Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #448

Sep 012016

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 30 mph and making a right turn, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. During the failure, the "power steering assist fault" warning message displayed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that there was a computer failure and it needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Winsted, CT, USA

problem #447

Sep 162016

Fusion

  • 100,125 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 30 mph, the power steering failed and became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering gear assembly failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,125.

- Cascade Lock, OR, USA

problem #446

Jul 212016

Fusion

  • 42,000 miles
When the vehicle was in motion, the power steering abruptly stopped working, due to an electrical problem. Over 400,000 Ford cars were recalled for this problem, all made at the same location, during the same time. Ours was not recalled, however and therefore created a very dangerous situation for us.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #445

Sep 152016

Fusion

  • 70,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering has failed twice in less than one year. Once while turning left across oncoming traffic resulting in a near miss head-on collision. Ford has a recall on the electronic power assisted steering (epas), which is what fails (NHTSA recall 15V-340), but it is only for Fusion manufactured between Sept 2010 and Feb 2012. My vehicle was manufactured in May 2012 - 3 months too late - in the very same facility as the cars included in the recall. The problems I am experiencing with my car are exactly as those described in the findings reported in the NHTSA investigation. I paid $1,400 to have the epas replaced the first time in Dec 2015, and I should not have to pay that amount to have it replaced a second time in less than a year. The Ford dealership quoted almost twice that amount. The recall obviously needs to be extended.

- Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA

problem #444

Sep 122016

Fusion

  • 48,653 miles
While turning yesterday, my car lost power steering. The light for advance track system light illuminated and the message center read "power steering assist fault: Service immediately." I man handled the car home a short distance and turned it off. Mad and aggravated I called the Ford dealer and explained what happened. The checked warranty info, recall info, and found nothing for my car. I was able to find a recall alert that my insurance company matches to my car. I gave the recall number to the Ford dealer. They were very nice and were able to find out the warranty only covers cars built Sept 2010- February 2012. Guess what? my car was built June 2012. I called Ford customer care. They say I have to take it into the dealer to be diagnosed. I call dealership and have it "officially" diagnosed. The motor code U0211:49 and dealership suggests calling customer care to get a validation code. I called customer care again, lady was rude, says she doesn't know what a validation code is and that I would have to pay for it because the recall is not on my car particularly. My car only has 48K miles on it. I should not be having these kind of problems. It is a huge saftey issue for me as I travel quite a bit with my family. The code matches the same code that is pin pointed in the recall according to dealership. The best customer care could do is tell me to keep receipts in case Ford expands recall later.....its $1800+ out of pocket that I can't crap out!!

- Centralia, IL, USA

problem #443

Sep 062016

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V25000 (steering) and while driving at an unknown speed, "power steering assist default" was displayed across the message board. The steering wheel completely seized. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #442

May 012016

Fusion

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With no consistency in timing, the power steering has been going out. I may be driving, turning or waiting at a stop light, on city streets or the highway. This problem started in May 2016, happening 1-2 times per month. I took it into my local Ford dealer and they said there was nothing wrong. They thought it could be a problem with the steering rack, but weren't sure. They denied that my vehicle was included in Ford's recall of several 2011 and 2012 Fusion for the same problem. Now (September 2016), the power steering is going out 1-2 times per day. The "power steering assist fault" and "service advanctrac" error messages appear. I feel this is a serious safety issue for me and the other drivers on the road, and Ford should be responsible for their design flaw.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #441

Aug 292016

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Popping noise present from steering wheel whenever steering wheel is turned in either direction. Whenever vehicle hits a bump regardless of the size, the steering wheel is yanked around causing the control of the vehicle to become compromised. These issues happen at any speed and in all road conditions, stationary or non stationary, highway or city and regardless if I'm turning or not. When steering wheel is turned all the way to the right or left the wheel will stiffen and throw itself back the opposite direction. Must use a lot of force to keep steering wheel in that position. Was told by a certified Ford dealership and a shop by the name of midas that it was the rack and pinion. Ford refuses to fix issue due to the fact that the rack and pinion is not throwing any sort of trouble code. The rack and pinion on this vehicle however is not only under a current recall but is also backed by an extended warranty issued by Ford Motor Company.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #440

Sep 092016

Fusion

  • 111,000 miles
I started my car, service power steering warning came on, drove 10 miles and power steering went out. Looked online and saw a recall for electric power assist system, so I called the dealership I purchased the car from and they told me my car is not covered under that recall.

