CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,262 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Dec 212016

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left my house drove 5 miles, stopped to sisters house to drop off an item, 2-3 minutes later walked outside and found flames coming out of the hood on the passenger side near windshield. Barely able to open door quick enough to get my purse out and it was engulfed. Woke up a neighbor who came over with a truck to drag it away from house and garage. Wasn't for him my sisters house would been lost as it took 25 minutes for fire department to show up. Only thing not burned is the taillights. Obviously there was an issue in the engine compartment. Have read about a recall for this specific model for this specific reason. Feeling like my insurance is not going to be very helpful with damages. What else can be done?

- Gouverneur, NY, USA

problem #31

Dec 102016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
Beginning approximately 4 months ago, from a cold start in either a reverse or forward direction, my car would slowly lose power and within 30 seconds, stall. The electronics still function, however the car must be put into park, turned off, then restarted. After researching, I discovered that my car did fit the requirements for the "recall" given to 2013 Fusion based on its assembly plant and assembly date. I visited my dealer, however they were unable to help because there "was no code thrown." Indeed, no wrench or engine warning light was given at the time of my car stalling. It has now happened nearly a dozen times - the most recent occurring on Dec 10, 2016 - and I expect it to keep happening unless the electronic throttle body is fixed. Because the dealer believes that I do not fit within the requirements however, I am unable to have this issue taken care of.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #30

Jun 092014

Fusion

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel pump had low pressure. The vehicle constantly hesitated, the service engine warning indicator illuminated, and the vehicle stalled randomly several times. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #29

Dec 102016

Fusion

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car dies while idling. Was pulling onto a major highway on Saturday when it completed died, was able to quickly put car into neutral and restart it.

- Lexington, IN, USA

problem #28

Dec 082016

Fusion

  • 58,000 miles
This car (2013 Ford Fusion ecoboost) is approx 3 years old with only 59K miles. At slow speeds such as pulling out of a parking lot or coasting to a slow speed at a light or stop sign the engine just dies like it ran out of gas. You have to pull over and stop the car. You then have to restart the car. After a few seconds it starts just fine. It's random but becoming more frequent. It's a safety concern and dangerous to drive in heavy traffic. The dealer said it's probably the electronic throttle body a very well known issue according to postings. Part is $700 and labor $200 for a part that is covered under warranty for other Ford Fusion but not the ecoboost!. national highway traffic administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into sudden surges and power loss in Ford engines. By March of 2014, Ford agreed to a massive ¿customer satisfaction program¿ that extended the etb warranty to 10 years or 150,000 miles for certain vehicles. For whatever reason, Ford refuses to call it a recall. O    2009-2013 Ford escape O    2009-2013 Ford Fusion O    2009-2013 Mercury mariner O    2009-2013 Mercury Milan the dealer is saying they cannot find anything wrong but did replace the battery for a fee. It is random as I told the dealer before and really beginging to think they do not want to do anything about the issue. Very dangerous if someone pulls out in traffic and the car stalls out. Could be fatal!! www.fordproblems.com/trends/electronic-throttle-body/

- Hebron, MD, USA

problem #27

Nov 022016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
Fuel leaking and you all sent out a recall 13V227000 on 05/31/2003 which Ford is saying that my car is not covered because they recalled cars built on Feb 11, 2003 & my car was built Feb 20,2003 in the same factory in hermosillo, Mexico. I purchased the vehicle 1 year ago & I should not be responsible to replace this part. The vehicle in inoperable at this point due to the fuel leaking. This is a safety hazard. The recall sent out by NHTSA does not specify a model or build date therefore; cars build within the same month in the same Ford plant should've been honored. I cannot afford to pay for a $300 part for I am a college student with limited income.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #26

