Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
55,879 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #217

Nov 092008

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Taurus. Consumer request a recall on rear coil springs on 2001 Ford Taurus and Mercury Sable vehicles the consumers son was involved in a fatal accident due to the failure of the rear coil springs. The driver, went off the left side of the road, but regained control of the vehicle, but suddenly he veered sharply to the left, toward the median which sloped downward and back up to the southbound lanes. The vehicle flipped and landed on its wheels and was stuck by a southbound trailer traveling at interstate speed. The impact to the passenger side of the vehicle killed the consumers son and the front passenger and left the rear passenger with serious injuries. Updated 07/20/11 updated 08/24/11 updated 11/29/11.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #216

Jul 162010

Taurus

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus sel. The contact stated that the passenger side rear coil spring broke and punctured the rear passenger side tire while driving approximately 45 mph. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where it was being repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there was a recall on the front coil springs but not the rear springs. The current and failure mileages were approximately 76,000.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #215

May 012010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While having the vehicle serviced for an oil change, the contact was informed the passenger side rear coil spring was broken. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but was not serviced because there was not a recall for the rear coil springs. The contact stated his vehicle had previously been serviced for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 04V332000 (suspension: Front: Springs: Coil springs) but the recall did not include the rear coil springs. The contact also stated that he had his rear driver side coil spring replaced because it too was broken in the past. The failure and current mileages were 88,000. Updated 6/19/10 updated 07/22/10

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #214

Mar 112010

Taurus

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated while having the rear drums replaced, the mechanic informed the contact that the rear coil springs were defective. The contact stated he felt the vehicle had been riding lower than usual but was not aware of the failure. The front coil springs were previously replaced under NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension: Front: Springs: Coil springs) but the rear were never replaced. The vehicle was not in drivable condition and was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 98,000.

- East Peoria, IL, USA

problem #213

Feb 222010

Taurus

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated while driving at 55 mph the contact heard a clunking noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer to have the rear passenger side coil spring replaced. A years later when the contact took the vehicle in for an oil change the mechanic at the dealer notice the that both struts in the rear were broken. The contact did not have the vehicle repair because the contact feels this is a manufacturer defect and should be under a recall. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #212

Apr 092009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact heard a loud noise from the rear of her vehicle. She discovered that the coil springs failed, which could have resulted in a crash. She took the vehicle to the Goodyear and they replaced the rear coil springs and the struts at the cost of $976. The failure and current mileages were 62,000. Updated 6/8/09 updated 06/11/09.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #211

Apr 142009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,318 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While the vehicle was at the repair shop, the mechanic stated that the rear quick struts spring failed. The mechanic stated that the springs failed several years ago. The issue with the springs for this year, make, and model vehicle is currently under investigation. The contact feels that a recall should be issued. The current and failure mileages were 115,318. Updated 5/15/09 the cost to replace everything was $ $921.03 udated 05/15/09.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #210

Feb 122009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the rear driver's side coil spring broke from the vehicle. He took his vehicle in for a routine oil change and they confirmed the failure. The mechanic replaced the rear coil springs at the cost of $1,200. The contact called the Ford manufacturer and they stated that they do not cover the rear springs of the vehicle, only the front springs. The failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 3/11/09 updated 03/13/09.

- Teweskbury, MA, USA

problem #209

Dec 232008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving at any speed, the contact hears banging noises coming from the front and rear of the vehicle. The failure caused improper suspension issues in the vehicle. He took the vehicle to his local shop and the mechanic stated that both the front and rear coil springs failed. The dealer has not confirmed or denied whether the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs). The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 75,000. Updated 02/24/09. Updated 02/24/09.

