Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,794 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Mustang engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Nov 252010


  • 78,250 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated intermittently; at first, the contact believed the problem to be because of driver error. On November 25, 2010 while the vehicle was idling, it suddenly accelerated and crashed into a vehicle in front although the contact depressed the brake pedal. A police report was filed. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The current and failure mileages were 78,250.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 012010


  • miles
I am the owner of a 2005 Mustang. I have already had to replace the throttle body as my car (which is an automatic) would randomly stall out at lights. One time leaving me stranded in the intersection. It is very difficult to fill my gas tank as the gas pump nozzle kicks back for some reason while pumping. My speedometer will read inaccurately at times, sometimes reading extremely high numbers, sometimes not at all. I am using gps and my own discrection when gauging how fast I'm going. After a heavy rainstorm, when making left turns, my passenger floor becomes flooded by water pouring out from under the passenger side dashboard. My passengers feet get soaked as well as carpet, floormat and any other things I have in the floor board.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #19

Sep 012010


  • 70,000 miles
On September 1, 2010, the gas gauge on the vehicle failed - reading more than full, and other various irregular readings. Repaired for $75, then failed again next day. Have not repaired again as dealer estimates cost at $1500 due to multiple failures according to their tests. Gas light still works when fuel is very low. On November 1, 2010, the speedometer failed - reading 80 mph when vehicle is stopped. Have not repaired, using gps to estimate speed. I contacted Ford about these issues as they seem very common with this model & year vehicle by a quick search online. They advised that I should just get it fixed at the closest dealership. Given the frequency of this failure I feel they should be responsible as the original parts must be faulty given the number of people posting the same issues online. Ford advised that your Agency was the only one that could order a recall. I would think that knowing how much gas you have or knowing how fast you are going are valid safety issues that Ford should be required to fix at their expense.

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #18

Jan 142010


  • 58,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. While driving at 60 mph, the instrumental panel gauges failed and became inoperable. In addition, when accelerating the vehicle would abnormally accelerate at a rapid pace. The dealer advised there was an electronic sensor that would potentially need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed for the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 58,000 and the current mileage was 72,000.

- Marrietta, GA, USA

problem #17

May 062010


  • 7,515 miles
When the brake pedal is pressed the engine revs up and the car accelerates before starting to slow down. This has occurred 4 times recently.

- Bridgewater , VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 262009


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. Whenever the contact attempts to accelerate, the vehicle will not accelerate to the desired speed. She noticed that the maintenance light would illuminate on the instrument panel when the failure occurred. The dealer stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- West Toluca Lake, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 012009


  • 24,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerates on its own. The first failure occurred in February of 2009 while driving 20 mph. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced an unspecified part. On May 25, 2008, while slowing down at an intersection, the vehicle proceeded to accelerate. The contact depressed the brake pedal with both feet, but the vehicle continued to accelerate and proceed through traffic. She was able to steer into a parking lot and place the gear into neutral to stop the vehicle. She waited for a while before restarting the vehicle and driving to her residence. The vehicle will be towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the part they replaced could be defective and may have caused the failure to recur. They further stated that if the repair is electrical, it could be very costly because the vehicle is out of warranty. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 24,000 and current mileage was 32,000.

- Gary , IN, USA

problem #14

Nov 112008


  • 49,000 miles
Three times in the last 3 years, my daughter's Mustang experienced uncontrolled acceleration. The engine raced without pushing on the accelerator. The brake was useless. Twice she was in traffic and narrowly avoided a crash. This week my wife was using the car and it did the same thing, and she crashed into a building. She was backing out of a parking space when it happened, hitting a pole. Then, when placed in drive, the car raced forward. Again the brake was ineffective. Two years ago, this was reported to a Ford dealer, who didn't find, nor fix, anything. Strangely, they now have no record of the problem being reported. However, Ford does.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 032008

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Mustang accelerates on its own. Consumer states that the vehicle will accelerate on its own. He states that the RPM's would be up to 1500. He states that since then, now it accelerates up to 2500 RPM's. a flight recorder was installed in the vehicle. The flight recorder captured the problem the consumer was referring to. The flight recorder was then sent to Ford engineering and they stated the computer was demanding the vehicle to accelerate. The consumer also stated the transmission did not shift smoothly. The transmission would clunk when the clutch was let out, especially in lower gears.

- Keysville, GA, USA

problem #12

Jan 182008

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Speedometer sticks in my 2005 Ford Mustang. It seems to do this when it is cold out. It does this all the time. I bought the vehicle used.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #11

Apr 012006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. While driving 50 mph the accelerator pedal automatically depressed to the floorboard. The vehicle speed increased to approximately 80 mph. The contact depressed the brake three times before the vehicle stopped. The dealer stated that there were no recalls and would not be able to help. The manufacturer informed the contact to call back if the failure recurred. The current and failure mileage were 20,000.

