Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,614 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #92

Nov 222016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact recieved notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonalbe amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #91

Jan 012013

Mustang

  • 100 miles
Takata recall. My Mustang is a 2013 and since moving from Minnesota to Florida I am now in a high humidity state and the risk has increased significantly that it may explode. I have contacted my Ford dealer many times and they keep saying Ford company is not providing air bags in a timely manner. I feel Ford should supply a replacement vehicle to me until my Mustang can be fixed.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #90

May 022016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #89

Nov 032016

Mustang

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall issued May 2015. I bought the car in Feb 2016 and dealership did not disclose recall notice. After multiple tries to get car fixed, Ford keeps puching back the date to get parts for recall. Car is not safe to drive.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #88

Apr 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall - notified in spring of 2015, notified again in spring of 2016. Still no resolution! car owners effected by this recall are advised to not drive until the issue is fixed as drivers/passengers may suffer critical injuries or loss of life due to the shrapnel from an air bag deployment. This is ridiculous. We're coming upon two years since initial official notification and the problem was known before that. Ford has only completed 16% of the repairs/replacements. I contact my dealership every couple of months and still nothing. Supposedly the last quarter of this year. Well that's here and still nothing. If it even happens before year's end, this is not good enough. My life and my loved one's are endangered on a daily basis due to a faulty component in a system that is supposed to protect and save lives. Government needs to step in and speed this up.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #87

Jul 132015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Caribou, ME, USA

problem #86

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I have not been able to get this fixed due to remedy is unavailable.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #85

Oct 212016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. This vehicle recall was issued in May 2015. That is over 18 months ago with still no resolution to this problem. Every time I ask Ford about this recall, they reply that parts are not yet available. I am apprehensive to operate this vehicle with an airbag that could potentially cause a fatality.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #84

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #83

May 012016

Mustang

  • miles
Received a recall letter in may of 2016. Dealer says they still don't have the replacement air bag.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #82

Aug 022012

Mustang 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Mustang has a recall for airbags for over a year and I have contacted the dealership they told me I'm on the list to have it replaced.. my question and complaint is why hasn't it been replaced yet. Ever time I drive I am in danger of being injured. Since your company is reliable for correcting the problem you should do so in a timely manner before something happens. I would like a response from you if atleast letting me know when your going to send my airbag replacement to my dealership. My car was purchased at rountree in shreveport la. My name is [xxx] my email is [xxx] my phone number is [xxx]... thank you information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #81

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
"takata recall"...I received an official notice of a recall from Ford dated 5/27/15 concerning the recall and the need to repair the driver side airbag on my 2013 Ford Mustang. I called my local Ford dealership to set up the appointment to correct the airbag defect on my car as described in the recall noticed I received in the mail approximately 1 week from the date on the recall notice. I was informed that there were no parts available to fix my car and that I must wait for the part to arrive. I've have since called my local dealership several times since then to inquire about the status of the part needed to repair the airbag defect on my car only to be told each time that no part is available to fix my car. Since I have no other source of transportation, I'm forced to drive this potentially unsafe car with a defect in the drivers side airbag that if an accident should occur and this airbag is deployed, I, the occupants of my car, and/or both may be killed by flying metal shrapnel from the faulty driver side airbag inflator! after waiting the first 6-8 months, I reached out to Ford customer service management to see if they would buy back my faulty and dangerous vehicle since no parts were available to fix my car's faulty airbag. Of course they declined. It is now 10/9/16 as of the writing of this complaint and still no repairs have been made to my car and no attempt to inform me of the status of the parts necessary for the repair of my car have been made by Ford. Any help your department may afford in resolving this open recall would be greatly appreciated!

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #80

May 282015

Mustang

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #79

Oct 032016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata airbag I heard in the news a few days ago that if you had a car with tacata airbags you could call the dealer and they would put you in a loaner car. I called galloway Ford whre I bouught the car spoke to hydee and she told me to call customers relations, I did I spoke to mckapae, she told me that they did not have a replacement and that they could not give me a loaner because of the car year

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #78

Oct 032015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

problem #77

Aug 052016

Mustang

  • miles
Airbag recall is issued on May 27, 2015. I bought my car from torkin gresham dealership on 5th of August. The recall says: Safety risk: An inflator rupture could result in metal fragments striking and potentially seriously injuring vehicle occupants. Remedy: Dealers will replace the driver airbag inflator with a new one, free of charge. Recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available dealership told me that I can easly go to a Ford service and replace the airbag for my safety, they accepted that they did not try to complete the recall before putting the car on the market. After I bought the car, I called a Ford service, and they told me that the remedy is not ready, the replacement parts are not provided by Ford yet. Did I buy an unsafe car" is it dealership's or Ford's fault" I want to replace the dangerous parts as soon as possible

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #76

Jul 022015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #75

Dec 032015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. We bought our 2013 Mustang from mitchel selig Ford in windsor ct on Dec. 3, 2015 with the recall on the air bags outstanding and we are still waiting for them to be fixed and only put about 250 miles on the car because of the danger of faulty airbags, and here it is almost Oct. 2016.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #74

Sep 262016

Mustang

  • 30,000 miles
When will repair S be completed has been over a year ?

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #73

Sep 232016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. I am trying to sell this vehicle to purchase a new vehicle. The trade in value is diminished and the loan value is too low for prospective buyers to purchase my vehicle. Ford is unable to remedy the recall issue in a timely manner.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?