Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Ranger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Oct 082007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter dated August 2007 from: Frank M ligon Ford Motor Company. Po box 1904 dearborn, Michigan 48121 re: 2001 Ford Ranger the letter said that Ford Motor Company has decided that a defect which relates to motor vechicle safey exists in certain 1992-2004 vechicles equipped with speed control. I visted my dealer on October 8th 2007. The service advisor was steve doyle and the dealer's addresd is below: Day Ford 3696 william penn highway monroeville, pa 15146 phone: (412) 856-0600 or (412) 242-9900 fax: (412) 856 8728 the invoice number was 195792 and description on the invoice was: A perform recall 05S28 - cruise modification cause: Recall wip recall 05S28 - disconnect cruise 8207 W94 0.00 disconnect cruise de-activation switch as per recall. The dealer did not have the part to fix the cruise control but disconnected the cruise control to prevent engine fire. The part was suppose to be received late November. I called late November and was told the part would be received late December. I called late December and told the part would be received mid-January. I called January 23rd 2008 and told the part would not be available till April 2008. I would like to log a compliant. The original letter for the recall was August 2007 and I visited the dealer on October 8th 2007 and the part is still not availalbe to fix the vechile (that is six months). Any help addressing this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #24

Sep 152007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Ford 2001 Ranger was notified August 2007 of a safety defect with the speed control wiring. I went to my dealer, and was told the new wiring harness was not available, but the existing wiring was unplugged, which would disable the cruise control, & the new harness would be available in November. Immediately, after the dealer unplugged the speed control deactivation switch (scds), there was a fault light for the brake anti-lock system. I went back to the service department and ask why, & was told there was no connection to the speed control sensor. They said they 'fixed' the problem, and I drove home. In less than two miles the anti-lock brake light came back on. The next morning, the light came on twice while driving to and from work. Again the dealer said it was not related to the speed control problem. However, I have visited several web sites where many other people are also having the identical problem, which only started when the scds was disconnected, while waiting for their new wiring harness. When this warning light is on, the anti-lock brake system does not work. When I reconnected the scds, the warning light does not turn on and the anti-lock system works normally. I have called the dealer about this problem, and to ask when I can get the new wiring harness installed. I am being told the two problems are not related, and that there are not enough new harness kits available. I choose to have better brakes every day, so I have reconnected the scds until I can get the new wiring harness installed. How many other people are doing the same thing" how long is reasonable for Ford to delay getting the new harness installed"

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #23

Dec 222007

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
My 2001 Ford Ranger is affected by the speed control deactivation switch recall. I was initially informed about the recall by mail in August 2007. I contacted my local dealer for repair and was told there were insufficient parts to correct the defect. Though assets would be available in December. In late December I was told by the same dealership that parts were still not available.

- Alabaster, AL, USA

problem #22

Jan 112008

(reported on)

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Ranger consumer states that the dealer told him that the harness was not available at the time. Then he was informed that they might have the harness by mid January. Vehicle speed control recall 07V336000.

- Webster City, IA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000 (vehicle speed control) in June of 2007. The dealer stated that the part was unavailable and they would add his name to the waiting list. As of December 20, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 16,000. Updated 01/17/08

- Battle Town, KY, USA

problem #20

Sep 012007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000). The dealer stated that the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact felt that this was unacceptable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 50,000.

- Collinsville, VA, USA

problem #19

Aug 012007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notice in August of 2007 for NHTSA campaign id number 07C336000 (vehicle speed control). The dealer stated that the part was unavailable and they would call when the part arrived. As of November 27, 2007, the dealer had not called the contact. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 90,000. Updated 01-11-08. Updated 12/31/07

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #18

Nov 262007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that the vehicle will be unsafe to drive if the speed control switch is deactivated because it will also deactivate the ABS, which could then cause a crash. The manufacturer stated that the part will be unavailable until March of 2008. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 116,000. *updated 12/12/2007 updated 12/31/07

- Okland , AR, USA

problem #17

Oct 252007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In August I received a recall on my 2001 Ford Ranger. After 8 attempts to set up an appointment to have the fused wiring harness installed, which they never had in stock, I was told that they would disable my cruise control. I believe this in not a repair and is trading one problem, a possible fire. For another. I believe that a cruise control is a device to control speeding and a safety device.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #16

Oct 152007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. He received a safety recall notice#07V336000 for the vehicle speed control. The dealer stated on 10/15/2007 that the parts would not be available until December 2007 or January 2008. The contact stated that this time frame is unreasonable. The dealer was willing to disconnect the switch. The purchase date and the dealer information were not available. The current and failure mileages were 97,000. Updated 12/12/07 updated

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #15

Sep 202007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. While driving 35 mph, the contact noticed a burning smell followed by flames coming from the steering column and engine compartment. The vehicle was destroyed. As of September 28, 2007, the dealer and manufacturer had not inspected the vehicle. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign id number 07V336000). She felt that the vehicle speed control caused the fire. The current and failure mileages were 85,000.

- Williamsburg, KY, USA

problem #14

Sep 192007

(reported on)

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Ford Ranger with a recall on the cruise control. Customer states that he made an appointment to get the vehicle looked at. Customer said the mechanic unplugged the speed control wiring harness and then said they could fix it in December when they got the part. Updated 10/03/07.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 222007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,800 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. After the contacts vehicle was repaired under the speed control recall, the transmission began to fail. While driving between 50 and 55 mph, the transmission automatically shifts into neutral and the engine revs. The vehicle also shifts into neutral whenever the cruise control is engaged. The vehicle has been to the dealer twice regarding this failure. The dealer stated that the speed control recall repair was not the cause of the transmission failure. They stated that he needed a new transmission, which will cost $1,300. The NHTSA recall id number for the speed control was unknown. The current mileage was 66,100 and failure mileage was 65,800. Updated 09/25/07

- Oakdale, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 232007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. The vehicle was repaired at the dealer for NHTSA campaign number 07V336000 ( vehicle speed control). The dealer installed a fuse jumper. The contact stated that the horn failed and the air bag warning light illuminated after the repair was made. The current and failure mileages were 62,000.

- Holiday , TN, USA

problem #11

Aug 172007

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. He contact informed that he would have to wait until November to have recall work repaired for the vehicle speed control (NHTSA campaign 07V336000). There had been no failure to date.

- Poplar Buff, MO, USA

problem #10

Dec 052005

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 11,000 miles
: the contact stated after the vehicle was involved in an unrelated crash and repaired, the speedometer does not work. The contact was unable to view the speed or mileage on the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken for inspection or repairs.

- Epping, NH, USA

problem #9

Oct 012004

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The transmission was self destructive. It would not declutch from the engine. When using the brakes the vehicle would continue to surge forward. The vehicle was taken to amco and they found that the transmission had been grinding metal. Also, the vehicle had been to the Ford dealer twice, and they could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. The second time the vehicle was taken to the dealer, they flushed the fluid. There was a grinding noise immediately after. The dealer said they had too many recalls at the time, and it would take 5-7 weeks before getting to the consumers vehicle. This started October 1, 2004. (11/15/05)

- West Sacarmento, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 182004

Ranger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
When engaging the vehicle into drive, it accelerated without warning. No impact reported. Please provide additional information.

- Hopedale, OH, USA

problem #7

May 012002

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The consumer had problems with engine acceleration. It happened at different times. Dealer was contacted, and stated they were not able to find anything wrong with vehicle. Consumer added, the transmission shifted before the vehicle accelerated uncontrollably.

- Hatboro, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 282003

Ranger

  • 28,000 miles
The vehicle suddenly surged foward and hit another vehicle.

- Saint Cloud, MN, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?