Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,097 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Ranger body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Ranger Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 132013

Ranger 6-cyl

  • 79,960 miles


The frame on my 2001 Ford Ranger has completely rusted through just in front of the rear springs on the drivers side. The truck only has 80,000 miles on it and is otherwise in excellent shape. There is no rust on the body. It is now unsafe to drive.

- Blue Hill, ME, USA

problem #17

Sep 072009

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that several portions of the frame, fuel system, and brake drums were rusted. Both the rear and front ends of the frame were suffering from severe rusting and the fuel filler pipe was also rusted. In addition, the cross member was also rusted. The contact also stated that the rusting began approximately three years ago. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 137,000. Updated 12/20/11 updated 01/03/12

- Factoryville, PA, USA

problem #16

Aug 162011

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • 71,050 miles
Rear portion of frame and leaf spring brackets rotted frame has rotted through.

- Branford, CT, USA

problem #15

Aug 092011

Ranger 4-cyl

  • 280,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that after placing tags on the vehicle, she noticed that the frame was severley rusted. The vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer, nor had it been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were approximately 280,000. Updated 09/15/11 updated 01/20/11

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #14

Mar 282011

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2001 Ranger edge and the bumper mounts. Rear shackles and support plates that hold shackle have completely rusted and now the springs are sitting up against the bed of the truck also where the support plate mounts to the chassis there are huge rust holes so it can not be repaired. This truck is only 10 years old!!!! what can be done.

- Ballston Spa, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 192011


  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact noticed that the frame was rusted. Both the dealer and manufacturer were informed who advised the contact that there were no related recalls and offered no additional assistance. A private mechanic inspected the vehicle and stated that the frame completely corroded. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 57,000.

- Harts, WV, USA

problem #12

Feb 152011

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles


The frame on my 2001 Ford Ranger has rotted away. It has been deemed unsafe to drive by my state inspection center. I have been driving this truck with my children in it and it has been unsafe for quite a while without me knowing it.. it only has 95,000 miles and is now unusable. It is the truck I use for my carpentry work and I am now out of work.

- Spencertown, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 102010

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Ranger 4X4 extended cab - frame is completely rusted out in the rear and has holes rusted through in the front where suspension parts are mounted. Frame rusted out completely at rear spring mounts they broke loose went up and hit bed one side poked hole in bed. I called Ford and asked if they would do anything about it as Toyota has recently recalled trucks that have the same problem. They said they were not. If I would have been driving 70 mph on an interstate when the rear brackets broke loose someone could have been killed. This is a serious problem and should be addressed as Toyota has.

- Liberty, IN, USA

problem #10

Oct 202010

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that the vehicle frame was cracked and completely rusted due to corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and dealer where they advised that the frame completely rusted. Also, the technician recommended the vehicle not be driven due to a potential safety hazard. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 01/31/11 updated 03/16/11

- Moodus , CT, USA

problem #9

Dec 022005

Ranger 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger XLT. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that the rear wheels were sitting lower to the ground than usual. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the rear suspension was repaired. A few years later, the vehicle was taken to an independent repair facility to be inspected where the contact was informed the entire undercarriage was severely corroded. In addition, the hinges which held the fuel tank to the frame were severely corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,000 and the current mileage was 104,000. Updated 01/25/11 the vehicle also had an evap leak.

- North Kingstown, RI, USA

problem #8

Apr 042009


  • 82,000 miles


In 2001 purchased a new Ford 2001 XLT Ranger from a dealership. In March/April 2009, at 76,000 miles it became necessary to replace the entire rear brakeline system due to rot. In Dec /Jan 2009 the bed of the truck and the rear bumper became loose. In the early spring of 2010 the rear bumper fell off in my hands. The vehicle was set for service at an auto repair shop. Upon inspection the frame and bed attachment, leaf springs and frame attachments, main frame, were corroded and rotted with visible holes. The vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive. The repairs have not been undertaken because a suitable replacement frame is unavailable and repairs at this time are unaffordable.

- Holden, MA, USA

problem #7

Jul 122009


  • 90,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Ranger, which now has 96000 miles on it. I purchased it new. At approximately 90000 miles, the rear spring shackles rotted off of the frame. I was driving when this happened, and the truck bed dropped down on to the shackle ear with a tu=hud and shook the truck. The spare tire storage housing has also rusted away.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 082010


  • 88,000 miles
Rust on the frame of my truck has resulted in the truck need a new frame or I will have to junk the truck. Started in 2009 the bumper fell off and I had to put steel on the end of the frame to support the bumper. In 2010 the spring hanger broke and I was told that the frame was gone, from the back wheels to the bumper.

- Blue Hill, ME, USA

problem #5

Jul 102010


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact detected that the main frame exhibited large holes, broke and was covered with an excessive amount of rust. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for inspection. The technician stated that the frame was faulty and poorly designed. The rear spring mounts were replaced as a result of the rust corrosion. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Buckhannon, WV, USA

problem #4

Dec 082009


  • 52,000 miles
2001 Ford Ranger 2wd 52K miles. Rear frame rotted through at leaf spring brackets. Leaf spring brackets and shackles rotted apart from frame. Crossmember at fuel tank rotted through. Spare tire crossmember rotted. Major safety issue this may be related to road salt use but my other (older) vehicles never rotted out to this extent. Not sure what my final fix will be yet, but it will involve some patching and welding. Would like to replace frame, or at least back half of frame to feel confident that vehicle will be safe and last long enough to reach 100K miles. Disappointing failure from an american manufacturer.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #3

Oct 312009


  • 110,734 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Ranger and have a really bad rusting issue on the rear frame. The front half seems fine but the rear half is rusting really bad and I fear that since I have had large chunks of rusted metal fall off that more critical parts may be weakened by the bad rust. I belong to a Ranger forum and know that many have the same issue as me.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #2

Mar 012008


  • 136,000 miles
I purchased a 2001 Ford Ranger XLT two years ago and when I went to get a sticker on it last year I had to put a lot of money into having part of the frame replaced due to rot. This year I took it to quirk Ford in augusta to see what it would need before my sticker and was told that even if I get the basic regular maintenance done to get a sticker ($3K) it would never get a sticker again due to the rot in the rocker panels and the frame. I've contacted Ford as it is only 8 years old and shouldn't be in that condition. They will do nothing about it. I am stuck with paying the remainder $5800 I owe on the vehicle and I can't get out of it due to the negative equity because of the condition the vehicle is in. I am the only source of income for our family of 3 right now and I can't afford to make two vehicle payments. I live too far from work to walk. It really upsets me that I'm stuck with no options for an issue that shouldn't even be. Isn't there something that can be done about this??

- Gardiner, ME, USA

problem #1

Apr 012001

Ranger 4WD

  • miles
Door swellings started then a long list from the body frame to engine and transmission faliure occures when the tempature changes vehicle was leased brand new!!!!!!!

- Nelliston, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?