Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Apr 072016

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air conditioning compressor clutch fell off the vehicle while driving. The bolt retaining the clutch assembly sheared off resulting in the clutch assembly separating from the compressor pulley.

- Craigsville, WV, USA

problem #31

Dec 102014

Fusion

  • 26,757 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 50 mph and releasing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer software needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,757.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #30

Feb 062016

Fusion

  • 64,600 miles
Yellow wrench light keep coming on while driving only down the highway at 65 to 70 mph, it also intermittent therefore the dealer cannot ever find problem codes. The codes erase when you turn off the car. I lose half of engine power and no other controls work such as cruise control and manual shifting paddle shifting. I was also told that it was my : "PCM" that is giving me the trouble. Also the electric fan is running at full speed blowing out cold air, plus the smell of burning plastic. Also when the car is started and running for about 7 to 10 minutes, I turn on the heater at 73 degrees and it is warm. Then after turning on the heater and now leaving for work, I accelerate to get onto the freeway and soon noticed that the heater is now blowing cold air and I then turn the heater up higher to 77 then the same warmth come out then that goes away til I turn the heater way up to 83 degrees. This has never happened before, I had the coolant and oil replaced and it is still doing the same thing. I get two warnings showing the yellow wrench, "power reduced to cool down engine" and "engine overheat" the sunnyvale Ford dealer charged me $200 dollars to see what was wrong with my car and said they have found nothing. But this problem only happens on the freeway driving at 65 to 75 mph. Our freeways speed limits are high on interstates 5. I do see older Ford tempo's going 80 mph and passing me while I cannot go faster to get out of the way of others. Quite insulting to me while I spend out of pocket and Ford says nothing and I get back a broken car that works sometimes. The extended warranties I pay for does not cover anything so I'm paying for a car that is soon to fail and leave me stranded at the same time I have to pay for it. Ford continue to say my car is running well and returning it back to me with problems unfixed

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 022016

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while getting an oil change on the vehicle, the contact was informed by the technician that the vehicles engine had been leaking fluid. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. Car died three times in the past 2 months while I was driving it. The first 2 times in less than one minute of starting car and putting into gear. The third time was after I had been driving for some time and pulled away from bank teller window. Brought to dealer in January for another recall and they couldn't find any indication of problem in history for stalling problem (that was after first time it died). Am taking car in for car latch recall and will have them check again regarding the second and third incidents.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #27

Feb 092016

Fusion

  • 106,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle overheated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the coolant bypass valve would need to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,900.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #26

Feb 202016

Fusion

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous problems with this car but most recently and the most concerning is the frequent stalling at random times. The car will just go dead. Sometimes a warning in display says run active power, sometimes the check engine light comes on. When it stalls randomly it loses power and bucks a little then stalls. When driving on highway there is a terrible vibration coming from front of the car as the stalling problem gets worse it also goes into "limp mode" on highway. The car has been serviced for many weird problems such as when I was in fla in Dec and the heat came on full blast and temperature gauge said it was minus 21 degree's. it had problem with wipers, turn signals and headlights not working. I can't count how many modules have been replaced. I live in the mountains and it is very scary to be driving and not know when your car will stall. The car is at dealer yet again and it was very unsettling to discover that the dealership didn't think it was a big deal that your nearly new vehicle is stalling frequently. Which made my gut say there could be some sort of cover up. Because you literally can not trust anyone any more. I could see a class action lawsuit in the making. But while government stalls and stalls people are being killed in these cars. I have on video my car stalling. I told my family if I die in a crash today check my phone for the video's of car stalling and sue the hell out of Ford!!!

- Sylva, NC, USA

problem #25

Jan 142015

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after a few attempts. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #24

