Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
64,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 9 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #381

May 042015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Had just navigated a sharp left turn from an exit ramp from an arterial road, and was driving below 40 miles per hour on major parkway/street when traffic light up ahead turned red. Applied brakes to stop with traffic ahead when "service advancetrac and power steering failure" warning messages appeared and stability control light lit up. Car had no power steering and it was difficult to move the wheel and I was unable to move over to the side of the road. When I came to a complete stop, I killed the engine and restarted the car. The warning messages went away and the power steering returned. This could be a potentially deadly problem, as the electric power steering does not behave at all like hydraulic systems do when losing power.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #380

May 012015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Power steering assist fault...along with andvancetrac issues....fails....turn off vehicle and used to work again well for a short time and again it would fail...failure occurred either at highway speeds or in parked position.... making steering difficult...

- Berino, NM, USA

problem #379

Apr 272015


  • 74,600 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while reversing at 5 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. In addition, power steering assist fault was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the power steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,600.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #378

Apr 302015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,271 miles


I started the car and I got a stabilitrac/power steering error message. The power steering will not work. I tried waiting and restarting as I read online that is a way to fix it short term and it does not fix the problem. It has happened in the past but I did not record the date or mileage.

- Desert Hot Springs, CA, USA

problem #377

Apr 112015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
As I attempted to pull out of a parking space, the steering wheel of my 2011 Ford Fusion became extremely hard to turn. A message on the dashboard indicated that the power steering assist had failed. After turning off the ignition and restarting the car, the steering seemed normal. Two days later the same thing happened as I prepared to leave a parking lot. The dealer replaced the rack and pinion for $1800. No additional incidents in the last few weeks.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #376

Jun 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Between June 1st and June 15, 2014, I began having problems with my battery not starting my car. After removing the cables and cleaning them, the car seemed fine for a few days then it went out. I replaced the battery and the car worked fine. A few days later, the power steering quit working. I learned at that time that my car is not equipped with hydraulic power steering after researching online, I also learned that my power steering outage was not unique and that there was an investigation into this problem for my make, model and year model. I have driven without power steering this entire time because I cannot afford to pay the high dealership diagnostic fees and what I'm sure will be expensive repairs since 3 two different calls to the dealership about their experiences with this problem were not answered with anything but "we have to see it first...", even though I asked only about what their recent knowledge and experiences with this problem have been.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #375

Oct 012013


  • 72,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving at 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the electronic power steering gears needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Sand Springs , OK, USA

problem #374

Mar 202015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The power steering was inoperable, the power steering default light came on. Turned the car off to reset it and it went away temporarily. This happened once in our garage as I was leaving for work and then a day or two later when I was about 30 miles from home. I was able to reset it once more and make it home before it went out completely. My husband was able to drive it in to the local Ford dealer, carefully and slowly.the steering was so difficult to manage I could not steer the car at all. We had it repaired at the cost of $1732.71. I had made the last payment 3/28/2015 and did not think the steering should become inoperable on a 4 year old car. We bought the car new and have taken good care of it, taking it in for all regular oil changes and maintenance. The steering gear assembly had to be replaced. I think the power steering recall should be applied to 2011 Fusion as well.

- Polk, OH, USA

problem #373

Apr 272015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,582 miles
My daughter was driving, made a right turn when the steering got tough. She was able to pull into an immediate driveway on the right when the steering froze up. She was not able to maneuver the car after that. I understand there are multiple complaints for the same issue. Ford has advised they do not have a recall for this so they will not repair.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #372

Feb 162015


  • 62,000 miles
Feb 16, 2015: Upon the first start after replacing the battery, the "power steering assist failure" warning was displayed. This is the first known appearance of this warning. The warning message went away after re-starting the engine. Mid-to-late, March, 2015: Several occurrences of the power steering warning; all went away after re-starting the engine. The warning did not occur at every start of the engine. April 1, 2015: Vehicle taken in to a Ford dealer for service. The power steering control module (pscm) was programmed. April 20, 2015: The power steering warning message displayed again after starting the engine. Message went away upon re-start. April 23, 2015: Vehicle was examined by a Ford dealer. It was determined the pscm needed to be replaced. The part needed to be ordered and the replacement would be done at a later date. May 1, 2015: Vehicle scheduled to have the pscm replaced.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #371

Apr 252015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles


I have had intermittent issues with my power steering since I purchased the car in 2012. During the colder days of the year when I started my car I received a message saying power steering fault and I did not have power steering while the message was up. Restarting the car resolved the issue so I ignored it as it only occurred on cold winter mornings and it did not occur while I was driving. I wasn't aware Ford Fusion used the epas system, I thought the error was coming from the power steering fluid thickening up but I soon realized my car did not have a hydraulic system. On 4/25/2015 I was driving down main St and I noticed my car was suddenly pulling me to the right side of the road and I had a harder time steering the vehicle. Soon after I received a message saying "service advancetrac", and "service power steering now" appeared on my console. I pulled into a parking lot and realized I lost my power steering. I powered off the car and turned it back on and the error messages came back. I was able to drive my car back to my apartment with some difficulty, I'm just happy I wasn't on the highway otherwise I could of got into an accident. I will drop the car off to the dealer tomorrow but I'm hoping my warranty covers the part. If not, I may never purchase a Ford again after reading up on the epas system failures. Ford really needs to get their act together and create a recall for this dangerous issue.

