Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
64,841 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 18 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #211

Oct 032014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 35,050 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lost power steering suddenly without any warnings. The is the second time in the past year this has occurred.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #210

Oct 012014

Fusion

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the power steering failed and the instrument panel warning indicators illuminated. The contact mentioned that it was difficult to maintain control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Van Buren, ME, USA

problem #209

Oct 012014

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
After cranking my car and before putting it into drive, the power steering failed and the "power steering assist failure" message appeared on the dash. I turned the car off and sat for a minute. Turned it back on and was fine. Two days later, I was leaving my home and the same thing happened. However instead of it working after a restart, the power steering assist failure message came on each time. I could barely muscle it back into the driveway. Myself being 5'3" 130lbs found it very scary to try to control the vehicle when the power steering was lost. It was almost impossible for me to get back in the driveway. The driver of the tow truck had to move it back before he could load it. I purchased the car from Ford as a certified pre-owned car with 63,000 miles on it in June. I cannot believe I have already had a $1000 repair on this certified pre-owned. Hugely disappointed. If this had happened to me while driving, I am scared to think of what the result would have been. No way I could have controlled the vehicle if it were in motion and the power steering went out. This issue needs to be addressed and I would like for Ford to reimburse those including myself dealing with their faulty parts.

- Winterville, GA, USA

problem #208

Oct 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving in reverse, the power steering failed. As a result, the contact had to use extreme force to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle had to be restarted in order to resume normal operation. The failure occurred several times. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 11/20/14

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #207

Sep 242014

Fusion

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the low tire pressure indicator illuminated and the power steering malfunctioned. The contact had to exert excessive force to turn the steering wheel. The dealer stated that the computer had to be reprogrammed and reset. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Liberty, PA, USA

problem #206

Jul 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The steering system stopped in April 2014. I turned car off then back on no more problems so I thought it to be a glitch. Finally July 4, 2014 power assist defaulted again for good. I purchased the car August 22, 2013 from stateline auto group. They're not a Ford dealer so they refuse to do anything stating I need to fix my car problem. It is an estimated $2100 repair. There needs to be a recall for this problem as there are hundreds of people with the same issue. Too bad I didn't see this before hand. Ford is recalling the 2013 Fusion for the same problem. My vehicle according to my VIN..was built in a Mexico fordplant. Please some one help.

- Painesville, OH, USA

problem #205

Oct 022014

Fusion

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service advancetrac now - power assist failure lights come on and the 2011 Ford Fusion is difficult to control and steer, this happened twice today. I stopped turned the car off, once I restarted the vehicle the light went out and assisted steering was working. I drove another 30 miles and the warning light came back on and experienced loss of assisted steering. I have had this happen before once about a year ago and once about 6 months ago. I did some research and see their are many complaints about this serious problem. In my research I noted that a class action lawsuit has been filed against Ford in June of 2014 in the us district court of the northern district of California. I hope that NHTSA and the us district court of the northern district of California will prompt and/or force Ford Motor Company to recall the effected vehicles.

- Brooklyn, MI, USA

problem #204

Sep 262014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Wife was driving home from work luckily without my son in the car, power steering assist fault light displayed and then the power steering cut off while she was driving into our apartment complex. I started the car no warnings sounded drove around the block sure enough power steering assist fault light came on again and lost power steering never regaining power steering again. Same song and dance as far as I can find on the net $2000 repair without 100% guarantee of fix or of what the problem actually is. Im sorry but my wife and kid is worth more than that!!! were a blue collar family and this was to be our luxury vehicle now its collecting dust in the drive way thank you Ford, and best count your blessing that no harm came to my family because of this!!!

- Olive Hill , KY, USA

problem #203

Sep 222014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The first time an alarm that sounded like music began playing. It played for awhile and then the car turned off. I was able to stop the car safely. I restarted it and it would not start. I tried again after a few minutes and the car appeared to work normally. The second time I was on the freeway in the fast lane going 65 mph. I heard the music/alarm playing again, so I began working my way to the side. Before I got to the side of the road, the car locked down my steering wheel. A warning light came on, that said something like "service advancetrac". once I got it restarted, it drove normally again. Later that day, I was unable to back out of a parking space because the steering was not working. I took it to the dealer. The dealer stated that the entire power steering system has to be replaced for 2100 dollars. They told me they were not going to address the issue that the car turned off two days earlier because the steering was the current problem. I contacted the Ford company and they opened a case on my car. I do not know the outcome of this situation yet. After reading several accounts on the internet, I want to be sure to report this safety problem as it could have been very dangerous.

