pedal. I glided to the side of the road and crested the hill, then let the engine sputter at around idle as I was able to put it in neutral and let gravity take me to the bottom of the hill where I could glide around the corner into a safe parking lot. I shut the car down, waited a minute and it started back up as though nothing had happened. The check engine light was clear. I have not tried to check to see if it stored any codes yet. I had experienced 2 previous events in the previous 2 weeks with this car. The car has been serviced regularly.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #20

Sep 112013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,250 miles
My wife was driving down the highway and the engine bucked and seemed to stall, then recovered. The previous week it had stalled completely. Shortly after it stalled while I was driving it again and did not recover.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #19

Aug 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove a mile from our home to pick up pizza. Went into the shop for about 5 minutes, came out and started the car. Backed out of the space and pulled across a divided road to head home and the car sputtered and lost power so that I had to pull over to the side. The check engine light was lit. I shut down the car and it started right up and the check engine light was clear. It repeated this issue again about 1 week later on the highway for my wife though recovered. Then again for me while accelerating up a state route but did not recover.

- Madison, CT, USA

problem #18

Aug 162013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2011 Ford Fusion. On 8/16/2013, on city streets, traveling less than 20 mph, the car engine cut off, the wrench light came on. I was able to steer, but all of my dash indicator lights were functioning as well as A/C and radio. However, there was no response from the accelerator. At less than 5 mph, she began to shudder/balk like I was just learning to drive a stick shift. On 9/2/2013, the same thing happened at two separate times, except during the first I was driving on a toll road at 55 mph. The second incident I was again traveling at 55 mph on an access ramp that leads onto the interstate. In all 3 incidents, the wrench light came on and I did have control of the steering wheel and was able to safely get my vehicle out of the main thoroughfare. I then shut off A/C, radio and ignition; waited a short time and restarted the car. Each time she hesitated ever so slightly before starting and I was then able to drive on to my destination.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Car experienced a sudden loss of power during acceleration from a stop sign. Lost 99% of power and missed heavily. Nearly rear-ended. Pulled over, turned car off, waited a few minutes and restarted the car. Ran fine. Drove approximately 15 miles and 25 minutes before parking the car; problem did not recur. Drove approximately 20 miles and 30 minutes to dealership; problem did not recur. Dealership diagnosed the problem the same as many of the complaints on this website - the throttle body actuator is sticking. $400 repair. Information online indicates that this is a new throttle design by Ford, so in essence, Ford is experimenting on my dime. Not acceptable.

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 032013

Fusion

  • 42,000 miles
Car appeared to have lost fuel power while driving approx. 40 miles per hour. Car jerked and speed reduced to approx. 5 miles an hour. Appeared to not be receiving any fuel even when the pedal was being pushed. Pulled over, turned motor off then restarted. Drove okay for about 5 more minutes than did the same thing again only this time while driving on a highway that had the shoulder of the road being worked on. The time was 5 am and it was extremely foggy. Visibility was poor and the scenario could have been much worse, all things considered. Repeated the process again of turning the motor off and back on, making it to my place of work this time within 5 minutes. Check engine light came on and remained on when the car was started. Took car to dealership after work (approx 8 miles away) without incident although the check engine light was on. Technician called next day stating the throttle body needed replaced and had seen this on multiple occasions lately with Ford vehicles. Although I did not have an accident I can see where this issue has potential to be harmful to the driver and others. I hope something is done soon before something more serious does happens.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #15

Sep 032013

Fusion

  • 39,521 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a major highway (I-70) East from St. Louis, mo, to dayton, oh. Cruise control was on at 65 mph, moderate/heavy traffic. All of a sudden, the car started to decelerate without warning, a "wrench" light and the engine light came on, and when I pressed on the accelerator, nothing happened. I pulled over onto the shoulder, and the car was shuddering. I turned it off and let it sit for a minute and then turned it back on. It seemed to be fine, so I got back on the highway. Three miles later, it happened again. I did the same thing, pulled over/turned off car/restarted, and the car worked okay once I got back on the highway. Four miles later, it happened again. This time, I was between two semi trucks, and was almost rear-ended by the one behind me, which would have resulted in my car basically being "crushed" between the two tractor trailers. I was able to pull over onto the shoulder safely to call for roadside assistance, and after having to tow my car to the nearest Ford dealership, they advised me it was caused by failed throttle body (diagnostic code P2111). The service agent there told me that this was a known issue by Ford (he told me he has seen the same problem on close to 100 other cars), but the company has done nothing about it. I came very close to being either seriously injured, or even killed, because of this. I truly hope that something can be done about this before someone is seriously injured or worse, killed (I know there are reports of crashes and injuries as a result of this problem as I have researched this issue).

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #14

Aug 102013

Fusion

  • 60,000 miles
While driving down a country road, the vehicle's engine suddenly started shaking violently and would not accelerate above 3 miles per hour. We had to push the car home and have it towed to the dealership. The problem is the throttle body. Ford Motor Co. Is aware that there is a design flaw with the throttle body in this make/model. Ford has re-designed this part but has not issues a recall. The car has been in the shop for over a week waiting for a new throttle body because there is a shortage due to a large number of vehicles experiencing the same problem. Ford needs to issue a recall to avoid what could have been a fatal accident. If this problem had occurred while pulling out into traffic, or on a major highway the end result could have easily have been a fatal accident. Ford needs to recall this part now!

