10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,173 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford Ranger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Apr 012015

Ranger

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I received a recall notice that instructed me to contact my local Ford dealership so they could remove and replace the defective airbag. The dealer told me they did not have the part and did not have any estimated date for having that part.

- Ukiah, CA, USA

problem #58

Feb 012016

Ranger 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford Ranger. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver side airbag inflator recall notice. Consumer requests airbag deactivation until parts become available.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #57

Feb 082016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V322000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available. Updated 10/06/16

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #56

Feb 102016

Ranger

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was at a traffic light stopped behind one car. He started off but realized that it was a green turn signal. So he backed out of the intersection and bumped my truck. There was no damage to either vehicle. He was going about 2mph when he impacted my truck. Both airbags in my truck deployed. There was no one in the passenger seat and the driver bag hit me in the face breaking my crown. Then it just deflated. I have talked to Ford about the recall. They say they are only replacing inflators. I don't need an inflator because mine already improperly inflated! because the inflator was defective, now I have no airbags! because I could not get the inflator replaced, I have to pay to have new airbags installed. I do not think that is right. If the inflator had worked properly, the airbags would have never deployed and hit me in the face!

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #55

Jul 052016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #54

Mar 072016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Colona, IL, USA

problem #53

Feb 102016

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/22/16 the consumer stated the passenger air bag was replaced. However, the part for the driver's side was not available. Updated 10/05/16.

- Royal Center, IN, USA

problem #52

Feb 262016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #51

Mar 142016

Ranger 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 08/05/16 the consumer stated the dealer fixed the vehicle. Updated 08/15/16.

- Douglasville, PA, USA

problem #50

Jun 092016

Ranger

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. While driving 40 mph, the driver crashed into the rear of the preceding vehicle. The air bags deployed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The driver sustained injuries that required medical attention. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 36,000.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #49

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in February of 2016. The manufacturer stated that the parts were unavailable and was unsure when the parts would become available for repair. The contact believed that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #48

Jun 022016

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 145,000. Updated 07/12/16 updated 07/20/16

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #47

Jun 022016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #46

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V322000 (air bags) and 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mon Eagle, TN, USA

problem #45

Dec 122015

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #44

Feb 032016

Ranger

  • 36,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V036000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #43

Dec 012015

Ranger

  • 0 miles
Takata recall- we were notified in Dec 2015 and Feb 2016 that parts were available for the recall on our truck, but when the dealer was called to schedule to have the air bags replaced, we were told they did not have the air bags. What's up with that? every day we have to wait for these bags to be replaced, we are taking a risk to our lives. Can you please see that dealers have the parts to replace the air bags in recalled cars.

- Morro Bay, CA, USA

problem #42

Dec 012015

Ranger

  • 0 miles
Takata recall- we were notified in Dec 2015 and Feb 2016 that parts were available for the recall on our truck, but when the dealer was called to schedule to have the air bags replaced, we were told they did not have the air bags. What's up with that? every day we have to wait for these bags to be replaced, we are taking a risk to our lives. Can you please see that dealers have the parts to replace the air bags in recalled cars.

- Morro Bay, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 232006

Ranger

  • 43,500 miles
In June of 2006 I was in an auto accident that totaled my 2004 Ford Ranger. During the course of the accident the drivers side airbag deployed with a great force that it messed up my neck with two discs and my left arm at the elbow which left a scar and I have difficulty using the said left arm, it's almost like a non existence limb as well as my lower back (I'm only 5 foot 2 inches) it messed up four disc pinching off nerves leaving my left leg froze up and I have to use a cane to be able to walk. I can not have surgery to fix the problems

- Orange Springs, FL, USA

problem #40

Feb 012016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. We have been waiting over three months for replacement of the driver side airbag. We have our children that drive this vehicle and putting them in danger. We want this fixed asap or a new Ford Ranger, without any issues, leased to us with Ford covering the cost until our vehicle is safe with new airbag replaced.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?