- Newcastle, TX, USA

problem #202

Sep 192014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 33,289 miles
I was approaching an intersection and had just stepped on the brakes to slow and merge into a turning lane when the warning lights and sounds started, and steering became very difficult, as if power steering was gone. It was extremely difficult to steer the car through the turn and pull off the road safely. There were a lot of other vehicles around me that needed to swerve out of the way. Once on the side of the road, I turned the car off. Once I restarted the car, the warning lights cleared and I had normal steering. A month prior, the same thing happened while backing out of a parking space. Turning the car off an on cleared the problem then, too. When this happened while driving, resulting in a dangerous situation, we took the car to the dealer. They advised the power steering rack needed to be replaced, for a cost of $1,700. This car was 2 months out of warranty. We live in an area with many winding roads, so this problem is a serious safety concern. If this had occurred while driving on interstate or on a winding road, I don't think I could control the car to keep from running into oncoming traffic or off the road entirely. I paid for the repair, and am surprised to now see lots of other complaints about this issue.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #201

Jul 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving with my children in the car, and the power steering cut out on me. Fortunately, there was a shoulder to pull off onto and no cars right behind us. It was very difficult to turn the steering wheel and very scary. The power steering did not return, but I did drive it down the road to a garage where I found out that the steering rack would need to be replaced and that this is a known issue to Ford, but that no recall had been issued for my vehicle.

- South Berwick, ME, USA

problem #200

Apr 152014

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, there was a loss of power steering and the warning indicators were illuminated. The contact was able to maneuver the vehicle to the side of the road where the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The problem has recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #199

Aug 112014

Fusion

  • 55,000 miles
I was turning a corner after the extremely heavy rain in detroit, mi on the 11th of August and all of a sudden these warning lights and bells came on saying service trac assist/power steering assist fault and then the steering just stopped. I struggled to get it home with the extreme inability to steer. Luckily no one was near me so I could swing out as wide as necessary to turn without colliding with another car. I bought this car used in November of 2013. This is just unacceptable. Had I known about this issue, I never would have purchased this car. My powertrain warrant should cover it, since I'm under 60,000 miles, but Ford says if it's damaged by water, then warranty is not engaged. This needs to be recalled. They have recalled the SUV's with this issue, recall the Fusion.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #198

Oct 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Sudden loss of power steering. Messages show power steering assist fault and service advancetrac. Advantrac led is lit on console. This is an intermittent problem that started on 10/23/2013 at 69,000 miles until it finally failed completely on 7/14/2014 at 86,700 miles. Between October, 2013 and July, 2014, it could fail at any moment at any speed. There were approximately 30 instances of power steering loss during this time. I found out that the problem would go away when I stopped the car, turned it off, and restarted. It would clear the messages and the power steering would work fine until the next incident. My Ford dealer stated that they couldn't fix it until they got the fault code. I would have to bring in when it was in the failed state. Needless to say, it didn't conveniently fail when I was near my Ford dealer during business hours. This is a serious safety issue that many other Ford Fusion drivers have experienced. It was very stressful driving the car without power steering. The code fault is C200D. The steering rack (ae5Z*3504) needed to be replaced to fix the problem. I had to pay for the repair. My Ford dealer provided some reimbursement, but I think this should have been a recall to cover all costs because it was a known a safety issue. There is a recall for sudden loss of power steering on Explorer and escape, but not Fusion. Why not" it's okay for Fusion owners to drive with an increase risk of crashing, but not Explorer or escape owners" the car is awful to drive without power steering especially at low speeds.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #197

Sep 042014

Fusion

  • 79,600 miles
While traveling on a highway at approximately 65 mph, my power steering went out, and a power steering fault message came on. I had a real hard time getting over to the emergency lane as the steering wheel was almost impossible to turn. This caused me to almost get hit by incoming traffic while attempting to change lanes or even keep the vehicle straight, had this happen while making a turn and accident would have ensued for sure. Once I made it to the emergency lane, I turned the car off and back on and the problem went away. As I look on the web this is a very common problem with Ford Fusion, why isn't there a recall?

