Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 12 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #254

Oct 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 95,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Ford Taurus all of the sudden started accelerating on its own. The first time this happened was October 1, 2012. I was going 45 mph when all of the sudden it started revving up even as I applied the brakes. I had to jump up onto a median at 65ish mph to avoid other cars. The brakes began to smoke and grind as I tried to stop. I had to apply the emergency brake to stop. Even stopped the motor continued to rev at 8000 RPM. I had to turn the car off. Since then the sudden acceleration has occurred five more times. I had to take it in for brake repairs and the mechanic said he didn't know what was causing the acceleration and suggested I remove my floor mats as they may have gotten jammed under the pedal. While I know this to be false I nonetheless removed the floor mats and the condition remains. Another terrifying incident happened while I was visiting my daughter. She lives off a windy dirt road high on a leaf covered ridge. I usually don"T go any faster than 15 mph on her road. The car experienced another sudden acceleration as I was turning a bend. The car began to slide on the leaves and I bounced off a tree stump and almost hit my daughter"S fiancÉ. again I applied the emergency brake to stop and had to turn the car off. The last occurrence happened in my driveway before I took the car out of park. I had to mash down on the accelerator to bring it back to idle. At this point I am too afraid to drive my car. I have incurred replacement brake bills and various car damages as a result of these incidents. Thankfully no one has been hurt.

- Edmonton, KY, USA

problem #253

Oct 302011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
The cruise control cable pops off of its connection, and gets in the way of the throttle, holding the car at a higher RPM and speed after the foot pedal is released. Normally this can be handled by stomping on the gas a couple of times to clear the interference and the car returns to idle. Certainly the potential is there for an accident to occur if the driver is not cognizant of how to handle a vehicle that acts as if the cruise has been actuated when the driver is not expecting it to do so.

- Shawano, WI, USA

problem #252

Oct 212012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I was trying to park the vehicle but when I hit the brakes, it accellorated, then I put it in reverse and it went about 50mph backwards causing me to crash into 2 parked vehicles. It stopped when I put on the emergency brake.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #251

Aug 152012

Taurus

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the throttle got stuck and the car would accelerate itself. After taking my foot off the pedal the car would continue to accelerate and I had to step on the brake very firmly in order to stop. As I let go of the brake the car would jerk forward as if I was holding it back. If I stopped and put the car in neutral the rpms would continue rising as if I was stepping on the gas. After putting it back into drive the car would jerk or jump forward. After putting the car in park and turning it off the problem was usually solved. This occurs frequently though and usually happens at least once a week. It hasn't led to an accident but it is very dangerous.

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #250

Nov 152010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 25 mph, the engine rpms began to increase abnormally as the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact applied the brakes and was able to come to a stop. The failure recurred when driving at various speeds intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing however, the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. There was a concurrent investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12033 (vehicle speed control:cruise control vehicle speed control:cables) that could have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 01/15/13 the consumer stated at times the issue would resolve itself. Other times the ignition had to be quickly shut off. The failure would occur in motion and at stopped. Updated 1/23/2013

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #249

Sep 252012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 60,700 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph the accelerator pedal became stuck. The driver depressed the brakes with extreme force until she was able to stop the vehicle 15 to 20 minutes later. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the throttle need to be clean which might repair the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 66,700 and the current mileage was approximately 60,787. Updated 12/5/12 the consumer stated on November 18, 2012 there was another incident with the throttle sticking. The manufacturer was contacted, and suggested taking the vehicle to the dealer. Updated 12/11/2012

- Alberquerque, NM, USA

problem #248

Oct 192012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 96,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle speed did not reduce after removing foot from pedal. Applied brakes to slow vehicle, and then vehicle resumed acceleration when removed foot from brake. Was able to "unstick" throttle by repeatedly tapping accelerator pedal, and also pulling up on it with my foot from underneath. Used brakes to come to a stop. Mechanic found the cruise control cable had come unattached, possibly getting caught up in the throttle system. Cable was reattached. On 10/21/12 cruise control would not engage. 10 miles later vehicle would not de-accelerate. Again pumped gas pedal while applying brake pedal. Vehicle resumed normal operation. Contacted Ford after seeing numerous online postings about this, and the NHTSA investigation (March 2012) and was told there is no recall or safety bulletin regarding the dangling cruise control cable getting stuck in the throttle body, but that I could get it repaired at my own expense.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #247

Oct 192012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
While driving in a 45 mph zone throttle stuck had to brake hard to slow vehicle down put into neutral, engine rpms in excess of 6000 turned off car waited several minutes before restarting. Seemed fine however cruise control no longer worked. Upon inspection later on the cruise control cable had become disconnected. Reconnected cable, problem recurred in residential neighborhood. Reconnected again and again problem of stuck accelerator happened, again in a residential area.

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #246

Aug 012011

Taurus

  • 93,709 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated while attempting a left turn at an intersection. The vehicle increased speed to 65 mph as the contact had the brakes depressed. In addition, the engine rpms abnormally increased to 4,000. The contact was able to stop the vehicle by applying the brake pedal with force, shifting into park and turning the engine off. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times for the failure. The idle arm was replaced however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle continued to accelerate sporadically and without warning. The failure mileage was 93,709 and the current mileage was 96,000.

