Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,840 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Jan 152014


  • 10,000 miles


After purchase of Ford Fusion 2013 from northampton Ford northampton, MA 01060 for several months air bag light would come on and go off at different speeds including the alarm bell even on highway. They finally took it in and said it was a electrical housing under seat. I no longer trust this car because the number of recalls ans reported troubles about make and model, mainly air bag. When I called dealership repair center they were rude and continue to state do not have parts to fix recalls. I feel Ford or the dealership should buy my car back for what I owe, it is a lemon. I no longer trust the product to have my son drive it.

- Easthampton, MA, USA

problem #23

Apr 232015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V579000 (air bags, seats) in January of 2015; however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure. Updated 7/21/15 the consumer received another recall regarding pawl spring tab inside the door latches. Updated 08/04/15

- Hurst, TX, USA

problem #22

Nov 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a letter in November 2014 stating that there was a recall on my 2013 Ford Fusion. Safety recall notice 14S21 / NHTSA recall 14V-597. It states that on my vehicle, the restraints control module may develop a short circuit over time. If this occurs, the airbag warning indicator lamp will illuminate in the instrument cluster and the deployable restraint systems (for example: Airbags an side airbag curtains) may not function as intended in the event of a crash, increasing the risk of injury. A short circuit may also affect the function of other systems that use data from the restraints control module, including stability control. I have attempted to contact my dealership several times in an attempt to get my vehicle repaired in a reasonable time frame. However, the dealership still says that they do not have any parts from the manufacturer and will not receive any parts until around November or December which would then be a full year from the date of the original notice. I have two small children and am concerned for their safety in the car and am unsure of how to go about getting this repaired in a timely manner. Thanks for your help! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #21

Oct 312014


  • 27,000 miles


Hit deer going 45 miles an hour when he ran out in front of me. Vehicle check was deployed. Said airbag activated. Neither the airbag went off nor did the seat belt restraint tightened. Obtained $7000 in front end damage including radiator, hood fenders and pushed in driver door. Police officer checked the airbag for me and stated that I needed to let them know it should have deployed and did not. Had vehicle towed and called peck Ford. After 3 weeks in the auto repair stated they ran a check and it seemed the airbag was fine. They had to do a realignment and the radiator hose and bolts snapped off plus the body work. Ford stated it was in a recall but that they would not have the parts for a year. I told them I was afraid to drive it and told them about the accident and the failure of the airbag to deploy nor the restraints. Peck Ford also stated that there was not much they could do unless the airbag light stayed on when car was operating. Previously, in summer of 2014, I wrote the warranty center because my headliner had to be replaced due to wrinkling and falling in front. They replaced the headliner but it started happening again so I wrote them in summer of 2014. They stated the only recall they had was for the airbag and that I should stop driving the car immediately and call Ford. I called them and they said there was no parts available and stated then that the airbag light had to be on. Fast forward two months later and I hit a deer, no airbag deployed, the restraints did not work. Fearful when driving the car now and no help available. Driver seat now sags to one side

- Pingree Grove, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 142014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #19

Feb 022015


  • miles
2013 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall notice. The consumer was informed the replacement air bag would not be available until the third quarter of 2015.

- Locust Valley, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 132014


  • 25,000 miles


Was driving approximately 50 miles per hour when deer hit car in front. The impact took out front bumper bumper guard hood left fender and left door. The radiator bolts cracked and dropped the radiator. I was thrown forward but neither seat belt tightened or air bag went off. The system radio went into system check and continually checked, stating airbag deployed but it did not deploy. One side of the seat on drivers side will not rise when trying to bring seat up and so seat sags to left officer that I called to the scene stated that it looked like the airbag started to deploy but when I got the car fixed they said they found the airbag still in tack. Both parties police and mechanic stated that they were surprised airbag did not go off. I called Ford about the recall and they said cannot repair unless air bag light is on. I wrote safety for Ford and they said the same thing. I called dealer back and they stated that I cannot bring in till letter arrives because the parts to replace would not be in till end of 2015.

- Pingree Grove, IL, USA

problem #17

Jan 072015


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. In addition, the contact mentioned that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number:14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Murphys, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 162014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 022014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) however the part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/20/15 updated 6/9/2015

- Carrollton , KY, USA

problem #14

Nov 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/15/16 updated 01/27/15

- Berlin, MD, USA

problem #13

Oct 102014


  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the turn signals failed after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the turning module needed to be replaced. At the time of the repair, the manufacturer stated that the turning module was not the cause of the failure. The dealer stated they would call back when the appropriate repair was available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 19,000.

