Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,934 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Mar 192014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Driving car dies out and wrench light comes on.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #44

Dec 112014


  • 77,000 miles
First incident was in 2013, driving down freeway and advance trac light came on then the power steering went out on car. Took in for repairs and cost me $2054 for repairs, was told not under warranty. Paid for repair and here it is less than on year later and I have same failures on my vehicle as my husband, son and grandson were coming back from a trip. Thank god no one was hurt. First advance trac light came on followed by power steering fault light came on and they lost the power steering to the car. Tried to turn car off and restart car again and still no power steering available. This is becoming quite common for this model car because my daughter has the same car and had the exact same issue. Something has to be done, before someone gets killed. Always after the issue happens when driving car the engine shifts really hard, RPM's go up and then slams into gear!!!!

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #43

Dec 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 53,694 miles
Vehicle stalled while driving probably 45 mph in the middle of traffic. I hit the gas, the car kept slowing down. I had to put my emergency signals on. The car turned off in the middle of traffic. I had to switch to park and restart the car again.

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #42

Jun 102014


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving approximately 65 mph, the engine stalled and the traction light and power steering light illuminated. The vehicle restart but failed to operate. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and independent mechanic. The technician stated that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Wagsworth, OH, USA

problem #41

Oct 262014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,400 miles
Vehicle exhibited extreme hesitation when accelerating through an intersection. Engine ran roughly, and did not respond to throttle inputs, and powertrain 'wrench' light illuminated. Pulled into an adjacent parking lot, stopped and placed into park, while the engine continued to run roughly. Engine was switched off, and ran normally when restarted. The total elapsed time of the anomaly was approximately 5-10 seconds. Later that day a scan of the obd II port indicated no anomalies, and an on-board 'vehicle health monitor' was run via Ford sync. This report also indicated no anomalies. While looking up the vehicle health monitor results on the owner website, I noticed that there was a 'customer satisfaction program' 13N03 which extended the warranty on the throttle body. Research on this 13N03 program via multiple on-line sources revealed numerous failures of the throttle body, with behavior identical to that observed in this vehicle. Car was driven (carefully) for a few days until I was able to visit local Ford dealer. Service advisor indicated that Ford would only replace throttle body if there were stored codes consistent with throttle body failure, and that diagnostic costs ($159) were my responsibility if no codes were found. After discussing the negative results of obd II scan and vehicle health monitor, his opinion was that there was a very high probability that their diagnostics would also show no codes. Based on this information, I declined to have dealer examine the car, and replaced the throttle body with updated part myself (total cost $125), as a more effective approach to preventing recurrence. My opinion is that the 13N03 program needs to be a full recall, as this failure is common, unpredictable, and can have very serious consequences should it occur during high speed merging or crossing traffic.

- Arlington , MA, USA

problem #40

Nov 202014


  • 13,325 miles
A few months after I purchased the car and as I was slowed down due to traffic, coasting at 5-10 mph, the car accelerated with a roar and to avoid the accident I swerved to right, applied the brakes hard to stop the car.yesterday,11/20/14, it repeated the incident on my drive way while I was entering the garage and hit the storage objects there and also I had to apply the brakes hard to stop the car. Many times during the past two years the car has behaved similarly at stop signs but with much less fury.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #39

Sep 152014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 51,700 miles


The first time I experienced the problem, I was making a left hand turn and it felt like the car was running on a couple of cylinders, very low power. I stopped as soon as I could and turned off the engine, restarted it and everything seem to be ok. Everything was fine for about a month, but while on a trip, I experience a sudden loss of power and unresponsive throttle. I took the car to the dealer and explained what had happened and that it sounded like the same problem my sister-in-law had experienced with her 2010 Fusion and that after a number of trip and problem repeated problems they replaced the throttle body which resolved the problem. In my case the dealer, even though I explained what I had experienced and that I was aware of a service bulletin from Ford for this exact problem, said my problem was a bad battery, which they replaced and returned the car to me. A couple of days later I experienced the same problem a couple of times and immediately took the car back to the dealer and this time they replaced the throttle body. I have since driven the car about 1500 miles in the last two months without a problem. My son is now going through the same problem with a 2011 escape hybrid. His dealer did not replace the throttle body when he took it with the same problem a couple of weeks ago, instead they charged him a few hundred dollars to "remove carbon buildup" or something. Today the escape experience the same problem while driving on an interstate. I took the car back to his dealer this afternoon and told them of my experience, the service rep said they would look into it. We'll see. I am a long time loyal Ford owner but feel they are waiting for someone to be killed before they fix this problem.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #38

Oct 082013


  • 22,145 miles
On 10/5/2013, I had to call roadside rescue to jump start car. I took vehicle to advance auto on 10/6/2013 to test battery. The printout results found, indicator light was yellow, cold cranking amps 500 on battery, temperature was to high at 124degrees. On 10/7/2013, call roadside rescue to jumpstart vehicle. I let the vehicle idle for a bit, hoping to recharge the battery back to full function. On 10/8/2013 called roadside rescue to jumpstart vehicle for the 3rd time and then drove to Ford dealership. With great hesitation, Ford replaced the battery. I had to tell the technician to look at the battery's yellow light.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #37

Nov 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact mentioned the instrument panel warning lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 12/18/14 the consumer stated when she pressed the accelerated pedal, the vehicle slightly accelerated, and the vehicle would also jerk forward. At times, the vehicle would cut off while driving. Updated 01/07/15

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #36

Sep 192014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving, the car began to shake and jerk like the engine wanted to die. Then I lost engine power. The car still had power and was on, but there was no throttle when I pushed the gas. The engine light and a little wrench came on. I put it in park, turned it off, restarted it, and it still had no engine throttle to it. But the car had a small amount of power, like I was coasting along, so that I could get through the stop light and make it to the side of the road. Every time I tried the gas pedal though, there was no response; it went to the floor. I was at the light by my neighborhood, right by the train tracks. Thank god I had enough power to get through that!

