10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,164 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Dec 252014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drove the car all day and night christmas eve with no problems. Got up around 8am christmas day pulled out of driveway went just a little way and the power steering went out and it was impossible to steer and I almost crashed. After much struggle to get the car back in the driveway a warning light came on that said service power steering.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 232014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 80,000 miles
Power steering failure. Lost power steering during left turn onto street. Had to restart car in intersection to regain power steering. Called Ford dealer who said I would have to pay for evaluation and necessary repair.

- Montclair, NJ, USA

problem #22

Dec 212014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Pulling out of my driveway, the dash on the vehicle reported power steering and activetrac issues. I was able to make it to my destination safely, albeit, the warning lights on the vehicle dash remained in regards to power steering and activetrac. This morning however, the car has malfunctioned and the power steering is no longer active. Doing research, I noticed that NHTSA and a lawsuit in California is attempting to address this issue with Ford Motor Company. What are my options?

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #21

Dec 052014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 79,015 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 30 mph, service advance trac lights came on dash, followed by red service power steering light on dash, then service power steering now light and loss of power steering. Extremely difficult to steer into parking space. Not drivable. Towed to dealer. Supposedly repaired after 3 days at dealer. Six days later same thing happened, still in my driveway, not yet towed back to dealer.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #20

Nov 282014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 61,000 miles
The power steering went out on the car twice. Took the car to the dealer after the 2nd event and they reset the service code to clear the problem. They could not find a mechanical problem with the car. The first occurrence of the problem the car was taken to a local auto repair facility and they fixed the problem by replacing the car battery. This solved the problem for about two weeks and then it recurred. A google search found this problem occurs frequently on the Ford Fusion and most people have expressed concern about how dangerous this is as the car is extremely difficult to steer without the power steering. In my view this is a critical design flaw.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Happened 3-4 times over the past 3 months. While driving the power steering would quit working, making difficult to steer. Warning on dash "power steering assist fault". went to roadside and turned off the vehicle/restart and the problem would go away. I am a rather strong man, if a person of small stature were driving it would have been even more dangerous. On 11/1/2014 the power steering failed with the same warning. Attempts to turn of and restart the vehicle did not solve the problem. The Ford dealership stated the electric power steering failed, told me that it was common in vehicles with electric power steering. Cost for my repair was $1,900.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #18

Oct 252014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was leaving my driveway when the car made a chiming noise and the power steering cut out. The traction control is also locked on engaged. It takes noticeable and increased effort to turn the steering wheel. The car is not safe to drive due to the inability to make sharp turns. I often end up partially in the other lane before being able to complete a turn. I am a single mother of three children and in college. I have heard the repair is estimated to be around $1,900 and the only person in town who can fix it is the dealer.

- Topeka , KS, USA

problem #17

Oct 132014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 81,866 miles
I was driving down the a street at 45mph and a power steering fault or failure message came on my instrument cluster. Also the traction control light came on as if the traction control system was off. Most importantly I lost my power steering. With great effort I was able to control the car and pull it off to the side of the road. I turned the car off and turned it back on. The traction control light was still on but the power steering came started working again.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #16

Sep 172014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • miles
We can't steer the car, electric power assisted steering epas, had the computer codes reset and still did not fix my car! I have put enough money into this car, and now the "computer" is telling me that I have to replace a very expensive part that Ford is only covering for some of their [xxx] vehicles. This part is approx. $1600 not happy with Ford...they are getting as bad as GM owning up to their B.S.! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Minerva, OH, USA

problem #15

May 212013

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Power steering assist has failed with dash indication on 3 separate occasions; the first was in May 2013, the 2nd in July 2014, and the 3rd time in Sept. 2014. The 1st and 3rd occasions were at slow speeds (>10 mph) during a turn; the 2nd occasion occurred at 60 mph on a straight (thankfully) highway. That could become a serious problem in on a curvy freeway at higher speeds. After the 1st occasion, we took it into the local Ford dealer who told us that there was absolutely no problem with our vehicle. All 3 occasions cleared after turning the vehicle off and then back on. Current mileage is 146,000.

- Grantsville, UT, USA

problem #14

Mar 062013

Fusion Hybrid

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering has "gone out" twice. The most recent time is around 8/1/14 at 69000 mi. The dealer is able to correct the problem, but can't explain the cause or remedy adequately. They've pointed to possible tire pressure issues, but the tire pressure have been close to if not at the recommended level and we get the impression that the problem fixes itself during servicing. This car has had a multitude of "little" problems - e.g. air bag malfunction message w/ no apparent cause, tire pressure fault light on when tire pressure is correct (they replaced a part and it was corrected), now the air conditioning on the passenger side intermittently works and intermittently sends out very hot air instead of cool air while the vents on the driver side are blowing cold air.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 202014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 95,090 miles
On 9/20/2014 at approximately 5:30pm, while driving home at 45 miles per hour the service power steering and service advance trac alerts appear on the screen. The vehicle began to slow down and the steering wheel became difficult to operate. Now the vehicle starts, moves extremely slow, the steering wheel is very rigid and is difficult to handle. I can't operate my vehicle and I have an appointment to have it checked at the local Ford dealership for the 3rd time. Similar incidents took place in March 2013 and May 2013. I paid approximately $ 140 twice to repair the same problem at my local Ford dealership. This is a major hazard and could lead to major accident when driving at high speed. Yet, the repair that was provided was update of the software. And no permanent solution. When am supposed to know when to update the software?