- Valliant, OK, USA

problem #10

Dec 272006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 500 miles
- the contact stated that while idling the engine would suddenly rev up to 2500 RPM. The 2005 Ford Mustang would then lunge forward, causing the vehicle to accelerate without touching the gas pedal. The contact stated that he has been experiencing this failure since he purchase the vehicle. The contact currently has the vehicle at sheltz Ford and this is the first time he has brought it to this dealership, but took it to four different dealership trying to fix the vehicle's malfunction. The dealerships stated that there isn't anything wrong with the vehicle and that he might be driving the vehicle incorrectly. Updated 1/29/2006 - when the vehicle was taken to the dealer they informed him that the high rev would go away and that it was a normal break-in condition.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #9

May 142006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,698 miles
While backing into my garage, foot on brake, shifted into reverse, car took off full throttle. Hit wall of garage bounced off wall hit concrete retaining wall. Damage to passenger side back qtr panel, rear end and buckled the driver side. Damages est over $6000. Took back to Ford and they said found nothing wrong with vehicle.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 152006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,200 miles
I was driving 30-35 miles on a busy street (over pass) in a 2005 Ford Mustang with my wife. The car went crazy unintended sudden acceleration with a frightening noise. I tried desperately to stop the car by braking hard and meantime to avoid the cars ahead and opposite coming cars. The car would not stop. I applied hand brake, that did not help either only to leave heavy skid mark and the car to spin once thankfully in a corner of a three way road, at that stage I tried to put the car in park position, but the second the gear reached the reverse mark the car went full speed backwards crossing the busy nordhoff way hitting a pole and fire pump and with car tires spinning at full speed at the moment I managed to put the car in park position and turn off the engine. Luckily nothing serious happened to me and my wife and no car or other person.thanks to god. How.? I don't know, someone up there must have taken care of us and the others because this street is near a shopping mall and the day was Saturday 15 April and tim was 1 pm afternoon. The police and fire team got there immediately and there is a police report of the incident. I have hard time to convince insurance allstate and Ford dealers to assign an engineer to look into the matter. I need your advise please. W E are emotionally disturbed.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 282006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,600 miles
I was driving through a shopping center parking lot at a speed of approximately 5-10 mph, approaching a stop sign. There were about three cars ahead of me. As I applied the brakes, the engine suddenly revved and bucked 3 times right into the back of the vehicle in front of me. The brakes were applied throughout, but did not stop the vehicle. That Monday vehicle was taken to Ford dealership and they could not duplicate problem, therefore no assessment was made. They suggested the after market floor mat I was using could have possibly been the cause for the sudden acceleration. I disagree, the floor mat was very heavy and did not shift about and was not in the way of the accelerator pedal; although, I have removed the floor mat. Any further incidents will be reported.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #6

Nov 022005

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,380 miles
The consumer stated when pulling into a parking lot at a very low speed the vehicle suddenly accelerated when brake pressure was applied. The vehicle slowed then quickly surged forward. He placed the vehicle into neutral and turned the engine off. He took the vehicle to the dealer, who inspected the vehicle. The diagnostic test did not show any codes. They could not duplicate the problem. The dealer insisted there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. No repairs have been made at this time. Updated 12/07/05.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #5

Aug 302005

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2005 Ford Mustang GT -had an electrical system problem which resulted in a crash. While turning off of the highway into a residential area the transmission malfunctioned causing uncontrollable acceleration. The brakes were appliedbut the vehicle continued to accelerate. The front brakes did not stop the vehicle. The vehicle went into a clock wise spin. The car turned onto the driver's side and then hit a tree. What happened next was that the electrical system was still acting strange, the trunk opened and trying to close it back down the lights came off and on. The door locks would lock and unlock by themselves. The vehicle had $6,300 worth of damage. The dealership did not assist the consumer with anything. The vehicle was purchased on August 29, 2005 as a new vehicle which only had 72 miles on it. Upon impact the airbags did not deploy and the fuel cut off switch did not activate. A police report was taken.

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #4

Aug 252005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,915 miles
I was fully stopped and was parking my car. Made a left turn and came to full stop. Trying to see that if I had enough space to clear parked car on left released brake pedal and car took off at the speeds of 3 to 5 mph hitting the parked trucked on the right.

- Southriding, VA, USA

problem #3

Aug 092005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,400 miles
While backing car into garage vehicle was in reverse. Consumer had to put it in drive to move forward a bit with foot on the brake at the time. With slight brake pressure and ease the engine revved and lunged forward and struck the right side on driver's side mirror into the side the garage when the vehicle accelerated forward. Consumer was able to get control of vehicle by slamming on the brakes and putting ignition into park which stopped the acceleration. Had towed to a Ford dealer, who did a diagnostics check which reported no codes or failures. The car was in dealer 2 days with no repairs, no problems were found. Would not fix mirror because they could not duplicate a problem. This was the first and only incident.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 082005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles
The consumer states throttle got stuck with the brake on. The vehicle sped up real fast;.the consumer turned the vehicle off. He then pulled the vehicle over to the center lane and started the car again. This happened on July 8, 2005, it has not happened since. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, but they could not duplicate the problem.

- Texas City, TX, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?