Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Most people need a car that shifts gears & coil springs that don't shred tires. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 2003 Ford Taurus has major issues with the transmission failing. Typically the 2003 Taurus transmission failure costs $2,000 to fix by about 90k-100k miles. Not good.

Adding insult to injury, the 1999-2003 Taurus also has a huge problem with coil springs breaking which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Taurus windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Oct 212011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles


A water leak which dumped water onto the passenger floor board also caused my ac blower motor to short out. I am not sure if this is related to recall 03V087000 but I know it is the same problem as complaint #10184014.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #32

Oct 052011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
A water leak, possibly from a faulty seal, onto the passenger interior floor board also caused my ac/heater blower motor to short out. My heater switch will only work in the maximum position. From what I have read it is due to a heater motor resistor, which has caused similar problems for other Taurus owners. I could not get Ford to act even though a related recall existed under 03V087000.

- Porthill, ID, USA

problem #31

May 242011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 75,743 miles
I own a 2003 Ford Taurus that began having water leaks that kept shorting out the vehicles blower motor resistor. These events occurred between 12/10/2010 to 05/24/2011 during which at my expense two resistors were installed. After a short period they continued to fail as did the blower motor. I took the vehicle to a Ford dealership and was told that I had water damage that caused the blower motor to fail. A new blower motor plus new cowl insulation was in stalled at a cost of $468.42.the two resistors I previously had installed cost $80 parts and labor. I did an internet search and found this to be a common problem with my automotive model and Ford should had a recall and fixed this factory defect. I feel I should be reimbursed by Ford Motor Company. I have heard that this repair should fall under Ford recall 03V087000 but the dealership says no. It is my understanding that another complaint is on file with you concerning this matter (10184014). I would appreciate your investigation in this matter.

- Campbell, OH, USA

problem #30

Mar 092008


  • 47,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that recall 03V087000, visibility windshield was related to the failure. The contact stated that he experienced the identical failure related to the recall. Ford advised him that his VIN was not included in the recall. The contact was filing a safety complaint due to the water entering into the vehicle causing corrosion that shorts out the air conditioner. The vehicle was previously repaired but the failure recurred. The failure mileage was approximately 47,000. The current mileage was 66,000. Updated 12/22/10

- Jefferson , MA, USA

problem #29

Jun 022010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 86,395 miles
I have just purchased a 03 Taurus which leaked water onto the passenger floor board also causing my ac blower motor to short out. When it is raining, humid or later when it gets cold there will be no way to keep the windshield clear of interior condensation or frost. This will make driving dangerous if caught in a storm. I have been able to get Ford to act even though a related recall existed under 03V087000. I have found many others with this problem. I have read the descriptions related to recall number 03V087000 and Ford tsb 04-15-3. I also see there is an existing complaint number to NHTSA: 10184014. The water leaks during storms regardless of whether the car is driving or sitting still. The fan first would only run on high speed and now won't run at all. This is an known design defect and I am frustrated that I can't get it remedied by Ford.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #28

Jan 212010


  • 40,997 miles
Due to a water leak problem, the ac blower motor failed (shorted out) and was unable to blow defrost air onto the windshield, causing poor visibility while driving. Water soaked the passenger floorboard. There was a previous recall #03V087000. Another person with the same problem has filed complaint #10184014.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #27

Dec 152009


  • 84,480 miles


Water in the blower case or on the passenger side floor, and the blower motor only works on high speed. Contacted dealer and was told that it was a service bulletin. Asked if it was covered under recall number 03V087000 and was told no.

- Marion, IA, USA

problem #26

Mar 252008


  • 94,000 miles
Taurus with a water leak or blown A/C heater blower motor. The blower on my 2003 Ford Taurus quit working all together. I have water draining onto the passenger side floor in rain storms. The blower would only work on high speed before it stop working completely. Refer to Ford recall number: 03V087000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #25

Nov 072009


  • 47,000 miles
[regarding Taurus/Sable for water leak and ac blower defect; silent recall; tsb 03-15-6; related recall existing under 03V087000, & possibly also compliance recall 03C03] - also see complaint #10184014 certified car, 2003 Ford Taurus ses, 47,000 miles have recently (11/7/09) gotten water on passenger floor, & now see that this is a common problem & design defect. Now my blower mower has started an unusual sound as well, & this is obviously related. I was told that this sound is water sloshing around & will rust my blower motor, making that yet another repair. Have been told that Ford will not pay for repair - but have found many instances online where Ford did indeed pay 80% of this exact same repair. This is a defect & there are hundreds of complaints about the Taurus water problem all over online, yet Ford chooses to ignore.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #24

Nov 102008


  • 81,699 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that water was pouring into the passenger side window of the vehicle and leaking into the heater blower. Currently, the blower only works on the high switch and shorting out the wiring switch. The dealer has not been notified, but the contact will call the dealer soon. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 81,699.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #23

