Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,382 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Sep 302008

Taurus

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 2 mph, the contact heard a loud bang and stopped. When he examined the vehicle, he noticed the front passenger side tire had been pierced by a broken coil spring. He repaired the vehicle himself. Two months later, the failure occurred again on the front driver side but the tire had not been pierced. He again repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000 and the current mileage was approximately 61,000.

- La Grange Park, IL, USA

problem #30

Apr 122008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
The coil spring in the front driver side punctured the tire immediately flattening it and rendering it undrivable couldn't even put on the spare because of the spring I had my 7 month old son in the car and thankfully we were just backing up and not on the highway yet! this happened on the passenger side last year. I am really concerned about the danger that this poses!

- Putnam, CT, USA

problem #29

Feb 012007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact heard a loud clunking noise coming from the vehicle. He pulled over and noticed that the vehicle's front end was lower to the ground. He took the vehicle to the shop and they stated that the passenger side front coil spring failed. The repair shop replaced the spring. The current and failure mileages were 100,000.

- Kane, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 102004

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 1998 Ford Taurus. After reading another report of malfunctioning of front coil springs I have decided to report the same type of incident which happened to the vehicle in 2005. The front left coil spring snapped and punctured the tire, the entire spring was lodged through the front driver's side tire - the vehicle was not drivable, and had to be moved on a flat bed tow truck to the repair shop, where both front coil springs had to be replaced.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #27

May 022007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,257 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford Taurus. While driving 20 mph the driver's side front coils spring failed and damaged the front tires. There was a recall # 04V332000 concerning suspension:front:springs:coil springs. The manufacturer would not repair the vehicle because it was excluded from the recall. The current and failure mileages were 62,257.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #26

Sep 192006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,295 miles
While going down road, the right front coil spring broke causing it to slice the front tire. This caused the replacement of both front coil springs, both front struts, as well as both strut mounts.

- Madison Township, PA, USA

problem #25

Sep 072006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Ford Taurus with 68000 miles. Front drivers side coil spring fractured. One full broken coil still on strut. Damaged rack and pinion steering unit. Only found problem after had looked at for loss of power steering fluid. Apparently coil failure pulled rack apart on end. Recall for 1999-2001 issued NHTSA #04V332/Ford recall 04S17. See other websites with people with 1998 model year having same problem. Why wasn't recall extended to 1998 model year" or was it" car is in excellent shape and never in accident of any kind. Obviously the description in the recall fits my situation.

- Ringtown, PA, USA

problem #24

May 122006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,608 miles
Vehicle is a SE wagon, build date 8/4/1998. Purchased new 8/26/1998. Mileage at failure is 29,608 miles. While reversing at under 5 mph, left front coil spring broke at lower retainer. The spring sliced through the inner sidewall of the tire. Contacted Ford customer relationship center and was told that 1998 vehicles were not covered under any recall, only 1993 and 1999 through 2001. Ford would not do anything except record the failure. Total bill was $1,075 for replacing both front struts, two front sway bar links, 1 tire, alignment, and towing. Fortunately the failure occurred at low speed in driveway.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #23

May 252006

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles
: the contact stated while entering the vehicle a loud snapping noise was heard. While reversing out of the driveway, the front driver tire became flat. The vehicle has not been inspected by a mechanic. There is a NHTSA recall, # 04V332000, regarding the front coil springs; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. The consumer had both springs replaced at his expense. Updated

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #22

Apr 242006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
On April 24, 2006, I experienced a tire blow-out. I had the car towed to the Ford dealership in keene and was told that it was caused by a broken front suspension spring. The tow driver had informed me of a recall for that particular problem. I was told that it was for 1999 Taurus. My car is a 1998. I had to replace 2 front tires because of this and a spring. The bill totaled $537.78. I would like to have this looked into.

- Peterborough, NH, USA

problem #21

Mar 132006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,884 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Saturday, March 11,2006, I parked my car in my carport at 7 pm, having driven 30 miles that day with no problems. It remained there until Monday morning, March 13, 2006, when I discovered a flat front left tire. The aaa tower noticed the tire was completely destroyed by a coil which had broken off from the spring, preventing him from releasing the tire from the wheel. The Ford dealer said my car was not included in the recall. However, my car clearly had the same problem. The spring break was clean, there was no rust, and there had been no provocation to cause a break. Had I been driving, there could have been a major accident. The repair bill was $875 to replace the front springs and struts and tire. The tower, Ford dealer and both repair mechanics examined the coil that broke off. I do not have the part.

