Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Aug 212014


  • 171,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. During wet weather conditions, water leaked into the vehicle through the windshield. The vehicle was taken to a independent mechanic where the technician stated that the windshield needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 171,000.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #29

Jul 252003

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Since I bought my Ford in July 2003 I've been complaining about my windshield being defective, the windshield itself has little chips in it (a manufacturer defect in the glass) and I've always complained to my Ford dealer about highway noise. 9 years later the "noise" has gotten so bad that I'm afraid that if I hit a pot hole hard enough that my windshield will fall out! also the bottom right corner of my windshield has gotten so bad that I had to stuff tissues to reduce the rattling of my windshield. After doing extensive research on recalls for my car I've found one recall for the exact problem I've been having all these years. Please tell me that I can still have my windshield replaced. It's coming to the point that I am afraid to drive my car. Ford recall number 03C03, dated March 03, 2003 from NHTSA. These recall notices were sent out in March on 2003, I bought my car from Ford in July 2003!. the website that I had found this information:

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #28

Mar 222010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 69,400 miles
I own a 2002 Ford Taurus ses, it has 69,400 miles. I have owned the car since new, it is garaged 90% of the time. A couple years ago I noticed that the passenger carpet was soak and wet, and I never thought anything of it, I assumed that maybe when driving in the rain, I had crackedthe window open and rain got inside on passenger carpet. In March of 2010, I had a house sitter, while I went on vacation. I moved my car outside, so that she could use my garage. The car sat outside for 3 weeks, the northeast had torrential rains everyday, and area flooding on streets. I had come home from vacation, drove my car and heard a noise clanking under dashboard. I took car to mechanic, he said it was my heater. I had my husband remove and replace with a new one. When my husband took the old heater out, it was completely rusted with water still on it. I thought maybe housesitter had taken my car out and she left a window it is October, I am attending driving instructor school, and my teacher gave me website for recalls. I decided to check to see if any recalls, and find that there are multiple complaints on my year make and model, for heaters shortening out, I now have no A/C and don't know why along with wet carpets on passenger side L. I printed out recall 03V-087000 and took to Ford today, they state that my VIN has no campaign message for a recall. Recall#03V-087000 is for certain 2002-2003 Taurus and Sable. What is being done with the rest of VIN # that are having the same problem and are not included. I don't want to leave my car in rain and get other components short out, or possible fire, and keep getting the carpet wet, because it will cause mold to grow underneath. All cars in this year make model should be recalled if all are having the same problems. I did not save the old heater, because at the time I thought maybe rain had got in thru the window. Please help, I love my car and it is otherwise a good running car.

- Atkinson, NH, USA

problem #27

May 242009


  • 72,500 miles


2002 Ford Taurus cowl leak water into pass/side floor & rug burning (shorting)out ac motor Ford issued tsb-03-15-6 recall existed 03V087000 bought 2nd hand from Ford dealeri had no knowledge of problem until the rains came in winter of 2008- 2009 when blower burned out.I went to Ford dealer & he never told me Ford knew they had a problem so I had to pay for ac blower motor. I would like to ref.complaint # 10184014 (your number) if Ford knows this is causing cust/$ why should they not fix the product?

- Cedar , UT, USA

problem #26

Jan 012001


  • 60,000 miles
Windshield develops a leak passenger side. I've had the blower motor repaired and the windshield re-sealed but is leaking again. Water puddles in the passenger floor. Heater looses heat when blower speed is turned up, think this may be related to water issue as well. Hope something can be done the windshield is getting loose and dangerous.

- Fairborn, OH, USA

problem #25

Jan 052009


  • 105,000 miles
2002 Taurus cabin leak on passenger side that caused my blower motor to short out. 1/29/2009 this complaint is listed under recall 03V087000. It is also listed under complaint number 10228606. The Ford dealer states that this is a technical service problem under will not fix it under recall 03V087000. The VIN number for my 2002 Taurus is 1fahp5352G283392. I had this vehicle repaired today( January 29, 2009). This problem only showed up after I began parking the vehicle on the outside. I truly believe that Ford should reimburse me the entire cost of $315.59 it costed to fix this problem.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #24

Apr 282008


  • 59,400 miles


Heater fan blower only worked on highest speed only. I found out from a service technician that the problem was not a control switch, but was a resistor network P/N F6dz 19A706 aa. I replaced the part and problem was fixed (temporarily). Same problem returned 5 months later (9/26/08). More inquiring at the dealer revealed the problem source. Water leaking through a hole near cabin air filter. Technical service bulletin tsb 04-15-3 explains the remedy and repair instructions. Replaced resistor for second time and installed weatherstrip 4F1Z 54022A54 aa, and panel 4F1Z 54018A16 baa and applied silicone sealant in the leak hole. Did not replace the blower motor at this time since it seemed to be working. Now 1/25/09 the resistor failed for the 3rd time. Will be replacing the resistor and blower motor since it appears the blower is shorted and is causing repeated failure of the resistor network. I argued with the dealer wb Lincoln Mercury that it should be a recall, but it apparently was not classified as such. One Ford technician I spoke with at this dealer said he had repaired about a couple hundred of these same defects himself. Reference recall number 03V087000.