- Suitland , MD, USA

problem #245

Oct 032012

Taurus

  • 99,087 miles
Noticed 2 days prior that the cruise control no longer worked. Then, the car suddenly hit about 4,000 RPM without my foot on the gas pedal while driving 45 mph. After I braked and pull off the road it was still running high RPM without touching the gas. After I tried to start it again it went straight to 2500 RPM and stayed there, while in park and foot on the brake (not the gas). Had to have it towed. Very scary, very dangerous. Ford need to pay for this/recall it.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #244

Oct 012012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving appx 25 miles per hour in stop-go traffic, car accelerated as if I had pushed the gas pedal to the floor, tried to brake and had to fight the car for control, veered off the road and put the car into park and engine continued to rev at high rate. Turned ignition off and waited. Started car and engine continued to rev at high rate. Had vehicle towed.

- Centralia, MO, USA

problem #243

Oct 142011

Taurus

  • 65,000 miles
Stopped at a stop sign behind another car and it accelerated into the first car.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #242

Sep 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
For approximately the last year, off and on, the throttle will stick causing the car to accelerate. It usually happens at low to midrange speeds accelerating to at least 60 mph if left unchecked. Punching the accelerator pedal will usually release the pedal. Occasionally, when it happens on an open road with no traffic and I have the time to try different things I have found that turning the cruise control button to on (although the cruise control light will come on, the cruise control hasn't worked in over a year) while pushing the set button and then pushing coast, the accelerator pedal will release with an audible pop. Sometimes this occurs several times a day, sometimes only once or twice a week.

- Louisville, TN, USA

problem #241

Sep 212012

Taurus

  • 122,780 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while traveling 55 mph the cruise control switch was engaged and when the brakes were depressed the vehicle accelerated un-expectantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 122,780 and the current mileage was 122,800.

- Columbiana, OH, USA

problem #240

Sep 152012

Taurus

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently to approximately 70 mph. The contact applied the brakes, shifted into neutral and was able to stop the vehicle on the shoulder. The failure recurred approximately six times. The engine rpms increased excessively as the vehicle parked. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. There was a concurrent investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12005 (vehicle speed control:cables) that could have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #239

Sep 192012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 108,110 miles
After getting off the highway my car begin accelerating on its own. While applying the brake the car remained at 1500 rpms. I put the gear in park and the car went to just over 4000 rpms. I put the car in neutral and it remained around 4000 rpms. This has not caused an accident, but it is very dangerous and not normal. I contacted Ford and they told me that they are not aware of this particular problem with 2005 Ford tauruses.

- Mayfied Heights, OH, USA

problem #238

Jul 202012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I was driving my 2005 Ford Taurus on high way at around 60 mph and exited into local roads. At a traffic light, I suddenly noticed that my vehicle kept accelerating by itself. I was pressing hard on the break so that I did not run a red light or hit someone. When I finally found a place to park my car on the side of the street, the engine sped up to 4000 RPM till I pulled the key out. On my way to a local mechanic, the problem just magically went away. The same problem happened two more times during the past two months. I saw a dozen similar complaints on the same model. Hopefully there is a recall before something disastrous happens.

- North Arlington, NJ, USA

problem #237

Sep 172012

Taurus

  • 98,618 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while traveling 40 mph and attempting to depress the brakes, the vehicle continued to accelerate. The vehicle was able to be driven to the contact's residence and was not repaired or inspected. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were 98,618.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #236

Aug 012012

Taurus

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated while driving the vehicle began to hesitate and the rpms increased to 4,000. The contact was able to bring the vehicle to a stop by depressing the brake pedal with force and turn the vehicle off. The rpms continued to increase when the vehicle was restarted. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 150,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Lilburn , GA, USA

problem #235

Sep 052012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 86,385 miles
During moderate speed travel, let off of accelerator and expected vehicle to begin slowing down. However, it responded by slowly accelerating. Then, while trying to stop at an intersection, lurching of the vehicle began when applying the brake. Could not make this activity stop without rapidly stepping on the accelerator and releasing. Once it stopped, the vehicle seemed ok until the next day when it began again. There did not appear to be any relation to warm up time, etc. Took vehicle to Ford service center and they could find no problem. I then researched this issue on the internet and found similar complaints that were resolved by fixing the cruise control (this had not occurred to me since the cruise control was not engaged during problem). I then asked the service center to check cruise control circuitry (they said they had with no problems found). I picked up the vehicle, took is immediately to the freeway and engaged the cruise control, and it would not hold speed. I took the vehicle back, the service technician looked under the hood and found the cruise control cable disconnected. He manipulated the throttle and was able to see the cable connect and disconnect randomly; he also stated he could see how the cable would be in the way of normal throttle operation if it was disconnected. The cable has been replaced and the acceleration issue has not recurred.

- Syracuse, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?