Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.8

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,553 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #20

Jan 242009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving in cruise control at 40 mph and applying the brakes, the vehicle would suddenly stall. In order to restart the vehicle, he would have to shift into neutral and restart. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised him that it may be the throttle body and the motor assembly. The vehicle was repaired for the throttle body and the motor assembly. A few weeks later, the failure recurred. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer a second time and they advised him that they would recalibrate the PCM but could not guarantee that the repair would fully repair the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000. Updated 07/20/11

- Seven Hills, OH, USA

problem #19

Feb 272009

Taurus

  • 1,273 miles
Engine stops running and has to be restarted. It has happened at least 6 times over 22 months and had it to the dealer 4 times. They have tried several things to solve the problem but to no avail. One time I was going to make a left turn and the only way I noticed the problem was that the car would not turn because the power steering did not work due to the engine failure.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 272009

Taurus

  • 1,273 miles
Engine stops running and has to be restarted. It has happened at least 6 times over 22 months and had it to the dealer 4 times. They have tried several things to solve the problem but to no avail. One time I was going to make a left turn and the only way I noticed the problem was that the car would not turn because the power steering did not work due to the engine failure.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 272009

Taurus

  • 1,273 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stops running and has to be restarted. It has happened at least 6 times over 22 months and had it to the dealer 4 times. They have tried several things to solve the problem but to no avail. One time I was going to make a left turn and the only way I noticed the problem was that the car would not turn because the power steering did not work due to the engine failure.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #16

Jun 022010

Taurus

  • 32,000 miles
While driving car on 2 occasions engine shuts off around 40 mph. Pull car over to side of road and restarts; taken to dealership and both times no codes are recorded.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 182009

Taurus

  • 30 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2009 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that when he was at a stop and attempted to accelerate, the vehicle would lose all power. The engine would rev but not move forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but the dealer told the contact that was how the vehicle was designed.the dealer also stated that it took time to send the signal to the computer. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not notified the manufacturer of the problem. The current mileage was approximately 19,700. The failure mileage was approximately 30.

- Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #14

Aug 162009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Ford Taurus. While driving with the cruise control set to 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The check engine, oil and battery warning lights were illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The failure persisted intermittently. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and a vehicle data recorder was installed in the vehicle. The fuel pump and relay were later replaced yet the failure persisted and the dealer replaced the fuel tank and throttle body. The failure persisted. The approximate failure mileage was 2,500 and the current mileage was 6,350. Updated 12/01/10. Updated 12/13/10

- Willimasport, PA, USA

problem #13

Jul 122009

Taurus

  • 4,851 miles
Sunday July 12 engine stopped. 3rd. Time in one month and now has 4851 miles on it.. folowing previous sugestion from bethlehem Ford, I did not try to restart engine.car towed to nearest Ford dealer, ray price Ford, mt. Pocono, pa. On Monday July 13, they notified me they had checked engine codes etc.& could not find the problem. I got car that afternoon, drove apprximately 17 miles & engine stopped again. This was the 2nd time in 2days and 4th time it stopped in 2 months.. car was towed back to bethlehem Ford where it stayed 3 days. They said they "updated the computer " and "it may solve the problem." All of this information has been previously forwarded to Ford and they told me that "the dealer has done all checks required" and there were "no other reports of this same problem on the '09 Taurus". ha! fortunately, car now has over 10,000 miles on it and hopefully the problem was solved

- Northampton , PA, USA

problem #12

Jun 122009

Taurus

  • 4,100 miles
June 12, 2009 approx. 4100 miles on car engine stopped 2nd time in one week-no warning. Shifted to neutral and restarted.imediately took car to dealer, bethlehem Ford and again found no problem. Service manager sugested leaving car 3-4 days for them to drive & check out. Left car on June 22 with 4323 miles on it & picked it up on June 26. They could not duplicate problem & found nothing wrong.they sugested if it stopped again not to try & restart so any computer codes may not be errased.

