Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Nov 152016

Fusion

  • 100,260 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in a rear end accident yesterday while coming off the highway offramp. A soda can was under my brake pedal making it impossible to slow down. I rear ended a vehicle stopped at the light, I was going 35 -40 mph. Both vehicles were totalled and I hit my head on the windshield because the air bags never deployed.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #27

Sep 142016

Fusion

  • 88,000 miles
The driver's inside door handle stop functioning causing an inability to exit the vehicle without first rolling down the window, reaching outside and opening the door while still in the vehicle. Driver would not have been able to quickly exit the vehicle in the event of an emergency. This is not a defect secondary to any event.. the dealership stated this was a know problem with the Fusion and had actually ordered 3500 parts to repair vehicle when people brought them in for repair.

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #26

Oct 032016

Fusion

  • 101,000 miles
Power steering went out

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #25

Jun 252015

Fusion

  • 39,877 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The drivers side inside door handle broke.this was inside the door.this would not let me lock the door.while traveling the door would not lock and it came open.this is the same problem that other Ford vehicles are being recalled now.I reported the problem to you 06,2015.I reced. No reply from you and Ford made me pay for the repair.this was a safety issue for me.in may,2016 the exact same problem happened again with the passenger side door.I complained to Ford and they covered the repair for this door only.I do not understand why the Fusion is not covered like the other Ford that are being recalled for the same problem!

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #24

Aug 292016

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
Failure of inside door handle to facilitate opening of door will prohibit timely egress of vehicle in the event of an emergency. Both the driver's and rear passenger's inside door handles have broken, resulting in the inability to open the doors from the inside. These failures occurred during normal use after parking the vehicle. The doors opened less than an inch out of the locked position at the times of failure. Due to the bench seat not prohibiting egress out the other rear door, this complaint was not issued during the rear passenger door failure. The driver's door handle has just broken.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #23

Aug 132016

Fusion

  • 81,305 miles
So with in the pass week of 8/8/2016 thru 8/13/2016. I have had a wrench light come on 3 different times and car almost shut off, while driving down the street. So pull over and shut off and crank it back up and go on. However, its becoming a problem and come to find out this maybe throttle control/transmission issue. Somebody gonna get hurt, cause you never know when it gonna cut out on you. Also both door latches will not either open or lock from the inside. Causing existing issue.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #22

Jul 152016

Fusion

  • 30,212 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

July 15,2016 my 2012 Ford Fusion, with 30,212 miles jerked and stalled. Had to coast to the side of the road. To restart and the wrench light came on. Took to dealer on July 18 was told it sounded like the emission throttle but have to run test I need to pay $115 that would go toward the repair have a extended warranty but she states it's on me.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #21

Jul 182016

Fusion

  • 85,717 miles
I was unable to unlatch the driver side door from inside after coming to a complete stop neither with engine off nor with key on. I consider this a major safety malfunction. The latch no longer works from inside.

- Morrilton, AR, USA

problem #20

Jun 212016

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
Driver's side door handle broke almost in the identical spot on a 2009 and 2012 Ford Fusion I own. The vehicle was stationary at my home when the incident happened. This happened with normal pressure to open the door. This prevents the door from opening and or being locked. The 09 had approximately 50K miles and the 2012 had approx 65K miles and happened on 6/21/2016. I feel this is a defect in materials and design for it to happen on both vehicles I own with the exact part number and I feel this is a major safety concern since it could happen during an accident preventing the driver from exiting the vehicle through the drivers door.

- Peculiar, MO, USA

problem #19

May 142016

Fusion

  • miles
My power steering assist fault came on while I was driving home last night. It caused me to mess up my front end. I didn't receive any information about a recall, but when I looked up my VIN, I found out it had a open case I need to know what to do next... please help

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #18

Mar 272016

Fusion

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parked in the driveway, shut off engine, tried to exit the vehicle. Inside driver's door release mechanism broke, and failed to unlatch the door. Had to roll window down and use the exterior handle to open the door. This significantly increased the time it took to exit the vehicle. This is the second time the inside driver's door release has broken in the same way. This is a safety issue.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #17

Mar 092016

Fusion

  • 67,500 miles
Doors fail to lock automatically when driving and when parked fail to automatically unlock. Must pull lock tab and handle to unlatch door. Handle stops just short of returning to original position after opening door. Handle can be pushed in and the door will lock when the electrical locking button is pushed.

- Marble Hill, MO, USA

problem #16

Sep 182015

Fusion

  • 71,386 miles
I was driving about 25 miles an hour when the driver side door opened. I could not close it from the inside. I had to stop realized it would close and open from the outside. I went to the Ford dealer and had the latch replaced for $209.87

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #15

Jan 062016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
At 50,000 miles the left front inside door handle failed to open the door. The car has been very well maintained and has never been in an accident. Inability to open the door from inside the vehicle could create a very serious safety issue in the event that the vehicle was submerged and the power windows were no longer operational. I first noticed this door handle failure while parked on a city street. The Ford part # is 1 60foz04.

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #14

Dec 162015

Fusion

  • 40,900 miles
Hood latch has broken after 40K miles causing the hood to open on its own while driving.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #13

Sep 052015

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles
On September 5, 2015 I was on my way to a funeral traveling on 695 in owings mills Maryland and experienced the lost control of my vehicle. While trying to steer back the steering wheel did absolutely nothing and also the trying to shift into gear was always a major problem. The gear shift would stick or sometimes hard to put back in place. From this my car was totalled.

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #12

Oct 192015

Fusion

  • 68,000 miles
I was driving my 2012 Ford Fusion home from work and was stopped at a stop light. When I resumed driving when the light turned green, my power steering suddenly malfunctioned while driving and I was no longer able to turn the vehicle causing me to crash into a pole. There was no warning, just total power steering failure while driving. It is extremely dangerous, and Ford has recalled half a million vehicles for the same issue, but for some reason my model wasn't included. It makes driving terrifying.

- Nanticoke, PA, USA

problem #11

Jun 252015

Fusion

  • 39,877 miles
On 06/25/2015, I took my car to the Ford dealer to have door handle mechanism repaired..I was trapped in my car and I could not get out.they repaired it at my cost, inv254478, $174.14.which it should have been repaired under safety defect.the door could not be locked and in a accident the door could fly open.on 08/17/2015 the other door (passenger side) had the same problem.I took the car into the Ford dealership and I was advised by joe alvarado that the safety defect was not covered past 30,000 miles.I could not enter part.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 262015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I own a Ford Fusion 2012 with about 95,000 miles on it. No other issues since its purchase in November 2014. Weeks ago I started the car, and the powersteering assist message came on, could not move car. Steering locked. Read the manual for car. Turned car off and back on. Problem went away. I thought it might be the cold weather or ice blocking a sensor. However intermittently this has happened again and again and sometimes takes several tries of on/off to get the car to become drivable. Also now it sometimes says advancetrac service and the drivers side door will not open so I, a tall person, need to try to climb over the seat and get out on the passenger side into traffic. Having ones car not start up in a city such as mine is dangerous for single women at night who might be alone. So far this power steering lock hasn't happened while driving like many of the other hundreds of posts about the advancetrac problems, but I am scared that this will happen to me and that I could get into an accident. I am a student and do not have thousands of dollars to repair this vehicle if the issue will just keep happening again and cost me more thousands of dollars. The closet Ford dealer to me is in latham, NY and they do not answer their phone. I feel very unsafe in this vehicle that I need to drive on a daily basis. I believe that Ford should have a recall of these unsafe cars.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 102015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Unable to open driver side door from interior due to door handle malfunction.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?