Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 20 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Dec 312005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,867 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a flat tire was discovered on the driver's side of the vehicle after entering the garage. Upon further inspection the contact found the front coil spring broke, causing a puncture in the tire. There was no warning prior to the failure. The vehicle was towed to a local dealership, where the tire and coil spring were replaced. The vehicle operated normally after the replacement parts were installed. The contact discovered NHTSA recall campaign 04V332000 concerning the front coil spring. However, this vehicle was not included in the recall due to the year of manufacturing. Updated 2/7/2006 -

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #20

Jan 032006

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Took 2002 Ford Taurus to kan rock tire dealer to have drivers' side tire replaced after having had a flat while my son was backing out of my driveway. Tire dealer stated that the cause of the flat tire was that the drivers side coil spring had fractured and punctured the tire, thus ruining it. Tire dealer would not replace tire until coil spring had been replaced. Took to local mechanic to have damage assessed and repaired. I called Ford and they told me that there were not any open recalls on this vehicle even though Ford had recalled '99-'01 model year vehicles ( #04V332000) for the exact same problem. I guess it is going to take a serious injury to get Ford to address this problem for the later model years.

- Lapeer, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 312005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,120 miles
: the contact stated while approaching an intersection at low speed the left front coil spring broke, shearing off the sway bar link. The inside of the fender was rubbing the tire. Therefore, the vehicle was towed. This occurred on normal road conditions and under normal driving. The manufacturer and the dealership were contacted, and stated there were no recalls on the vehicle. Updated 02/07/06.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 022006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while pulling into the driveway the front driver's side tire blew out. The tire was removed, and it was determined the coil spring broke, which may have caused the failure. Updated 02/24/06.

- Sagamore Hills, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 282005

Taurus 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,552 miles
I was pulling out of my driveway when I heard a loud pop. Upon inspection, it was determined that the coil spring had broken. The car had to be towed to a service station to be repaired.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #16

Dec 232005

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 17 year old daughter was driving home after christmas shopping on December 23. Good road, no bumps, nothing in the road. She was stopping for a red light, going about 25 mph when there was a loud "boom". because she was slowing for the light, she was able to maintain control and to pull into a MINImart. The right front spring broke and punctured a brand new tire (3 weeks old). I had it towed to our mechanic. In the meantime, I checked online and I'm seeing that 1999-2001 Taurus have the same problem and they are being taken care of with a recall. I placed a call to Ford and to 2 local dealers and was told that there was no recall on the 2002 and I would have to pay for repairing this defective product. This vehicle is used by my 20 year old daughter who came home from college for christmas break. If this had happened on the thruway at 65 mph, I hate to think what could have happened. This is beyond dangerous - does it take a fatality to get someone's attention?

- Verona, NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 122005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact stated while driving out of the driveway the front coil spring on the driver side broke. This caused a puncture in the tire. He contacted the dealership, and they claimed there was no recall. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and is currently being repaired. Updated 05/22/06.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #14

Dec 032005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact stated while driving the spring in driver's side front broke. The vehicle has not been inspected. Updated 2/24/2006 - the consumer's vehicle was not included in recall 04V332000 due to VIN.

- New Boston, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 252005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,570 miles
Good morning. I was driving at approximately 55 mph on a normal highway and heard a loud clunk sound. I was driving a 2002 Ford Taurus ses 4 door sedan. I temporarily lost control of my car and pulled over. The car was towed to courtesy Ford in syracuse NY. 99% of my service is completed here. The service order states found left front spring snapped and also broke strut bearing and rubbed against left front tire and rim. Also ripped C.V. boot L / replaced both front springs, bearings, struts. The service representative advised me their was a recall on 1999/00/01 Ford Taurus for spring failures such as this. (I have read here of your investigation on 2000/2001 models of the Ford Taurus) the service representative advised he was sure this would be expanded to the 2002 model year and to hold onto my receipt. So I am filing this complaint to possibly help in the cause of including the 2002 model year also. Thank you for allowing me to file this complaint.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 142005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,132 miles
The contact stated that the right front coil spring broke while driving at 30 mph almost ripping the entire circumference of the inside of the tire. The car went down on the right side. The car was towed to a garage. The coil spring has been repaired at this time. She has been in contact with Ford and they told her that there was no recall for the coil spring. Updated 1/4/2006 - updated 02/08/06

- Norwich, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 222005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The coil spring on passenger's side broke. This happened on August 22, 2005. Saw recalls online but it did not include this vehicle due to VIN. The recalls were on the coil spring and the acceleration. The vehicle surged forward. If at stop sign with foot on the brake it still tried to surge forward. This happened frequently.

