Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,615 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Taurus electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #15

Feb 092016

Taurus

  • 62,930 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

02/09/2016. I was stationary at a stop light. I lost all electrical power.I lost all power steering functions. The dashboard message said to put the transmission in park. These instructions would have immediately damaged the transmission. You can restart the push button start in neutral only by using the brake pedal first. Had I been in any type of traffic, a rear end collision could have occurred. The car was inspected at a Ford dealer today ( 02/11/2016). The remedy was to change a rfa module related to the key fobs. The theory is this : no key recognition means the computer is telling the car to shut down. The Ford dealer can't explain while the problem is intermittent : ( I drive with the same key fobs at all times). This is probably not the solution. This is the second report filed on the same vehicle. The date of last report was 07/31/2011. NHTSA id number 10416408. The solution last time was replacement of the throttle body assembly. It is pretty obvious the solutions do not match. So basically, Ford has no answer.

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #14

Mar 172014

Taurus

  • 41,000 miles
Opened my sunroof and it broke. It got stuck open and we had to take it apart to get it closed. Now I have to pay to get it fixed when it was plastic pieces that broke. Had a storm come through and the inside of my car was flooded. I have record of everything. Seems that if water gets on the electrical parts it will start shorting everything out causing the car to catch fire.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #13

Dec 082014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 77,500 miles
The car will not start. This has happened 7 times in the last two months. It is totally random. It doesn't matter if it is cold or hot. There is no connection between how long it has been driven or how long it has sat parked. For example: Yesterday, the car was parked for a couple of hours. I went to start it and nothing. After 15 min, it started. I then went to another store that was maybe five min away. The car was parked no longer than 10 min. When I got in the car to leave it would not start. It started 60 min later. The shortest amount of time I have waited for it to start is 10 min the longest is one hour. When I attempt to start it there is usually no sound. Once when I turned it over, I heard a click, but nothing. I cannot move the gear shift and the brakes are frozen. I have had it in the dealership twice and they cannot find anything wrong because they cannot duplicate the problem. I cannot just leave it at the dealership indefinitely because I do not have the luxury of having another car at my disposal. They will not give me a loaner because it is out of warranty. I am hesitant about going anyplace for fear of it not starting and how long I will be sitting someplace waiting for it to start. It isn't safe. I am leaving for three weeks and will leave it with the dealership then, but if they can't duplicate the problem, I 'm back to square one. I have been on-line and no one else has made a complaint about this issue from what I have read.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #12

Nov 172014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The seat warmer overheated and burned through the leather seat cover while my 18 year old daughter was driving the car to a doctor appointment. She veered off the expressway (I-75) and exited the car on the highway to put the fire out. We have already had it to a Ford dealer and documented the issue and had the seat completely disconnected from the wiring system. The car is only 4 years old, we are the original owners. Never any indication that there was a problem until this incident. We are still paying on the loan! through researching this issue, it appears that the NHTSA is already aware of the issues with these heated seat warmers with several manufacturers, yet there is no recall and the safety issue hasn't been addressed at all?

- Mayville, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 112013

Taurus

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and failed to restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Harperswood, MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 152013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The heated seat element in drivers seat shorted or broke and became very hot, hot enough to cause a burning feeling on the drivers back and actually cause damage to the leather on the seat back. According to the dealer, they have experienced this problem with other cars and said they could not re-assure me that it would not happen again.

- Veneta, OR, USA

problem #9

Aug 042011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 12,862 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the twin turbo V6 ecoboost engine. This vehicle has had several transmission issues dating back to August 2011. First issue: Car stumbled upon accelerating from a dead stop. Particularly unsafe when turning into traffic. One potentially serious event was a right turn I made from a stop light and the car came to a crawl. After having the car for more than a week, Ford "fixed" the problem but it recurred a month later. Next incident(s): Transmission lunges and came out of gear and revved up. Again, Ford had the car for about 10 days. That was September 2011. October 18, 2011: Car lost power on freeway and ran very rough. Car towed into Ford. The had to replace coils, plugs, and PCM. 9/14/2012: Sunroof failed and would not close. Problem fixed under warranty. 8/16/2013: Delivered the car to Ford because the transmission acting up once again. This time when I press the accelerator the car stalls very briefly but then catches and accelerates forward quickly. This is a liability concern. On the freeway, when I press the gas to accelerate to pass a car, the car coasts before catching. Ford still has the vehicle and is telling me that they don't see an issue with their drive tests but have a call into Ford to see how to proceed. I'm very concerned.

