Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,124 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

Jul 052012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 81,430 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Ford Taurus SE has a problem accelerating unexpectedly. I can feel the gas pedal depress and the car accelerates unexpectedly. The first time this happened I was pulling away from a stop sign and then slowing down to turn into a parking lot. The car was still trying to accelerate and I had to press harder on the brake to slow down. I then shifted to neutral and tapped the gas pedal. The car idled back down from almost 3000 RPM to around 1000, as it should be. It then accelerated unexpectedly 2 more times on my way home that evening. My cruise control no longer works either. I can turn it on and set the cruise. The light even works on the dash saying the cruise is set. But, the car just decelerates when I let off the gas pedal and the cruise turns off after it slows down 5-7 mph from where it was set. I'm really glad that it wasn't one of my teenage drivers in the drivers seat when this happened. I will not let them drive the car again until it's fixed. I'm sure Ford will do the right thing and fix the issue. I'm calling the local dealership tonight.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #74

May 102012

Taurus

  • 72,000 miles
5 minutes into a trip through town I noticed that it was extremely hard to use my brakes, I had to force them down and hold the brake pedal hard. When the light turned green and I released the brakes my car shot forward without my foot on the gas pedal. About 20 minutes later on the freeway I realized my cruise control wasn't working.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #73

Jun 012011

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles
The cruise control on my Ford Taurus stopped working approximately a year ago (though it could be longer) and since that time my car will periodically speed up on its own! it occurred again this morning in rush hour traffic!!! luckily, I tapped the accelerator several times and managed to get it unstuck but this is dangerous and should be recalled and repaired immediately before someone gets seriously injured or (heaven forbid) killed.

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #72

Oct 012010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle accelerates by itself while driving and hard to brake, need to tap the gas pedal, neutral in order to stop the vehicle.. also vehicle shuts down by itself while driving around 40 mph hard to control vehicle... scare to drive vehicle specially with my kids....

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #71

Sep 302011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the brake pedal was engaged without any response. The vehicle unexpectedly increased acceleration up to 40 mph. The vehicle then crashed into a cement wall. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained two broken legs, thirteen broken ribs and also suffered from other internal injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a storage facility. There was currently an open investigation associated with NHTSA action number PE12005 (vehicle speed control: Cables). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 07/05/12 updated 07/10/12

- Wickliffe, OH, USA

problem #70

Mar 252012

Taurus

  • 69,000 miles
Intermittent throttle problems. On the freeway, have had the cruise control on and it doesn't work, off and it continues to hold it's current speed. On city streets, idles at high rate, and when break released the car increases speed (I.e. went from 0 to 45mph without pressing gas peddle). I have to press break often to remain in speed limit. I am afraid the breaks will wear out too quickly with this problem. This is a safety issue, but because the car is out of warranty, Ford dealership will not repair the car without charging for a diagnostic and then parts and labor. This is a defect that is apparently happening to many other vehicles and should be immediately treated as a recall before someone gets hurt!

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #69

Apr 172012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 98,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On or about 04/17/2012 and on 05/14/2012 I was driving my 2006 Ford Taurus and suddenly the vehicle acceleration seemed to have stuck in accelerated state causing the car to suddenly go faster that the approx 30 mph that I was driving. This happened without warning. The car's engine seemed to be revving and I had to apply the brakes with some force to stop the car. The first time I was able to stop at the red light with the brake pedal depressed hard, even after coming to a stop as the car still wanted to go. Once the light changed to green I drove forward and began tapping the gas/brake multiple times in some hope to stop the unwanted acceleration. Finally the car returned back to normal. Yesterday the exact thing happened again. I was going about 30 mph on a town street when for no known reason to me the engine revved up and the acceleration caused the Taurus to want to speed further. I turned off a nearby side street, depressing the brakes hard to stop. I shut off the car after I pulled over. Shortly thereafter I started the Taurus again but the acceleration was still going. I began tapping the gas/brakes and then the car went back to normal. I am worried as this appears to be a dangerous situation as sudden and unwanted random acceleration of my 2006 Ford Taurus could cause an accident, injuries or death. Please help!

