Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,156 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Jun 062012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 35 mph, the transmission began to jerk with hesitation and the warning indicator illuminated until the engine was turned off. In addition, the transmission would slip gears unexpectedly. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis where they stated that the transmission would need to be replaced due to internal damage. In 2009, a rebuilt transmission was installed in the vehicle by an authorized dealer. The vehicle had not been repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000 in 2009. Less than 50,000 in 2012. Updated 1/15/13 the consumer stated the dealer was willing to pay for half of the transmission repairs. The manufacturer was unwilling to assist with repairs. Updated 1/29/2013 updated 06/10/14

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #43

Feb 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 92,159 miles
This incident first happened while I was pulling into a parking spot and since many times. The car gets stuck in full throttle and sometimes impossible to stop I have to throw into neutral to keep from slamming into vehicles, it has torn up my new brake pads that I put on in the fall. It will be fine for a period of time then all of sudden out of no where the car will get stuck in full throttle. I have been told by a Ford mechanic that this is a common issue.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #42

Oct 142010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 40 mph when the acceleration pedal became stuck in open throttle position. The contact had to abruptly stomp on the pedal in order for it to release. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the throttle or the vehicle speed control cable failed and caused the failure. The dealer advised that the cables would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000 and the current mileage was 126,000. The consumer stated sudden acceleration caused the transmission to fail, due to the strain of trying to slow the vehicle down. Updated 08/22/12

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #41

Nov 262011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles


The transmission on my six year old vehicle failed after only 79,000 miles. There are multiple reported incidents of transmission failure for the 2005 Ford Taurus (please see for a list of similar incidents). I believe that NHTSA needs to conduct a full investigation of Ford Motor Company to ensure that it is following safety and construction standards. Surely, a defective and faulty transmission is not what consumers should expect when purchasing a vehicle. I notified Ford Motor Company about this issue, and they refuse to take responsibility for the construction of their vehicle. This is a very dangerous defect, and could cause serious injury and loss of human life. Since Ford refuses to acknowledge its responsibility for the issue, I expect the NHTSA, as a government Agency, to fulfill its responsibility to consumers to investigate the construction and safety of 2005 Ford Taurus transmissions. I appreciate your response, and I am willing to provide any necessary additional information.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #40

Sep 142011


  • 81,600 miles
I just recently purchased a 2005 Ford Taurus and it was running fine for like 2 days. Then the cruise stopped working a few days later the accelerator began to stick. I was going about 30 and suddenly the car began to take off on its own and I nearly hit the car in front of me. I had to steer off the road and pressing the brakes was very hard. This seems to be a trend for the car and is extremely dangerous!! someone should not have to die for this to be recalled!!

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #39

May 152009


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving approximately 70 mph when the vehicle would not accelerate. He coasted the vehicle to the side of the road where it was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was diagnosed as a failed transmission and was repaired. Approximately 31,000 miles later, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired nor was the manufacturer contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 84,000.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #38

May 152010


  • 40,000 miles


2005 Ford Taurus 3.0, vulcan OHV flex-fuel engine. 24,000 miles, driver door would not close anymore. Hood misaligned itself. Interior pieces falling off. When starting, starter would spin free of the flywheel and not start. (still does this, but will start on the 2nd try usually) brake light switch is erratic, light braking produces a flashing effect like I'm hitting the brakes frantically. Makes me look like an idiot driver.(have seen this on other recent mid-2000's Ford before. Thought they were idiot drivers! cannot use E-85 in any chilly weather below 50 degrees or it is a very long start and it'll idle at 2,500 until warm. Routinely gets 17 mpg while being driven very easy. 30,000 miles, flex-pipe exhaust broke on highway, almost ripped off whole exhaust. Wasn't even worn looking, just broke in half! brake rotors warped quickly, never did any hard stops.Continental tires were badly cracked and unsafe, had never been run low or abused. Brake pedal shakes up and down periodically with no reason found, feels like ABS but car has no ABS. 40,000 miles, complete transmission failure while highway cruising. Seat adjustment will not budge, wife cannot drive car as seat is set for me. 45,000 miles, ac compressor bearing failure requiring compressor replacement. Power window controls do not work. Interior lights work intermittently. Accelerator cable needed replacement. Uses oil at a high rate for a low-mileage car.( have never neglected oil.) outer door window rubber is badly deteriorated and cracking apart. I've had 20 year old cars that had better rubber. Paint is beginning to chip off the dash(why is this painted?). this car is of terrible quality. I have had 37 cars and this is the worst one of them all. I have always liked Ford until this car. Ford did honor the warranty when in effect but it is falling apart way too fast and my only recourse is to never buy another Ford.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #37

Apr 062011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 101,412 miles
Ford Taurus transmission just stopped when driving, dealer said $2500 to fix, I checked on line and found numerous complaints of same issue. Ford need to fix this on a recall basis.thank god my car was not on highway going fast with my 3 kids in it, then it would not have been a recall issue but a lawsuit issue. Ford need to look at this and refund all customers that have paid out of pocket for these repairs.

