Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
93,483 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #11

May 152015

Taurus

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving 55 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and remained stuck causing the vehicle to accelerate. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Abington, MA, USA

problem #10

Oct 272014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,725 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While traveling 45 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck and caused a sudden increase in engine rpms. The contact had to depress the accelerator pedal several times and shift into neutral in order to release the accelerator pedal. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was inspected and it was determined the cruise control cable was broken. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000. Updated 12/22/14 updated 02/03/15

- Eatonton, GA, USA

problem #9

Jun 132012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
While driving the gas pedal gets stuck and car accelerates. Have had to turn car off to stop and at that time the gas pedal pops back up to normal.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 092011

Taurus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having problems in which the accelerator sticks while driving. It is difficult to slow the vehicle to a stop. It has also stuck when the car is started. At times the car will not start properly, only after repeated tries will it turn over.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 072011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While traveling 50 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle had suddenly begun to accelerate and the accelerator pedal lost all pressure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the throttle body gasket and cruise control cable were replaced. The failure mileage was 66,000 and the current mileage was 75,000. Updated 07/10/12 the consumer stated the accelertor issue was addressed several times in 2010. Updated 07/11/12

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 102011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I was driving down the highway approaching an intersection. As I let off the accelerator and applied the brakes, the car lurched forward like the cruise control was on, but it wasn't. it continued to accelerate and I was narrowly able to avoid a collision with the car in front of me. Since that time I had several recurrences of this same problem. Some while driving. Some while sitting still. This is obviously an issue, and I am wondering how many people have to die until a recall is issued for this problem. The consumer stated the accelerator pedal stuck open on two occasions. Updated 12/13/11

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #5

Sep 142011

Taurus

  • 81,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just recently purchased a 2005 Ford Taurus and it was running fine for like 2 days. Then the cruise stopped working a few days later the accelerator began to stick. I was going about 30 and suddenly the car began to take off on its own and I nearly hit the car in front of me. I had to steer off the road and pressing the brakes was very hard. This seems to be a trend for the car and is extremely dangerous!! someone should not have to die for this to be recalled!!

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #4

Mar 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph the engine began to rev very rapidly. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where it was stopped. While examining the vehicle, the contact noticed that the accelerator cable was fractured. The vehicle was in the process of being taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer and the authorized dealer were made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 10/5/11 the consumer stated the cruise control cable, is keeping the throttle open and making the RPM's rise higher than they should. Updated 10/26/11

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #3

Oct 082010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 260,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that his wife was involved in an accident which resulted in her death. The vehicle was totaled. There was no one else in the vehicle. The police report stated that the driver ran a stop sign and was hit on the driver side by another vehicle which caused the fatality. The contact stated that before the incident, the accelerator pedal had occasionally stuck and the contact believed that to be the cause of the accident. The contact spoke with a local dealer who stated that they had heard of no such failures with the model. The current and failure mileages were approximately 260,000. Updated 01/11/2011 updated 02/28/11

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #2

May 072010

(reported on)

Taurus

  • miles
2005 Ford Taurus. Consumer states sticky accelerator at moderate to high speeds. The consumer stated the pedal would not release, when he tried to lift it with his foot.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Jan 302010

Taurus

  • 103,989 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The accelerator pedal became stuck while driving 55 mph and the vehicle failed to stop. The contact was able to safely drive into a parking lot turn the vehicle off and back on. A local mechanic replaced the entire throttle body for $300. The Ford manufacturer was called and stated since there were no existing recalls the contact would assume responsibility for the repair costs. The failure mileage was 103,989.

- Carrabelle, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?