Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #161

May 152015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall this car was purchased for my son and has no remedy for the airbag recall and the vehicle has been parked since March 23, 2016. Ford has no confirmed date of a new airbag. This recall has been issued since May 2015

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #160

Nov 282015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a recall letter in the mail more then a year ago saying my air bag needed to be replaced due to metal shrapnel that could impale me if I were to get in an accident. I received a new letter in the mail a few months ago saying the part would be available the 4th quarter of this year. It is now the end of November and they do not know when the part will be available. I understand there are many cars affected by the recall but it is worrisome to drive a car that could kill you if you are in an accident.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #159

May 012016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall, I have received 2 letters from Ford on this recall (15S21/NHTSA recall 15V-319) dated July 2015 and May 2016. The may letter stated Ford would have parts in the fourth quarter of this year. There are less than 45 days left in the fourth quarter with no word from Ford. I have called my dealer several times and they seem to be clueless as to what is going on with the air bag parts problem. There is no excuse for this on the dealers behalf, they should be able to keep there customers informed. Natsa should also be able to supply some information on the status of this recall.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #158

May 252016

Mustang

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" I was in an accident in may on a city street in motion, my airbag deployed. The air bag deployed on impact but I was only going 18 miles per hour.my car has been in the shop since the wreck waiting on an airbag park. Its completely unfair that the car not be totaled and it has been sitting in a lot for 6 months. Ford has been zero help, all I hear is the air bag is delayed and we don't have a date.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #157

May 282015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #156

Nov 072016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall it has been over a year since I received the recall notice on my airbag, and I still have not seen a replacement available.

- Simonton, TX, USA

problem #155

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hollister, MO, USA

problem #154

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • miles
I need this airbag issue resolved, I've waited long enough. I contacted Y'all in April 2016 and about a year prior to that in June 2015. I've talked to my local Ford dealer and everyone says no parts available and no loaner cars. Y'all act like getting behind a wheel of a car that can kill you from shrapnel deploying from the air bag is no big deal. My pregnant wife and I risk our lives daily in fear that a simple fender bender could be the death of us. I was quoted the airbag would be ready in the summer of 2016 and then later told 4th quarter of 2016. I'm growing impaitient. 1.5 years going on 2, and they've know about it way longer than that. Keep in mind takata denied it at first. I need answers and a plan of action of how you're going to make me feel safe again. Ps takata should be paying for rental cars for everyone until they go broke.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #153

May 272016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #152

Nov 012016

Mustang

  • miles
How can a dealership sell vehicles that have the airbag issue and has not replaced the air bag. I have a 2014 Mustang and am still waiting for Ford to replace my air bag. I was told I couldn't sell it until it was fixed, but the dealership here is selling a vehicle the very same model and make as mine and is selling it to the public. And when are they going to get this fixed? I am hesitant in driving the vehicle, because although I am not at an area that has the high humidity, someone could easily run into me and cause this airbag to activate. Ntsha should allow the dealerships to turn it off until they can replace it. The very same item that is supposed to save your life, can now kill you.

- Fruitland, ID, USA

problem #151

Oct 312016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - we still have not received notification a replacement airbag is available. I have spoken online to someone at Ford customer service, but they were not able to give me any answers. I am very concerned since this airbag caused a death near us.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #150

Oct 022016

Mustang

  • 0 miles
Driver airbag recalls as inflator rupture could result in metal fragments striking and seriously injuring me or passengers. Ford dealerships have been saying for a year they haven't received replacement airbags yet. They also will not offer other forms of compensation (e.g. replacing car or taking airbag out).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #149

Apr 012015

Mustang

  • miles
"takata recall" - I am wondering about the recall, I own a 2014 Ford Mustang GT which was on the recall list. I got my documentation almost 2 years ago now and nothing has been done from Ford or anyone. What is the standing on the recall? what are we to do as owners, these cars are unsafe and no one will take them on trade. And the finance companies aren't doing anything either

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #148

Jun 242016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #147

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
It has been 17 months since my vehicle was recalled for driver's air bag and still no parts are available. Unacceptable.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #146

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall no accident--received recall notice from Ford over one year ago in June of 2015....said the car would be repaired by 3rd quarter of this year car still has not been fixed due to apparently no parts to do so at dealer

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #145

May 282015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ponder, TX, USA

problem #144

May 272015

Mustang

  • 10,000 miles
Takata recall - recall issued over one year ago, with no current remedy in place. Tried to resolve last year when recall issued, no date given when remedy would be available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #143

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall -- it's been over a year since the initial recall notification, and parts are still not available to make the necessary repair. It's not reasonable to expect the vehicle to just be parked until replacement parts are made available.

- Aledo, TX, USA

problem #142

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall recall was initiated in may of 2015. This is still not resolved. It's pathetic that people who have already purchased vehicles have to drive around what could potentially be a ticking time bomb but the manufacturer can sell new models that haven't been bought by anyone and they get new airbags that I would hope would not potentially harmful the consumer.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?