- Presque Isle, ME, USA

problem #370

Apr 182015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
Power steering went out shutting at mcdonalds drive thru. I could not turn the car. Power assist light was in. I finally got the car to turn but ur was very difficult. When I got through the drive thru I parked turned the car off and back on and the steering returned to normal.

- Cuncinnati, OH, USA

problem #369

Feb 252015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Just got done getting gas at a gas station went in and paid came out to find I could barely steer my car. It almost has caused multiple accidents driving in parking lots as its very hard to turn sharp and fast at a slow speed. Being as I cannot afford a new car nor the amount to fix my car I am forced to drive this vehicle as is.

- Nicholville, NY, USA

problem #368

Apr 222015


  • 105,995 miles
Upon shifting into gear after startup, I received a message on the dash display that the power steering system had a "fault." When I slowly proceeded from a parked position and began to turn from the parking area, I discovered that there was no steering assist and that the power steering system had failed. I was able to slowly back up into a parked position.

- Shelbyville, KY, USA

problem #367

Feb 252015


  • 90,000 miles
As I was driving around and prospecting for my job, my power steering suddenly quit and the warning dinged 3 times. As this was the first time this had happened, I simply shut off my car quickly and restarted it and the system reset and I had power steering again. This went on annoyingly for a few months having to stop and shut off the engine to fix the problem until April of 2015 when I was driving around prospecting and my car did the same thing except at a faster rate of speed. Until this point it generally happened as I shifted gears to reverse or drive when the power steering failed; this time it happened in drive while I was going about 15 mph and the simple fix of shutting off the engine and restarting it did not work. Another error message appeared "service advancetrac" and I was unable to get my power steering to work until I took it into the dealer. Thankfully I was only going 15 mph but with the amount of similar stories (some unfortunately not so lucky) I have encountered online, I strongly feel the NHTSA needs to move their ass on this investigation and get these potentially destructing machines off the roads and highways! get Ford to issue a recall! I think over 1 million vehicles warrants it!!

- Linn Creek, MO, USA

problem #366

Oct 172012


  • 1,200 miles
Power steering has gone out several times since I first bought this car. Each time I have taken it into the dealer in the past they have told me they weren't willing to look at it without a fault code on the dash. Today (04/17/2015) I finally managed to get them to look at the code and they are unwilling to fix the problem under warranty despite it having been an ongoing issue. Looking it seems to be a problem not just related to my car, but a number of these 2011 Fusion.

- Halethorpe, MD, USA

problem #365

Apr 112015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I was driving my car to the gas station and all of a sudden I was unable to turn the steering wheel. The message popped up saying service power steering now. I was eventually able to turn it but it is very hard to do so.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #364

Mar 172015


  • 50,426 miles
Without warning the power steering stopped working and the car was extremely difficult to pull over to the side of the road. Ford informed me the power steering unit had failed for no reason. Extremely difficult to even drive to Ford dealership as the steering kept trying to overcorrect left and then right. Just happy to be alive !!!!!

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #363

Apr 142015


  • 32,456 miles
Was driving about 30mph and wheel immediately locked up. Dash board display a message " power steering assist fault and service advancetrac". I was able to turn the car off and back on and that fix the problem however has happen again two days later and turn the engine off and back on is no longer working. Wheel is very hard to turn making the car impossible to drive. Have an appt with Ford but from what I'm reading it seem like the issue isn't covered under warranty.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #362

Apr 102015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
4 times in the last 2 weeks my 2011 Ford Fusion SE has had a power steering failure. Twice causing complete loss of control of the car and another two times turned the car into the sidewalk with pedestrians in the way(no one was hurt....this time). While the car is still drivable there is an excessive amount of force required to steer the car. So much so that my wife-not a weak women at all was not able to steer the car and drove off the road. Even if you are able to steer the car to avoid an accident you can pretty much just drive in a straight line as turning is next to impossible. Something has to be done about this soon. This is not only dangerous for the driver and people in the car but for anyone around a 2010-2012 Ford Fusion. Like a said, we almost struck pedestrians twice. Lets not wait for someone to get hurt or even killed before action is taken.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?