Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
55,879 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Mar 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear coil spring is broken. We discovered the broken spring when it started making a hard rubbing noise against the tire. Upon inspection, it appears by the rust and corrosion on the fractured end that it has been broken for some time. We travel out of town often as our daughters are both in college out of area. This would have been fatal if the tire would have shredded from the broken spring on the Washington DC beltway.

- Schnecksville, PA, USA

problem #196

Mar 022008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
I am a owner of a 2001 Ford Taurus which I bought used and have owned it now for 2 years. It is the first Ford I have owned in over 20 years. Since I have owned it, it has not given me too many problems, just the basic break downs like, batteries, brakes, seized A/C compressor, coolant expansion tank cracked, ect. Those things are going to break. But what has really upset me is how I have read about the coil springs breaking on the Taurus and causing possible damage to the vehicle. I didn't think it would happen to me but after arriving home today I noticed a small piece of metal under my 01 Taurus and after further observation I found it to be a piece of my rear coil spring from the drivers side. I am a 40+ year old male who has had many makes and models of different types of vehicles and have never had or heard of coil springs breaking as they do on the Ford Taurus. This is a problem that needs to be repaired by Ford and not the consumer. So I can only expect that the rest of the springs are faulty and need to be replaced before I have any further damage to my vehicle. It seems to me that the Ford company does not care about craftmanship or the consumers safety. So change your slogan " have you driven a Ford lately" to " your riding on faulty coil springs". this is a serious problem that is a major safety issue and needs to be corrected free of charge to all Ford Taurus owners.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #195

Feb 282008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,900 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact's vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs). The dealer placed a shield on the vehicle as the remedy. On February 28, 2008, she took the vehicle to the dealer for an oil change and was informed that both rear coil springs malfunctioned and were cracked. The dealer was surprised that they were still holding. The dealer repaired the vehicle at that time. The current and failure mileages were 48,900. Update 04-02-08

- Ashtabula, OH, USA

problem #194

Feb 242008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 50 mph, the rear coil spring failed and caused the vehicle to sway left and right. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and they stated that both rear coil springs and shock absorbers needed to be replaced. The repair would cost $350. The failure and current mileages were 88,000. Updated 03-28-08

- Sellersville, PA, USA

problem #193

Oct 062007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2001 Ford Taurus - left and right rear coil springs - broken. Repaired October 2007. Cost including the replacement of left and right rear struts $965.87.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #192

Feb 212008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,181 miles
Left rear suspension coil spring fractured destroying tire.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #191

Jun 202007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Ford Taurus SE is constantly breaking small chunks of the rear coil spring. I haven't replaced them yet. That is my spring project. I noticed this happening last year when I replaced the rear brake drums. I waited until now because I didn't have a web address to file this complaint with.

- New Haven, IN, USA

problem #190

Jan 262008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
Rear coil spring broke while in parking lot.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #189

Jan 182008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,990 miles
Rear suspension coil broke on our 2001 Ford Taurus. It caused my wife to fishtail, due to puncture of tire by broken end of coil in wintertime. Luckily for us there were no other cars on the road or an accident would have ensued, though my wife is currently suffering a migraine from the whiplash. I hold Ford responsible for being aware of coil product problems, having recalled the front springs in 2005. I hold them responsible for not publicly asserting the problems with both front and rear suspension as complaints arose and specifically telling consumers that the rear suspension spring/coil was not and/or would not be recalled. I find this to be unacceptable, and believe that the piece should be recalled, and every consumer reimbursed for the expense of repair and replacement prior to the recall by Ford Motor Co. It's for this very reason that so many american consumers are turning to foreign manufacturers.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #188

Jan 122008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,211 miles
My daughter came home last night and I went to check her car this morning and found a flat tire on the left rear. Pumped it up and heard air leaking out, removed it and found the coil spring sticking out had cut the tire down and punctured it. I replaced the coil and strut as a unit from advance with a monroe which has a 5/8 coil spring, the original from Ford was 1/2". Ford had a recall, campaign # 04V3320000 for the coil springs on the front, why not the rear as well" its apparent they had a problem with the rear as you have 60 complaints before mine. Does it take a death to make them fix the problem" our car only has 42,211 miles on it today when I replaced the strut and tire. We purchased the car from an individual, at the Ford dealers lot, as it had been parked there after body work had been performed and been setting for over a year, it only had 18,000 miles on it 2 years ago. I have the old strut with broken spring, it has a small crack that shows some rust in the edge, and has a ductile fracture clean break with no rust in it. I'm a cat mechanic with some training in failure analysis, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure this one out.

- Belle, WV, USA

problem #187

Dec 272007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer found all four springs broken after car was grinding on rear tire. Dealer is replacing front ones per recall but I feel rear springs are also prone to failure and Ford should issue a recall. Car suffered tire damage to right rear wheel.

- Bluffton, IN, USA

problem #186

Dec 092007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
Back coil springs on 2001 Ford Taurus broke.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #185

Dec 162007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Left rear coil spring broke while car was in parking lot and being occupied by 4 adults. Broken spring did not come in contact with tire, but was dangerously close. Ford garage on vacation diagnosed problem and cut away enough of the spring end to safely clear tire to be able to drive the car 320 miles from vacation to home. Arranged for home town Ford garage to replace both rear coil springs for $400.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #184

Mar 272007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
I pulled out of my parking lot and heard a scraping sounds. I drove around the block back into my parking lot and the sound was there the whole time. I jacked the rear of the car up and noticed the left rear spring was broken and was actually scraping the rear tire. Had it tow to a shop and replaced the springs/struts on the rear. Repair shop took a picture of the old spring which I have. Also replaced the rear tire, it had just scraped off a surface layer of rubber, might have been ok as it didn't get to the belt, but felt safer with a new tire.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #183

Oct 202007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brought in my 2001 Ford Taurus for a front end shake and was informed by the mechanic that all 4 coil springs were broken!

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #182

Nov 052007

(reported on)

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 46,575 miles
2001 Ford Taurus back springs broke. Consumer's mechanic determined that her front coil springs were under recall and the rear ones were made by a different manufacturer.

- Mauston, WI, USA

problem #181

Oct 282007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Broken rear spring on a 2001 taraus SE.

- Indpls, IN, USA

problem #180

Oct 162007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,963 miles
On 10/16/07, my local dealership changed my oil and rotated my tires and identified a broken rear coil spring on my 2001 Ford Taurus SE, the mechanic told me he is seeing a trend between 2001-2003 models, he informed me continued driving without repair would likely result in a blown tire, perhaps being hazardous. I've made an immediate appointment to replace rear coil springs.

- Clyde, OH, USA

problem #179

Sep 222007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While performing a routine check-up, the mechanic noticed that the rear coil spring failed and was striking the rear driver side tire. The vehicle was repaired. The current and failure mileages were 51,000.

- Montoursville, PA, USA

problem #178

Aug 282007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,300 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 15 mph, the contact heard a crunking sound and the vehicle experienced brake failure. He pulled the vehicle to the side of the road and it was towed to the repair shop. The mechanic stated that the two rear coil springs failed and needed to be replaced, in addition to the struts. Everything has been replaced. The current mileage was 59,000 and failure mileage was 58,300.

- Marlboro, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?