Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 6 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Feb 222010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been the owner of two 2002 Ford Taurus automobiles. I've had to replace all 4 coil springs on my first one because they simply broke in half. Only one broke at a time but you have to replace the coil springs on both sides of the car when that happens. So I have had 2 repair jobs replacing 4 coil springs. One of the springs broke while traveling at 40 mph and destroyed the tire on the front drivers side. I was able to control the car, no accident occurred. The first time it happened I just took it to my regular tire store and had it fixed at a cost of $800. A year later when another one broke I called Ford and they said that there was a recall on those springs but only included 2001 and earlier models. I told them at the time there is a problem with these springs, it's happened to me twice and every tech who knows anything about these cars agrees. The Ford Taurus's of these model years have coil spring problems. No luck with Ford and once again I had to shell out around $800 in October 2009 I bought another 2002 Ford Taurus (dumb me) off a neighbor and sure enough, another broken coil spring. This time I was pulling in my driveway, I could feel it break and again it ruined a 5 month old tire. By the way with every repair job you have to buy 2 new tires as well. The broken spring ruins the tire so you have to buy 2. I called Ford again and they told me I'm out of luck. I explained that this is the 3rd time, in 2 different cars and that this has happened. They were less that helpful, polite but of no help. So now I'm looking at another $800 or so. Is there anything you can do to help me?

- Cleveland , OH, USA

problem #196

Oct 012009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Front spring broke and slashed tire. Now, a few months later, the rear spring is broken.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #195

May 282009

Taurus

  • miles
Problems with noise front passenger side shuddering sound while driving comes and goes. Problem with car running rough engine power decreased, seam like fuel is poor, some malfunction causing problems in traffic. This malfunction always happens on start up and during regular operating during driving. We have to keep letting off the gas and giving gas to try make it run right a hope to have a smooth ride. The popping noise from the front end always happen daily during driving with normal speeds. The front rotors has been changed three times since I owned this vehicle, continuing to have problem with the front end. Brake pads always have been changed during these problems.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #194

Feb 242010

Taurus

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Right front spring broke and punctured the tire - spring and tire had to be replaced. They punctured after vehicle was out in motion.

- Berwyn, IL, USA

problem #193

Feb 122010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 124 miles
The car made a loud bang N front end dropped to the ground. Drivers side front suspension busted N blew out the tire, just reached home driveway. It is not fixed as I am on limited income. Also I do have the broken parts and they are not rusted at all. Also the tire was like new and is totally shot.

- Oittsville, WI, USA

problem #192

Feb 262010

Taurus

  • miles
This happen to my car and now I see five others: 2002 Ford Taurus front suspension complaints 1 complaint number: 10311880 incident date: February 4, 2010 date added to file: February 18, 2010 description of the complaint: Left front coil spring broke and ruptured left front tire, also broke left side swaybar end link detailsdiscuss it in forum 2 complaint number: 10311202 incident date: February 14, 2002 date added to file: February 17, 2010 description of the complaint: Left front spring broken with puncture of tire detailsdiscuss it in forum 3 complaint number: 10310960 incident date: December 9, 2007 date added to file: February 16, 2010 description of the complaint: My 2002 Taurus was sitting in the driveway when my husband heard a loud bang. The coil spring on the drivers side broke and put a hole the tire. The cost to get the springs replaced and a new tire was over $600 detailsdiscuss it in forum 4 complaint number: 10308675 incident date: February 10, 2009 date added to file: February 11, 2010 description of the complaint: Car was parked and put into reverse to back up in drive when tire exploded. Upon examination the drivers side suspension spring had exploded into 2 pieces and ripped into tire. Detailsdiscuss it in forum 5 complaint number: 10308774 incident date: February 10, 2010 date added to file: February 11, 2010 description of the complaint: I was driving my Ford Taurus 2002 and the front left coil spring broke resulting in the broken coil spring puncturing my tire causing it to go immediately flat. This rendered my car immobile, required towing, and replacement of both front coil springs and mounts that hold the coil springs. (cost: $695) so far, this has only happened once, and I really hope it never happens again. I have a portion of the coil spring that broke off from the rest of the coil spring. The remaining spring was kept by the auto repair shop. The portion.

- Valley Cottage, NY, USA

problem #191

Feb 202010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 149,208 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Ford Taurus had both front springs broken, 1 tire destroyed, drive axel destroyed and a stabilizer link destroyed. There is a recall for up to 2001 and wonder why this car with the same problem would not be covered. This is extremely disappointing.