- Vadnais Hts, MN, USA

problem #23

Nov 112008


  • 5,000 miles
When we purchased our vehicle in 2003 with 5,000 miles on it we would have issues of the car stalling whenever we turned on the heater to high while driving. We had the car in several times and it never got resolved. Now we have found mold under our passenger side carpet and water leaks from under the hood and has got into our heater blower motor. After some research we have found Ford had release a T.S.B 04-15-3 on how to fix this known leak issue on 2001-2004 Ford. There are other complaints you should have received over this issue from other people. Reference recall number 03V087000 and another persons complaint #10184014.

- Ocean Shores, WA, USA

problem #22

Jul 152008


  • 137,000 miles
My blower switch stopped working on all levels but high and I have water on my passenger side floorboard whenever it rains, was told that I would need to replace the blower switch and motor. I have not replaced anything yet, but have been told that it will stop working soon. I have two small children and need my A/C and heat in my car. I saw the same issue all over the internet as what is happening with my vehicle and wanted to help get this water leak problem with this car taken care of. I wanted to mention complaint # 10184014 and recall # 03V087000. I am now having electrical issues with my dash lights going out that is not fuse related and am concerned that it may be related to this issue.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #21

Aug 232008


  • 120,000 miles
Water appearing on the front passenger floor mat, failure of ac/heater blower. Very noisy in the beginning like bearings failing due to water getting into motor. Fan motor now not operating at all. Water leakage might be related to windshield recall #03V087000. I just discovered this was possibly a recall issue and the motor just quit working so I have not resolved this issue yet. Will be contacting the local Ford dealership to see what they will do if anything.

- Valrico, FL, USA

problem #20

Jul 212008


  • miles


Water leaks on passenger side floor. Read many other blogs lots of other complaints about the same thing.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #19

Jul 182008


  • 29,000 miles
My vehicle has a water leak on the passenger side floorboard. This happens every time there is a hard rain. I believe there is a recall notice involved, number 03V087000, but supposedly my vehicle is not involved. I would also like to reference NHTSA complaint number 10184014, which apparently deals with the same problem.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #18

Jun 172008


  • 58,000 miles
The floor on the passengers side of the car was extremely wet after a big rain and kept getting wet for a few days after the rain. Nothing was done, other Ford Taurus were recalled for this problem but not mine.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 182005


  • 70,000 miles
My 2002 Ford Taurus had water in the front passenger side floor board. We couldn't explain how it got there. We checked everywhere - nothing. Then, our defrost and air conditioning system only worked on high. Just recently, nothing works. The blower or fan stopped putting any air out. I started doing some research and a ton of consumers are having the same problem with their Ford as well. Each one described exactly what went wrong with my vehicle -- water on the passenger side front floor board and their ac/defrost system only working on high or not at all.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #16

Jan 012008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Ford issued a recall # 03V087000 stating issues of windshield mounting being under standard requirements. This causes excess noise, water leakage, and rattling. My vehicle was made a few days after the cut off date at the same plant where the problem was in atlanta. My vehicle leaks water from the windshield. I have complained to Ford and no one will stand behind their error and fix it. My vehicle is 6 yrs old but only has 30,000 miles. This error is not acceptable and is not normal wear and tear on a vehicle. I need someone to help me take care of this issue. The consumer should not have to pay for the manufacturers defect.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #15

Jan 152006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that water leaks into the passenger compartment from the windshield. The water then leaks onto the floorboards. As a result, mold is damaging the roof of the vehicle and the floor. She notified the Ford dealer in her area and they stated that nothing could be done because her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V087000 (visibility:windshield). The vehicle has not been repaired. The A/C, heater, and blower motor have also rusted due to the leak. The failure mileage was 49,000 and current mileage was 88,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 012006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
I have a 02 Taurus which leaked water onto the passenger floor board also causing my ac blower motor to short out. I could not get Ford to act even though a related recall existed under 03V087000.

- Clinton, CT, USA

problem #13

Nov 022006

Taurus Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
: the contact stated water leaked from the windshield into the engine bay, and the heater and air conditioner had problems. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who determined that consistent leaking caused the lower motor to rust out completely. The mechanic also printed out a recall # 03V087000 about the visibility:windshield. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined the vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Bradley, IL, USA

problem #12

Jan 202006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
: the contact stated the windshield mounting leaks and there is a lot of wind noise. There is an NHTSA recall, # 03V087000, regarding the windshield. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 3/28/2006 -

- San Augustine, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 202006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
: the consumer stated the windshield makes a popping noise when cold. There is a NHTSA recall, # 03V087000, regarding the windshield. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. Also, while pulling out of a parking lot, a loud pop was heard. Upon inspection, the front passenger tire was flat. The spare tire was put on and the vehicle was taken to the dealership. The dealership determined the passenger side coil spring broke causing the tire to go flat. Both front coil springs were replaced.

- Dannemora, NY, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?