Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Mustang fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Mustang Owner Comments

problem #6

Sep 132006

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,994 miles


: the contact stated while fueling the vehicle, the fuel pump shut off before the tank was full. In order to fill the tank, the contact had to trick the sensor by putting the nozzle in the middle and continued pumping. This caused the contact to guess at when the tank was actually full and would sometimes lead to overfilling the tank causing gasoline to spill onto the pavement.

- Bryan, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 082005


  • miles
Purchased my Mustang on 4-05 and have had one problem after another. I brought car in on 12-05 for gas tank problem because I can't fill my gas tank up it keeps shutting off like it's full. I have to hold the nozzle upside down to get gas in my tank and stand back from it because it throws gas back at me. They said that they updated gas tank still problem. 6-2-06 took car in for same problem said they could'nt fix it and try using other gas stations tried that same problem.6-8-06 received phone call from the service mgr said they can fix my problem can you bring it in.6-13-06 brought car in for gas tank and hesitation in gas pedal which almost caused me to get in an accident.6-13-06 received phone call said they could not fix the problem with tank or gas pedal. I ask to speak to the gen mgr I explained my problems to him and he didn't want to listen to what I had to say that I needed to talk to the service mgr. I had to explain the problem again to the service mgr that they couldn't fix it. So why did you call me on 6-8-06 an ask me to bring it back in.the service mgr said this was not acceptable that he would take care of it.received phone call on 6-14-05 said they found the problem with gas pedal that it's the fuel pump and the tank that there going to re-route the filler neck hose and this should fix the problem. They said they will call me on 6-15-06 and let me know the outcome.6-16-06 I picked up my car and they said they tried to re-route the line and it still diid'nt work. I followed up with the service mgr that I don't want this car anymore and demanded my money back. He said that a factory rep would be contacting me and would be asking me a few questions and then we would be starting the paperwork.6-20-06 received phone call on my cell from service mgr stating that he had spoke to the factory rep. And he said that there's nothing more that the dealer can do for me on my car he told the service manager to tell me to call Consumer Affairs.

- Pollock Pines, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 302005

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Intermittently will not allow a full fill-up on gas. Several different gas stations tested. Only allows for half tank fillup. Seems to worsen when the weather is cold.

- Tujunga, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 262005

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles


Pinion gear in rear end whined while traveling on interstate during weekend trip. Stopped at Ford dealership where a technician road tested and examined vehicle. Stated that we could drive and still finish weekend trip but to contact purchase dealership for warranty work. That was done the parts took 5 weeks to come in for the 2005 GT Mustang. Repair completed and car running nearly fine. On occassions we have difficulty fueling. The gas fuel pump at the station will click off and we get only partially fuel the GT.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #2

Aug 042005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,858 miles
Purchased our 2005 Mustang convertible on 4/27/05, after waiting two months for it to be built. Started having a problem with vehicle taking in fuel after about a month of ownership. Tried several gas stations to be sure it wasn't a pump problem, but made no difference. Called don reid Ford in July and asked about problem and was informed there was a service bulletin on the issue and they ordered a new gas tank. Tank was installed on 8/4/05 and filled up without a problem for the first 2 tanks. After that the gas pump started clicking off again after the third fill up. Tried different gas stations again and had the same results on the next two fill ups. Took vehicle back to dealer on 9/12/05 and was told they would have to test some things and call a Ford engineer on the matter. Was called by my service advisor on 8/14/05 and told that Ford was aware of the problem and the engineer told my advisor and the service manager that "if all the stars were aligned, they would have a fix in about 90 days." I was told by my service advisor that I should try using gas stations with slower pumps until they get the fix...and I paid $27,570 for that answer"?"

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #1

Jun 122005

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Cannot fill up gas tank. Once the tank is half full, the pump stops. This has happened twice - first time on 6/12/2005 & 6/22/2005. We purchased the 2005 Mustang on 6/1/05 and could only fill it up once without the pump stopping. The car was looked at by a Ford dealership and a new gas tank has been ordered. Will follow-up in the next few weeks to see if this will correct the problem.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?