Jan 072016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Engine running hot engine reduce power to lower temps. This vehicle is one of the 2013 Ford Fusion 1.6 liter engine. VIN # [xxx] NHTSA recall # 12V551000 Ford recall # 12S41 this VIN # has the eighth letter "R" as a safety recall issued by Ford Motor Company by [xxx] on November 30, 2012. My vehicle was manufactured during this time of the effected vehicles. Ford is denying my claim with this engine they claim my vehicle left the mfg on 12/17/2012. 17 days after the recall was announced. But they cannot produce any documentation that my vehicle was recalled at the mfg prior to shipping to the dealer and this recall fixed. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Albertson, NC, USA

problem #23

Apr 202014

Fusion

  • 20,000 miles
Purchased vehicle new in Feb 2013. Has shut down 4 times while in motion. 3 were in town at slow speeds first time was around summertime the first or second year, but the last was 12/24/2015 on the interstate running a steady 75 mph in the inside lane in very heavy traffic. Only by the grace of god was I able to maneuver it to the shoulder without getting run over! each time the dash goes black and engine (and power steering/brakes) shuts of. There were no warning lights before or after the shut down. Only thing still working was the radio. (it normally plays until you open the door anyway) each time it started right up after stopping. Has been in for repair 3 times. No fault codes present and service tech "could not replicate the problem", so nothing has been done, other than the numerous recalls that have been issued. I no longer feel safe in this car!!! I have contacted Ford customer satisfaction center and registered a complaint with them.their response was to take it to another Ford dealer for a second opinion. That is very inconvenient due to the next dealer being 2 hours away and they would need to keep the car for a day or two to try to "replicate the problem". it is very sporadic. It could be six months before it does it again. A very dissatisfied customer!!!

- Aliceville, AL, USA

problem #22

Dec 062015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have noted the electronic throttle body (etb) malfunction affecting Ford Fusion 2009-2013 models with 2.5/3.0L engines and the related NHTSA investigation PE 13-003, along with Ford's customer satisfaction program 13N03. I have also noted the power loss issue described in another 2013 Ford Fusion owner's experience (NHTSA complaint id #10810590. Both seem to be related to the problem I am now having with my 2013 Ford Fusion SE, which is the ecoboost model with the 1.6L turbo charged engine. After getting an obd warning along with rough engine operation and lower-than-expected fuel efficiency, the dealership replaced the canister purge valve and noted that the oil minder would not reset. That repair was performed under warranty during thanksgiving weekend 2015. Soon after, on December 6th, the car experienced power loss on two occasions upon leaving parking lots; in other words, the failure occurred at low speed within a minute of driving away from the parking space. The engine sputtered (ran roughly) then lost power, with no warning lights appearing on the instrument panel. The same problem occurred again a few days before christmas, with that occurrence also taking place upon leaving a parking lot. Furthermore, it happened again on Dec. 29th and on January 2, 2016, with the latter time occurring immediately turning onto nolensville road from a parking lot. With all of those instances happening in nashville, tn, cold weather was not a factor. Engine temperature was not at a factor as the car's most recent failures have occurred with the engine still warm. Since this problem began after the aforementioned canister purge valve replacement, I am going to have the dealership revisit that work and determine the reason why I am not seeing a warning light when this dangerous situation occurs. I will also have the car evaluated for the aforementioned etb problem.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 032015

Fusion

  • 84,009 miles
Sudden power loss, my wife was driving her 2013 Fusion changing freeways and the car lost power, slowed to a crawl, no acceleration. Very dangerous. Had it towed to the dealer. They said they couldn't find a problem, my wife told them they better find the problem, she was scared to drive it. They kept it a little longer said they changed out some module but insisted nothing was showing bad. So she picked it up and about a week later she was going down the freeway and her waze app told her to get off the freeway there was an accident up ahead, so as she is getting off the car did the same thing, sudden power loss. This time she was off crenshaw in la, not a good part of cali. She was more frightened that time. We had it towed to a different Ford dealer. Same thing they said they drove the car 312 miles and no issue. I told them I am not picking up the car. I called Ford they opened a case which really means nothing. No one this whole time has mentioned the thousands of ownersr having the same issue. So now I have left the service mgr a msg that I found out about the etb and I want it replaced. We will see if they cover it. Supposedly there is a fix order and the warranty is 10 years and 130K on the throttle body. We shall see. This problem will kill someone it's just a matter of time. Imagine making a left turn and a semi is coming, and your car dies.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #20

Dec 032015

Fusion

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle did restart. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000.