- Armuchee, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 072013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
On 8/7/13 I was driving my car to work in my apartment complex (approx. 5 mph) my car stopped responding to the gas pedal and started "shaking" erratically. A small tool/wrench light appeared on my dash. I pulled over and turned the car off. Restarted several minutes later and was able to drive with no problems until on the way home. I didn't drive it again until 8/9/13 to the mechanic. It started and drove fine, until 15 minutes after being on the interstate (which I had to get on to get to the mechanic) the car stopped responding to the gas pedal and seems to stay at the same speed for about a minute (approx. 60 mph). Finally the car started to slow down and started shaking ( like it was out of gas but I still 1/2 tank). I had to pull over immediately on the very busy interstate because the car was shaking and didn't seem to respond to the gas pedal. I let the car sit for several minutes and tried to start driving on the shoulder but the car started shaking again. I decided to try one more time before calling a tow truck because it was a very dangerous situation (and I had my 11 months old son in the car) trying to merge back on the freeway with a car that didn't want to accelerate and was shaking. I tried again and was able to successfully pull back onto the interstate. Once I was able to get off, I took side streets and had to stop the car again (approx. 30-40 mph). Mechanics said that Ford aren't suppose to have this problem they were very surprised and told us to research the internet for recalls, that is how I found safercar.gov and the numerous complaints for the same situation. This problem is obviously an issue with the car itself and not in anyway the owners/operators fault. There should be a recall issued immediately since this issue happens suddenly with no warning that there is anything wrong with the car and could result in accidents/loss of life.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #12

Jul 142013

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine and maintenance warning lights. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the fuel and throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Millbrook, AL, USA

problem #11

Aug 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,672 miles
On Saturday, I was driving out from a complex making a left turn into traffic when my vehicle abruptly slammed stopped at a green light. I put on my hazards and noticed a wrench signal popped on. I put the car in park and turned the vehicle off, then started it back. The vehicle turned on again. I was lucky I was not rear-ended. I drove home and decided not to drive the car until I took it to nearest dealer. Monday morning, I got into vehicle headed to the dealer and again driving out of my complex, the code popped on, vehicle sputtered and stopped. I turned it off then on again. It started and I headed to the dealer close by with hazards on. My vehicle was diagnosed needing throttle body totaling $585. Mind you my vehicle is two years old.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #10

Aug 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Car stalls while driving down the road, pull over and it starts back up. It has done this 3 times in the last week. Will be taking it to the Ford dealer Monday. Did online searches and found this is a common problem with Ford Fusion and it points to the throttle body or electronic module that controls the throttle body. This should be recalled by Ford - very scary and dangerous for the driver of the vehicle.

- Lago Vista, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 292012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
As I was driving down a crowded highway the vehicle lost power and refused to accelerate. It was later determined that the throttle body had malfunctioned.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
While driving on a highway with a fair amount of traffic the gas pedal quit working then my car stalled out. This all happened very quickly. I was able to pull to side. I restarted the car merged back on highway and in 1/4 to 1/2 mile it did it again. Once again I was able to restart it and merged back into traffic hoping to make it to the next exit, but it did it again in less then 1/4 mile. I restarted it and stayed on the side of highway. It went into limp mode and I was able to get to a gas station at next exit. The car had stalled out a month or so prior but restarted and no other issues until this reported event. Also as we researched on line my car had the surges of power or lack thereof as mentioned on line. Note: I am a person without much mechanical knowledge and this was an extremely unsettling event. I do a lot of highway driving in my work including rush hour. I am well aware that my life could have easily ended that day or been severely changed. Please address this before someone's life is ended or severely changed!!

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My wife was driving vehicle at about 65 mph in morning rush hour traffic. While traveling yellow wrench light came on and vehicle slowed down while traveling in the far left lane (fast lane). Had to safely get the car to side of the road as it coasted while traffic still maintained their normal speed. After removing key and letting vehicle sit for a couple minutes, put key back in ignition and started the vehicle back up. Proceeded with no issues. Called dealership and made an appointment for 7/1/2013. Was told that there were no codes and could not get vehicle to perform our stated issue. Was told it may be the throttle body and that they would order one (we are looking at the minimum a two week wait). And that they would not guarantee that this would fix the problem because there were no codes for them to go off of. It should be noted that our extended service contract does not cover this and that we would be looking at around a $400 repair. If we would of had preferred service plan that it would of been covered (imagine that!). so today my wife calls me again to tell me she is on the side of the highway because the issue happened again! and on top of this issue she now had a flat tire probably due to having to coast the vehicle to the side of the highway. We met up and changed vehicles. I proceeded to drive the vehicle back to work, but never made it due to the vehicle not wanting to operate and yellow wrench coming on along with check engine light. Had vehicle towed back to dealership where they offered a loaner car while we wait for part to arrive with no estimated eta" a huge safety concern that Ford seems to not care about and has a casual "we will get to it, when we get to it" mentality"!?!"

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My car keeps stalling, after taking to mechanic it was diagnostic tested with throttle acenture control system that was defective unable to get part from Ford Corp. Was told they are on back order have to wait several weeks more. To many Ford Fusion need part there should be an investigation that leads into recall its not fair to us buyers I have personally called Ford dealers in 5 surrounding states for 4 days no one has the part nor for Canada or Ford Mexico something wrong here.

- Chicago , IL, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?