- Glenmont, NY, USA

problem #36

Apr 052009


  • 46,000 miles
Transmission failure of 2005 Ford Taurus. Googled 2005 Taurus transmission problems and found there are many people with the same complaint. Torque converter failure. I believe there is a defect.

- Sheffield Lake, OH, USA

problem #35

Nov 142010


  • 90,000 miles
Own a 2005 Ford Taurus sel. With less than 100K miles on it, and without warning, the transmission stopped engaging. This happened on a busy interstate 90 miles from home. Luckily, we were able to pull the car off to the shoulder. This and many other accounts have led me to believe that Ford has installed faulty transmissions in this model line. No transmission should drop out without warning with such low mileage on the transmission. Transmission needed to be rebuilt, cost me $2200 in the end.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #34

Oct 232010


  • 95,000 miles


We were stopped at a stop sign and when we went to press the gas pedal to go the RPM's revved for a second and then nothing. The car would not go like it was in neutral. We turned the car off then turned it on again and still nothing. The car wouldn't go into gear. Now we are trying to figure out how to get it fixed and are going to the dealership tomorrow to see if they can help. We have only had the car for a year and it only has 95,000 miles on it.

- Bolivar, OH, USA

problem #33

Aug 012010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 5 mph, the transmission failed and the gear would not shift out of first gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and diagnosed as a failed clutch plate. The dealer repaired the vehicle and also replaced the transmission. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was outside of factory warranty and would not assist with the repair. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 63,000. Updated 01/06/11 03/28/11

- Kendall Park , NJ, USA

problem #32

Sep 012010


  • 80,000 miles
Torque converter on 2005 Ford Taurus blew up. I was driving down a very busy road during rush hour traffic when my car just stopped. In addition to delaying traffic it was a very unsafe situation for myself and my children who were in the car with my. The mechanic who fixed my car showed me the torque converter and the metal had turned blue from being heated to an extreme heat. He also said that the torque converter blew up sending metal pieces into my transmission. I have talked to several people who have had similar issues and I think it is time that Ford is held accountable for an obviously faulty part. Thank you for your time.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #31

Oct 142010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Transmission failure while driving, no notice, no nothing. Just lucky it did not give out in the middle of a busy intersection. Could have been a real bad accident if it would have.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #30

Oct 092010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 65,268 miles
2005 Ford Taurus SE - sudden transmission failure. 65,248 miles on car. Traveling 70mph on major highway, passing another vehicle, engine suddenly revved to 7,000rpms and slowed fast, managed to get it side of road. Had only park and neutral gears. No warning light, no unusual noise, no previous issue with transmission or engine. Required a new rebuilt transmission, $3,000 expense. Luckily no accident occurred, no one hurt.

- Dryden, NY, USA

problem #29

Sep 162010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 55,989 miles
2005 Ford Taurus transmission failed at 56,000mi aamco said was a know issue. And believed a class action suit was filed. Want to be included. Something about the torque converter/spline. Went to store, was driving home, and transmission just went as I was pulling onto the hwy. My family and I could have been killed!

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #28

Jul 182010

Taurus 4WD 6-cyl

  • 57,445 miles
2005 Ford Taurus transmission failed in traffic, had to be pushed across 3 lanes of traffic. 57,000 miles. Mechanic found stripped torque converter pump drive plate. Old part available. Found hundreds of instances of this safety issue occurring online but no recall by Ford as of now.

- North Richland Hills, TX, USA

problem #27

May 202010


  • 60,000 miles
Transmission light came on and although RPM's would go to 6000 you could only drive 30mph - no warning or indication of any transmission problem - service had been done per manual and was current - mileage was 60K - rebuilt transmission was the solution - really not happy.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #26

Mar 202010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 78,453 miles
While driving down the road in our 2005 Ford Taurus it suddenly sounded as if our car was in neutral. After coasting down a hill and into a parking lot we discover that our car will not go into any gear. We had the car towed and now are going to have to figure out how to pay to replace the transmission.

- Harrison, TN, USA

problem #25

Feb 082010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 69,533 miles
On February 5,2010 at 4:44 pm, my Ford Taurus SE 4dr sdn neglected to proceed from a stop light and was having no problems proceeding prior to that stop light and was still in drive after the light turned green to go, but was not able to proceed and was still in drive and running, thinking I was able to proceed with traffic and not able to, had to push the Taurus off the road with help from other drivers, than call for a tow. I had it towed back to the greenway Ford dealer ship later that night for one hundred and ninety eight dollars out of pocket. After calling the said mentioned dealership above was told that the mechanic couldn't start repairs until 02/08/2010. When the repairs were done after eight hours of mechanical work, I was called to come and pick-up my Ford at the tune of $1,593.74 of mechanical repairs to the R&R transmission and the torque converter and transmission filter after my warranty expired after 24,000 miles or 24 months, after researching the Ford on the lemon laws found none to be seen or found to be my Ford in question, but did find a defected issue with the transmission mentioned above for that year and model and make, witch I made a copy of for my records, I have concerns and a complaint to be settled there-of with Ford.......

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?