- Amery, WI, USA

problem #190

Jan 252010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 143,510 miles
My daughter's 2002 Ford Taurus had the front driver's side spring snap off and punctured here new tire, while back out of the driveway. I see there is a recall up to 2001 and wonder why this car, with the same problem, would not be covered. This is very disappointing.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #189

Feb 042010

Taurus

  • 107,850 miles
Left front coil spring broke and ruptured left front tire, also broke left side swaybar end link.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #188

Feb 142010

Taurus

  • 70,290 miles
Left front spring broken with puncture of tire.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #187

Dec 092007

Taurus

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Taurus was sitting in the driveway when my husband heard a loud bang. The coil spring on the drivers side broke and put a hole the tire. The cost to get the springs replaced and a new tire was over $600.

- Ayr, 00, USA

problem #186

Feb 132010

Taurus

  • 129,150 miles
1. started car, a 2002 Ford Taurus and began to back up and the front left tire blew violently. 2. subsequently found the coil spring had broken and speared front tire. 3. replaced coil springs and front tire at an approximate cost of $500.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #185

Feb 102010

Taurus

  • 131,000 miles
I was driving my Ford Taurus 2002 and the front left coil spring broke resulting in the broken coil spring puncturing my tire causing it to go immediately flat. This rendered my car immobile, required towing, and replacement of both front coil springs and mounts that hold the coil springs. (cost: $695) so far, this has only happened once, and I really hope it never happens again. I have a portion of the coil spring that broke off from the rest of the coil spring. The remaining spring was kept by the auto repair shop. The portion of the coil spring that I have shows the slightest amount of rusting on the inside of the coil spring. Apparently, it does not take much to damage these coil springs.

- Okemos, MI, USA

problem #184

Feb 102009

Taurus

  • 157,000 miles
Car was parked and put into reverse to back up in drive when tire exploded. Upon examination the drivers side suspension spring had exploded into 2 pieces and ripped into tire.

- Fremont, OH, USA

problem #183

Feb 072010

Taurus

  • 40,340 miles
Front passenger coil spring broke on a 2002 Ford Taurus, pulling it out of the garage. Car is immaculate, barely driven (40K miles), never hit or bumped. Broken spring shredded the tire completely in half. Certain death would have happened, had this occurred at highway speeds. Ford is aware of the problem for this car and model, for years ending 2001. Needs to be mandated for 2002 (and beyond, if applicable).

- State College, PA, USA

problem #182

Jan 052010

Taurus

  • 133,433 miles
Front coil spring broke ---punctured tire ----spring dropped down on transaxle ----left front dropped to road surface -----causing loss of control.

- Duncansville, PA, USA

problem #181

Jan 262010

Taurus

  • 55,604 miles
Sudden failure of front left coil spring on 2002 Ford Taurus resulting in puncture of the left front tire. Car was towed to local dealership and both front springs and left front tire were replaced. Reference NHTSA ea-08-018.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #180

Feb 082010

Taurus

  • 87,000 miles
2002 Ford Taurus last month I had to replace both of the rear springs last week I had to replace the rack/pinion today as I just started to drive forward in my driveway, the front right spring broke and pierced the front right tire. I was going so slow in the driveway that the sharp edge of the broken spring started slicing into the tire as if a person were peeling an apple. It scraped into the tire until it pierced through the sidewall. Thank heavens this did not happen at 70mph I have read about the prior recall involving these same parts on the 2001 and earlier Ford Taurus models and on 2003 and earlier Ford Focus models which use the same parts. How in good faith could you believe that these parts were going to just disappear from the face of the earth. Ford continued to use these parts until they were gone and just rolled the dice that they would not be caught by your Agency. You must help the thousands of people out there driving various models of Ford with these same parts this appears to be a very, very common problem with the Ford springs. The events that lead up to the rear springs being defective were a thump when the R/R spring broke and the car dropped a little bit. While the mechanic was replacing it, I had him check the L/R spring at which time he found that one on the verge of cracking. The rack and pinion was leaking and upon further inspection it too was found to be bad. And as I explained above, I was driving out of my driveway at approx 2 mph as I was only going about 20' as I had to stop and pick up my wife who had walked to the mailbox. The rear springs are not available as it was last month. The rack and pinion is going to be returned for the core deposit unless you ask me to keep it. The front springs will be available as I will be changing out the L/F spring also. Please help all of us and possibly prevent a tragic accident.

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #179

Jan 312010

Taurus

  • 153,323 miles
I didnt get into and accident. Went to change my tires, the rear springs were broke. I replaced both sides and spent 800. Took my car into my dealer in January to get my heat fixed and they told me the right front spring was broke. So I had the fix plus the tie rod

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #178

Feb 062010

Taurus

  • 85,000 miles
2002 Ford Taurus sel, front right coil spring is broken when the car sitting in a parking lot. The broken spring then punctured into the tire and totally damaged it.

- Edmonton, 00, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?