Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Has the power steering started to show signs of failure in the 2014? Yeah, a little. Am I confident it will become a bigger problem over time? Yeah, a lot.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,855 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Fusion Owner Comments

problem #6

Jan 142017

Fusion

  • 31,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"new rack and pinion system ordered for vehicle. Scheduled maintenance to install new Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion is set to take place at river town Ford columbus, ga on the date of 21 Jan 2017. Current health report was done 10 Jan. 2017. Customer was informed on 7 Jan. 2017 that the car is still safe to drive after the dealer's diagnoses. After a week and after the customer scheduled appointment date, 7 Jan 2017, for initial diagnoses more failures occurred; on the date of 14 Jan 2017, driving with the faulty Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion still installed has caused further malfunction of the traction control, it fails to turn on, and the forward collision warning system has also failed. The customer fears that the malfunctioning of the traction control system will be used to place fault on the customer for the failure of the 2014 Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion even though the car is still under warranty at 31991 miles. Safety features traction control and collision warning system failure indicates the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion maybe faulty after 30,000 plus miles; this is a road safety issue and the failure of the Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion places the vehicle out of compliance with 571.126 standard no. 126; electronic stability control systems for light vehicles ("NHTSA 33-12" standards (https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/fr-2015-06-23/pdf/2015-14127.pdf) ). suggest recall or further testing of malfunctioning Ford Fusion steering gear rack pinion, part handles steering and control over the vehicle by operating occupant of the vehicle." "customer reports traction control and collision warning system failed on the 14 Jan 2017 while driving on hwy 280 at 70mph. The customer also stated during the time of failure the steering felt awkward and kept locking while turning the steering wheel."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #5

Jan 062017

Fusion

  • 31,200 miles
"suspension knock while turning the wheel; the wheels sticks during sharp turn ins to the left and right while in motion." "the knock is also happening while the car is stationary turning the wheels to either side left or right; the wheels stick." "at highway speeds the sound can not be heard but the car does handle oddly as a result from the suspension issues." "at low speeds the sound can be heard when truing the wheel all the way to the left and right, the wheels will stick during this process." "also, the steering is loose and has some play; stability control may need to be inspected due to the odd driving habits at low to highway speeds. This all took place today 6 Jan 2017, due to the customers fear the vehicle was unsafe, it was inspected by a near by mechanic "tire engineers" the car is at 31,200+ miles and having mechanical issues with the suspension. "this is one of many times the car has had a "front end suspension issue"; attempts to fix the vehicle at a dealer (opelika Ford) have ended in failure to provide warranty parts to replace faulty parts in the past. Since opelika Ford did not inspect the vehicle, 2014 Ford Fusion AWD sedan, on 6 Jan 2017 an appoint was made for 11 Jan 2017 to inspect the vehicle at that dealer, no walk-ins allowed; unclear if the car was safe the customer drove the vehicle to another dealer in columbus, ga. Another appointment was set for Saturday 7 Jan 2017 to diagnoses suspension issues. There is a 36,000 miles manufacture warranty. This issue has been on going with no resolution but a back and forth between the dealer (opelika Ford) and customer's home, placing 40 miles to drive to the dealer and from dealer's location, as a result the mechanical issues have worsen." "the drive is placing the car out of manufacturers warranty soon." "part cost assessment is $2226.37 to replace if out of warranty."

- Smith Station, AL, USA

problem #4

Jul 132016

Fusion

  • 80,940 miles
Vehicle stationary, engine idling when "power steering assist" failure message appears, with subsequent loss of power steering. This has happened twice within 3 day, separate occasions, after driving on interstate for approx. 1 hr, same setting. Ford dealership was informed about it on the first occasion during a scheduled 80,000 mile maintenance, however they stated vehicle was ok, and ready to drive. Mileage at the time of first incident was approx. 80,947. Arrival mileage at Ford dealership was 81,043. On 7/13/16

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #3

Feb 292016

Fusion

  • 44,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I keep getting a series of warning indicators; up hill assist is not available, service advance trak, no power steering, no traction control, no ABS, and the no air bag lights come on. This comes on while driving at normal, low speed on regular roads, when turning and also at higher speeds when driving on expressways. This is dangerous especially because my power steering does not work! there needs to be a recall!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 012015

Fusion

  • 5,000 miles
Difficult to control at highway speeds; the car seems to wobble/over correct frequently. The car is difficult to keep between the lines when it encounters even minor bumps in the road. I've brought these concerns to Ford and have been met with highly antagonistic responses. Ford neglects to acknowledge the issue and told me they test drove the car and were unable to replicate the issue. I don't feel safe driving my new car on the highway. Please help!

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #1

Jan 122015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 15,800 miles
I avoided another vehicle that cut me off on the expressway by honking the horn, slamming on the brakes and quickly changing lanes. As soon as I maneuvered into an empty lane, my vehicles instrument panel went dark, the horn stopped sounding, all gauges went to zero and the car lost all electric power (including steering assist) and the engine stumbled. After a second or two everything on the instrument panel reset. Once everything came back on, the engine was on a reduced power mode and pushing the accelerator to the floor did not make the car accelerate. With the vehicle rapidly loosing speed, I was able to steer the vehicle into the shoulder of the expressway. I shifted the vehicle into neutral and turned the car off by moving the key to "accessory" and then restarted the vehicle. Once restarted, I shifted back into drive and depressed the accelerator. The car accelerated normally and all electronic functions were working. The instrument panel displayed everything normally. There was no "check engine" or other warning lights illuminated and no warning messages were displayed on the instrument panel screen. I drove my car another 6 miles to the dealership with no further issues.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?