- Charlotte Hall, MD, USA

problem #439

Aug 232016

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving various speeds and turning the steering wheel, an abnormal noise was heard without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 81,000.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #438

Sep 062016

Fusion

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 60 mph, the steering seized and the service advance track and power steering warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #437

Aug 212016

Fusion

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was at a stop sign, the power steering light illuminated. Immediately after, the power steering failed. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's home. The vehicle was taken to auto zone where it was diagnosed that the power steering assist failed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering); however, the dealer did not perform any repairs. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #436

Aug 142016

Fusion

  • miles
Power steering stopped intermittently while driving, after receiving a recall notice, Ford replaced the power steering gear assembly in June 2016. In August of 2016 I was out of town and the power steering went out again. Took it to Ford dealer out of town and they replaced the power steering arms and want to charge me $1000.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #435

Aug 152016

Fusion

  • miles
Driving my vehicle when the power steering went completely out in traffic, making a right turn. Vehicle steering wheel would not budge. It's a safety issue driving and the steering wheel gives out without any notice.

- Lauderdale Lakes, FL, USA

problem #434

Feb 292016

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the power steering sensor fault light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 12V345000 (steering), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the power sensor light illuminated after the repair. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #433

Aug 082016

Fusion

  • 29,100 miles
Car was making clunking sound. When I was driving. Took it in and was told it was the assembly steering system gear. Rack and pin system causing the clunking in gear. Was told my mechanic this a huge safety problem. Was told it wasn't safe to drive the car because if I lose steering could lose control of car and it could cause injury to me my family or other people that are in cars that I may hit if I lose control of the vehicle. I can't believe there isn't a recall from Ford for this problem ! I saw there have been several complaints for same issue.

- Sheboygan Falls, WI, USA

problem #432

Aug 042016

Fusion

  • 51,864 miles
Pulling out of my driveway at low speed, the steering locked to where it was nearly impossible to control the vehicle. I was able to come to a stop immediately so no damage or injury. Turning the steering wheel required a lot of effort so reversing back off the street and onto the driveway was quite difficult. After parking, the dash also briefly displayed something like "advancetrack error". I don't remember the wording exactly.

- Spirit Lake, IA, USA

problem #431

Jul 182016

Fusion

  • 97,000 miles
I was driving in the interstate when all of a sudden my power steering went. The service light came on and read ''service power steering now''. it had never done that before and I only had the car for less than a year. I just thank god no one was hurt. I took my car to the Ford dealership and they said that it was not apart of the recall, but in my opinion if it has been a issue for several vehicle fix all of them. They said the car was fine but when the mechanic got in my car he had a hard time turning the wheel.

- Waycross, GA, USA

problem #430

Jul 262016

Fusion

  • 42,988 miles
Over the past week my 2012 Ford Fusion decelerated, idled roughly, lost power steering and power breaking and the wrench dummy light came on. All 4 times it occurred below 30 mph in clear conditions. The car is extremely hard to handle and luckily I was in areas where I could pull over safely. Once pulled over I was able to restart the car and resume driving. I have brought in my car twice to a local mechanic who could not find any error messages on the computer. I have an appointment at the local Ford dealership to do more diagnostics. I am very concerned about the safety of this vehicle and its reliability.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #429

Jul 272016

Fusion

  • 101,300 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The contact independently replaced the battery. After the battery replacement, the steering wheel seized completely. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 101,300.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?