- Callicoon, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 202014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 95,090 miles
On 9/20/2014 at approximately 5:30pm, while driving home at 45 miles per hour the service power steering and service advance trac alerts appear on the screen. The vehicle began to slow down and the steering wheel became difficult to operate. Now the vehicle starts, moves extremely slow, the steering wheel is very rigid and is difficult to handle. I can't operate my vehicle and I have an appointment to have it checked at the local Ford dealership for the 3rd time. Similar incidents took place in March 2013 and May 2013. I paid approximately $ 140 twice to repair the same problem at my local Ford dealership. This is a major hazard and could lead to major accident when driving at high speed. Yet, the repair that was provided was update of the software. And no permanent solution. When am supposed to know when to update the software?

- Callicoon, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 202014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 95,090 miles
On 9/20/2014 at approximately 5:30pm, while driving home at 45 miles per hour the service power steering and service advance trac alerts appear on the screen. The vehicle began to slow down and the steering wheel became difficult to operate. Now the vehicle starts, moves extremely slow, the steering wheel is very rigid and is difficult to handle. I can't operate my vehicle and I have an appointment to have it checked at the local Ford dealership for the 3rd time. Similar incidents took place in March 2013 and May 2013. I paid approximately $ 140 twice to repair the same problem at my local Ford dealership. This is a major hazard and could lead to major accident when driving at high speed. Yet, the repair that was provided was update of the software. And no permanent solution. When am supposed to know when to update the software?

- Callicoon, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 062013

Fusion Hybrid

  • 65,109 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed. The contact also stated that the power steering and advance trac warning light illuminated. As a result, the contact had to use excessive force to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the software needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,109.

- Callicoon, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 132014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 96,000 miles
Warnings to "service power steering" and to "service traction control" started blinking alternatively on the dash board while driving. After the car was shut off, all power steering was lost. Had to replace the steering track at about $1500 personal cost because vehicle is out of warranty. Within four weeks of replacement of the steering shaft the same warnings came on the dash again and the car has lost its power steering again after the cut was turned off. While supposedly this replacement shaft is under warranty (because it is only 4 weeks old), the towing and other costs are not. It appears both the original and replacement shafts are defective and dangerous and should be recalled and replaced at the cost of Ford, not the owner. (Ford already has numerous other models recalled for power steering problems.) a request for some form of follow up is pending with Ford, but no ownership of the issue has been made.

- Meredith, NH, USA

problem #8

Jul 312014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 23,000 miles
Car lost power steering both while parked and when driving. Replacement cost was $2200 including realignment.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 022014

Fusion Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 76,890 miles
Going slow on a side ride and the power steering completely cut out. Almost crashed into a parked car. Took a serious amount of effort to turn the wheel while moving and was quite dangerous trying to get it to the mechanic shop.

- Elkridge, MD, USA

problem #6

May 132014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
I am out of town, and yesterday I was driving the main strip in branson and out of nowhere a light on my dash appeared saying "service power steering" and "service auto trac" I thought "that's weird" so I drove 1 1/2 miles to the very next gas station, pulled in and turned off car and googled power steering problems with Ford Fusion hybrid, to my dismay, I did not find anything on the Ford site that I could do, so I turned on the car and decided to deal with it in the morning after all it was 10pm and no where would be open. I pulled forward out of the gas station and tried to turn and then car dash prompt said "service power steering immediately" and the steering wheel locked up tight and was unmovable. I was going around 5mph when steering locked up and pulling into traffic. I stopped and called a tow truck and sent it to a Ford dealership in branson where I was at the time. Mechanic said I need a new "steering gear" I was thankful for the warning but it wasn't much on one considering it was less then 2 miles later that it was completely locked up and "service power steering immediately" light came on, thank god for a close gas station and no traffic when I pulled out and it locked up on me. But after researching this is a known problem and some people were going a whole lot faster then I was when this happened to them. This has been my only complaint with this car, but in my opinion it's pretty major. When the car that has no way to add power steering fluid and it fails and you are driving across states with your family of 5 and no warnings till the very last second and then completely locks up on you, it's very dangerous. What if I would have waited till I got to the hotel to check the car, something needs to be done to fix this problem, none of my other cars have ever done anything like this, I had no way of knowing and no way to prevent it from happening.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #5

Apr 102014

Fusion Hybrid

  • 312,000 miles
I came home from grocery shopping and the next day around noon when I went to turn the car on it started beeping and flashing on the dashboard saying service power steering now, needles to say the car is not safe to drive in that condition I tried but its just to hard and unsafe to do so, I went online and notice there is a lot of other drivers with the same vehicle that have the same issue even while driving thank god I wasn't please look in to these cars history thanks!

- Concord, CA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?