Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,547 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Nov 212013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Began having problems with this vehicle the second month after purchase. The first incident was steering wheel locked and I could not control the direction of the car. I ended up on the left side of the road off the shoulder before I could stop it. It happened on several occasions. Car dies for no reason. I end up having it towed or restarted by charging battery. The battery always has a full charge. Also I have been shopping and get in the car to start it and it will not start. Door handles would not work from inside. Windows would not open. Had to force window down enough to open from the outside. Had front door handle assemble replaced had transfer case resealed horrible smell, new tires 3 times since it was purchased had rear drive shaft replaced, fuel pump replaced had taken it to Ford just recently for what I deemed was computer problems, of course they could not find anything wrong. I was told by my mechanic the last time I had new tires put on the car that I would need new rims soon. The rims are eroding from the inside out. I have several invoices for work that was done and a few more I can't locate at this time. I would like to send them all to you. Purchase car 12/1/12.

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #44

Jan 182016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of a recall for the fuel system; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/29/16 updated 05/04/16

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #43

Jan 262016

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that there was an odor of fuel coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). However, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/20/16 the consumer stated there was a problem with the transmission and the steering. Also, the vehicle would suddenly stall, while driving. Updated 05/11/16.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #42

Jan 272016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 04/06/16

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #41

Aug 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 58,650 miles
Going down the road and there was a thump and the gas pedal quit working. The car didn't go dead but the gas pedal wouldn't accelerate the vehicle, coasted to the side of the road, turned it off and back on and the gas pedal worked. It did this twice on 8/22/14, once on 8/24/14 and has done it once today so far 8/25/2014. The first time it did this was 9/12/13 and it didn't do it again until 8/22/14. There are pages and pages of Ford Fusion owners having this same problem and they say it is the throttle body causing the problem. When it did it today I was pulling out on to the highway from a stop sign and could not accelerate to get across the road. I had to stop in the center lane to keep from being hit. Ford needs to fix this before someone is killed. I am scared to drive my own car but don't have any other way to get to work. The reference # for last years complaint is 10543529.

- Brent, AL, USA

problem #40

Nov 012010

Fusion

  • 53,552 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning icon illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle jerked violently when the failure occurred. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road where the vehicle was restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the throttle body, engine valve and fuel system needed to be cleaned and the power control module needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 53,552 and the approximate 160,000.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #39

Jun 302014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the interstate to work, the car all of the sudden jerked and started to decelerate. I was able to pull off onto the shoulder, while the car continued to jerk forward. I turned off the ignition, waited a few seconds, and restarted the car. I proceeded to reenter the highway, and a few seconds later it did the same thing again. I once again pulled off onto the shoulder, turned off the ignition, and restarted the car. This time the car ran fine all the way to work. I am concerned that since the freeway has a few construction spots where there are no shoulder pulloffs, I could have been in a serious accident.

- Dupont, PA, USA

problem #38

May 052014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 18,200 miles
I was driving my car and suddenly the engine just shut down in the middle of the traffic. This has happened constantly in the last couple of days. For a temporary fix we would need to turn the engine off and then on so the issue temporary "disappears" this is a very serious situation and put the drive and other at risk.

- Morganville, NJ, USA

problem #37

Apr 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,220 miles
My wife, [xxx], was driving our Fusion. She had traveled approx. 1/4 mile and was approaching a stop sign at bayside dr. Newport beach, ca at the harbor is. Dr. intersection. Suddenly, the car accelerated, catching her by surprise she went through the intersection and was narrowly missed by two oncoming cars. She told me later that it happened a second time on the freeway (she was on her way home) but was not in immediate danger when it occurred. We have traveled these streets several times. Had just left the restaurant where we had lunch....was riding my bicycle home and watched her go through the intersection....very scary!! note: The throttle positioner was replaced on this vehicle a couple months ago. It had failed to 5mph. Villa Ford in orange ca did the repair. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 10/7/2014

- Orange 92867, CA, USA

problem #36

Nov 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 3,100 miles
While pulling into a parking space the and depressing the brake vehicle suddenly jolted forward crashing into a post. The check engine light came on indicating there was a problem. We have reported to Ford on multiple occasions that the car surges when coming to a stop. We have been informed that they are unable to do anything without an error code. After the insurance company repaired the car we drove it to Ford. Unfortunately we were told that the error code will clear after driving a "complete cycle" or "running a vehicle health report". both were completed and Ford repair tech's say this is a known issue but without a code they can not do anything about it. I own 2 Ford 2011 Fusion. The other car had an issue where it would frequently stall or go "limp" as Ford calls it. Much like the surges we have experienced with this vehicle, I had numerous occasions this occurred without any check engine light. Finally it went "limp" getting onto the highway and the check engine light came on. I brought it into Ford a few days later. The light was off but they were able to recover the code. I believe there is a major issue with the computerize throttle control in these vehicles and a recall is in order. We are lucky that the driver did not get injured. The airbag did no deploy even though there was substantial damage to the front end. The damage was caused by a post that cut through the bumper and damaged up to the radiator. As part of the research done I believe a detailed analysis of how the error codes are stored should be done. If the cars computer can clear errors there is limited evidence/documentation of problems. This appears to me as a "feature" to eliminate any trace of an issue.