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 282005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
: the contact stated while backing out of driveway, he heard a loud noise. After parking the vehicle, he realized he had a flat tire. The contact changed the tire, replacing it with the spare tire. When he drove the vehicle to an independent tire shop they found the front coil springs broke which punctured the front tire. The manufacturer was contacted and the vehicle is now at the dealership. The consumer was informed a recall had been issued for the coil springs, however the consumer vehicle identification number was not included. Updated 01/19/06. Updated 02/22/06.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #19

Nov 192005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,500 miles
While backing out of our garage, the right front tire blew. The tire was sliced all around on the inside and was in two pieces. This vehicle has 4 new tires and I thought the tire had to be a defect. A local garage came to my house to change it with a spare studded tire that was in good condition. I drove 2 feet when that tire blew. It was obvious that it wasn't the tires. I had to have my vehicle towed to a garage. The mechanic had to replace the front right suspension spring coil and strut mount. He also replaced the left one; it was about ready to snap. I researched this problem on the internet and noticed that Ford Motor Company had recalls on the front suspension coil springs for the 1997 and 1999 vehicles, but not 1998. I contacted Ford Motor Company for any recalls for this vehicle year, as they had recalls on the previous year and year after. There wasn't any concern at all and no recalls; now I am stuck with a bill of $489.71. Luckily I wasn't on the highway going 65 mph or it could have been tragic.

- Littleton, ME, USA

problem #18

Jun 202005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,448 miles
While backing out of my driveway I heard a grinding noise and my tire suddenly went flat. Removed the tire and saw that right coil spring broke puncturing the entire inner sidewall of the tire. The car was towed to the dealer who first said that all expenses would be covered including the tire due Ford's recall for the exact same problem with their Taurus. Then the service manager told me that my car was not covered under the recall because it's a 1998 Taurus. It is plain to see there is a defect in the coil spring. This is the same exact problem the the 1999 -2001 Ford Taurus' recall. I'm surprised that Ford will not stand behind this problem with their 1998 models.

- Rockland, MA, USA

problem #17

Mar 082005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,500 miles
Front coil springs broke twice in six months on 1998, Ford, Taurus. I looked up recall information on the Ford web site. I found out that there was a recall on 1999-2001 for the coil springs breaking. So I called customer support line and explained what the problem was. They said that there was nothing that they could do, they would put in a complaint. So I expressed my concerns about if im driving down the highway with my kids in the car and my tire explodes would they worry about it. Then?they said there was nothing that they could do, I have to just keep getting it fixed, and wait and see if a recall comes out. So I was wondering if there was anything that you people could do about this problem that I'm having with Ford. Thank you.

- Southbridge, MA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012004

Taurus

  • miles
Ford Taurus 1998, driver's side spring coil cracked. The consumer stated there should be a formal investigation regarding the coil springs on 1998 Taurus.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #15

Mar 132005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,533 miles
13 March 2005, pulling out of our driveway, right front tire went suddenly flat. Removal of the tire showed that the spring on the right front strut broke, puncturing the tire. Looking at the fracture zone it appears that corrosion had started at a defect in the steel, creating a crack that eventually yielded to the applied stress and failed. Looks exactly like the problem in 1999 tauruses identified in NHTSA recall number 04V332000.

- Francestown, NH, USA

problem #14

Mar 052005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Upon backing out of the driveway, moving approximately 10 feet, front coil spring broke, blowing the front left tire out. Recall 04V332000 concerning front coil spring was issued.

- Herkimer, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 062005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall campaign 04V332000; Ford issued a front coil spring recall. This vehicle was included in the recall, but the coil springs broke before the recall work was performed.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #12

Feb 232005

Taurus 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle was pulling out of the garage. In the process of doing so he heard an unknown grinding noise coming from the front. He proceeded to pull back into the garage and pulled the left front tire off. He discovered that the front coil spring was broken off the vehicle.

- Cato, NY, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?