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #68

Aug 312011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Purchased this vehicle used and immediately had episodes of the accelerator sticking. Happens on nearly every trip with this vehicle and happens 4-5 time on a 20 mile trip. Worse episodes of stuck accelerator with rapid acceleration as in freeway entrance ramps. The brakes can override the stuck accelerator, but it is frightening when it happens in town. After several months of dealing with this issue and not finding a cause, we have learned to stop the sticking by punching the accelerator hard once or twice at a point in the road where more forward acceleration will not be a safety issue. We have had this issue so much and are so familiar with it, I sometimes use it as a cruise control feature while on the freeway, but it is not as reliable and is not as steady as the true speed control device. This issue is dangerous for the inexperience driver and should be addressed quickly. I am aware of a national study of this very problem. Please let us know the outcome.

- West Milton, OH, USA

problem #67

Jul 142011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
This vehicle has a mind of it's own. It accelerates at a high RPM and will not stop. We have had many "near misses" running red lights and failing to stop when necessary. The dealer has attempted to fix it a couple of times and told us that the problem is common with the 2006 model Taurus. After several incidents, the dealer will not cover the cost of repair as there are no recalls for this model to date. I am not sure where to go from here or if there is a way to disable the cruise control altogether. The only way to stop the vehicle is to apply heavy brake pressure, shift to neutral and shut down the engine. Sometimes this will correct the problem and other times it will not. I understand that the NHTSA is investigating these vehicles for this problem. I do hope they move quickly on this before anything serious happens if it has not already.

- Tooele, UT, USA

problem #66

Aug 192011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
Last summer, my car started to accelerate at stop signs/lights. I would be braking at a light and the engine would suddenly start surging and I would have to heavily hold my brakes to keep from accelerating into the car ahead of me or people walking across the street. When I was driving, my speed would sometimes accelerate and I would not be pressing on the gas pedal. These problems would only happen every once and awhile so I did not take my car in for two months. I also noticed that my cruise control would not work. The light would come on when I turned it on, but my car would not stay at the speed I selected. It would just decelerate in cruise control. When I took my car in to have it looked at, they informed me that I had a faulty cruise control cable that was not fitting properly on my car. It would catch on the throttle lever causing my car to surge. I had to pay $293.92 to have this fixed, when it seemed like a faulty safety issue that the company should have recalled/paid for! my friend recently sent me this article: bottomline.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/03/12/10657814-Ford-probe-widens-could-cover-19-million-cars it seems other people are having the same problem and this item needs to be fixed/recalled. I shouldn't have to pay nearly $300 for a faulty part!

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #65

Sep 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The accelerator sticks. Some times actually accelerates. Very hard to stop with brakes. This has occurred several times. I could usually unstick the accelerator by pressing down more on the accelerator and letting up. The problem got worse and the frequency of occurrence increased. This became a very frightening situation. Therefore, I have had work done at downtown Ford in louisville. They replaced the throttle body. This work was done this past week and so far I have not experienced any further trouble.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #64

Feb 082011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
When the car isn't being driven but is on sometimes the gas revs up by itself and engine just keeps running and the RPM runs up, the gas also accelerates on its own and the pedal sticks.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #63

Feb 042012

Taurus

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the vehicle surged forward while driving at various speeds and while stopped. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and an independent repair shop, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Agawan, MA, USA

problem #62

Apr 092012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 83,584 miles
Sudden acceleration problem with my 2006 Ford Taurus has started again...I first reported this to NHTSA about a month ago..this time around, it begins intermittently on start up, and sometimes while driving...this problem began when my cruise control stopped working. This is a very dangerous condition...it happened three times to my wife about 2 hours ago, and she had to press very hard on the brakes to get it to stop at a stoplight the acceleration problems began over a year ago and happened on and off since then....we have gone through a period of several months without a problem..but this time it is much worse, the acceleration is more severe..