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #11

Jun 062009

Taurus

  • 3,800 miles
Purchased new 2009 Ford Taurus may13, 2009.on June 5 in late afternoon while traveling in heavy traffic thru a one lane construction zone on I80 in central pa. The engine stopped. I barely managed to get onto a narrow shoulder. There was no response on first try to restart. It restarted on th 2nd try. I took car to bethlehem Ford June 6 and they could not find a problem. Car had 3800 miles on it.

- Northampton , PA, USA

problem #10

May 242009

Taurus

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was a passenger last spring in a 2009 Ford Taurus sedan and we were traveling down a long incline at approx 60 mph when the engine died leaving the car without power steering or brakes. I told my driving friend to shift into neutral and try starting the car again which he did. We continued without iu=incident the rest of the trip. The incident was harrowing since we were on a mountain in Alaska and the road gets very winding at the bottom so I knew we were only seconds from disaster. The conditions were spring weather ~60F and the gas was approx. 50% full and the altitude was approx. 2,000 ft. It was a blue bird day and the car rode fine before and after. I never reported the problem since we.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #9

Aug 262009

Taurus

  • 1,850 miles
I purchased a 2009 Ford Taurus demo. With a 1000 miles on odometer on July 30, 2009. On Sept. 26, 2009 I was driving in heavy rain on rt. 220, near state college, pa, at 55 mph. Suddenly the motor turned off and I had to drift off the road to stop. The lights, wipers and my radio were still working. I tried to restart the engine but there was no response. (not even trying to turn over the starter.) I tried off and on for 10 minutes to restart the engine when it finally did start. I took my car to the blaize alexander Ford, Inc. And they claimed that they could not find anything wrong with the software, or the electronic key chips. They are located in lewisburg, pa on rt. 45, 2265 old turnpike rd. 17837. Tel. 1570-524-7267. I called kenny ross Ford dealer when I returned to pittsburgh. They told me that there was no point in bringing it in to them because they software tester would only show the same results. Their service mgr. Told me to bring it in the next time it happens. That may be too late if it causes a crash, or our death. I am taking it to them anyway on 10/15/09. I believe that they should give me a new car to replace this one since I have totally paid off this car on August 10, 2009.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 292009

Taurus

  • 1,700 miles
I just finished renting a Ford Taurus 2009 from avis which had 1543 miles on it at the start of the rental. During the course of the rental the following occurred. While descending a steep hill on a state highway in easthampton, MA the engine stopped running. I only detected it when the steering got heavy. Luckily I was able to bring the vehicle to a halt without the power brakes. After the vehicle stopped it was able to be restarted. If the driver had been less physically able the results might have been different, such as a serious crash.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jun 212009

Taurus

  • 9,447 miles
Coasting at about 40 mph, slightly downhill, A/C on, all dashboard lights came on, engine stopped, shifted to neutral, able to restart engine.

- Concrod, NC, USA

problem #6

May 132009

Taurus

  • 6,011 miles
Coasting at about 40 mph, slightly downhill, A/C on, all dashboard lights came on, engine stopped, shifted to neutral, able to restart engine.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #5

Apr 152009

Taurus

  • 2,980 miles
Coasting at about 40 mph, slightly downhill, A/C on, all dashboard lights came on, engine stopped, shifted to neutral, able to restart engine.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #4

Jun 272009

Taurus

  • 11,988 miles
Coasting at about 40 mph, A/C on, slightly downhill, all dashboard lights came on, engine stopped running, able to shift to neutral and restart engine.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 282009

Taurus

  • 12,194 miles
Accelerating from 30 to 40, A/C on, all dashboard lights came on, engine stopped running, able to shift to neutral and restart engine.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #2

Mar 242009

Taurus

  • 890 miles
On one occasion, driving 40 mph, slightly down hill, coasting, when engine shut off. Restarted engine while moving, after shifting to neutral. Took to dealer, no diagnostic codes found in computer.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #1

Feb 092009

Taurus

  • 1,400 miles
On 2 occasions about a week apart, driving 40 mph, down hill, coasting (foot off the gas completely), when engine shut off. First time stalled in R lane and I was able to restart. Second time I restarted engine while moving. Will take to dealer.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?