Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,577 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Sep 122016

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 10 mph, the front driver side of the contact's vehicle crashed into the side of another vehicle. The air bags deployed. When the air bag underneath the dashboard deployed, it caused the contact's foot to press down on the accelerator pedal, further injuring the contact. The air bags located in the steering wheel had a delayed response, which also caused further injury. The contact received injuries to the right ankle, right foot, as well as a fractured rib and right hand. Medical attention was received. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and opened a case regarding the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Greenville, IL, USA

problem #44

Sep 262016

Fusion

  • 39,297 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a curb on the opposite side of the street. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic steering failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 39,297.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #43

Mar 112016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V256000 (latches/locks/linkages) and 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/14/16 updated 06/22/16.

- Reidsville, NC, USA

problem #42

Feb 152016

Fusion

  • 33,112 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag light on the dash came on. I took it into the Ford dealership and they claimed that the wiring harness under the seat was crushed, supposedly by an empty jelly jar that was under neath the seat on the drivers side. I have the jelly jar and its not even broken. Ford claims its my fault and to get in touch withmy insurance company which I have but since the light (airbag ) light has come on, my seat doesn't work does not move back or forward and the light that tells if if the seat belt is fastened doesn't work. I haven't heard back from my insurance company but im wondering if more Fusion owners than just me have had this problem with the wiring harness and if the problem is due to the location of the wiring harness rather than the jelly jar which is unbroken. I am a 72 year old woman and although im slightly overweight, I cannot imagine how my weight and the jelly jar could disable the whole case. It doesn't look crushed but I'm taking it to my mechanic tomorrow and having him take the seat out and look at the wiring harness. The vehicle was stationary when the light came on about a week ago.

- Owego, NY, USA

problem #41

Dec 172015

Fusion

  • 40,000 miles
I had taken my vehicle to the dealer 4 times for repair due to the air bag light coming on while driving. Each time they told me it was fixed and then would come back on within a few weeks. They also told me its only a light malfunction and the airbag would deploy so don't worry too much. Then I saw NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 and saw that it may not deploy and was very frustrated. I took it in for this repair in March 2015, and after being in the shop for over 3 weeks with this issue they told me that it should be a permanent fix. Well it was not, after a few months it would come back on every once in a while, but turn off the next time you started the car. Around December 2015 it began to stay on and I feel like I'm going around in a circle constantly trying to repair a critical safety device.

- Dunlap, IL, USA

problem #40

Dec 142015

Fusion

  • 35,000 miles
I was stopped at a red light on a city street and was hit in the rear by a car going very fast. I hit a car in front of me and my air bag deployed. A few seconds later my air bag burst into flames. I used my water bottle to put out the fire. I was dazed and hurt and if I was unconscious results would have been extreme.

- Valley Center, CA, USA

problem #39

Dec 062015

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 30 mph, the passenger side air bag erroneously deployed. The contact indicated that a crash had not occurred and the cause of the deployment was unknown. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Redbank, NJ, USA

problem #38

Sep 012015

Fusion

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the passenger side air bag inadvertently deployed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000. The VIN was not available.

- Redbank, NJ, USA

problem #37

Oct 252015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the key failed to start the vehicle. After numerous attempts or disconnecting the battery, the vehicle was able to start. The vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags), but the dealer stated the part was not available. The contact also stated that the eps and the power train warning lights illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #36

Dec 042014

Fusion

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact also stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000....updated 01/20/16

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #35

Oct 012015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V597000 (air bags) and 15V246000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/10/15

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #34

Nov 052014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Nov 222014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) and 15V246000 (latches/locks/linkages), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Centerton, AR, USA

problem #32

Jul 152015

Fusion

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts), 15V246000(latches/locks/linkages), and 15V250000 (steering). The contact was unable to receive the recall repairs due to the parts not being available for several months. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the contact lost consciousness and crashed into two vehicles and into a ditch. None of the air bags deployed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained head and neck injuries and received medical treatment. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #31

Jul 152015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 33,454 miles
I hit two vehicles and went a ditch head first and the air bag didn't go off. Now I get bad migraines.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #30

Sep 282014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wheatfield, IN, USA

problem #29

Sep 172014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V246000 (latches/locks/linkages) and 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/10/15

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #28

Jul 032015

Fusion

  • 32,800 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 15V250000 (steering); however, the mechanic noticed that the steering gear motor attachment bolts were missing. The contact was informed that the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs and stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The contact also received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts) and 15V246000 (latches, locks, linkages); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,800.

- Fort Drum , NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 222014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Groves, TX, USA

problem #26

Nov 122014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/13/15

- Cranston, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?