Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,721 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Feb 182016

Fusion

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Turned my car on tonight and an alert came across my display: Power steering malfunction. My car was in park. The driver's airbag light was also on at this time.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #20

Feb 092016

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
Turned my car on and an alert came across the screen of my dash. Power steering malfunction. The driver's airbag light was also on at this time.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #19

Sep 052015

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles
On September 5, 2015 I was on my way to a funeral traveling on 695 in owings mills Maryland and experienced the lost control of my vehicle. While trying to steer back the steering wheel did absolutely nothing and also the trying to shift into gear was always a major problem. The gear shift would stick or sometimes hard to put back in place. From this my car was totalled.

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 012014

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Mid 2014 the airbag indicator on dash board activated when I started the car and remained lit while driving. At next oil change the dealer stated the restraint control module needed to be replaced. Located an active recall for this issue online, but it is only for model years 2013-2015. My car is 2012 and per the dealer not included in recall. Ad to that, the restraint control is a specific exclusion to their warrant contracts indicating they knew there was an issue with the part. I understand that the control module shorts out.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #17

Sep 052014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Fair Lawn , NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 022015

Fusion

  • 96,000 miles
9/2/2015 owner driving a 2012 Ford Fusion SE on highway when air bag failed to deplay in a severe crash. Vehicle was totaled. Impact was inititated by a flat bed tow truck sidewiped on the drivers side. The vehicle was propelled two lanes the air bag system failed to recognize the impact. Driver braced for imact when air bag did not engage. Driver alive today because of instinct not air bag safety system.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 192015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving North on a three lane road in which I was in the far left lane while there was a vehicle to the right of me in the middle lane. The vehicle in the middle lane tried making a left turn onto a street in which that lane was not possible. The vehicle brazed the right side of my vehicle and diverted me to crash head on into an overpass cement structure. My front airbags did not deploy. The speed I was traveling before I was hit and ran into the overpass structure was 35-40 mph and the speed of my vehicle when it ran into the overpass structure and came to a complete stop was 25-30 mph. My vehicle has been claimed as a total loss.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #14

Apr 182015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph going down a hill, the anti-sway and power steering lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The steering wheel failed to turn and the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. It was unknown if there were any injuries sustained or if there was a police report filed. The vehicle had not been inspected. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Boonsboro, MD, USA

problem #13

Jan 292015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
Vehicle was hit twice on right (passenger) side. Impact was hard and continuous and pushed the car against barrier wall on left side. The car was totaled. Front passenger side door was severely dented. None of the air bags deployed although vehicle was supposed to be equipped with side air bags.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #12

Dec 092013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 25,973 miles
12-9-13 air bag light continues to stay on. I took to dealer they did diagnostics and cleared code and gave back to me. 12-20-13 air bag light continued to keep coming on and staying on so I took back this time they replaced air bag circuit connector. 1-9-14 air bag light continued to keep coming and staying on. Dealer this time replaced seat harness. 1-13-14 air bag light continued to keep coming and staying on. Dealer this time replaced seat harness a 2nd time said first was defected they just put on. Left dealer had to go right back I couldn't even move by power seat back it was getting stuck. Dec 2014 air bag light continued to keep coming and staying on. Dealer said had to order a module for it. Currently now it's still in there waiting on part. Also knocking noise in front end since 25000 miles dealer keep passing off and lubing it. Now from my Dec 2014 visit they ordered a steering column to be replaced that is being put in now as well they have had since last Tuesday (now warranty up 39000 miles). Dealer claimed a code told them this time to replace the steering column yet it had been doing it over a year.

- Piedmont, SC, USA

problem #11

Sep 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just checking to see if there is a recall on the airbags in my car.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #10

Oct 012013

Fusion

  • 21,973 miles
Driver's side air bag light came on for the 2nd time. Took vehicle to Ford dealership. Ford verified air bag light to be on. Ford checked connector to air bag module and found connector was faulty so they replaced connector. Checked ok.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,859 miles
Driver's side air bag light came on and stayed on. Drove vehicle to Ford dealership. Ford verified air bag light on. Eec tested and received B0020-13, pinpoint tested; found no circuit concerns and resistance 2.4ohms to side air bag. Ford tech cleared codes and they came back. Ordered sensor assembly. Replaced rcm as per manual. Retested

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 082014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Passenger airbag intermittently turns off while a full sized adult is in passenger seat.

- Forest Grove, OR, USA

problem #7

Sep 202014

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while at a complete stop, another vehicle crashed into the rear end of the vehicle causing it to crash into an embankment. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck, back and shoulder injuries. Also, the rear passenger sustained head, neck, back and shoulder injuries. Both required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Nelson, VA, USA

problem #6

Nov 112012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 7,200 miles
I was wearing my seat belt hit head on driver front by another driver going approx 45mph, clear conditions. Collision forced off road and I hit parked SUV with my front passenger front. No airbag deployment occurred during either hit, self belt did not lock, I was forced upward hitting my head on inside roof handle above driver door, then thrown forward hitting my chin on steering wheel. I was knock unconscious for 3-4 minutes, fractured front tooth, dislocated jaw, suffered optic nerve injury, concussion, back and neck injuries. I was transported to the hospital. The initial body shop report did indicate the air bag modules had to replaced. The vehicle was totaled after it was determined the repairs cost more than the vehicle was worth. Damage include entire front end, hood, broken, windshield, radiator, engine, underbody, driver door, rear door rear bumper and roof. Air bags were still intact. Pictures were taken at accident scene, towing facility and at salvage yard. I still suffer from the injuries and am currently on ssi unable to work.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #5

Mar 072014

Fusion

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the driver's side of the vehicle. The contact side and front air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained an injury to the left eye and required medical treatment. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Wauseon, OH, USA

problem #4

May 222013

Fusion

  • 8,037 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly increased acceleration and failed to decelerate when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact then crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy with the significant impact. The contact sustained a fracture wrist and injuries to the right knee. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the severe body damages to the front end were repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,037. Updated 05/06/2014

- Brownsburg, IN, USA

problem #3

Jan 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 17,500 miles
2012 Ford Fusion involved in an accident. Severe damage to vehicle on passenger side. The front seat belts did not lock and the front passenger and the driver were thrown in the cabin. In addition, according to body repair shop and insurance adjusters, impact was at the location of the sensor for side curtain airbags. However, the airbags did not deploy. In fact, bracket for air bag sensor was broken, but it could not be determined whether the bracket was broken prior to the accident or upon impact. Rear passenger received a severe head injury. Ford Motor Company has instructed me to take vehicle in to a dealer and have the restraint control module ("rcm") replaced and to send the original to the company for analysis. They are paying for this. Further research indicates that there is a recall for Ford fiestas related to the programming of the rcm and its failure to deploy airbags that could lead to injuries to a rear passenger. This sounds very similar, and may warrant an investigation to see if that recall should be expanded to other Ford vehicles. Unfortunately, one would only know of the failure if there is an accident. Updated 3/27/13 updated 05/09/2013

- Callaway, MD, USA

problem #2

Nov 152012

Fusion

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact crashed into a tree and the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Arvada, CO, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?