Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

3.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,657 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jun 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 21,526 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car was bought a week ago and barely driven since then but now I am experiencing the same problem many owners are with the transmission. It will shift fine 1-2 but then when it goes from 2-3 it seems to slip and then engine revs up causing the car to lurch forward and then it somewhat slams into 3rd gear kind of hard like. Have not notified anyone yet but I notice so many people are having the same shifting problems with their transmissions that I can't help but feel there needs to be something done about it. Please tell Ford they need to fix these cars so all of us "customers" are not out of our hard earned money.

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #17

Jun 092013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 28,600 miles
I had stopped to the gas island to put air in the tires. After backing out of the spot I went to accelerate and to my surprise the car would not take any gas. The wrench light came on and the car began to sputter and shake. I cut the car off and started it again but had to race the engine to get it to catch. Later the same evening I again had backed out of a parking space and the same thing happened again. I was able to pull over, cut the car off and begin again. I know thought it had something to do with backing up. So I decided not to back up again. However, early the next morning bringing my husband to work it happened again and then again as I was bringing it to the dealership. The dealership said that it was the throttle body so they replaced it. I have only owned Ford vehicles but I am not happy with having these types of problems with this car this early. I purchased this car brand new. Thank god it's still under warranty.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 292012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
At the beginning of acceleration, the transmission shifts hard. The RPM's go above 3 and then there is a hard shift and the RPM's go down to 2 1/2 and then finally down to 1 1/2. this is only to get to 30 mph and it has a hesitation to gain speed. My husband drives it mostly and he says that he has noticed it for a while. I just noticed it in the past week or so. I have spoken to other Fusion owners and some of them experience the same. Is that why Ford was trying so hard to saturate the market with them??

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 282012

Fusion

  • 33,211 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Powershift automatic transmission problems. When accelerating, vehicle loses power and makes loud clunking noise. Had car in on September 12 on the first visit, they did not find a problem; however, I do not think they looked at the transmission as my ticket indicated there was a noise coming from the rear of the car. The car continued to have problems. On 10/19/12, the PCM was reprogrammed and they said transmission fluid was low. Vehicle had regular oil changes through dealer and transmission fluid should not have been low. They told me the problem had been fixed but I would still experience the problem for a few more days because the computer had to adjust to the new setting. After this, I contacted another Ford dealer who told me that this problem would continue throughout the lifetime of the vehicle. I was told I could take it in, but it wouldn't do any good. He did send me a list of operating characteristics of the powershift for this model. The problem did cease after a few days; however, it has started occurring again. On 1/8/13, it make a terrible noise and lost power as I was turning a corner. It had a problem again this morning while accelerating in rush-hour traffic. The car is scheduled to be looked at again at the dealership tomorrow. I do not feel safe in this vehicle and do not understand why it hasn't been recalled.

- Warrensburg, MO, USA

problem #14

Mar 012012

Fusion

  • 3,600 miles
2012 Ford Fusion sel with a V6 with an automatic transmission shifts terribly between all gears. Extremely noticeable between 1st and 2nd gears and 2nd and 3rd gears. Usually about a 2-3 second delay before the transmission can find the gear. The car has down this at highway speeds as well. Extremely frightening when you go to pass someone and your vehicle does not appear able to find the gear and maintain speed. I have brought it to the dealership almost monthly since March of 2012 and the dealer states that Ford said that is just how the vehicle shifts. Ford Motor Company is very unresponsive about my concerns. I have a 2005 Malibu with 150,000 miles on it that shifts better than the Fusion.

- Inver Grove Heights, MN, USA

problem #13

Nov 102010

Fusion

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph and engaged the accelerator pedal when the transmission began to exhibit hesitation. The failure recurred consistently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer three times for the defect where an unknown repair was performed regarding the transmission. The problem persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100.

- Otonomowoc, WI, USA

problem #12

Oct 012011

Fusion

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When shifting from first gear to second gear the car will very roughly go into gear, and second to third and third to fourth is not much better. From fourth to fifth and fifth to sixth is fine most of the time. I had two calibration updates performed by the Ford dealership I purchased the car from and was told to drive the car and let the update set in. After both times I noticed that the problem did not go away, instead after the last update the issue progressed. I have pleaded with the dealership to trade my car for another Fusion (same value) and they told me I had too much negative equity. Instead I was told I could get a Ford Focus and how ever much I am "upside down" they would roll it over to the price of the Focus. I told them that wasn't fair and that I wanted another Fusion that did not have transmission problems. I was told that planet Ford could not help me and I should get another opinion if I was unhappy. So I went to anderson Ford and had the mechanics run diagnostics on it to see if they could identify the problem. While anderson Ford was diagnosing my car I was given a rental Fusion that was so much better than my car as far as shifting. I also was speaking with Ford customer care about my issue and wendy (customer service manager) told me that if anderson Ford did not find anything wrong I was going to be stuck with that car. Anderson Ford reported that no warning codes could be found and the car was fine. I told them the difference I noticed in driving the rental Fusion and my Fusion and the service manager disregarded it. I was given my car back and was told if I was not comfortable with it I needed to trade it in and deal with the negative equity. I have spoken with several dealers about different cars and I am unable to trade my car in because I have too much negative equity. Please help me on thisissue so I can get a car that operates correctly.