- Sidney, 00, USA

problem #10

Jun 012005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Contact stated there recall 04V332000 was issued for model years 1999-2001, contact's vehicle was a 2002, but it was manufactured in July 2001, based on the VIN this vehicle did not fall under this recall campaign. The left front coil springs fracture, causing the front left tire to rupture. The tire did not puncture until the vehicle was parked in the driveway. Contact's wife was driving the vehicle on a bumpy highway where construction was going on. She did not recognize any strange noises from the vehicle. The end of the spring was sticking through the tire, and there was a groove on the inside sidewall of the tire. This was where the end of the spring punctured through the tire.

- Hinesburg, VT, USA

problem #9

Jul 152005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The front driver side coil spring broke in half during normal driving conditions, and punctured my tire. As I've called around, I have heard multiple reports from auto repair technicians that this happens all of the time. A quick search of internet articles seems to substantiate their claim. Had this occurred while driving at normal speeds (I was turning into a driveway) the sudden puncture could have easily resulted a fatal crash.

- Woodburn, IN, USA

problem #8

May 022005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,222 miles
Contact states: There is a recall on some of the 2002 model Ford Taurus on what happened to contacts coil spring broke and tire ruptured yesterday. Vehicle has not yet been rerpaired. Contact feels this vehicle should be covered under previous recall.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #7

Feb 042005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
While driving at a low rate of speed, I heard a loud pop followed by the blowout of the front tire. The front coil spring had broken and punctured the tire. The car came to an immediate stop. Both front coil springs, front shocks, links and a new tire were all replaced.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 032005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
NHTSA recall 04V332000; Ford issued a front coil springs recall. This vehicle was not included in the recall, but had the tire ruptured and almost coming off. Consumer was informed by dealer that the coil springs caused the problem.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 302004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
Was driving down the road and all of a sudden I heard a loud pop and my car started shaking really bad and started making a really loud clanking noise. I almost put my car into a tree when this happened. Apparently the front driver side strut spring broke and in the process the spring broke the strut stabilizer and got tangled in the axle and broke the rubber boot on the axle.

- Hallstead, PA, USA

problem #4

Sep 082004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
Front driver's side coil spring sheared off onto the tire, causing the tire to go flat. Consumer pulled over, and had vehicle towed to dealer for inspection. Mechanic determined that the coil spring and tire needed to be replaced.

- Imlay City, MI, USA

problem #3

Sep 082004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
I have 2002 Ford Taurus, the driver side front spring on the strut broke and went through the inner side of the tire. I just pulled into a parking lot after getting off the expressway, when the front spring broke in half and went through the driverside tire. The parts that had to be replaced were both springs and driver side tire. 1999 through 2001 Ford Taurus have a recall for this same problem. I was told by the dealer that the parts are indenical to the parts on the 2002 Taurus, but the 2002 are not on the recall. I told the dealer to make sure to save me the parts. I believe that if Ford's doesn't recall these cars, that many people will die because of it. I was lucky I was stopped when it broke. Thank you, gary.

- Imlay City, MI, USA

problem #2

May 182004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,543 miles
My 2002 Ford Taurus front driver side coil spring broke and punctured my front driver side tire. I just returned from a short trip and heard a loud "bang" after the car had been sitting for 10-15 minutes. The result was a deflated front tire and I could see the sharp point of the spring had punctured the tire. I contacted Ford customer service who advised they would not cover the repair because the vehicle was outside of warranty. Had to replace both coil springs (they only come in sets of two), struts, and sway bar links, and one tire at cost of $631.80. Old parts are available and in my possession. I heard there was a recall on '99-2001 models but feel my 2002 model matches the exact description of the recall just announced for this problem.

- Canton, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?