Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Taurus X drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Taurus X:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Taurus X Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #5

Dec 072010

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 12,197 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First occasion was when my wife was driving the car and she was parking and the car surged. It happened on several more occasions and on 12/17/2010 Ford replaced the throttle body and air intake. Then on 2-03-2012 and 12-10-2012 car surged again. Ford dealer ship said they could not find cause. On 12-10-2012the car was coming to a stop and the engine began to surge reach around 4000 RPM, I pushed the brake and it continued to surge and I had to put in it in neutral to stop it from lunging into the intersection. It continued to surge as I put it into gear and moved through the intersection. It then stopped surging and behaved normally. I took it to the dealership and they said they could find nothing. I has since surged again while stopping at a stop sign.

- Jamul, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 162011

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Driving on highway from milwaukee wi, to oshkosh, wi. After driving around an hour at freeway speed with cruise control set at 70, car suddenly accelerated on its own and RPM went up too. Took car off of cruise control and continued driving. The car did it again after a few minutes, accompanied by a loud 'thunk' noise. Immediately got off freeway, turned off car and waited till driving again. Problem did not reoccur then. But happened again next day on way home. Since then it has occurred numerous times. Generally only happens on long trips at freeway speeds after driving about an hour to hour and a half. We do not use cruise control any more, but it still happens on every long trip. Have taken to dealership and contacted Ford. They don't see any service codes so nothing has been fixed.

- Wauwatosa, WI, USA

problem #3

Oct 012010

Taurus X

  • 35,000 miles
We initially had issues at 35K miles with the transmission making loud noises and suddenly jerking while accelerating from a stop. Took the car to the dealership and they said they couldn't figure out what the problem was but since we reported it prior to the expiration of the warranty we would be covered if it continued to have problems. In September 2011 the problem was finally bad enough that it tripped the computer and they said that they just needed to replace the sensors (oss and tss), and that it would be a $600 repair. I reminded them that we brought it in for the repair prior to the expiration of the warranty and they eventually agreed to make the repair for a $200 deductible. A month later the transmission went out completely while driving down a narrow road at approximately 35mph. The car lost power but we were eventually able to limp home at 5mph. I agreed and they made the repair. At this point all of the jerking from the bad sensors had destroyed several gears in the transmission and necessitated a complete rebuild ($3900). If they had fixed the problem in the first place the transmission would never have been damaged from trying to shift at the wrong times due to the bad sensors! there were safety concerns throughout the life of this vehicle as is jerked, jumped, and ultimately failed in a completely unpredictable fashion.rebuild ($3900). If they had fixed the problem in the first place the transmission would never have been damaged from trying to shift at the wrong times due to the bad sensors! there were safety concerns throughout the life of this vehicle as is jerked, jumped, and ultimately failed in a completely unpredictable fashion.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #2

Sep 152010

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Car stalls sometimes when braking approaching stoplights and lunges inexplicably and randomly both when stopped and when moving at lower speeds. This problem has been building over the past couple of months and has become a serious safety issue. At some point, we will end up rear ending somebody or hitting a pedestrian at a crosswalk. While braking seems to be able to overcome the surges in throttle, it all comes down to reaction time as this problem is random and frequent and at some point it will cause an accident.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #1

Jun 212010

Taurus X

  • 49,000 miles
The transmission of our 2008 Ford Taurus X (49K miles) went into fail-safe mode on 6/21/2010 and was immediately taken to team Ford. There was also a problem with the parking brake pedal working intermittently so we asked that this problem also be fixed while the vehicle was in their shop. The service manage said that they were backed up on the transmission (8 of them - not good) and would be a while so they would take care of the parking brake first. The next day, 6/22/2010, I received a call telling me that while the vehicle was raised up on the rack to inspect the rear end, the service tech noted that there was uneven wear on the pass. Side rear tire and then noticed that the bracket on the subframe attaching the lower control arm was broken (a crack that had pulled apart). I was informed that our extended warranty would not cover the broken sub-frame and bracket, a $2500 part, while my position is that this is covered as it is a "link". I then went and inspected the vehicle and noticed that there was corrosion in the crack. We have only owned the vehicle for 10 months as we bought it used from guadin Ford when it had just 37,560 miles on it on 8/6/2009. It was also a Ford certified used vehicle. There is no way that much corrosion could have happened to weaken the bracket in under 10 months, fail partially, and have the tire noticeable wear unevenly. We were also told that this "damage" was from "mis-use" of the vehicle. Funny thing is, the bracket was the only "damage". not even scratches or scrapes, or, at the very least, a flat tire or wheel damage from a major impact that would have been necessary to break a high strength suspension part. It had to be defective and nobody either caught it or admitted catching it. There are more spots of corrosion on this part which leads me to believe that there was either defective rustproofing or completely inappropriate type of steel used to manufacture this part.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?