- Cleveland, TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 122011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 250 miles
Since Sept. 1, 2011 when I took ownership of the car I have had the following happen about once a month. The last time was on July 26, 2012 at 3171 miles. When coming to a stop for a light or slowing traffic and applying the brakes the engine starts to race and the car feels like it wants to surge forward. With continued pressure on the brakes, after a few seconds the engine racing and surging stops and the car stops. I think it may be a problem with a computer. Updated IVOQ 09/26/12

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I'm having several transmission issues. My vehicle "slams" into gear when shifting into drive/reverse from a parked position. The second issue is "hard" shifts in low gears (1-4). This gives the sensation of being rear ended. Thirdly I am experiencing "flare" shifting in gears 4-6. in this case the RPM's rev before dumping into the next gear which also gives a hard shift sensation. The 4th issue I am experiencing is a "stutter" when acceleration. If I attempt to pass a car or simply speed up, there is a hesitation which I feel is a safety concern. Lastly and the most disturbing transmission issue is "down shifting". sometimes when I have the car in cruise control on the highway and traveling at highway speeds (55-65mph) the vehicle down shifts all on it's own and I find myself doing 55-65 in a lower gear with the RPM's through the roof! tapping the gas and/or brake will disengage the cruise control but still will not allow the car to shift to the appropriate gear. Finally after coasting for a while it will then shift to the appropriate gear and as with all my other problems, it involves a "hard dump" into gear. These issues are not only scary but I feel not safe at all to me or my family! my car is in my local Ford dealership now, for the 3rd time. They have applied updates that haven't worked and I'm being told "Ford is aware of the problem. They however don't know how to fix the problem".

- Waverly, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 062012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
My brand new car, in my possession for 7 days had to get towed to the shop. My 11 month old daughter and 2 month old niece were in this car when it suddenly stalled and jerked. I was almost hit from behind and had to pull over and drive jerking back around the block to my starting point. Luckily I wasn't on the freeway at a high speed but I could have been. This is a severe safety issue as the acceleration is affected by the throttle body which had malfunctioned. The part was replace but I believe the computer controlling the throttle body is defective not the throttle body itself. Ford needs to recall this hazardous component and implement a solution.

- Tualatin, OR, USA

problem #8

Jul 062012

Fusion

  • 25,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While approaching a roll-through toll booth, the car lost the ability to accelerate; both the wrench light and engine light came on. I put on the emergency hazards and coasted to a middle island after going through a toll booth. The car continued to idle, but was non-responsive to the accelerator pedal. After making some calls for a tow (1 1/2 hour wait due to 100+ temps), I turned the vehicle off and waited several minutes. The car restarted and appeared to "reset", as both the wrench and engine light symbols were no longer illuminated. After traveling 500 yards or so, I switched the A/C back on (note: A/C was on at time of malfunction.) almost immediately, the car began to bog and idle roughly, and again lost the ability to accelerate. I again went into hazard warning/coast to the shoulder mode, turned the vehicle off, waited a few minutes, and restarted the car. It again "reset", but this time the engine light remained on (hopefully something was recorded, as with some other complaints I've read this didn't occur). I started my journey home again, this time without A/C, and immediately took the vehicle to my local Ford dealer (did I mention that I'm a lifelong GM guy and this is my first Ford?) upon contacting the dealer the next day (brought it in late on a Friday afternoon), was informed that the throttle body and accompanying motor would need to be replaced. When asked if this was an uncommon problem for a relatively new vehicle with 25,000 miles, he seemed to indicate that they're made of plastic and mass produced, so likely affecting quality - nice. On top of that, they don't have the parts in stock, so I'll have to wait 'til Monday for the repairs to be complete. You'd think the dealers would know by now. Seems to me to be an inordinate amount of complaints regarding this issue for a relatively new car. As has been suggested, Ford should investigate.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #7

Nov 302011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 25 miles
My new 2012 Fusion's 6 speed automatic transmission, under medium acceleration, hesitates from 1st to 2nd, and hesitates & over-revs from 2nd to 3rd until the car has warmed up (driven approximately 10 miles). I have taken my car back to the dealer three times and they each time they applied the software update, but don't fix the problem. The hesitation and flair from 1-2 and 2-3 is as bad as ever. This should not be happening to a car with 6000 miles on it and the loss of acceleration could cause an accident. It appears that Ford either can't or won't correct the problem.

