Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,983 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 282016


  • 150,000 miles


While driving the engine overheating display came on and the engine lost most of its power. Upon ispection the radiator coolant tank was empty. Filled the tank with water and drove to the nearest Ford dealer. The dealer said the water pump had failed and leaked the coolant into the crankcase. No leaks were visable outside the engine. The dealer said that the engine got to hot and there is exhaust gases in the coolant and suggests a new engine because of the 150K mileage on the engine. The important part of this is that this is a very poor design by the engine manufacturer. I am a mechanic/supervisor for a company that has been using the Ford Taurus as it's vehicle of choice for the past 25 years. This failure has happened to Taurus' in our fleet four other times in the last four months with catastrophic failure being the outcome. The vehicles were 2010-2012 with 100K -150K miles.because there is no outside leak and the leak is slow so that the coolant degrades the oil and internally damages the engine before a loss of coolant causes the engine to overheat. This has been the case with all but one of our vehicle failures. A water pump replacement before 100K miles should be recommended by Ford and financial assistance by Ford should be offered is a catastrophic engine failure occurs because of this major design flaw.

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #20

Dec 312015


  • 100,000 miles
I own a 2010 Ford Taurus SE. I purchased the car 2 years ago, I begin having problems with the engine approximately 4 months ago. The car begin to run hot while driving so I pulled over to the side of the road and shut the engine off. I cranked the car up again and the gauge read normal. About a week later the same action occurred so I took the car to my local Ford dealership and was informed that I needed a new engine because oil and water was mixing within. I was very unhappy but had to replace the engine out-of-pocket because the warranty had already expired. I then made a promise that I will never ever purchase another Ford in my life because I have always driven GM vehicles and have never replaced anything major on the GM vehicles. I think that Ford should recall these engines because this was a very unpleasant, and inconvenient experience. This action would make at least a few hundred thousand customers whole again. #lessonlearned #gm4life

- Hartsvile, SC, USA

problem #19

Mar 182016


  • 85,000 miles
Was inspecting the underside of my 2010 Taurus sho. The LH turbo (front turbo) seems to be covered in oil. Talking with my mechanic this can create a fire hazard. The flash point of 5W-30 is 435^C. during normal engine operation exhaust temperature can get to and exceed 700^C. the exhaust is only a few inches from where the oil return line goes back into the reservoir. There was a tsb for the issues but some owners say that did not resolve the issue. How can owners be expected to pay for installing an updated design when its not their fault" especially when it comes to somthing that could cause a fire? I have been doing some research and other people have experienced issues with the gasket on the oil return line. There have also been reports of fires with these cars that were most likely caused by an oil leak. There are no recalls currently issued for the turbos on this car. I feel that this issue is very serious and should be recalled because of the change of fire. There was a lawsuit filed against Ford for defects with the eco boost motors but nothing ever came of it back in 2013. I have uploaded references:"T=14855

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #18

Feb 242016


  • 103,700 miles


My son was driving this car when it started to make noise and smoke about 10 minutes from our house. He was driving on streets, not highway. He pulled over. We called our mechanic and he advised us not to drive it and get it towed. Upon his inspection, he saw 2 holes in the engine that looked like something shot out of it. The engine had to be replaced. The mechanic said he never saw anything like this and that it must be a manufacturing defect. We took pictures of it. When I contacted Ford, they said there was nothing they could do about it because the warranty had expired a few months earlier. We had to pay for a new engine.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #17

Feb 092016


  • 62,930 miles
02/09/2016. I was stationary at a stop light. I lost all electrical power.I lost all power steering functions. The dashboard message said to put the transmission in park. These instructions would have immediately damaged the transmission. You can restart the push button start in neutral only by using the brake pedal first. Had I been in any type of traffic, a rear end collision could have occurred. The car was inspected at a Ford dealer today ( 02/11/2016). The remedy was to change a rfa module related to the key fobs. The theory is this : no key recognition means the computer is telling the car to shut down. The Ford dealer can't explain while the problem is intermittent : ( I drive with the same key fobs at all times). This is probably not the solution. This is the second report filed on the same vehicle. The date of last report was 07/31/2011. NHTSA id number 10416408. The solution last time was replacement of the throttle body assembly. It is pretty obvious the solutions do not match. So basically, Ford has no answer.