Nov 152016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car (2013 Ford Fusion ecoboost) is 3 years old with only 50K miles. At slow speeds such as pulling out of a parking lot or coasting to a slow speed at a light or stop sign the engine just dies like it ran out of gas. You have to pull over and stop the car. You then have to restart the car. After a few seconds it starts just fine. It's random but becoming more frequent. It happened 3 times to my wife the other day. It's a safety concern and dangerous to drive in heavy traffic. The dealer said it's probably the electonic throttle body a very well known issue according to postings. Part is $700 and labor $200 for a part that is covered under warranty for other Ford Fusion but not the ecoboost! my last Ford Fusion had the same problem. That cost me $500. I guess I didn't learn my lesson then but I've learned my lesson now. Will get rid of this car and never buy Ford again. I look at every Ford Fusion on the road now as a death trap waiting to happen. I hope to get rid of mine in time.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #25

Jan 032016

Fusion

  • 22,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle new delivered to the dealership from another location with just under 200 miles on the odometer. I noticed my first issue when the motor would stall going at a low rate of speed 15-20mph through a parking lot at about 22,000 miles on the odometer and also would hesitate to start. I only assumed it was bad fuel being such a new vehicle. This happened periodicaly up untile the engine gave an over temprature coolant display killing all but idle power to the ingine making the car undrivable. Thus I had the car towed to the dealership at excactly January 3, 2016 with 64,056 on the odometer. I had then noticed recalls for this particular motor in Ford Fusion and escapes with this particular size engine. After the recalls repairs were completed for my vehicle I still experienced engine stalls, but less frequent throughout this period and rough idle at initial start of the engine more frequently as time passed. The over temprature coolant message came on again, at 87,000 give or take ( again towed to dealership so they will have reported milage). I was informed that numerous repairs had to be made and are not covered under any recalls although I feel this vehicle more than meets the criteria for numerous recalls. I have had this vehicle checked for coolant leaks from another certified shop and no hoses have been found to have any leaks.

- King, NC, USA

problem #24

Nov 052016

Fusion

  • 129,000 miles
Car lost power and started revving going up a hill. Wouldn't accelerate. Next day it wouldn't start. It's still at the shop and they have no idea what's wrong

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #23

Jul 112016

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles
We have had our 2103 Fusion now for 2 months. 1 week after having the car it began to make a humming noise around the gas tank area, then when you slowed down for a red light the car would stall and be hard to start back. Sent the car back to the dealership to only be told they couldn't find anything wrong. Once we received the car back we drove it for a couple of days and the car started making the noise again and would stall again. Called dealership and took car back again still nothing. Received car back and began to notice when we was fueling the car that the RPM gauge would go up and down and then the vehicle would quit and be very hard to start back. While driving the vehicle about 3 weeks ago it stalled again and would not start back, finally after about 30 mins of trying the car started. Sent car back to dealership again and they have had the car 3 weeks and they are saying they can not find anything wrong with the vehicle. I asked if they had put fuel in it like I advised they proceeded to tell me no. I advised them when they did to let me know what the car did. We no longer feel safe driving the car. I believe we either have a fuel pump issue or the vehicle is pulling air in from the fueling system and is causing it to air lock. The vehicle has quit about 12-15 times in the 2 months we have had

- Rush, KY, USA

problem #22

Aug 052016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel purge valve is stuck in the open position as diagnosed by my research and later confirmed by the dealership. Upon doing research, this model of purge valve was installed in all 2009+ Ford vehicles and a recall was issued for 2009-2011 vehicles, yet it is still being used in the newer models and failing. I am being charged $565 by the dealership to fix a problem that Ford has not taken responsibility for. Fusion model year 2013, approx. 50K miles, air purging from the fuel tank (out of 'capless' opening), car shudders regularly and more so when I first put gas in it. Has been happening for about 2 months; check engine light finally came on yesterday.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 022016

Fusion

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred while still at the dealer. The technician stated that the fuel gauge needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 09/27/16

- St Joseph, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 032016

Fusion

  • 78,500 miles
My car is stalling when I pull out into traffic. This problem has been going on for 3 months. I have had it to the Ford dealer and get the same answer everyone else seems to be getting" we don't know if we can't get the car to do it because there is no check engine light. I even took it to a Chevrolet dealer to see if they could figure it out but same thing but I didn't expect them to fix it was just hopeful. I expect Ford to be able to tell me what is wrong not guess work that gets a bit expensive. Ford has been nothing short of rude and unconcerned. Even though they have been having this issue for years from what I have seen on line. Eco-boast especially. A recall or just figure it out and I will pay to fix it. My car is not safe to drive. I have a teenage son who drives he has his own car but for long trips I prefer he drive my car with all the safety features, but now I would not dare let him drive it. He has a 2004 Ford Taurus that is safer for him to drive then my car.

