Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,960 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #78

Mar 012016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V384000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Rocky Face, GA, USA

problem #77

Jun 012016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #76

Aug 132016

Mustang

  • 109,000 miles
Mustang had front driver airbag inflator recall, took over a year to get this fixed, while being repaired, airbag light constant illuminated on dash panel, dealership ran diagnostic, indicated passenger seatbelt retractor and or sensor malfunction, within 2 days of picking up car received notice in mail of yet another airbag recall, passenger side inflator. Contacted Ford customer service regarding the passenger seatbelt retractor airbag sensor and was told has nothing to do with current recall and nothing will be done with this issue.

- Taylors, SC, USA

problem #75

Aug 192016

Mustang

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #74

Aug 082016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - I have received two recall notices from Ford on my vehicle. My dealer tells me parts are not available.Ford says parts are available, the dealer says they are not.

- Park Hills, KY, USA

problem #73

Jun 012016

Mustang

  • miles
On July 2015, I received a recall notice from Ford for the "front driver side air bag inflator housing". it told me that Ford would send me a second notice when parts where available since this was supposedly a very wide spread problem. On June 2016, I receive this second notice stating that parts were ready and to "call my dealer without delay and request service". I did this immediately. I was told by parr Ford that they didn't know where I got the letter from but parts were not available and that they would order them and call me when they came in. It is now August 2016 and according to them, they don't have the parts that they said they were ordering back in June. If Ford was not going to provide their dealerships with the parts, then why would they have sent me a letter saying that parts were available. I believe this dealership is not willing to perform the recall notice and they are the only Ford dealership in a 50 mile radius. Either that or Ford Motor Company is sending out false information in their recall notices.

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #72

May 252016

Mustang

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 25th, 2016 I was driving my 2010 Ford Mustang down vineville avenue when a car stopped in front of me and my car came crashing in to theirs, my front end of my vehicle went under the tail of their car, upon impact my airbags did not deploy. On that day I was getting another chance at life, thankfully I had my seat belt on, because I could have been easily another addition on the list of fatalities. I contacted Ford about my air bags not deploying and they had me to take my vehicle to riverside Ford in macon ga for testing on July 8th. After performing two test Ford still couldn't figure out why my air bags didn't deploy. Ford finally did one more test and they concluded that the air bag sensors went under the vehicle and missed all of the impact of the accident.because of how the vehicle was made. I was beyond blessed to have not been severely injured but what if the next person isn't as lucky as I am. I am writing this vehicle complaint not only for my self but to hopefully save the life of someone else. The mother coming home form work, the young adult headed to graduation, he or she who have been deployed and on the way home to see his or her family any and everyone could be affected by this. I hope no I am begging that you look into this matter. There are over 400, million drivers lets keep them safe. Thank you for your time I will be sending all of my documents(police report, pictures and Ford report) via mail. Updated 08/17/16

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #71

Jun 152016

Mustang

  • miles
Can not get a local dealer to cooperate in the replacement. Vehicle was bought out of state and seems to be a issue as one dealer told me the air bag parts are for their customers. Another tells me I have to have it there by 7 am and can pick up when they call me. Says good chance it will be done in the same day. Also I live 20 miles away from dealership and have no means to return home.

- Azle, TX, USA

problem #70

Jul 272016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification for more than a year of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 09/13/16 updated 10/18/16.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #69

Jul 202016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Asheboro, NC, USA

problem #68

Jul 012015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/24/16.

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #67

Jul 122016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Belle Mead, NJ, USA

problem #66

Jun 082015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #65

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Edmund, OK, USA

problem #64

Jun 102015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cedar Grove, WI, USA

problem #63

Jun 272016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #62

Jul 132015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #61

Jun 082016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Gassaway, WV, USA

problem #60

May 272015

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/16/16 the consumer received word, the part is in stock. Updated 08/30/16.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #59

Jun 132016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the parts were not available and would not become available until the end of the year. The manufacturer's recall notice indicated that the parts were available; however, the dealer stated otherwise. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Corydon, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?