- Tinley Park, IL, USA

problem #16

Oct 302014


  • 54,000 miles
I bought this car used but after researhing the VIN I found that the previous owner had the same issues I am having. The car while driving will lose power and the tach will show a RPM drop in some cases of almost 1000 RPM. The car will lose power and at times and the tach will show the RPM jumping all over the place like the computer doesn't know what to do. Once I take my foot off the accelerator and put it back the car will start to act ok but at times I will hear a clunk from the under the car, the transmission going into gear. These issues occur at various speeds, from city driving to highway. Ford doesn't seem to be able to fix this as well as carmax.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #15

Oct 142014


  • 56,700 miles


On or around 10/14/2014 my Ford Taurus sho 2010 suddenly lost power and started to shake and missfire. Had it towed to Ford griffin. They stated it was a bad injector. On or around 4/27/2015 heading home from work I pulled off the freeway on to hwy 164 in heavy traffic the car suddenly lost power and started to shake and missfire almost causing me to get hit from the cars behind me, luckily they swerved on to shoulder to avoid hitting me. Had the car towed to griffin Ford. Again it was a bad injector, cylinder #6 the first time now #4. then on or around 8/15/2015 coming home from the store the car suddenly lost power, started shaking and missfire. Had the car towed to griffin again. It was another bad injector #2 cylinder. They said they couldn't fix it until they found the cause. They looked in the gas tank for contaminants and found nothing. Then tested for alcohol levels in gas found nothing ran some other test found nothing. Finally just fixed it. So whats going on? I'm somewhat afraid of driving the car for fear of causing a accident. It's my only car so I guess I have no choice.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #14

Dec 292010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 443 miles
Engine surge from the beginning when the car is in cruise control all of a sudden it will surge then cruise control turns off. This has happened on short trips and on long trips. I took the car to the dealership the first few times it happened and they could not find anything. However, when it does happen (and it still does on occasion) and there is a car behind me, it happens so quickly that it's almost as if I'm applying my brakes and the car behind me usually has to swerve out-of-the-way if they're too close. Thus, I try not to use on small trips which isn't fair to me. Another thing it does, is when I first take off from a stop it will surge to the point that if a car is going slower at the beginning there is a possibility I could run into the back of it. That is why I give the cars ahead of me a little leeway. The car did this during my demo drive in the salesman said it was just a "hot car ". not!

- Lake Ozark, MO, USA

problem #13

Nov 202014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My vehicle suddenly ran hot while driving on the interstate at approximately 65 mph. I immediately pulled off as my exit was approaching and within 1/2 found a safe place to park. The engine had steam coming from the radiator. After calling aaa for a tow, it was towed to the local aaa and then to the classic Ford dealership. As the car arrived on a Friday, Ford did not check it until the following Tuesday. I received a quote from Ford that it needed an entirely new engine, timing belt and water pump for $7, 400.00! calls to the corporate Ford did no good as they said there was nothing that Ford could do but to keep my receipts in case a recall was ever announced. I called another mechanic that I had used in the past and he was able to fix the engine for $1800. The mechanic said that the engine design was faulty and that if it ever ran hot again, it would do the same damage because of the design.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #12

Jul 282014


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Harperswood, MI, USA

problem #11

May 212014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


My 2010 Taurus sel V-6 3.5 shut off while driving at 30 mph. About 6 weeks later the engine turned itself off again while parked..

- Lincoln Park , MI, USA

problem #10

Apr 192012


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while at a stop light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after several attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, however they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Silena, MI, USA

problem #9

Dec 062012


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. After making a left turn, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred on three separate occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Oxford, MA, USA

problem #8

May 012014


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the service engine sensor illuminated intermittently. The contact heard a noise upon turning on the temperature controls for A/C or heating and heard a clicking noise upon starting the vehicle. The contact stated while driving, the A/C control was turned on and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had to wait a moment and was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Harperwood, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 102013


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated while driving 70 mph the vehicle stalled without any warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000. The current mileage was 52,000. R

- Fairmount, IL, USA

problem #6

Mar 082010


  • 3,880 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that there was an increase in engine rpms without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 3,880 and the current mileage was 23,000.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #5