- Auburn, NH, USA

problem #208

Dec 172008

Taurus

  • 52,000 miles
Right rear coil spring broke. The car has only 52,000 miles on it. If I hadn't noticed a piece of the coil spring on my garage floor, who knows what may have happened. This is my wife's car. We just had new tires and a four wheel alignment a month before the spring broke.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #207

Dec 192008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for repair service. The technician observed that the rear coil spring failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 69,000. Updated 020209 updated 02/03/09.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #206

Sep 302008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact's vehicle did not pass state inspection because both rear coil springs failed. He is in the process of notifying an authorized dealer and the manufacturer to determine the cause of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 61,000. Updated 10/16/08 updated 10/20/08.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #205

Aug 162008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,125 miles
Both rear coil springs on our 2001 Ford Taurus sel rusted through and broke. The broken coil springs then fell down past the spring seat and the jagged, broken edge of the springs cut the inner side wall of both rear tires. The right rear tire blew out as a result of this while we were traveling 35 miles per hour. Both rear tires needed to be replaced. Fortunately no one was injured. This is a safety hazard! if this would have happened at highway speed or while in a curve, this could have been a terrible accident! please make Ford install coil spring seat extensions and new coil springs on the rear of these cars to prevent the coil springs from falling into the tire area, this was done on the front coil springs for this car and should also be done on the rear before someone gets terribly injured or killed! please do not wait until then to do something! this could be prevented! I am also mailing you a letter describing this problem with photos of the tires, springs, etc. Updated 09/08/08.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #204

Aug 272008

(reported on)

Taurus

  • miles
2001 Ford Taurus has an issue with the rear coil springs. Consumer wants to know when there will be a recall for this issue.

- Hazlet, NJ, USA

problem #203

Apr 212008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. Upon taking the vehicle to the dealer for brake work, the mechanic discovered that both rear coil springs failed. The driver's side of the vehicle sustained tire damage. The current and failure mileages were 63,000.

- Whitesburg, KY, USA

problem #202

Apr 142008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,523 miles
Our 2001 Ford Taurus had been sitting in the garage for 4 months. My wife backed out of the driveway and heard a noise. I drove it around the block and heard the noise also. I removed the right rear wheel and discovered the right rear strut spring had broken and was rubbing on the tire. Nothing physical was done to cause this fracture; the fracture appears to be fresh, but the outside surface of the spring appears to be corroded.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #201

Mar 302008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Taurus purchased from dan buckey Ford in chestnut ridge, NY (now diamond Ford). A few years ago (2005 I think) we received notice about defective front coil springs. We took the car into the dealer and had shields installed that were supposed to protect from tire blowouts. They also said the front coil springs warranty would be extended to 150,000 miles. While the car was in the dealer, they told us that the left rear coil spring was broken. This was not covered under the recall or the warranty. We had to pay $600 to get it repaired. Yesterday, the right rear coil spring broke. Again, not covered under warranty. Coil springs should rarely break on cars. If the front springs are defective, then it makes sense that the rear springs are too. This is an outrage and Ford should be held accountable.

- Monsey, NY, USA

problem #200

Mar 282008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Rear passenger coil spring broke, dug into the rear side of the tire all the way around down to the belt. I found it by accident when washing my wife's car, could have been a real disaster because she drove on the freeway earlier that day. Replacing both springs and tire at a cost of approx $500.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #199

Mar 182008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,800 miles
Rear coil spring fractured resulting in blown tire.

- Marion , VA, USA

problem #198

Mar 202008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My mother owns a 2001 Ford Taurus, and we recently discovered that the rear, driver-side, coil spring has broken. Fortunately, this did not cause any additional damage, such as a flat tire from the spring puncturing the tire and potentially causing an accident. Several certified mechanics has informed me that this is "a common problem" with these coil springs on these and similar vehicles. I have also confirmed that there already exists a recall on the front coil springs that also have a similar problem. My understanding is that the dealerships are installing a "shield" on the front coil springs to prevent the spring from damaging the tire when the coil spring breaks. At that point, when the spring breaks, the dealerships will then replace the front coil springs at no charge. In my opinion, I feel the rear coil springs should fall under this same recall. I have got to believe that the front and rear coil springs are very similar in engineering design. At this point, the dealership is more than willing to install the rear coil springs at $385.02.

- Fostoria, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?