Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,176 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Mustang transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #95

Nov 262011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 8,000 miles


The clutch makes a cracking noise. When I shift between 1st and 3rd it can be difficult at times depending on the temperature. The symptoms are not consistent.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #94

May 272011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 455 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang GT. The contact stated while driving 25 mph the vehicle would not down shift. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and stated there was no failure. The manufacturer also stated there was no failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 455 and the current mileage was 17,000. Updated 11/14/11 the consumer stated Ford engineers inspected the vehicle and founds nothing wrong. Updated 11/18/11

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #93

Sep 032011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 11,900 miles
My 2011 Mustang joined the list of broken 6 speed manual cars. Will not shift into 5 gear causing a stall at 45mph or skip a gear and thats saying it lets you have 3rd gear. This problem is so bad that Ford is paying for rent cars when they don't have to. I've already traded 1 2011 Mustang in for for this one with both having transmisson having issues at 12,000 miles. This is becoming a bad joke of a car to say the least. It is also very easy to go backwards with first gear going into reverse instead. Transmisson is a bad joke.

- Madisonville, TX, USA

problem #92

Aug 102011

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 8,200 miles


2011 Ford Mustang 3.6L,6speed manual transmission. 1st and 2nd gear is hard to shift into, especially in the mornings. I have to come to almost a complete stop and let the rpms drop down to almost a idle before shifting into 2nd. If I didn't do that and drove it normal 2nd gear would "rake" but I love my Mustang and would never do anything to cause damage to it. I just want the issue resolved.

- Hazard, KY, USA

problem #91

Dec 152010

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
6 speed manual transmission hangs when shifting from 1st - 2nd or 2nd - 3rd under acceleration. This has happened multiple times but began to happen soon after purchase. This is especially hazardous on the interstate when trying to merge into traffic from a stopped position. Barely avoided being rear ended due to loss of forward momentum.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #90

Dec 102010

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,600 miles
Owner of a 2011 Mustang GT with 6 spd manual transmission. Have had problems with rough shifting since 2000 miles. Have taken it into Ford dealership 3 times so far. One time my transmission actually started leaking and Ford was able to fix the leak but not the shifting. Rough shifting occurs in 1st-2nd-3rd gear. Sometimes I get stuck at lights trying to force it into first gear. Ford has had tech's drive it multiple times and they tell me its normal, that's as far as the investigation has gone. I have 10,000 miles on the car and the shifting is only getting worse. Taking it into a new Ford dealership to see if they will be more helpful in finding out what the problem is and actually fixing it. Very disappointing with the way Ford treats their customers.

- Idaho, ID, USA

problem #89

Jul 012011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 1,600 miles


2011 Ford shelby Mustang GT500 transmission problems. Grinding and difficulty downshifting into 4th and 2nd. Loud whining in 1st gear.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #88

Sep 012011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
While driving my 2011 Ford Mustang GT, the manual transmission would not allow me to shift into 3rd or 4th gear. I was turning left into an intersection and was unable to power the vehicle to safely make the turn. After making the vehicle come to a nearly complete stop, I was able to shift into second and get out of the way of oncoming traffic. Luckily the traffic was extra far away or else I wouldn't have had the time to slow and force the car into 2nd gear. This problem seems to be getting worse & the car only has 5K miles.

- Ks, KS, USA

problem #87

Sep 012011


  • 12,600 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang GT. The contact stated while driving 30 mph he was unable to shift gears. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 12,600.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #86

Aug 012011


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2011 Mustang GT-500. Consumer states transmission problems with vehicle the consumer stated right from the beginning shifting up and down was difficult. The consumer stated the vehicle would not go into 2nd gear from 1st gear under a moderately high RPM.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #85

Jul 282011


  • 6,200 miles


Here's what I'm experiencing. 1. clutch pedal sticks to floor at higher RPM shifts (5000 plus) and will not release until RPM has lowered to less than 3500 RPM. Doesn"T matter what gear I"M shifting into. 2. I was locked into 2nd gear when clutch pedal was stuck to floor. The shifter would not allow me to pull out of 2nd to go to 3rd until I slowed down (less than 3500 RPM) and clutch released. Then once I pushed the clutch back in after it released I was able to shift from 2nd to 3rd. 3. at a higher RPM shift (5000 plus) I was not able to shift from 2nd to 3rd. I was locked out of 3rd gear. I was getting onto the interstate and I had to slow down and then at a lower RPM (about 3500-4000) then I was able to shift into 3rd. 4. transmission will not allow me to go into reverse and 1st gear sometimes when clutch is pushed down to floor while the car is at a stop. If I let the clutch out and double pump it then it will let me but the transmission feels and sounds clunky. 5. not allowed to shift from 1st to 2nd sometimes and when it does finally go into gear, it feels like the shifter doesn?T fully engage into 2nd. 6. really hard sometimes to down shift back to 1st from any gear while driving with clutch fully depressed to floor. 7. sometimes there is a slight grinding noise going into 2nd with clutch fully depressed to floor. 8. slight grinding into 3rd sometimes with clutch fully depressed to floor. 9. slight grinding into 5th sometimes with clutch fully depressed to floor. 10. transmission feels and sounds clunky when shifting into all gears.