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #35

Sep 102014


  • 60,000 miles


While driving, the gas pedal became unresponsive and the orange wrench symbol came on. I pulled over and shut the car off. I attempted to restart the car. The car restarted and I was able to continue driving as normal. This problem has occurred approx 4 times. Each time with the same presentation and each time I was able to restart the car.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #34

Sep 012014


  • 60,500 miles
I was driving on interstate 70 at approximately 65 mph when I suddenly lost all engine power. I was almost hit by a semi traveling behind me because my vehicle had absolutely zero acceleration. The "wrench" light on my car came on at the same time this happened. The semi behind me swerved to miss me and I was able to get my car off to the side of the road. Lights, climate control (A/C), radio, etc. Worked fine. Engine still ran but would not move forward. I turned the car off to call for assistance. Upon seeing if the car would re-start, it did and no "wrench" light appeared. I was able to then get the car to my local Ford dealership, but being a holiday they were closed. I could have been killed when this happened on the interstate with the semi behind me!! sounds like some kind of fuel injector or throttle problem. My vehicle is not even 3 years old and I bought it brand new in Dec. 2011.

- Buckeye Lake, OH, USA

problem #33

Jul 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,524 miles
Engine light appeared on dash. Followed instructional manual directions and engine light display stayed intermittent. As of July 24th engine light display remains on and every time I stop to put any amount of fuel in it, it struggles to start and takes at least 3 attempts before it will start. However, if I leave it running when adding fuel I have no problem, which is not recommended. Had auto zone run diagnostics check and they gave me the code but the Ford dealership (kelly Ford, melbourne fl) would not even attempt to look up the code as they said I have to come in and pay $100 diagnostic fee and $160 hourly to have fixed. I am more worried about down the road issues as seen on this web site. Bought the car used in December of 2012 with only 11,000 miles on it.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #32

Jun 232014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
I was driving down the highway when suddenly my vehicle lost power. I attempted to press the accelerator but the car just jerked violently. I was forced to stop in the middle of the highway because I was unable to accelerate to the side of the highway. I was almost rear-ended 3 times do to the speed of traffic and my car suddenly losing power. When the vehicle lost power, a "wrench" symbol appeared on the dash. I placed the vehicle in park and sat for a few seconds and attempted to start the vehicle. Once started I pulled over to the side of the highway. The car was running fine so I decided to drive on the highway again. After about 1/2 a mile, the car stopped suddenly again, this time I was able to coast onto the median because I was driving in the slow lane. This continued for several miles until I finally pulled over and called a tow truck.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #31

Oct 152012


  • 2,489 miles
While driving my new Ford Fusion, only 5 months since purchase, the vehicle lost power and stalled. When I took it to the dealer they could find nothing wrong and said what's the issue it started didn't it" the same thing happened again in may and July of 2014. It is a known issue with Ford and a customer satisfaction was issued to replace the throttle body, but the dealership won't do so because no code shows up when I've taken the car in after each episode. This is a safely issue and a known issue. Why NHTSA allowed them to get away with not doing a recall is beyond me. It is unsafe driving a vehicle that suddenly loses power. It should not matter that a code doesn't show up. What happened before computers? it's a known issue and is happening so it should get replaced. Thankfully I wasn't driving over 35 when this occurred, but what about the next time if I'm on a highway going 60? what will it take - people to get seriously injured to get a true recall"

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #30

Jun 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,777 miles
While driving on a major highway at a set rate of speed the car acted as if it was trying to shift gears and bucked, RPM's went up and then back to normal. It went to the dealer and throttle body was replaced, a week or so afterwards the car started to do the same thing, but this time also in reverse. I took it back to the dealer where they stated that nothing was wrong but they only put 4 miles of a test drive on the car. Last week the Fusion left me on a major highway just shutting down with no warning and I happened to have my 2 year old. I left it sit about 30 minutes and turned over the ignition and it started like normal. I was just thankful to get home without and accident. It's not safe... the car looks great but its like you take your life into your own hands driving it.

- Oxford , PA, USA

problem #29

Jun 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Felt like a surge then engine stalled. Had to pull over turn the car off then restart.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 102014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 19,811 miles
Vehicle lurched then lost power and check engine light came on. Vehicle would not accelerate after losing power. Since the repairs, the vehicle will occasionally lurch when the car is in gear and the brakes are applied.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #27

Mar 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Starting out, throttle had no response on take off, now taking a right hand turn throttle has no response then jumps forward, very difficult pulling out onto a highway. I've taken it to two different Ford dealers and they refuse to do anything till the check engine lite comes on, meanwhile I'm driving a dangerous car...

- Aurora, TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 042014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that she received a letter notifying her of a customer satisfaction program related to NHTSA action number: PE13003 (engine). The contact mentioned that she was very concerned for her safety and that there should have been a recall issued for the defect. The dealer was contacted, who refused to assist her unless the vehicle was exhibiting the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 18,300.

- Portland, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?