Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #86

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #85

Jul 062016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,150 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. While driving 70 mph in the left lane, the vehicle shifted into first gear and seized the rear tires while on an incline. The contact crashed into a guard rail on the driver side. The air bags deployed. A police report was filed that accused the contact of careless driving. The contact sustained bruising on the left side of the ribs, but medical attention was not required. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 16,150. Updated 10/28/16 the output speed sensor in the transmission from 70 mph in 6th gear to first and pushed the consumer down an incline into a guard rail. The consumer attached the recall letter to his complaint, regarding an issue with the output speed sensor. Updated 11/0/16.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #84

Sep 012016

Mustang 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to lack of communicate/schedule appointment through dealership for driver airbag inflator recall notice repairs.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #83

Jul 072016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: Received a recall letter from Ford Motor Company July 2015 and another July 2016. Contacted local Ford dealer concerning recall 2 months ago to have airbag inflator replaced. As of this date (9/2/2016) have received no word regarding part's arrival (dealership assured me they would call when part arrived). Please note that it has been over 1 year since receiving 1st recall letter and nearly 8 weeks and pending that part still has not come in.

- North Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #82

Jul 202016

Mustang

  • 42,845 miles
I got a letter on an important safety recall, this was in July I came down an spoke with michael at the Ford company on sage rd. In memphis tn. I have been waiting for him to cal me back once he order the part #15S21/ NHTSA recall 15V-319, it"S been a month now

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #81

Jun 012016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Blackstone, VA, USA

problem #80

Dec 012015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have asked the Ford dealership if there was a recall on my car because I received a letter some time ago and they deny that there is a recall. No attempt has been made to remedy this problem. I really would like to get this rectified before an accident happens.

- Atoka, TN, USA

problem #79

Jul 142016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the required part was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Little River, SC, USA

problem #78

Jul 012016

Mustang 8-cyl

  • miles
2012 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver airbag inflator housing recall notice 15V-319.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #77

May 272015

Mustang

  • 21,000 miles
Takata recall this recall is over a year old. "no remedy available". do I have to die first?

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #76

May 292015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact stated the vehicle struck a deer and the air bags deployed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new air bag. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact was not notified of the recall prior to the crash. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The contact had not experienced a failure. The mileage at the time of the crash was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hubbard, OH, USA

problem #75

Jul 172015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Thermopolis, WY, USA

problem #74

Jun 272016

Mustang

  • miles
Apparent takata recall, and I am having trouble getting anyone from Ford to help me get it done. First notice of any sort received in mail from Ford on June 27, 2016. Safety recall notice 15S21, NHTSA recall 15V-319. Says in part "parts are now available to report your vehicle." And "please call your dealer without delay and request a service date for recall 15S21." On June 28, I called lindsay Ford in wheaton md which said it did not have parts and would not know when they would. I called koon's Ford in silver spring md, which said parts would not be available until the fall. On June 30, I called the Ford customer relationship center to find out where to get this repaired; after interminable wait on their line, I finally spoke to a representative, who forwarded me to "kevin." He was unable to determine when parts would be available in my area. I am concerned that Ford has now sent me a letter, the first notice of any issue with my car, and quite alarming; Ford told me to call dealer right away, which I did, and neither of two dealers I called nor the Ford customer relationship center can seem to help.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #73

Jun 012012

Mustang

  • 5 miles
Dealers do not have parts. Ford Motor Co. Has requested that I call, and have them order the parts needed.

- Davidsonville, MD, USA

problem #72

Jun 272016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V248000 (power train) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect, VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #71

Jun 272016

Mustang

  • miles
I got a letter stating parts are in for recall 15S21 and I called dealer and said parts are on back order and wont be in till September

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #70

Jun 262015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Albion, RI, USA

problem #69

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Weston, CO, USA

problem #68

Jul 012015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall back in July 2015 I received a safety recall notice regarding the afore mentioned. In the notice we were informed that we would be contacted when parts became available Ford will notify us when we could schedule a service appointment. Almost a year later still no letter I have called our local dealer three times and Ford customer service and still there is no fix in sight for us - apparently. What is our recourse? we live in glendora California, if you can provide a dealer that is provided with parts for repair I would appreciate that. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glendora, CA, USA

problem #67

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fort Pirece, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?