Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 16 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #174

May 202012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 136,611 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on interstate and gas pedal got stuck at 70 mph, I tried turning off the cruise control (which I didn't have on), tried braking and slowed to 60 mph when I let off the brake it accelerated on its own back to 70 mph finally had to put car in neutral and turn off ignition and coast to a stop. Also since then sometimes when I start the car in the morn it will rev to 3000 RPM and stay they until U turn off the car. Cruise control quit working the day before the gas pedal stuck on the interstate.

- Corydon, IN, USA

problem #173

May 232009

Taurus

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that when the vehicle was stopped, the rpms would increase excessively. The dealer was notified of the failure who advised the contact that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The contact had previously experienced the failure and the dealer replaced the throttle cable. The manufacturer was notified of the recurring failure who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #172

Apr 182012

Taurus

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the accelerator pedal was engaged and it became stuck. The contact mentioned that she had to manually pull the accelerator pedal in order to slow down the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 117,000.

- Hornell , NY, USA

problem #171

May 192012

Taurus

  • 81,280 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was about to leave the parking lot of my job. I put the car in drive with my foot on the brake pedal. As I took my foot off the brake pedal, before I could even place it on the accelerator pedal, the car lunged forward on its own. I had to quickly put my foot back on the brake pedal to stop it! thankfully there was no one parked in front of me, or I would surely have run into them. After reading several complaints about the 2005 Taurus accelerating or lunging forward on its own, I felt the need to add my complaint to the database.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #170

May 122012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while attempting to brake from 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact mentioned that he was able to stop the vehicle by shifting to neutral. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who diagnosed that the cruise control cable was disconnected and the wire had become stuck in the accelerator cable, causing the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem who filed a complaint on behalf of the contact. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 102,000. Updated 12/04/12 updated 12/05/12

- Dover , PA, USA

problem #169

May 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I was driving approx 30 miles an hour when the car started to accelerate on its own. I had to pull over on the side of the road and turn the car off to stop the acceleration. Pressing the break had no affect on the car auto accelerating. This has been happening very frequently over the past week. No when it starts to accelerate by its self I put the car in neutral and it accelerates up to approx 4000 RPM, to stop the acceleration I press the gas pedal and release quickly and the car settles back down, stopping the acceleration. I feel that this is very dangerous to me and my family and needs to be investigated.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #168

Feb 192012

Taurus 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Ford Taurus has a problem slowing down on several occasions when I attempt to slow down at stop signs or red lights. There's been many times when I've almost ran into a car in front of me because I could not stop or slow down. Instead of stopping when I apply the brakes, the engine revs up and speeds up on its on. This has been going on for several months and I'm afraid that I may crash into someone in front of me at a stop sign or red light. Also, even when I'm driving on the highway or a normal street or road, the car will sometimes speed up on its on even when I take my foot off the gas pedal. This is very dangerous and I'm going to take my car to a Ford dealership to see if they can fix or repair this manufactured defect.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #167

May 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
Went to slow car to park car kept accelerating higher and higher stopping on brake didn't help as well as in park turned off car still accelerates up to 3000-4000 thank god I was at home and not on the road with my kids possible throttle stuck taking in asap.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #166

Dec 152011

Taurus

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact removed her foot from the accelerator pedal but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact depressed the brake pedal but was unable to decrease the speed of the vehicle. The contact kicked then the accelerator pedal and the vehicle stopped accelerating. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #165

Apr 272012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 85,600 miles
Coming from an idle, car accelerated by itself. Put it in neutral and rpms continued to 3000 RPM. 3 days later, same thing happened again at stop sign.

- District Heights, MD, USA

problem #164

Apr 242012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 107,445 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

With my wife and son driving through a parking lot coming to meet me, my wife pulls up to park the car and I see she is struggling to stop the car (5-10mph) and I can hear the brakes. She is able to stop the car and jammed it into park. The engine surges and I can hear it revving. Looking inside the car I see it revving to 4,000 RPM (in park). I open the hood with the engine running and inspect. I find the cruise control cable jammed in such a way that it is forcing the throttle to be wide open and the accelerator cable is ineffective. Not thinking to much about it I reconnect the cable and shut off the car. Two days later while I am driving the car the same issue happens at highway speed. I put the car in neutral and observe the engine speed at 4,000 RPM. I open the hood and again find the cruise control cable jammed leaving the throttle wide open. I remove the plastic cover for the throttle. With the engine off at this point, I am able to induce the throttle sticking due to the cruise control cable. I secured the cruise control cable so it does not interfere with the throttle. I took the car to richmond Ford and provide the VIN to someone in the service department to search for applicable recalls for this vehicle, there are none currently. This vehicle is in good repair and I am the owner from 22,000 miles.