May 142013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
My wife was driving the car on the highway when it stalled without warning and lost all power (including power steering). The doors also locked automatically. She was able to get the car to the side of the road safely. The car started normally a few minutes later and she drove it directly to a Ford dealership in hacketstown NJ. They made some (in retrospect questionable) repairs, replacing the battery and the fuel pump. When the car was picked up it stalled again leaving the dealership. We took it to another mechanic who said the fuel pump was improperly installed and fixed it. The car ran fine for another few months, but stalled again, in the exact same manner, going about 50 miles per hour. Once again, after safely navigating to the shoulder the car engine started without issue. This time we took the car to manhattan Ford and contacted Ford customer care. Ford customer care did not concede any issues with the model, and used the somewhat circular reasoning that if there were a problem the model then there would have been a recall, and because there was no recall, there was no problem. Therefore, they concluded, the issue rested solely with my individual car. On the other hand, Ford customer care was less enthusiastic about reporting the problem to the NHTSA. When I first reached out to them on 9/9/13 they said I did not need to report anything since Ford would do it on my behalf. Later, when I spoke to the Ford customer care regional supervisor [xxx] on 9/11/13, she dismissed the efficacy of NHTSA, discouraging me from making a report by stating that it would not make a difference. For their part, the manhattan Ford dealership seemed to have a good grasp of the situation and replaced the throttle body assembly. The dealership even discounted the repair after Ford refused to cover it under the engine/powertrain warranty. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New York, NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 012013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
2010 Taurus sho. Brakes roaring &/or grinding when applied medium to heavy. Brakes feel weak & slow to respond when applied. Lite grease or oil burning smell coming into car. Engine lost power, car filled with heavy fuel smell, multiple warning lights flashing, & steering was very hard to turn in traffic near Ford dealer & coasted into the service lane. Ford said wrong spark plugs installed at factory which caused plugs to foul, then 2 injectors to lock wide open, coil packs ruined, PCM burnt up, & several other problem. Adaptive cruise control shuts down on the interstate & warning system flashes on the windshield & system says sensor is blocked & the collision warning system is not working. To correct the problem the vehicle has to be stopped & restarted. Transmission downshifts incorrectly at times or hesitates to respond while trying to merge into interstate traffic. Ford sync system cut on & off or disconnects from phone which is linked to 911 for safety. Blind spot warning system gives false warnings constantly when no other vehicles are near & on various roads types. Automatic wipers come on when its not rain. Adaptive cruise will not maintain the proper gaps between vehicles ahead of it & driver must take control. During fueling the fuel pours out from the overflow valve when the tank tops off at any gas station. Dark quarter size spot coming up in the driver's side mirror which obscures vision of other vehicles. Dust & dirt entering the vehicle around the rear doors while driving. Driver's side head rest slowly rises up over a few days & touches driver's head & cannot be safely pushed down until stopped. Michelin mxv4 tires 20" started separating where the side walls meet the tread. Michelin immediately replaced the 4 tires without question. A total of 34 problems with this vehicle including the paint fading out. Currently has 39,400 miles.

- Laurel, MS, USA

problem #3

Feb 102010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
I've complained to multiple service dealers that my car almost stalls while leaving a dead stop and also hesitates at highway speeds. I'm afraid to drive it out of state for fear of an incident because of the engine/transmission behavior. One dealer service transmission specialist ordered a part and installed it, but, the problems still exist!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Oct 222012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I was driving down the interstate when the car started running real choppy and misfiring. I got the car to a safe destination. After restarting the vehicle, there was a tremendous amount of white smoke coming from the exhaust. I was able to get it to our nearest Ford dealership. Prior to this incident there were no check engine lights, no problems passing emissions, just no signs that anything was wrong. This is a 2 year old vehicle purchased brand new from the dealership. Ford has bragged about this engine being a premier engine, top notch eco boost turbo charged and for us to have to replace it after two years of driving is insane. We have vehicles older than this 2010 Taurus sho, one with 100,000(Chevy 2006), another with 150, 000(Honda 2004), and another with 60,000(Mitsubishi 2003) that have given us no problems. Ford has not lived up to their claims on this car. The dealership said that one of the cylinders had a compression of 0 and that we needed an engine replacement. They never took the engine apart, they just did a diagnostic. I called the customer service line at Ford and complained immediately after finding out that we were going to need an engine. They quoted a price of $6800 to replace the engine.after providing our service records, Ford offered to help us with some of the cost but we were still out of pocket almost $5000. Warning to consumers, this car, even though I loved driving it, I would not recommend it to anyone! we paid close to $50,000 for this car. If you dare to risk buying this car you better get the extended warranty because you just may need it. A big disappointment. Supposedly Ford sent our engine to be examined closely. I hope they find out what the real problem is because I would not want anyone to have to go through what we did.we will not be buying any Ford vehicles ever again!!!

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?