Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,631 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford Ranger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jun 022016

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #46

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mon Eagle, TN, USA

problem #45

Dec 122015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #44

Feb 032016

Ranger

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #43

Dec 012015

Ranger

  • 0 miles
Takata recall- we were notified in Dec 2015 and Feb 2016 that parts were available for the recall on our truck, but when the dealer was called to schedule to have the air bags replaced, we were told they did not have the air bags. What's up with that? every day we have to wait for these bags to be replaced, we are taking a risk to our lives. Can you please see that dealers have the parts to replace the air bags in recalled cars.

- Morro Bay, CA, USA

problem #42

Dec 012015

Ranger

  • 0 miles
Takata recall- we were notified in Dec 2015 and Feb 2016 that parts were available for the recall on our truck, but when the dealer was called to schedule to have the air bags replaced, we were told they did not have the air bags. What's up with that? every day we have to wait for these bags to be replaced, we are taking a risk to our lives. Can you please see that dealers have the parts to replace the air bags in recalled cars.

- Morro Bay, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 232006

Ranger

  • 43,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In June of 2006 I was in an auto accident that totaled my 2004 Ford Ranger. During the course of the accident the drivers side airbag deployed with a great force that it messed up my neck with two discs and my left arm at the elbow which left a scar and I have difficulty using the said left arm, it's almost like a non existence limb as well as my lower back (I'm only 5 foot 2 inches) it messed up four disc pinching off nerves leaving my left leg froze up and I have to use a cane to be able to walk. I can not have surgery to fix the problems

- Orange Springs, FL, USA

problem #40

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. We have been waiting over three months for replacement of the driver side airbag. We have our children that drive this vehicle and putting them in danger. We want this fixed asap or a new Ford Ranger, without any issues, leased to us with Ford covering the cost until our vehicle is safe with new airbag replaced.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #39

Jun 022015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not avaliable.

- Morganton, NC, USA

problem #38

Feb 042016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #37

May 282015

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shippensburg, PA, USA

problem #36

Feb 102016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags). The parts were not available within a reasonable time frame to receive the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not able to provide a specific time frame that the parts may become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Clayton, DE, USA

problem #35

Jul 012015

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford Ranger. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair passenger airbag recall notice. The consumer stated seven months have passed, and there was still not word as to when the parts would be available.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 252015

Ranger

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Ford Ranger. While driving at an unknown speed and swerving to avoid pedestrians, the contact lost control of the vehicle. As a result, the driver crashed into a rock wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed. The driver sustained unknown injuries that needed medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a junkyard. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags) two months later. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Clintwood, VA, USA

problem #33

Mar 062013

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V036000 (air bags) and 15V322000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer confirmed that the parts were available for one of the recalls and would perform a temporary remedy for the other recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/15/16 the consumer stated the passenger side air bag was replaced. However, the driver's side needed to be replaced. Updated 06/28/16.

- Fairhaven, MA, USA

problem #32

Dec 012015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #31

Dec 072015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags); however, the remedy or parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #30

Dec 292015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- Rosamond, CA, USA

problem #29

Jan 302016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall: Notified of recall for passenger side airbags in July 2015, and immediately turned off air bags for passenger side. Notified of driver side airbag recall in January 2016. There is no way to turn off the driver side airbags by owner. I contacted my dealer today to request that my airbags be disconnected until parts are available, and was told that they were instructed not to take any action until the repair parts are available. I don't believe owners should be forced to continue driving unsafe vehicles. Manufacturer should be required to disconnect the air bags on all recalled vehicles or provide loaner vehicles to ensure the safety of owners until parts are available to make repairs.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #28

Jan 262016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Crownsville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?