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #61

Mar 312012

Taurus

  • 62,890 miles
After taking a right turn, the vehicle began accelerating on its own. I had to fully apply the brake to maintain control. It was terrifying. My whole body shook. I thought I would hit something because I did not think that I could stop the car. Even while pushing the brake pedal all the way down and shifting into D I could not keep the car under 40 mph. The engine kept revving and the car kept gaining speed. Luckily, the only light I had was green. I pulled into a parking lot and slowed the vehicle down to a stop by applying all my force to the brake. I shifted into park hoping that would keep the vehicle from moving. It caused a loud sound that sounded like an explosion and startled everyone in the parking lot. Still not sure what to do, I turned the ignition off. A parking spot opened up so I turned on the ignition, that caused an even louder explosive sound. I was still terrified but I had to act - so I forced the brake pedal down as hard as I could and shifted to D and was able to navigate into the parking spot. I put the vehicle in park again and again it caused a loud explosive sound. By now I was a spectacle in the parking lot but I was just thankful that I was alive and that no one was hurt. I looked down at the gas pedal and noticed that it was fully depressed and loose. I pulled the pedal up but there was no tension to hold it up and it dropped back all the way down. I drove the vehicle back home, in much the same way - transmission in D, applying a lot of force to the brake and hoping that I would not have to stop suddenly or get pulled over for speeding since I could not get the vehicle slower than 40 mph even while pushing on the brake as hard as I could the whole trip. And when I parked the car at home, it made the same loud sound and I also heard ticking noises coming from under the hood. I am still shaken up by the incident.

- Lawrence, MA, USA

problem #60

Feb 152012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 60 mph the driver of the vehicle attempted to activate the cruise control but the vehicle would not respond. The cruise control failed intermittently and would inadvertently activate independently. The contact stated that the throttle would become stuck and the rpms increased to 6,000. The driver depressed the brake pedal but the brakes were hesitant to respond. The driver placed the gear shifter in neutral in order to slow the vehicle down. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic. The technician stated the cruise control cable would have to be replaced and the throttle body would have to be cleaned. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12005 (vehicle speed control:cables) that may be related to the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000. Updated 04/25/12 the consumer stated the RPM's went between 5,000 and 6,000 most of the time. The problem would happen on an intermittent basis. Updated 04/30/12

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #59

Jan 022012

Taurus

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal failed to depress to the floor properly, causing the vehicle to lunge forward abnormally. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 118,000 and the current mileage was 124,000.

- Westerly, RI, USA

problem #58

Feb 282012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 206,858 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving 30 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact had to repeatedly depress on the brakes in order for the vehicle to decelerate. The manufacturer was notified of the failure who informed the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 206,858.

- Peck, MI, USA

problem #57

Mar 242012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 54,500 miles
Was driving my 2006 Ford Taurus out of a parking lot into a busy 4 lane road with a 45 mph speed limit. Upon braking right before the sidewalk to wait for traffic the vehicle sped up as if it a mind of its own. I hit the brakes but vehicle did not want to stop. The vehicle entered the street. Luckily there was just enough distance so the oncoming vehicle didn't hit me. Had the other vehicle been moving faster or been closer an accident could have occurred.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #56

Mar 092009

Taurus

  • 72,740 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Taurus. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph and attempting to utilize the cruise control but the feature would not activate. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated as the engine rpms rapidly increased. The contact had to use extreme force on the brakes in order for the vehicle to stop. After parking the vehicle, the engine continued to race. The vehicle was later taken to an independent mechanic where disconnected the cruise control cable. The failure recurred one week later. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic who then repaired the vehicle by replacing the cruise control cable. The failure mileage was approximately 72,740. Updated 5/21/12

- Colchester , CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?