- Edgewood, NM, USA

problem #6

Jun 182012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 14,669 miles
The 6 speed automatic transmission under medium acceleration hesitates from 1st to 2nd, and over-revs from 3rd to 4th and 4th to 5th. I took my car back to the dealer and they applied tsb 12-4-7 and the told me it takes a few days to re-adjust. 5 days later and 300 miles later the transmission is worse. Hesitation from 1-2 and 2-3 and over-revving 3-4 and 4-5; and a shutter during deceleration. This should not be happening to a car with this many miles. I wonder if it is not damaging the transmission; and once the car is out of warranty it will be my bill to pay.

- Arlington, MN, USA

problem #5

Dec 312011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
When new, vehicle exhibited harsh shifts from 1-2. gradually worsened and came to include a soft 2-3 shift and a metallic friction noise in lower gears by 1000mi. Starting around 7000mi, vehicle started to shift erractially in traffic between 1-2 and 2-1, with a sudden and moderately violent lurch forwards during shifting. Vehicle was difficult to control in low-speed (primarily acceleration following any period of coasting) scenarios and required additional following distance to account for this. Vehicle became must harsher on the 1-2 shift in cold weather. By 8000-9000mi, vehicle developed slipping. This was particularly evident at lower speeds from 2-3, such as at a rolling yield below 10mph. Vehicle would momentarily lose almost all power during certain 2-3 shifts, requiring acceleration planning for intersections, to prevent sluggishness at an inopportune time. Tsb 12-3-7 was applied and resulted in additional slippage in higher gears, such that climbing an onramp following a 3-4 shift was challenging, and climbing a hill at low speeds during a 2-3 shift resulted in a loss of all forward momentum.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #4

Apr 042011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 150 miles
I purchased a new Focus. I drove it for two weeks. The transmission is of a poor design, I frankly refuse to drive it. It nearly crashed through my barn. I was simply backing it in when it decided to lurch hard. I slammed on the brakes. Luckily it did stop. Prior to this incident the car did not operate correctly at all.. seemingly endless clutch chatter, slippage, unpredictable shifting, its is a horrid car to drive. I was noticing the smell of clutch. I had it towed back to the dealer. I do not want it back. I do not know why Ford Motor Company would put to market a horrible dangerous erratic transmission into parking spaces is a pure adrenaline rush. You do not know what it might do. They say its a automatic, however it is not. It is a duel clutch transmission's would not drive this car again. Its frankly dangerous. However the salesman called and said" you don't know how to drive this car. Its something you will get used too". I did not buy a new car to get used to it. Its a road hazard. In my opine its a defective product. I'm pretty sure after 32 years of driving I know how to drive. Very unhappy at the blue oval team. Here is what Ford should do. Halt production. Use a torque converter type transmission. And refund anyone who asks for one. A cheerful refund is in order. How can they advertise a automatic transmission when mechanically its not?avoid this car. Boooo on the 2012 Focus. I guess the consumer is Ford Motor Companies R and D team. Why should consumers be stuck holding the bag. This is bad business practice and Ford has a social responsibility to make this right. As stated earlier I do not want it back!

- Aguadilla, PR, USA

problem #3

Sep 012011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 2,793 miles
Complaint 1) when accelerating, the transmission flares during the shift from second to third gear, and the vehicle loses acceleration during the shift. The problem is more severe when the car has been sitting in warm weather for more than 24-48 hours. The misbehaved shift causes distraction to the driver and the loss of control over acceleration for a brief period of time. This distraction could cause the driver to lose situational awareness, leading to a crash. Complaint 2) the transmission takes an excessive amount of time to shift from reverse to forward, and from forward to reverse. The time is sometimes in excess of 2 seconds. The inability to control the vehicle during this time could lead to a crash.

- Seneca, SC, USA

problem #2

Dec 232011

Fusion

  • 70 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle abnormally decelerated. The vehicle would also jerk forward while decelerating as if the brakes had suddenly been applied. The failure recurred intermittently when driving different speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing but the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 70.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Jan 022012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 990 miles
On January 2nd, 2012 on 2-separate occasions the engine accelerated to almost 6000 RPM while I was stopped or nearly stopped while parking the car. The car was in drive and I had my right foot on the brake but the engine acceleration happened very quickly and on the second incident the brakes were not holding the car. I was able to get the trans into neutral until the acceleration died down to the normal RPM. On the second occasion I shut the ignition off 2-times before the acceleration stopped. I have had this problem with prior cars and the manufacturers have had no system in place to diagnose the problem and because it is a random event it is almost impossible to replicate. Because of litigation in accident cases I believe the manufacturers are in denial of this electrical problem.

- Bonita, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?