- Bellevue, NE, USA

problem #84

Mar 072011

Mustang 6-cyl

  • 91 miles
Day 1 (3/7/11) complained to selling dealership about stiffness / reluctance of vehicle to shift into 1st and 2nd gear. Selling dealer ) advised that the shifter will loosen up with some use. April / may / June and July pass with no real loosening and still the occasional refusal to go into gear. During June 2011 I start noticing a vibration eminating from the shifter at around 2500 RPM's on deceleration. I monitor this issue as the vibration is hard to replicate constantly. By August 2011 the transmission is vibrating excessivley in 2nd,3rd and 4th gears at 2500 rpms. Service appointment is scheduled with local dealer ( Maryland) for 15 Aug 11. Vehicle is serviced and to address continued shifting issues they complete tsb by replacing fluid. To address the excessive vibration they hand me a sheet called oasis special service message that states"some 2011 Mustangs equipped with 3.7L V-6 engine and MT82 manual transmission may exhibit a vibration in the shifter....between 3500 and 2000 RPM. This is normal operational characteristics and no repiars are required or recommended." I pick up my vehicle and not a block away the vibration is still there and the resistance to shift into 1st and 2nd gear is still there. As I have read up on the numerous complaints regarding both of these issues there was no reason to return it to the servicing dealer until Ford admits an issue and allows a repair. Your assistance as a government oversight is requested. Mileage on service date was 3,925. Current mileage is 4,139. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #83

Aug 172011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 13,600 miles
Anytime the engine is rotating over 4000 RPM's the 6 speed manual transmission will randomly be blocked from going into gear(any gear), leaving the vehicle in a neutral state and unable to accelerate like it has stalled. I am currently driving this car, but I do not drive it like I would like to, I have to be extremely careful not to pull out in front of anyone. This is easily duplicated, and to me it feels like the either 1, bad clutch not disengaging all the way, 2. transmission/shifter are out of alignment, 3. bad synchro's. I have not had it in to have it repaired, because from what I have been reading online Ford considers this normal. If it's normal, then I'll just sell the car that I personally ordered 6 months early and that I absolutely love, and mark this one down as a lesson learned.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #82

Aug 102011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 5,000 miles
2011 Mustang GT with manual transmission. Transmission failure. Car will not shift into any gear. I have been told it could take over a month to get the parts in because they are coming from europe.

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #81

Aug 122011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
2011 Mustang GT 6 speed transmission failure to go into 2nd gear.generaly happens during sharp left turn. I cannot even force it into 2nd. Doesn't always happen but enough to frustrate the [xxx]out me. I'm 62 years old and have driven any number of manual transmissions I don't understand what the problem is. It's a great car other than this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Camas, WA, USA

problem #80

Aug 172011


  • 4,800 miles
On a 2 lane road, speed limit 45 mph. Bus was pulled over in the right lane, slowed down to about 30 mph, an appropriate gap in traffic was coming up. Went to put car into 3rd gear after rev matching and 3rd gear was locked out. Had to swerve back behind the bus and slam on the breaks. This is not the first time a gear has been locked out and caused me to pull over onto the side of the road or shoulder.

- Medinah, IL, USA

problem #79

Jul 042011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
2011 Mustang GT with MT82 manual transmission. About 2500 miles. Car has been in service twice for hard, notchy shifting action whether warm or cold and grinding/popping out of 6th gear. It is very hard to get into gear most times while accelerating and I believe it to be a safety issue. Car is still currently in service and has been for the past month. Please look into a recall/fix for this issue. I know there are many many people experiencing similar problems but are probably not aware they can formally complain. Also this has happened every time I drive the car not just on the date listed.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #78

Aug 102011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang GT. While driving 25 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle made a loud noise and stalled. The dealer diagnosed that the vehicle would need a new transmission. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer denied any assistance after the failure recurred. The failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 4,500. Updated 09/15/11 the consumer was informed he would have to live with the problem, even when two mechanics were unable to get it out of 3rd gear. The consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 09/16/11

- Westfield, NJ, USA

problem #77

Apr 242011

Mustang 8-cyl Diesel

  • 500 miles
New 2011 Mustang GT 1400 miles MT82 transmission is very difficult to shift gears 2-3, and 3-4 shifts. This is very dangerous as on numerous occasions I could not shift the car into gear and had to bypass 3 & $ gear and shift to 5th gear to maintain my speed. I recall is required here.

- Valhalla, NY, USA

problem #76

Jul 132011

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
I have a 2011 Mustang GT 5.0L with 6-speed man transmission with 3000miles to date. On several occasions I have been locked out of 4th when trying to get on the highway both heavy and light throttle. One such incident nearly got me rear ended by an 18 wheeler. I am a ase certified technician and feel there is a synchronizer issue with these transmissions since many friends of mine have had similar incidents. Please look into this for I don't want to take it back to the dealer and hear there is nothing wrong with it again.

- Euless, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?