- Longs, SC, USA

problem #19

Mar 042016

Fusion

  • miles
2013 F usion 1.6 turbo fuel vapor purge valve went bad and Ford dealer said it was not covered, the internet says the 2013 and all way back to 2010, this car is a big problem all of the recall I have a problem with this, when the internet says the valve should be covered.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #18

Feb 252016

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
Multiple time my car "surges" while driving. I'm afraid that this will cause me to "surge" into traffic. Other times while driving, the Fusion just dies.

- Lexington, IN, USA

problem #17

Dec 182015

Fusion

  • 66,000 miles
I have been having issues with the car dying while accelerating from stops. Took to local Ford dealer, nothing wrong. Took to local mechanic after it died on me and they said software programming for throttle body. The vehicle has died approximately 6 times while at stop signs and stop lights, when you go to take off, it acts like it isn't getting gas. I have called the local Ford dealer and Ford customer service, but say there is no program updates for throttle bottle. Kevin at Ford customer service went on to tell me that what I found online with throttle body issues was not true, unless I found it on Ford.com. This all started on Friday, December 18th.

- Lexington, IN, USA

problem #16

Jan 022016

Fusion

  • miles
I only seem to be able to fill the 16.5 gallon tank with 13.5 gallon's of fuel.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #15

Nov 292015

Fusion

  • 47,835 miles
Ford electronic throttle body problems...while I was drive back from philadelphia on Saturday night, my car began to have mechanical problems. While going up a hill on I95 after crossing the long bridge, I experienced drastically reduce speed. Even when pressing on the gas, nothing happen. There was no warning lights so I immediately put on my hazard light but the cars were coming up on me fast and swerving to avoid hitting me. With my foot on the gas pedal to the floor, I was only able to maintain a speed of 40 mph. I was able to make it up the hill and by staying in the slow lane. Once I got to a stopping place, I pulled over and shut the vehicle off. I wait a little while then turned the vehicle back on. It studdar but started and then the check engine light came on. I use the cars internal engine check which showed not problems so I continue until I made it back to my home. The next day the engine light was on and it would not start. I took it to the Ford dealership who diagnostics said it was the electronic throttle body. I researched and found this is a defective part in my model year. There is a customer satisfaction program to address this issue but Ford is saying my car is ineligible. The program address car from 2009 to 2013. Ref: www.fordproblems.com/trends/electronic-throttle-body/

- Greenbelt, MD, USA

problem #14

Nov 272015

Fusion

  • 28,422 miles
The 2013 Ford Fusion SE with the 1.6 and 2.0 ecoboost engines is supposed to have a 16.5 gallon fuel tank capacity yet I'm only able to get $13.13 gallons into the tank after driving 10 mile passed the "distance to empty" which displayed 0 on the dash please have patience to check this website out: www.fordfusionforum.com/topic/8957-2013-Fusion-fuel-tank-filling-issues/ multiple owners are complaining

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #13

Oct 232015

Fusion

  • 23,780 miles
Car stalled and went into limp mode (limited power) several times over a 3 week period. It would stall at times when backing out of parking places. At a stop light on a busy road, it started shaking and running rough, dealer could not find cause and sent car home. Driving down a street 2 days later, it lost almost all power like it was running out of gas, barely made it to side of the road and was hard to restart. After several days, dealer states the issue was found to be a faulty fuel pressure sensor. Car only had 23,700 miles on it.

- Dyer, IN, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?