- Sandston, VA, USA

problem #163

Apr 252012

Taurus

  • 72,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that she had a difficult time stopping the vehicle while driving downhill. The contact also stated that there was an increase in the engine rpms and the vehicle lunged forward. This was the second occurrence of the failure. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and the contact was informed that the cable for the cruise control needed to be replaced. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 72,500.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #162

Apr 202012

Taurus

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle accelected on its own to approximately 60 mph. The contact was able to successfully stop the vehicle by applying the brakes. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The fauilre and current mileages were 106,000.

- Waldof , MD, USA

problem #161

Apr 192011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact applied the brakes, but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact also stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer in 2011 for the same failure, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The dealer stated that the contact was depressing both the brake and accelerator pedals at the same time. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who inspected the failure and stated that the throttle body was sticking. The mechanic sprayed a lubricant on the throttle and the failure was remedied for approximately one year. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the failure was under a defect investigation and there were no current recalls. No further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage is 60,000. Updated 05/11/12 updated 06/01/12

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #160

Nov 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 25 mph when the accelerator pedal seized, after being depressed, causing the vehicle to increase acceleration. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 05/08/12 the consumer stated the problem happened on a regular basis, usually when accelerating from a stopped position. The consumer also stated the cruise control was inoperative. Taping the gas pedal seemed to release it from the stuck position. Updated 05/21/12

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #159

Apr 172012

Taurus

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 40 mph and depressing the brakes when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact then noticed that the accelerator pedal had become stuck in open throttle. The contact attempted to release the pedal by pulling it forward as the engine rpms increase excessively. The contact was able to stop the vehicle and the vehicle was towed to her residence. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Mastic Beach, NY, USA

problem #158

Apr 122012

Taurus

  • 57,680 miles
I pulled onto a state route and accelerated to get up to highway speed. The light I was approaching turned yellow, so I went from the gas to the brake pedal. I realized very quickly I was not slowing down nearly fast enough to stop in time and was going to hit the car in front of me in a few seconds. I assumed the brakes were failing. I looked down to try to down shift the car and realized the car was running at approximately 2800 RPM. I put my left foot on the brake and moved my right foot back to the accelerator. I could feel that the accelerator pedal was still depressed. I placed my foot under the pedal, but I could not lift it up. I then pressed the accelerator down further and released it. This time the pedal came back to normal position and I was able to stop. When I pulled over and looked under the hood, the cable for the cruise control was not attached to the throttle arm. I tried reattaching the cruise control cable, but connector was worn out and it would not stay attached. I tucked the loose cruise control cable under a wire in order to get home.

- Troy, OH, USA

problem #157

Jan 132010

Taurus

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 30 mph, the contact removed his foot from the brake pedal and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. After placing the vehicle in neutral and depressing the accelerator pedal continuously, the vehicle came to a stop. The failure recurred at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The technicians stated that the cruise control cable and torque converter would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred two years later. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12005 (vehicle speed control:cables) that could possibly have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #156

Jan 192012

Taurus

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While traveling 60 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle had began to accelerate independently. In order to stop the acceleration, the vehicle had to be shut off completely. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The current and the failure mileages were 72,000. The VIN was not available.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #155

Sep 112010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 123,410 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving uphill at 65 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and did not stop when the brakes were depressed. The contact shifted into neutral which was followed by an increase in the engine rpms. The engine had to be shut off to stop the failure. After waiting a few moments, the vehicle was driven home and then to a dealer. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the vehicle speed control experienced a shortage and needed to be replaced. The contact informed the dealer to disconnect the vehicle speed control and she did not plan on replacing it. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there were no recalls. No further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 123,410 and the current mileage is 143,000. Updated 05/21/12 updated 05/23/12

- Sartell, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?