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #35

Aug 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sudden decrease of power followed by total shut down (similar to being totally out of gas). Gas tank was almost full each time this occurred.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Vehicle started to have problems around 83,000 miles. My daughter would just be driving along and suddenly the car would just stop accelerating and go to idle. She would have to coast to the side of the road to get out of traffic. She was able to turn the car off and start it again and clear the problem. It would go a couple of weeks without incident until all of the sudden would happen again. On most occasions, the yellow "wrench" light would come on as well. We first assumed it was bad gas or the fuel pump, but after researching discovered a lot of complaints with the exact symptoms that pointed to a faulty throttle body. I decided to submit a complaint after last night her car once again stopped accelerating on a bridge with a police officer behind her whom proceeded to pull her over. Fortunately, the officer was understanding to the situation. It is very unsettling to have your inexperienced 17 year daughter on the highway with a vehicle that operates in this capacity. Ford has been manufacturing cars for how many years and this is still the best they can do? to be driving down the highway at 60 mph and your car just transfer to idle speed. Ridiculous!

- Lebanon, KY, USA

problem #33

Nov 132013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,137 miles
Driving down highway, car loses power like it wasn't pulling, luckily I was in slow lane on highway, when I got over to shoulder of 2 lane highway the wrench on dashboard lit up & car died, after sitting for 5--7 minutes it cranked back up and I was able to take to Ford dealership. I am not real happy after reading all the problems people are having. I usually take my 5 yr old grandson to daycare in morning so after this I am kinda leary of driving this car. If I had have been in the fast lane on this highway I would have had a harder time getting out of traffic and probably hit by another car or an 18 wheeler. Thank god I did not have my grandson with me. After this I seriously think I need to get rid of this vehicle.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #32

Oct 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
I was driving down the street when my idle and RPM went down and I kept pressing on the gas pedal but the car would not accelerate (warning wrench symbol appeared). I was barely able to pull out of traffic and I nearly got hit in the rear by a tractor trailer. I turned off the car and got out my manual which said something about the throttle body. I turned on the car and everything was fine so I took the back road home (nitetime) and went about 10 miles and parked in front of my home. Went out in the morning (sundayoctober 20) and was going to drive it to the dealer to leave overnite, got a mile from my home and the same thing happened, called a tow truck and had it towed to the dealer.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #31

Oct 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
While driving at all times, the vehicle would start to surge and buck then loose power. It never completely died but when I pulled over it ran terrible and would not accelerate. I turned it off for a few seconds and restarted it. It would run for a while, good, then the problem would reoccur. The engine light came on, I had the code checked. The result was a faulty throttle body or sort in the throttle body module.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #30

Jul 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,600 miles
Driving on highway 24/27 my car just shut off. No warning. Then sputtered. I cruised over to shoulder. The tool light was (wrench) on. I cut off the car and then restarted the car. Very scary. At first I was advised I had bad gas in the car, then I was advised I need a new fuel injection system. Then after cutting off 6 times in the space of one exit to another, I refused to drive the car anymore. The mechanic stated I need a new throttle body and it was replaced. My car still hesitates and accelerates at times.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #29

Oct 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,291 miles
While driving down the road the car jerked and the wrench lite came on. The car would not respond to the accelerator and would only coast. I was fortunate enough to be on a hill and was able to coast into a parking lot. I stopped the car, put it into park, and shut off the engine. I tried to restart it, and after a long crank the engine started, the wrench lite was off, and the car and accelerator responded normally. I was able to drive the car home without further incident. My husband then test drove the car and had a similar experience while driving down the road and also had to pull into a parking lot. He drove it straight to the dealer and dropped it off for repair. The problem was diagnosed as a malfunctioning throttle body. Research on the internet showed that this is happening to alot of Ford Fusion owners and we followed link to this website to report the problem.

- Hixson, TN, USA

problem #28

Sep 292013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,901 miles
My car lost complete power wile traversing an intersection. I was almost hit by a large truck as I had no power in my car. Tool it to the dealer and it is a defective throttle body that Ford is aware of. Mechanic said he sees this happen all the time. Its very scary to be driving and suddenly lose all power and very dangerous.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #27

Sep 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Was driving on a county road up a slight incline when the engine ran very rough and the car rolled to a stop. Tried to restart and had the same condition - as though the engine was running on two cylinders. Was in the middle of the road and other cars ran around me. A homeowner came to the rescue and we were able to get the car slowly rolling onto his driveway. After sitting for some time the engine then worked as usual and we drove directly to the Ford dealer and dropped the car off (it was sat. A.M.) so the service dept. Could look at the car Monday. Was called mon. And told by service that it was the throttle body and would cost $640 to repair. Authorized the repair plus oil change, etc. My wife had picked me up with another vehicle and I checked the internet for this throttle body problem. There was a lot of info about it. Called dealership and told them the problem has existed for years and I would not pay for a problem from the factory (not ordinary wear and tear) which they knew about when they sold me the car new in 2010. Offered to pay half the throttle body repair cost as the vehicle was out of warranty. Waiting for their decision.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #26

Sep 182013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 78,557 miles
Filled tank up with fuel. Few hours later noticed the smell of gas. Found fuel tank to have a steady drip of gas. Leak is coming from top side of tank on passenger side. Due to the area I cannot identify where leak is originating.

- Hoschton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?