- Chesaning, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 122014

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
(takata recall) I hereby state that I was in a motor vehicle accident with this vehicle with no fault of my own. At the time of the accident 03/15/2014 this vehicle should have been totaled out but was not done so.the airbags did not deploy with the way and the impact that I was hit by other party. I than took this vehicle numerous of times to hasting Ford in greenville nc where they was suppose to have researched and properly checked and fixed everything detailed. I am yet to this day still having problems with this vehicle shifting gears caused by accident, body is coming apart, camara is not working and I am still suffering from the bodily injuries of my hip being shifted from accident. I am seeking legal attorneys at this time due to I feel that Ford could have taken better care and replaced this vehicle knowingly that this vehicle is not safe to me the custom. At this point I do feel that Ford should be responsible for any suffering and vehicle experience that I am enduring at this time. I would like to say thank you for your moral support. I was traveling down the main highway when another vehicle came from a side road driving 60 mph without breaking speed crashing into my 2013 Ford Fusion.the accident occurred in wake county nc. Around 12:45 P.M.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #18

Oct 052015

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the engine overheated and leaked fluid into the wires causing the vehicle to shut off. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Gulfport, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 082015

Fusion

  • 17,850 miles
First problem with the car was having problems with first starting it in the morning with it acting as if it wasnt getting gas until I stepped on the accelerator while in park, dealership claimed it was a cracked water pump. Then the check engine light came on while driving, they replaced head gasket and intake gasket due to the code from the check engine light. Then the car stopped accelerating on the interstate and when I pulled over and turned it off it made loud cracking noises and wouldnt start. Dealership says a piece underneath the water pump fell off they believe it was defective because the bolt was half the size it was suppose to be and ruined the engine. First problems started in may until most recent one in Sept.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #16

Jun 242013

Fusion

  • 8,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle began to violently vibrate and then stalled. The transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The vehicle was previously repaired and the motor mounts were replaced. In addition, while idling, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle rolled unintentionally. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,900.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 072013

Fusion

  • miles
The transmissions shutters at all speeds. The car stalls on red lights. The car stalls going around curves. The car stalls going both up and down hills. Ford put out and "extended warrant" but does not have the parts to fix the problem. We have talked to two different dealers and a regional manager for Ford, but nothing is getting done.

- Caryville, TN, USA

problem #14

Dec 112014

Fusion

  • 22,550 miles
This is a case of multiple incidents, first incident with significant issue was on 12/11/2014. As I was pulling out of my driveway and reversing across two lanes of traffic, my car turned off and said "press brake to start" (I have the push-start-ignition). The car turned off as I was revering across the street, I had to put the car in park in order to restart the car. I restarted the car and drove it to the dealership, which they have never heard of this issue and said they could not get me in for an appointment until 12/15. On 12/14/2014, as I was driving down the road at ~25mph, my car started to act like it was going to quit, before I could pull off to the side of the road, the car turned off and said "press brake to start" I was able to get the car to the side of the road, as I did I put the car in park and tried to restart the car and it just kept rolling over and I had to push the start button to get it to stop, as I did, the brakes and steering wheel locked and I had to have the car towed to the dealership. The dealership had the car for 3 days, could not find an issue. I filed a complaint with Ford and they have closed my case saying there is not an issue. It is now at a 2nd dealership where they can not find an issue. I have been told by Ford to continue driving my car until the issue happens again, which is a major concern for my personal and others safety as I am driving down the road. When the car quits, I have hardly any control over the vehicle and luckily I have been going at slow pace, but I do not feel safe driving this car and feel like Ford has given up on me. This car has been nothing but problems since I've had it with 9 recalls and now this issue, I am concerned that I am not the only person having this issue and would like to have the problem addressed before someone is in a serious accident. Updated 2/11/16

- Snover, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 309,624 miles
I was driving sw bound on hwy 20 in loganville, ga when my car surged and powered off at 50 mph ¿the vehicle turned off on a very busy road. I just bought this car last year. This is the second time this has happened this first time it happened Ford replaced my entire steering column. I had zero steering capability, the engine was off and unresponsive and all of my electronic panels went dark except for a message saying "transmission is not in park" and the engine warning light (yellow) came on. I was able to hit the hazard lights and barely inch to the right side on the highway. There was a truck behind me that had to make an evasive lange change maneuver to the left in order to avoid collision. Once I came to a stop I immediately turned my video camera on my phone and started documenting what was happening in the vehicle. I have this video readily available for you if you need it to further your investigation.

- Loganville, GA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?