Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 5 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #388

Jan 052016

Fusion

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the power steering failed and caused the steering wheel to become extremely tight. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel and the service power steering now warning light flashed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #387

Jan 032016

Fusion

  • 92,177 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 70 mph, the service power steering and service advanced trac warning lights illuminated, and the power steering seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed and repaired. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 92,177.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #386

Sep 012015

Fusion

  • miles
Turning the steering wheel makes a loud grating noise whether the car is sitting still or in motion. We took the car to the dealer for the problem. After checking the car, the mechanic said the rack and pinion is defective. When we contacted the Ford Motor Company in September 2015, I explained the problem and inquired about a recall. The man said some 2012 Fusion had been recalled for the steering, but this VIN was not. The warranty ended in August 2015, the problem appeared the first week of September 2015.

- New Marshfield, OH, USA

problem #385

Jan 012016

Fusion

  • 19,870 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulling out of driveway...noticed the steering was not feeling right. Turn left, turn right both way is a heavy "clicking" feel. Took to Ford Fusion 2012 to dealer, they said the steering gearbox was bad.....they are waiting to fix it if extended warranty pays for it. This should be a Ford recall, fixed for free. It is clearly a defect in the product. My Fusion doesn't even have 20K miles on it yet.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #384

Dec 032015

Fusion

  • 20,000 miles
Complete power steering failure on a car with 20000 miles. Car was stationary when I turned it on the the warning came on. I could not drive

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #383

Dec 082015

Fusion

  • 73,000 miles
I purchase this car used with 15000 km on, issue occurred at 73000km. Ford Fusion 2012 sel AWD I was driving to work and the steering locked up, it was extremely hard to steer. I drove it directly to the dealership. Benton fry Ford belleville, on they inspected it and indicated that the controls arms needed to replaced. I told them to go head the approx.. cost was $1000. However it is still possible that I would need to replace the power steering rack which would cost $2200. The resolution was that they would replace the controls arms and not do the alignment, to see if the power steering would go again within a week. I drove it for a week and found nothing wrong with it. So I drop it off for the alignment to be completed. At the dealer ship the mechanic test drove it and found that the power steering rack need to replace. I was advised that my car was out of warranty as of June 13, 2015. The service advisor offer to investigate further to see if there was anything they could do on their end. They were not able to help it was so they directed to Ford customer service who then escalated the issue to Ford regional management, who in turn offered to over 55% of the $2200 as a final offer. Who treated me like I should be soooo grate for this. This issue has been recalled on May 27, 2015 by Ford in 2011 to 2013 Fusion. Since Ford stated this car is not part of their recall, they deflect their responsibility of selling me a defective product. The issue occurred just like the recall, but because Ford will not recognize this issue, I am stuck paying for their defective product, as they conceal the fact this is a unknown issue and they should be held responsible for this defect. I hope this helps other people because there is a lot of Fusion on the road and the very fact that they steering can go at any given time is a very scary thought

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #382

Dec 252015

Fusion

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact started the vehicle and experienced a loss of power steering without warning. The vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering); however, the failure recurred after the repair was performed. The contact mentioned that the remedy was insufficient. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #381

Dec 272015

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver without warning. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V3400000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. The VIN was not available.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #380

Oct 202015

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the traction control and power steering warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering gear needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The failure mileage was 65,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 02/10/16

- Romulus, MI, USA

problem #379

Sep 052015

Fusion

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed and two warning lights illuminated. The contact had to restart the vehicle to loosen the steering wheel. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ball joints and tie rod needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 21,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #378

Nov 242015

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 10 mph, the steering wheel seized and the check power steering fluid light illuminated. The failure occurred twice. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering control module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #377

Nov 242015

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
2012 Fusion and we have already changed the rotors... && multiple tires... always getting the tire pressure symbol && now there is an eletrical problem for the power steering... many of the fuses are missing from where the manual said they should be... may have to pay thousands to get it fixed && still its just a 2012... id expect something like this on a car thats 7-10 years old but not 3...

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #376

Oct 152015

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the power steering assist warning light illuminated. The steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering gear might need to be replaced and the code needed to be cleared. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Valley Mills, TX, USA

problem #375

Jul 162015

Fusion

  • 54,000 miles
Sticky, notchy steering accompanied with loud grinding sounds. This started for no reason. The dealership told me the car has a bad steering rack and is unsafe to drive. No error code is showing, so Ford is not replacing the part.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #374

Nov 072015

Fusion

  • 100,071 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 60 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,071.....updated 03-31-16

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #373

Oct 102015

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
Develop a clunking noise in steering system at 82000 miles. Took the car to a ase mechanic in my town and it was diagnosed as a failed epas (power steering rack.) the bill for this is going to be between 1400-1600! I have read elsewhere online of Ford recalling the Fusion for trouble codes in the same steering rack for failed sensors and loss of power assist suddenly making the car difficult to steer and risking a crash as a result. My concern is complete mechanical failure due to the clunking like something is either broken or about to break. This would result in complete loss of control of vehicle and a possible crash. I realize things break out of warranty but this is a safety issue first and foremost. My daughter drives the car and my concern is for her safety. If there is no recall issued I will be forced to repair or trade the car and lose what little equity I had in the car because of its repair bill. The car has been well maintained. This is not an abuse issue. My opinion is that this a faulty part. When I took it to my local Ford dealer, I was told there were no recalls on the car and I would have to pay the bill out of pocket.

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #372

Nov 052015

Fusion

  • 137,000 miles
I was driving straight and in the middle of acceleration when my 2012 Fusion sel began to make notification sounds. I read two notifications. The first one included a warning light for "service advancetrac". the second notification read "service power steering now". I continued to drive northbound to the highway. Upon turning and breaking to board the freeway, I realized the steering wheel was extremely tight. It was nearly impossible for me to steer my car towards the freeway with several other cars driving at speeds between 35-50 mph behind us. I had to use both arms and body weight to turn right to get on the freeway. I was afraid to continue on the highway as I had not experienced this before and my two daughters were in the backseat. I went to a dealership to diagnose the issue. I was told the steering gear would need to be replaced. I researched this issue. There are recalls on Fusion made between 2011-2013 for this exact issue. However, my vehicle is not included in the Ford recalls. This is a safety issue for myself and others, especially when I am on the highway often. Ford Motor Co. Has told me three times that my car wasn't included in the recalls, it was not made in the same factory as those recalled, and it was made months after the recall. The cars included in the recall were made in February 2012 while my car was made in June 2012. This is a horrible way to handle consumers. Safety of consumers does not appear relevant to Ford Motor Company. There needs to be a recall for thousands more 2012 Ford Fusion... this should be a safety concern for everyone.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #371

Jul 092014

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles
Transmission slams into gear from first to second, then second to third occasionally. I've had 3 brake calipers seize and 3 rotors replaced as a result. Brake wear is beyond pathetic. Rear turning signal/brake light bulb got so hot that it melted my actual taillight. Paint flakes off fenders from just washing with a brand new sponge.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #370

Nov 142015

Fusion

  • 76,100 miles
Driving about 45 mph and the steering began to feel "catchy". a couple of minutes later the service power steering light came on and alternated with the service accutrac.

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #369

Nov 062015

Fusion

  • 74,600 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while at driving 50 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was parked and restarted but the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the lower control needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 74,600.

- Riddleton, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?