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 012013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
2010 Taurus sho. Brakes roaring &/or grinding when applied medium to heavy. Brakes feel weak & slow to respond when applied. Lite grease or oil burning smell coming into car. Engine lost power, car filled with heavy fuel smell, multiple warning lights flashing, & steering was very hard to turn in traffic near Ford dealer & coasted into the service lane. Ford said wrong spark plugs installed at factory which caused plugs to foul, then 2 injectors to lock wide open, coil packs ruined, PCM burnt up, & several other problem. Adaptive cruise control shuts down on the interstate & warning system flashes on the windshield & system says sensor is blocked & the collision warning system is not working. To correct the problem the vehicle has to be stopped & restarted. Transmission downshifts incorrectly at times or hesitates to respond while trying to merge into interstate traffic. Ford sync system cut on & off or disconnects from phone which is linked to 911 for safety. Blind spot warning system gives false warnings constantly when no other vehicles are near & on various roads types. Automatic wipers come on when its not rain. Adaptive cruise will not maintain the proper gaps between vehicles ahead of it & driver must take control. During fueling the fuel pours out from the overflow valve when the tank tops off at any gas station. Dark quarter size spot coming up in the driver's side mirror which obscures vision of other vehicles. Dust & dirt entering the vehicle around the rear doors while driving. Driver's side head rest slowly rises up over a few days & touches driver's head & cannot be safely pushed down until stopped. Michelin mxv4 tires 20" started separating where the side walls meet the tread. Michelin immediately replaced the 4 tires without question. A total of 34 problems with this vehicle including the paint fading out. Currently has 39,400 miles.

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #7

Apr 082010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles
Soon after I got my new 2010 Ford Taurus in March of 2010, it came to a complete stop as I was driving with my sister (mileage under 1,000 miles). I called the Ford dealership and they said to try it again - the car ran well, so I forgot about the incident. In April 2012, I again lost power suddenly and completely while driving. I put on the emergency lights, left the car in the middle of my road where it had stopped, and called aaa to tow it back to the dealership. Service replaced the throttle body, and said they found nothing that could cause the car to stall. Twice again, the car stopped as I was driving it and each time Ford service could find nothing wrong. The last incident left me shaken as I was stuck across my road, exposed to two-way traffic. After the last incident Ford examined the car for several days, drove it hundreds of miles and said they could not duplicate the problem. They referred me to Ford motor. Ford wanted a second opinion from another dealership. Of course the second opinion said all was fine, and they could not duplicate the intermittent problem. Ford Motor Company declined my request for a replacement car and for a loaner. I took the car back to the Ford and left it there. Ford absolutely knows the dangers of this car, they are well documented in my complaint history and in various complaint venues on the internet and they are stone walling very effectively. The fact is that Ford itself has issued several technical service bulletins talking about...if there is an intermittent lack of power¿¿. I was ¿¿intermittently put in danger four times. Ford tells me they will auction the car, full well knowing of the risks. This car VIN is dangerous and should be never be on the road again to compromise passenger and driver safety.

- Chappaqua, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 282011

Taurus

  • 6,800 miles
The cd player went out in my Taurus limited. According to the dealer this has been an ongoing issue that Ford knows about. I have been waiting for over a month for the replacement, according to the dealer the entire center stack (nav/radio/sync systems) have to be replaced at a cost of over $3000. Under warranty.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #5

Feb 012011

Taurus

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated the vehicle interior lights, headlights, turn signals and the instrumental panel lights would flicker on and off. The gear shifter could not be shifted out of park when the light failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the vehicle computer. The was unaware of what caused the computer to fail. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 20,000.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #4

Oct 082011

Taurus

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, a passenger attempted to change the radio by pressing the media button, which was located near the ignition switch but the passenger erroneously depressed the ignition switch, causing the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was maneuvered to the shoulder and stopped. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. A complaint was filed with the manufacturer. The contact expressed concerns over the two buttons being located so close to one another. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

problem #3

Jun 222011

Taurus

  • 47,500 miles
On two occasions the vehicle has stalled or lost power while in the process of driving. The first time this occurred the vehicle was traveling 20mph approximately 10 minutes into the drive. The second time this occurred the vehicle was traveling 55 mph while set on cruise control five hours into a drive. In both occurrences the display indicated to put shifter into park while the vehicle was stalled and still moving. While the vehicle was stalled the power steering and braking was disabled. After pulling over to the side of the road, placing the vehicle in park and restarting the vehicle operated normal. The Ford dealership has tried to diagnose the problem twice without success. The dealership has contacted Ford and they state they aren't aware of any problems of this nature. This is a very hazardous condition to occur while traveling 55mph on a curvy canyon road. I'm very concerned with continuing to drive the vehicle.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #2

May 212011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 10,160 miles
Taurus sho. Engine quit while driving 40 mph. Engine would not restart until stopped and shifted into park. Ford service unable to duplicate stall or find anything to indicate it had occurred. There was no area to pull off road and had to complete action in the lane of travel. Ford unable to find anything to correct.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #1

Jul 292010

Taurus

  • 9,568 miles
The 2010 Ford Taurus loses power and the vehicle shuts off at speeds within and excess of 65 mph. When the defect occurs, the engine turns off, the throttle is deactivated, the center stack console is deactivated and the message center in the vehicle's cluster tells the driver to put the vehicle in park. The driver must then place the vehicle in park in order to start the vehicle once again. This issue has occurred twice within 45 days. For the first occurrence, the vehicle was provided to the Ford dealership where it was purchased to perform a root cause analysis. No issue was found and the vehicle was returned to the owner. The defect occurred once again on July 29, 2010 and the Ford dealership has been contacted to pick up the vehicle once a loaner vehicle can be obtained. No physical change or improvement has been made to address this issue at this time and Ford field service engineering has not been involved or notified.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?