Oct 242008


  • 56,500 miles


I have two vehicles and rarely drive my newer car in the rain. I took my newer car on vacation and was returning home when it started to rain. A couple days afterwards I was headed to work when my car started to fog up. I turned on the defrost fans and could barely hear the motor running. I turned to high where it ran for about 1 minute before completely failing. I figured that maybe my blower was failing. I searched on the internet and found that this is not an unusual problem with the 2003 Taurus and is a known problem (recall number 03V087000 and complaint 10184014). From what I am hearing, water is leaking into the blower unit and causing it to fail. The blower is in a completely useless due to this leak. I have called the dealership and they said it would be about $500 to fix. This is ridiculous for a design flaw in the manufacturing process. This is a safety issue and a design flaw on the vehicle. The blower was working during and up to the several hours of driving in the rain.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #22

Sep 152008


  • 57,000 miles
The fan on my heater has gone out on me three times since I purchased this care in August on 2006 - just a little over 2 years. I understand it has to do with a leak under the hood that Ford is well aware of (recall 03V087000? - see complaint #10184014). I don't feel I should have to replace this blower every 8 months.

- Spring Lake, MI, USA

problem #21

Mar 102007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that there was a leak in her windshield that caused mold and mildew build-up. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic and the windshield was sealed and the vehicle was fumigated. Since the repairs were made, there had been no further occurrences until recently during heavy rain. The odor inside the vehicle is unbearable and mold and mildew was built-up where the windshield meets the dashboard. When backing out of her driveway, the contact observed water leaking from the vehicle days after a rainstorm occurred. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V087000 (visibility:windshield). The failure mileage was 53,000 and current mileage was 55,000. Updated 10-30-08 updated 11/03/08.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #20

May 152008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Leaky cowl. Causes floorboard to be constantly soaked. Has already been reported with complaint # 10184014. The recall # is 03V087000. The recall needs to be extended to cover these cars no matter the mileage since it is a factory defect.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #19

Apr 292008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
2003 Ford Taurus several months ago the heater would not blow and then started working again. I also had water leaking onto the passenger side floor board. Again yesterday, my heater and A/C will only blow on high. I see many people online have had the same symptoms. Please refer to recall ref# 03V087000 and complaint #10184014.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #18

Apr 012007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the windshield slipped down and she heard a lot of wind noise, rattling, and water leakage. The floor began to rust, the lights flickered, and the cruise control failed due to water damage. The alternator was replaced twice due to water damage. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V087000 (visibility:windshield). The failure mileage was 43,000 and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 04-02-08 the vehicle jerks when the consumer drives over 35 mph. The dashboard lights go dim. The vehicle would also stall. The dealer stated it was due to a bad alternator. Updated

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #17

Feb 122008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My passenger floorboard is constantly damp as water has seemingly leaked through the exterior of the car. This has caused the blower motor to the A/C/heater to quit working. I would essentially have to find the source of the leak as well as buy a new blower motor to solve the problem, but it seems as if Ford is aware of the issue yet is hesitant to offer any assistance whatsoever. This is also in reference to recall 03V087000 as well as NHTSA complaint 10184014.

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #16

Feb 042008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that water is leaking through the bottom of the windshield. The water leaked into the vents and traveled onto the passenger side floor. The dealer replaced a weather seal and cow panel. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V087000 (visibility:windshield). The current and failure mileages were 40,000. Updated 3/11/08 updated 03/11/08

- Bethany , CT, USA

problem #15

Nov 152006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Water leak in windshield dumps water onto the heater blower motor. Called dealership said not covered under warranty, replaced motor once and now must replace again. Believe covered under NHTSA campaign id number 03V087000.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #14

Dec 042007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,600 miles
I purchased an 03 Ford Taurus 5 months ago from a Ford dealership in pa. Upon the winter season's arrival, I turned on my heat to hear a loud squeaking noise. I took my car to a repair shop where I was told that my blower motor was full of water due to a faulty cowl on the car. I was told that Ford was aware of this defect, and that it was semi common, but that Ford was not going to cover it under a recall. I was also informed that I would have to pay $500 to replace the cowl, the blower motor and a resistor. I called Ford to voice my anger about the situation and their response was there were basically not enough complaints and that it was not serious enough to warrant a recall. I disagree. I drive my 1 year old daughter around in the car. I am unable to defrost my windshield because of this, and can often not see out of my winder without rolling them down to let the fog lift off the windows. This is unacceptable. Someone could die as a result of this defect. Ford must be held responsible for this. There was an apparent related recall, but Ford still did not and will not take action. 03V087000 <--- recall.

- South Bend, IN, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?