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #196

Aug 132014

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized as the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the power steering box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Lewiston, ME, USA

problem #195

Aug 212014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 97,295 miles
I was on the interstate driving my 2011 Ford Fusion AWD 3.0L at 75 mph when suddenly I lost power steering. A warning icon appeared on my dash in addition to a message reading: "service advanced trac & service power steering. I had this occur three times previously at low speeds in parking lots, but never at such high speeds. I safely exited the interstate, came to stop, turned my engine off, and restarted my car. The warning message disappeared and I regained power steering. I then went back onto the interstate up to 65 mph when the issue happened again. I was able to carefully drive home the rest of the way without power steering which took a significant amount of effort to turn the steering wheel. I took the car it into the dealer the next day. They diagnosed it as an "internal motor fault in steering rack". they had to replace the steering rack and gear assembly and do a wheel realignment. Total cost of repair was $1700. I was fortunate to not be involved in an accident when suddenly losing power steering on the expressway. Ford needs to further investigate this and repair it across all vehicles affected before someone gets seriously injured.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #194

Aug 312014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
My wife was driving are 2011 Ford Fusion the other day on her way back from a trip. Note we just purchased this car 35 days ago roughly. The Fusion had 30, xxx miles on it when purchased and the time of the incident when the power steering failed was 31, xxx miles we had not put more then 1000 miles on this car since we bought it. The wife was driving through a construction zone on her way home. She was a little more then a 100 miles away from are home. She was on the interstate when she suddenly realized the power steering light came on saying it needed to be serviced. She was driving in single lane of traffic in a 65 mph zone because of the construction. Luckily the power steering held up long enough for her to get off at the nearest exit of the instate before it failed complete in the parking lot of a gas station. Things like this are no joke and I can not believe Ford isn't doing anything about this. I'm thankful my wife was not hurt or anyone else like on coming traffic or a construction worker. But I'm very very anger and hope Ford wakes up and recalls this steering issue before its to late for some unlucky person!! this should not be happening on any car let alone close to brand new cars with less then 100K on them. I have owned and drove many Ford vehicles in my life but I don't know if I will ever buy another Ford car because of this clear safety issue. My wife is fairly strong and she could barely move the car steering wheel after it lost power to the wheel and I even moved the car so it could be towed and I struggled to turn the wheel I could not imagine if the power steering went out and I was not ready I would probably lose control if I was on the interstate or in close traffic let alone trying to make a hard turn in a corner. I hope ever one the best of luck with this as I know I'm not alone and please fill out the report to get this recalled. Thanks!!

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #193

Aug 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 75,250 miles
I was driving down the road to get to work and a icon popped up on my dash in addition to a couple messages appearing where my odometer reading typically is. The messages read : "service advanced trac & service powersteering." There seemed to be no difference in the control and handling of my car until I went to parallel park (my steering felt stiff) so I continued onto my appointment. After returning to my car and turning it back on the icon was back and the messages returned with the addition of say "now" after the initial messages. My driving experience however was difficult. My power steering was not working and I had to exert a significant amount of effort to turn the steering wheel. It also felt as if my turning radius was much wider to turn corners. My dealership checked my car and gave me an estimate just under $2000 to repair the issue including the initial diagnosis of the issue. The report indicated that the "module on the steering rack" was at fault, but to repair that would require the replacement of the whole steering rack.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #192

Aug 282014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I was driving to work on interstate-87 North in New York with normal driving conditions when, all of a sudden, the power steering light on my 2011 Ford Fusion came on the dash informing me of a power steering failure. At the time, I was driving in the left hand lane of the three-lane highway and was had to navigate my way across two lanes of busy highway traffic to pull onto the shoulder. With my hazard lights on, I had to fight the stiff steering wheel to get to the shoulder. I put my car in park, turned the car off, and turned the car back on. The issue went away and I drove the rest of the way to work. I have owned this car for almost 2 years and had not had an incident until July 2014. Two times prior to this steering failure, the electronic power steering failed in my driveway as I shifted the car into reverse to pull out of the driveway. This trip could have easily turned into a serious accident for myself and those driving around me.

- Waldwick, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?