- Rockville Center, NY, USA

problem #12

Apr 152014


  • 8,000 miles
Airbag warning light illuminated. After restarting car, it sometimes stayed on, and sometimes would clear. Happened ~ once a month, then started to happen with alarming frequency in July 2014. Airbag warning light would come on almost every time car was used. In Sept 2014, car was taken to dealership and service was performed. Light did not come back on for two weeks. Airbag warning light than began to illuminate again frequently. Car was taken back in again and tech's worked for two days on vehicle and had issues finding a root cause. Car was not fixed but we were told to bring back in again. On 10/3/2014, I ran a VIN recall lookup, and no recalls were issued for my car although issue seems to align with a recall issued by Ford on Sept 24-25/2014. I am concerned that the population of affected vehicles is larger than the recall.

- Harborcreek, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 222014


  • 17,300 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 30 mph and attempting to avoid a head on collision, the contact swerved and lost control of the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a fence and the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 17,300.

- Earlysville, VA, USA

problem #10

Aug 182014


  • 14,500 miles
The airbag light stays on. The service department at Ford, said the airbags would not work in the event of an accident. Ford's service department replaced the safety module but that didn't fix the problem. They've ordered a second part, but it's been on back order since about August 20th. It's now September 6th and the part hasn't been shipped. My car has been sitting for nearly three weeks because I refuse to drive it with faulty airbags.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #9

Aug 012014


  • 12,000 miles
My 2013 Fusion with approximately 12,000 miles was already scheduled for repair to replace both rear shocks because they were leaking. Before it went in the airbag light came on. The dealership said "no problem we will take care of it". when I went to pick it up they told me that they could not get the light to go out and that they tried downloading software to the restraint control module (rcm) and needed to order one. Then they went on to say they are on back order and should only take a few days. Then I get home to hear the message they left saying that the part was on back order and that my airbags will not work without the module. I called and was told that it will take weeks to get this part and that I'm not the only one with this problem. From what they told me, the magnitude of the back order and what I have read it seems this is a major problem. How many Fusion drivers are driving around without airbags" who knows if your airbags will work even if your airbag light is not showing a problem"

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

May 212014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I was involved in a motor vehicle accident, in which I was first hit by another car and then collided with a lamp post. The initial blow rendered my vehicle without brake power and the airbags did not deploy. I was wearing a seatbelt. My car headed toward the street lamp. I tried to press my brake, but it would not work. I turned my steering wheel to the left to avoid a head-on with the light post. Unfortunately, I hit the post and it broke (later a policeman pushed it over and it fell to the ground). The car finally stopped at about 200 feet away from the site of the accident, as I drove it onto the median strip. My car was damaged on the left and right front lower area and the right tire was pushed way back. The sway bar and knuckle broke, among other things. The right front door was unable to open. After all these repairs were done, they couldn't start the car because the crankshaft sensor also had to be replaced. In total, these repairs took more than two months to complete. I spoke to the regional manager of Ford Motor Company to see if they wanted to investigate this particular car, as it operated poorly during the accident. They were not interested, and said to allow geico to handle things and have geico call them if they found anything amiss. My back was injured and I cannot safely lift more than 5 lbs at a time. My neurosurgeon advised that I have surgery soon, otherwise I risk becoming paralyzed from the waist down. I have a thumb injury and the accident also re-activated an old concussion. My nose must have hit the steering wheel, as it was sore for a week. I can walk around and function right now, I just can't lift anything. My car is ready in the shop, but I am afraid to drive it, and I have five years of payments left on it. I never would have hit the lamp post if my brakes had worked, and my airbags did not deploy for either impact.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
I was exiting from the highway, and all of a sudden, all of the warning lights came on (ABS, traction control, airbags, hill assist, etc.). all systems became unoperational while I was driving, which caused me great concern. I brought it into the dealership the next morning (the issue was still happening), and they kept it for two weeks because the affected part, a restraint control module (rcm), was on national backorder. They said the car was unsafe to drive, and, if I had gotten in an accident, the airbags wouldn't have deployed. I have read about a number of other people with 2013 Fusion with the same exact defective part, so this issue should probably be investigated.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #6

Jun 142014


  • 5,500 miles
The airbag warning light will not turn off indicating there is a malfunction (per the manual). Therefore I need to take it back to dealer to get it checked. One of the 3 memory buttons for the electronic seat adjustments is not working properly.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #5

May 122014


  • 17,200 miles
While driving on Pennsylvania toll road to Massachusetts, the "service advance traction" and "hill start assist not available" warning and "air bag" symbol came on. Next day I went to the dealer maguire's Ford of hershey, 100 N.thistledown dr, palmyra, pa 17078. The dealer reported that rcm module must be replaced, however part is on national back-order and not available ( 300 cases). I had to sign that I was informed that in a case of an accident the air bag system will not work. The dealer informed my home dealer kerry Ford in cincinnati oh and sent a fax with information to order a part. I called my dealer when I returned back to Ohio from my vacation and as of today 05/27/2014 part is still not available, no date of part delivery is known.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?